Marimo, Japanese Moss Ball ♥♥♥, Share your ♥ towards this cute algae
huiyin_hsu
Jul 13 2011, 11:33 PM

i wanted to buy the mossball but out of stock for this week T_T have to wait for next week~* gonna get the giant sized one~~
already got name for it liao~ hahah! Can't wait to join the club ^___^
huiyin_hsu
Jul 14 2011, 07:21 PM

sry if i asking stupid question but  can put marimo inside here? http://www.hacknmod.com/store/images/uploads/sku_10684_1.jpglol very cute leh if can :3 carry it around~* but i think msian temperature cannot
huiyin_hsu
Jul 14 2011, 11:20 PM

mmmm.. true also! normally how much water should we put inside a jar? for lets say a giant sized one? 5 times its own height?10 times?
huiyin_hsu
Jul 15 2011, 11:06 AM

Thank youuu ^__^ so helpful! hope can get my Puddles (giant) by next week :] ~
huiyin_hsu
Jul 26 2011, 10:06 PM

puddles is here liao ~~ thanks leeyung! it came when i wasn't at home D: then my mom shoved the whole envelope in the fridge hahaha » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
huiyin_hsu
Jul 26 2011, 11:42 PM

hahaha~ bought the glass from Daiso de! rm5 onli and yea paiseh got dslr but not mine le  my semi pro gone servicing liao~ btw, got a lid wan but when i put the lid on for awhile like got wap air :/ how ar? shud i dun cover it or reduce the amount of water or? & im thinking of buying sumthing to put at the bottom of the jar .. like pebbles/ stones? i dunno @_@ last time i read somewhere in the thread say..coral sand? the sand wun stuck at Puddles punya bulu ar? just now like squeeze him too hard tim T_T but still no round shape aih.. This post has been edited by huiyin_hsu: Jul 26 2011, 11:51 PM
huiyin_hsu
Jul 27 2011, 01:53 PM

Hehe. I bought this jar from daiso curve de.... Thanks thanks~
huiyin_hsu
Jul 27 2011, 05:16 PM

hi guys.. i read in the first page that the marimos can be put in the fridge.. is it ok if i leave Puddles there for 5 days? cuz i will be going on vacation T_T scared leave it outside very hot~ & nowadays weather so hot i go put ice inside the water hahah~ the darker green the healthier it is right?~
This post has been edited by huiyin_hsu: Jul 27 2011, 05:17 PM
huiyin_hsu
Jul 28 2011, 12:42 AM

QUOTE(leeyung @ Jul 28 2011, 12:23 AM) haha I am assuming the puddles u mentioned are not DOGGY marimos, no worries, go ahead, put into fridge but remember not the freezer part! Best would be the section where you put ur fruit, just nice temperature for them  HAHAHa! okayyy  will let puddles punya baby sitter know tomorrow  cannot call baby sitter liao.. zookeeper.. my bro in law help me jaga my dog, my sugar glider and 6 marimosss.. hahhaha
huiyin_hsu
Aug 2 2011, 12:35 AM

im back from my vacation~* checked Puddles who was left in the fridge for 5 days.. he's in the darkest shade of green! Took him out to bring him home (he was @ my bro in laws place) and left him on the table.. a whole load of bubbles began to form inside the glass bottle  super pretty~
huiyin_hsu
Aug 3 2011, 09:06 PM

Washed some pebbles to put in Puddle's Jar today  Sharing some photos of how green my Puddles is :3 » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «  super 'chao pei' my palms  cos was washing the pebbles for almost half an hour trying to get it clean :/  Puddles & his three comrads~ one belonging to my best friend, gonna give her for birthday next month ^__^ no pictures of the new home yet as the pebbles are soaking now cuz if i put it in the water will get very murky hope everyone has an awesome 'marimo' night~ hahaha
huiyin_hsu
Aug 6 2011, 09:07 PM

QUOTE(marimolee @ Aug 6 2011, 11:48 AM) Hi, would really appreciate if someone can advise me if my marimo is dead  have kept it for 4 plus months, change water every week, thought the color looks dullish...and it don't seems to have grow bigger...thanks.  Put abit of salt in the water and shove him in ur fridge...optimum temp 20-25celcius....u can put at the place whr u put ur fruits... Shud b able to save gua
huiyin_hsu
Aug 24 2011, 02:51 PM

mine also like not alot of bubbles already lei >:( but i never expose it to sunlight, morning - afternoon put in the fridge, at night in my AC room... change water once a week but its not soft.. don't expose your marimo to direct sunlight! it will die
huiyin_hsu
Sep 9 2011, 03:08 PM

read first page and it will answer all of your questions.
huiyin_hsu
Nov 2 2011, 09:24 AM

memememememe  @leeyung! My puddles have been in spa bath(fridge) for quite some time now :/ My table super messy coz doing alot of coloring n drawing these days.. no space for it.. @yeelin : i don't think baby marimos are in the center of the big marimo :/ yours probably just broke? I don't know. They usually grow on the top area of the marimo.. This post has been edited by huiyin_hsu: Nov 2 2011, 09:28 AM
huiyin_hsu
Nov 9 2011, 10:56 PM

Usually it forms just a round clump on the surface of your marimo :/
huiyin_hsu
Nov 9 2011, 11:14 PM

I don't think its a disease.. cuz alot of other forummers here say that their marimos are splitting apart?
Is that part sticking out like hard as in in a clump or just some stray marimo piece?
huiyin_hsu
Nov 9 2011, 11:17 PM

when you press it does it feel its a part of the marimo? maybe have to wait till leeyung replies  afraid to give you the wrong info