Marimo, Japanese Moss Ball ♥♥♥, Share your ♥ towards this cute algae

CyaNide27
post May 20 2011, 11:27 PM

83 posts

wah these look so fluffy.... wub.gif how do u tell if they are not well/dying? what is their average lifespan?
CyaNide27
post May 20 2011, 11:41 PM

83 posts

then what do u do when u no longer wanna care for marimo anymore or it grows too big to be contained comfortably in aquarium (not that it will happen often though judging by its growth rate)?
is it only people with aquarium fish or other aquatic creatures only get marimo? or can just put it as deco?
CyaNide27
post May 21 2011, 12:38 AM

83 posts

how bout those people that just buy for fun then after few years dont want the marimo already? or is it a super new hobby that these sort of thing not yet happen?
CyaNide27
post May 21 2011, 02:35 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(leeyung @ May 21 2011, 09:56 AM)
haha, when you dont want the marimo d, how you treat it is up to you haha, give your frend or throw to longkang perhaps? hahahaha this hobby is not new already, I m dealing with this since 2005 smile.gif
wao, 2005.... its my 1st time reading bout them.... blush.gif
CyaNide27
post May 21 2011, 03:17 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ May 21 2011, 02:45 PM)
You should came here more often lor... I heard bout this marimo few years back but at that time only see people selling and not much people rare this cute 'furball' tongue.gif I like to see those people who put effort in 're-decorate' their tank to make it so lively but I have no patient in dealing with it my self lol
Lol i thought this thread is new? tongue.gif
CyaNide27
post May 21 2011, 05:00 PM

83 posts

how does it feel when touching/holding them? ticklish?
CyaNide27
post May 21 2011, 05:03 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ May 21 2011, 05:02 PM)
I might get some from you. Just wait for my PM  brows.gif
btw, Can someone post a clear pictures between the Giant and Nano marimo? I'm interested to get nano cause it's small and cute but the promotion offer by leeyung sounds interesting  blush.gif

When we change the water, can we scoop the marimo out with our bare hand? sorry if I ask too much  tongue.gif
hahaha.... u also interested.... i was looking through the promotions too.... would have gotten in an impulse purchase if the nano sized ones have promotion.... tongue.gif
CyaNide27
post May 21 2011, 05:34 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ May 21 2011, 05:23 PM)
I shall wait for the picture then!!  rclxms.gif

eh nicole, how bout we each get 1 giant n 1 nano? lol though I think I'm more interested in getting cute nano  wub.gif
maybe its time for me to go out hunt for nice bottle before really getting one haha
or 1 giant surrounded by few nano.... or 1 nano surrounded by few giant.... brows.gif

but since i've never been exposed to marimo's before, i'm finding the price quite steep for a moss.... blush.gif no meaning of offence to marimo lovers though, i like them too.... tongue.gif
CyaNide27
post May 21 2011, 06:07 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ May 21 2011, 05:55 PM)
1 giant surrounded by few nano is a good idea but if 1 nano surrounded by few giant it would be a pity for the nano haha
anyway we see how then, if you also interested we get together la and ship it to ur place then I go take from u lol I very scare if need to ship something to my house  sweat.gif
lemme consider and perhaps take a stroll in daiso see got any nice bottles i interested in before calculate how many marimo can keep.... tongue.gif i google some pics and saw some get those bottle that have keychain/hp straps to carry them around.... icon_idea.gif
CyaNide27
post May 22 2011, 03:34 PM

83 posts

Means marimo can actually perform photosynthesis using our fluorescent light tubes? Is it scientifically possible since plants cant do photosynthesis if kept indoors?
CyaNide27
post May 23 2011, 11:34 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(leeyung @ May 23 2011, 01:25 AM)
in fact not only marimo will perform photosynthesis via fluorescent light smile.gif All plants will do! Photosynthesis uses the energy from light (scientifically named as Photon) and carbon dioxide to produce the plant's fruit + waste (in the form of oxygen)
then how come cant keep live plants indoors 1? blush.gif sry not familiar with plant stuffs....
CyaNide27
post May 26 2011, 05:47 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(leeyung @ May 26 2011, 08:58 AM)
Announcement For Marimo Owners

I will create a Marimo Banner for signature  purpose in lowyat forum with your lowyat ID. I will do it by today only (26th May 2011)

SAMPLE

This will be the signature banner with my user: leeyung. I shall reconsider the layout again as I have to make it according to the signature rules in lyn. Kindly PM me if you wish to have one with your user ID too! I will only make it with the PM received by 26th May 2011 (By 10PM)!

P/S: How much to pay? Of Course FOC smile.gif but I will put a small watermark of "leeyung" as a credit to my art piece wink.gif

Members who PMed me and confirmed the Signature Banner (not sorted in order)
1)Mevoxede
2)CreepyCrawly
3)yeelin04
4)a_sim
5)rickyfan8888
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)

Still have another 4 hours and 22 Minutes to go, PM me if you wan the marimo signature banner!
not yet have marimo but is marimo fan can get ah? blush.gif

0.0198sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:31 AM