Sager : Mobile Gaming @ Its Best v3, NP9130/9150/9170 with Ivy Bridge

Mikeshashimi
post May 19 2011, 07:25 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

I'm thinking of getting a new laptop in the near future and for some reason Sager seems to be a mysterious choice for me.

Can anyone enlighten me on the pros and cons of a sager? thanks!
Mikeshashimi
post May 19 2011, 07:27 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ May 19 2011, 07:26 PM)
pros , cheap price at high performance , cons ? warranty . lol
means cant claim warranty at all? (since its import)...

And when you mean cheap, how cheap? biggrin.gif
Mikeshashimi
post May 19 2011, 07:30 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

Last time I saw a link where it listed all the sites for each country to buy sager laptops but I cant remember where... - Its from someone in LYN

Anyone got the link?
Mikeshashimi
post May 19 2011, 07:40 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ May 19 2011, 07:32 PM)
You can download the product catalogue on first post. There's a lot of link of Sager's resellers at the last page of PDF file smile.gif
thanks! icon_rolleyes.gif
actually right now im in australia... biggrin.gif
Mikeshashimi
post May 19 2011, 07:45 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

Yea, im checking the link... but why does it name the laptops Dreambook?

http://www.pioneercomputers.com.au/product....asp?c1=3&c2=13

and also Clevos

http://www.logicalblueone.com.au/store/431...n-notebook.html

are clevo and sager the same brand? haha... sorry i noob...
Mikeshashimi
post May 19 2011, 07:52 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

I see i see...

http://www.logicalblueone.com.au/store/399...p-computer.html

is this a good one as is?

Clevo Horize B5130 Notebook:

Processor Intel® Core™ i7-620m 2.66Ghz - 3.333Ghz Turbo
RAM 4GB DDR3 1333Mhz System Memory
Hard Drive 500GB 5400RPM, Super Multi 8X DVD±R/RW with Double Layer Support
Screen Size 15.6-inch HD LED BACKLIT (1366x768)
Graphics Card nVidia Geforce GT425M 1GB Dedicated Graphics DX11 switchable with Intel GMA HD (using nVidia Optimus Technology)
Networking 802.11b/g/n WLAN, 10/100/1000 Ethernet LAN
Operating System NO Operating System or choose below for Windows® 7 64bit
Special Feature 1x USB 3.0, 3x USB 2.0, E-SATA, HDMI, Battery Life 4 hours!
Condition Brand New in Box.

for $899 (Dollars)

I really dont know how to know which specs are good and which are overpriced.... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Mikeshashimi: May 19 2011, 07:53 PM
Mikeshashimi
post May 19 2011, 07:57 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

owh I see... Thanks for noting that out.

Just a general question, when you guys look for a gaming laptop, what comes to mind as of most importance other than its GPU? Is it necessary to have like 8GB ram or 1TB hard disk?

Mikeshashimi
post May 19 2011, 08:09 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ May 19 2011, 08:03 PM)
4GB + GTX460m is good enough for normal gaming. Got extra funds, add SSD. If you want to avoid DDR3 ram going up, you can add 8GB or even 16gb in there. biggrin.gif
for procs? at least i7-2630QM?
Sorry for asking alot. sweat.gif
Mikeshashimi
post May 19 2011, 08:17 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ May 19 2011, 08:15 PM)
any processor, any graphics can do good gaming, as long as you don't set the game settings to extreme which is beyond the graphics card capability. biggrin.gif
haha... any other things I must note?
Mikeshashimi
post May 19 2011, 08:23 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ May 19 2011, 08:18 PM)
make sure you buy with confidence and within your budget. smile.gif
of course. and also will consult (price and specs) you sifus before buying... its worth pointing out that I do some gaming, but im not a hardcore PC gamer.

Mikeshashimi
post May 19 2011, 08:34 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

Thanks! Anyway, you reckon RM3500 can get a decent gaming lappy?

note: im on the assumption that if a lappy can game, it can do pretty much most demanding things (i could be terribly wrong tho).
Mikeshashimi
post May 19 2011, 09:37 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

cryogenist: thanks!

This is a Lamp: saw ur review... awesome stuff... biggrin.gif

Question: When it comes to these kind of lappy - Clevo/Sager/Dreambook, how does their body (exterior) compare to normal laptops (dell, acer, asus and such)?
Mikeshashimi
post May 19 2011, 10:15 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

If you guys were to be on a tight budget - say MAX RM3500... What would the recommended specs be? (ie. what would you compromise on?)
Mikeshashimi
post May 19 2011, 11:21 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

Thanks for all the really informative feedback guys... looks like imma need to save some money... haha...
Mikeshashimi
post May 21 2011, 12:42 AM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

is the size of the hard disk important? what impact will it have on the speed of things?
Mikeshashimi
post May 26 2011, 09:46 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(giinn @ May 26 2011, 05:49 PM)
sure my price is higher if using that spec...  smile.gif
true that... i think if i was in malaysia id grab from u dy. but too bad im in Aussie... sad.gif

but good luck in ur sales... still calculating my budget and see if i can get my own NP8130 since most dont recommend any lower than this. nod.gif
Mikeshashimi
post Jun 23 2011, 11:43 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(iwan4616 @ Jun 22 2011, 08:13 PM)
i have find it......but when i convert to MYR...it become more expensive lor.........sad.gif..

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sager-clev...posting.html#uk

DPC TECH
ROCK
NOVATECH
KOBALT COMPUTER

my plan is to buy np8130.....but their model are diffrent .....
almost any tech stuff much much cheaper to buy in malaysia....

even u import sager u do it via asian resellers will be cheaper than buying it if ur overseas.

0.0446sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:55 PM