140 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Bottom

Marimo, Japanese Moss Ball ♥♥♥, Share your ♥ towards this cute algae

Azure_Fox
post Sep 8 2012, 05:55 PM

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Sep 8 2012, 04:35 PM)
mine looks brownish like that since day 1...lol..and i think mine is sick..
Anyway,think they might be sick...shld try to quarantine them and start giving treatment...
I look at them really near to the lamp,each of their fillament still green thoroughly, it's just their colour a lil bit different tho.. smile.gif
how about urs?
ck.chunkeat
post Sep 9 2012, 01:04 AM

Change.
1,327 posts

greenish and brownish...greenish brown.. dont really know how to explain it.. for some,its the outer part which is brown..
before this i have 1 which is getting greener( total i have 2 only).
and all the while i put them in the fridge at night or put in some ice cubes in their container during the day..
Then theres a period where i didnt do that for a few days and it straight away turn much more brownish green...(i actually ignored it for that few days.. to see what will happen..)
so i guess the problem might be temperature being too high at my place..

This post has been edited by ck.chunkeat: Sep 9 2012, 01:04 AM
Azure_Fox
post Sep 9 2012, 02:00 AM

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Sep 9 2012, 01:04 AM)
greenish and brownish...greenish brown.. dont really know how to explain it.. for some,its the outer part which is brown..
and all the while i put them in the fridge at night or put in some ice cubes in their container during the day..
Then theres a period where i didnt do that for a few days and it straight away turn much more brownish green...(i actually ignored it for that few days.. to see what will happen..)
aw XD you need to take care routinely everyday..
I read that to go back to good condition, it takes months... so yeah u must be patient there smile.gif
try to keep the temperature low. well, can't say more because I can't see the condition of ur marimo.., maybe u can post ur newest photos here biggrin.gif

Added on September 9, 2012, 2:06 am
QUOTE(Kaisergrendel @ Sep 5 2012, 07:34 PM)
A warning to owners: Don't use soap to wash your tank xD I did it to my office marimos and they've gone quite pale and haven't pearled properly in awhile. Hopefully they haven't died on me yet O.O
um..I always wash my tank with soap..=_= wrong moveee ahhh
but I always soak it with water a couple of times, until sure that all the soap is gone..then let it dry under the sun...
how is ur Marimo now?XD

This post has been edited by Azure_Fox: Sep 9 2012, 02:06 AM
Azure_Fox
post Sep 9 2012, 11:31 AM

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Sep 9 2012, 01:04 AM)
Chunkeat, try to bath ur marimo everyday too smile.gif. I tried that and this is the result. Maybe in aquarium my 2 SG looks more dull than others..but When I bath and see their fillaments, they're Fresh Green too.. smile.gif and don't forget to put ur marimos in the fridge at night and let it out in the morning for bathing and get light wink.gif. Hope that helps! Cheers!

This post has been edited by Azure_Fox: Sep 9 2012, 11:32 AM

OctoberFly
post Sep 9 2012, 01:46 PM

195 posts

My marimo died sleep.gif I'm not a good owner.
ck.chunkeat
post Sep 9 2012, 02:39 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(OctoberFly @ Sep 9 2012, 01:46 PM)
My marimo died sleep.gif I'm not a good owner.
mines dying too.. >.<
Kaisergrendel
post Sep 9 2012, 09:14 PM

QUOTE(Azure_Fox @ Sep 9 2012, 04:00 AM)
but I always soak it with water a couple of times, until sure that all the soap is gone..then let it dry under the sun...
how is ur Marimo now?XD
Ah well if you're really careful I guess that's okay.

I think my marimo gone liao. Pretty sure you can guess which one it is xD

ck.chunkeat
post Sep 9 2012, 09:17 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(Kaisergrendel @ Sep 9 2012, 09:14 PM)

sad.gif a few others also dying...

guess its not that easy to keep a marimo healthy...
Luckily i didnt buy G or SG marimos eventhough i wanted to...
decided to buy nano to try 1st..
Azure_Fox
post Sep 9 2012, 09:32 PM

QUOTE(Kaisergrendel @ Sep 9 2012, 09:14 PM)

uhueee! it's really whiteee!!
is that because of the soap??=___=" omg..
deep condolences..
Kaisergrendel
post Sep 9 2012, 09:54 PM

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Sep 9 2012, 11:17 PM)
sad.gif a few others also dying...

guess its not that easy to keep a marimo healthy...
Luckily i didnt buy G or SG marimos eventhough i wanted to...
decided to buy nano to try 1st..
These are actually 2cm ones if you couldn't tell.

Besides the big white one and the small white one, the others are actually doing quite well. The 1 month postage is mostly to blame for why they have brown spots. Getting better smile.gif

I've just added them to a tank with a 3-stage filter and a small underwater pump to move the water around. I'm going to experiment with keeping them inside a continuous current and see how they do.

No joke about them not being that easy to keep. I guess it's relatively low maintenance AFTER you've learned to take care of them tongue.gif

QUOTE(Azure_Fox @ Sep 9 2012, 11:32 PM)
uhueee! it's really whiteee!!
is that because of the soap??=___=" omg..
deep condolences..
It might be because of soap, but I also did place it in a window with only indirect sunlight. The first time I put it in the window with the same weather conditions, it was fine, and pearled like crazy. Second time is when I used soap, so soap is my main suspect. After that it slowly turned pale sad.gif

This post has been edited by Kaisergrendel: Sep 9 2012, 09:56 PM
jess7
post Sep 10 2012, 01:28 PM

155 posts

my latest addition to my tank~

added in some plants and a new neighbour smile.gif

a gift to a friend for his 21st~

Azure_Fox
post Sep 10 2012, 05:35 PM

QUOTE(jess7 @ Sep 10 2012, 01:28 PM)
my latest addition to my tank~
wow..that Super Giant looks really Big!
which type of filter do u use? biggrin.gif

jess7
post Sep 10 2012, 06:10 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(Azure_Fox @ Sep 10 2012, 05:35 PM)
wow..that Super Giant looks really Big!
which type of filter do u use? biggrin.gif
super giant of 6cm only smile.gif
hehehe
just the normal submersible filter
Azure_Fox
post Sep 10 2012, 08:46 PM

QUOTE(jess7 @ Sep 10 2012, 06:10 PM)
super giant of 6cm only smile.gif
hehehe
just the normal submersible filter
6 cm that's really big..XD
how long do you have marimo already? drool.gif
jess7
post Sep 10 2012, 08:48 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(Azure_Fox @ Sep 10 2012, 08:46 PM)
6 cm that's really big..XD
how long do you have marimo already?  drool.gif
since may this year only
got the entire family from leeyung rclxms.gif
Azure_Fox
post Sep 10 2012, 08:51 PM

My Three Lovely Giants that fresh healthy and fluffy wub.gif
My Three Super Giants that uh oh..need many many bath wub.gif

jess7
post Sep 10 2012, 08:52 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(Azure_Fox @ Sep 10 2012, 08:51 PM)
My Three Lovely Giants that fresh healthy and fluffy wub.gif
My Three Super Giants that uh oh..need many many bath  wub.gif
beautiful, just beautiful
one can never get bored looking at these round furries laugh.gif
Azure_Fox
post Sep 10 2012, 08:53 PM

QUOTE(jess7 @ Sep 10 2012, 08:48 PM)
since may this year only
got the entire family from leeyung  rclxms.gif
me too biggrin.gif
I just getting them around 3 weeks ago sweat.gif
Hopefully my Marimo always Healthy as urs after a long time^^
My friends in Indonesia are all getting addicted to Marimos too after I showed them hahahah
jess7
post Sep 10 2012, 10:11 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(Azure_Fox @ Sep 10 2012, 08:53 PM)
me too  biggrin.gif
I just getting them around 3 weeks ago sweat.gif
Hopefully my Marimo always Healthy as urs after a long time^^
My friends in Indonesia are all getting addicted to Marimos too after I showed them hahahah
don't worry~
with lotsa love and care
they will grow bigger
i can't wait till mine becomes as big as bowling ball rclxm9.gif
hahaha

yeah
m also poisoning my friends
but when they hear about the growth rate, they were demotivated...
Azure_Fox
post Sep 10 2012, 11:25 PM

QUOTE(jess7 @ Sep 10 2012, 10:11 PM)
don't worry~
with lotsa love and care
they will grow bigger
i can't wait till mine becomes as big as bowling ball  rclxm9.gif
hahaha

yeah
m also poisoning my friends
but when they hear about the growth rate, they were demotivated...
ee... I think nano marimo also cute wub.gif
their fur and texture looks nice to see hehehehe
maybe ur friends want a really big one sweat.gif

I bought and now my other 10 friends also bought marimos...XDD
spreading Marimo communicty in Indonesia wub.gif
Here still really hard to find Marimo... sweat.gif

140 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0233sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:40 AM