Marimo, Japanese Moss Ball ♥♥♥, Share your ♥ towards this cute algae
Shoot@M3
Jan 4 2012, 11:13 AM
just got my nano, monitoring it for few days to see that my fish don't 'play' too much with them  , especially the lobster! btw one question, can this marimo survive on a container with water but without fish in it? cos was thinking where does it get the CO2 from if not from the fish cos plant need this rite?
Shoot@M3
Jan 4 2012, 03:26 PM
yep thx, exactly what i needed to know QUOTE(z8net @ Jan 4 2012, 02:32 PM) actually there is dissolved co2 in the water so no issue here... the only issue is the mineral in the water... hence, frequent water change is needed to supply the nutrient to the marimo... if the container is dead water (no water movement e.g via filter), the water change need to be more frequent compared to moving water bcos the water is easier to be spoilt in dead water. hope this help...
Shoot@M3
Jan 5 2012, 11:31 AM
sad, mine diff case, seems my lobster attack them, one of my nano got cut off bit aiyo other than that, all is fine that's why wanted to know the CO2 matter, may need to separate them out if gets really bad
Shoot@M3
Jan 5 2012, 02:15 PM
alamak didn't read that part lor, so long ah the thread hehe anyway thx for the info im imagining now that the crayfish run amok at the marimo tearing them bit by bit cos of not getting fed properly btw, how do you differentiate a genuine marimo from an imitation? I read somewhere that some seller rolled up into round figures in a polysterin and sell them as normal marimo any tips & info to beware of this? thx QUOTE(leeyung @ Jan 5 2012, 11:57 AM) If you already read through this thread, you actually found that we discussed the crayfish (lobster) with marimo issue, you need to feed the crayfish more rapid or else your marimo will become its burger 
Shoot@M3
Jan 5 2012, 03:40 PM
ah okok will do then and sorry to ask silly questions like these  thx QUOTE(leeyung @ Jan 5 2012, 03:08 PM)  Use a search button or read through this post and you will find the answer  This is the main intention the TS created this thread to avoid several duplicated posts  Be a hardworking member