V3 Volkswagen Cars Discussion ..Golf,Polo,Scirocco, ..Eos/Passat/Tiguan etc. Das Auto!

omichael
post Jun 29 2011, 10:27 PM

49 posts

After months of deciding between Golf GTI, Golf TSI or Scirocco, finally got my black Golf TSI today.

As a casual driver with only a slight interest in mods, I'm happy with my choice so far.

The DRLs make a big difference aesthetically. All the tech and gadgets are awesome. Build quality is top notch.

Torque and HP are good but the 1-second delay when you press the accelerator from idle is quite annoying when you're trying to get out of a junction fast.

One thing I notice is that driving this car, nobody looks at you twice. To the layman it probably looks just like a Hyundai Getz or a Myvi on steroids hehe.

So anyway - does anyone have any advice on tinting? Is it really worth it to spend RM2,000 on premium tint when you can get similar specs and same 5-year warranty on a significantly cheaper local brand?

This post has been edited by omichael: Jun 29 2011, 10:28 PM
omichael
post Jun 30 2011, 09:26 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(Yan @ Jun 30 2011, 08:55 AM)
anybody interested in RNS510 ... lelonging mine at below rm4000  ... the screen protector on the lower right a bit not nice.. to some maybe won't irritate them .. but i just feel not perfect... so letting go n ordering another set.  drop me a PM if u interested.... function wise all 100% perfect. u can't c the "imperfection" when the unit is ON ... but onli can c the "crease mark" when the unit is off... will try to take a pic later....  but if anyone interested n dun mind the small mark on the screen protector.. drop me a PM...

cheers
Hmm why not just buy a new screen protector:

http://www.clarivue.com/volkswagen-rns510-...-protector.html
omichael
post Jun 30 2011, 09:55 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(Yan @ Jun 30 2011, 09:36 AM)
actually tat was the problem lah ... i bought one clarivue SP. When i took out the old SP it was too sticky and sticked on the original layering on the player thus when i pulled out the old SP it created a bubble on the original layer. I tried using CC to push the bubble in but mayb i'm not pro enuff ... i made it worst by leaving a crease on the ori layer. neway not in real hurry to sell oso lah ... if not.. then i just get a pro fr singapore to help me replace the SP ... or worst i just transfer this unit to my Golf and buy another new unit smile.gif
Hehe maybe you can try ordering the protector and taking it to one of those pros at a handphone shop. It's a head unit but the process of installing the screen protector is still the same as a handphone right.

(But then you'd have to pray the handphone shop guy doesn't fail, or you'd need to order a new protector all over again rclxub.gif )
omichael
post Jun 30 2011, 12:07 PM

49 posts

Had a mini freak out session this morning with my Golf TSI while driving to work.

Was stuck at a traffic light jam on a hill when I realized the car rolls back when you let go of the brakes - even when I was on 'D', and even when I was lightly tapping the accelerator.

Almost knocked into the car behind me.

Is this normal? I ended up having to balance out the handbrake and the accelerator as if I'm driving a manual (yes I know DSG is essentially a manual, but wasn't expect it to work like this.)

How do you guys deal with this "characteristic" of the car? I was thinking maybe if you don't play with the handbrake, it may be possible to just hold on to the foot brakes, and floor the accelerator a little harder instead.

This post has been edited by omichael: Jun 30 2011, 12:10 PM
omichael
post Jul 2 2011, 10:15 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(elainor @ Jul 1 2011, 11:23 PM)
Nvm let's chat something useful yet cheaper for example anyone know where to get gti door sills? Thanks!
I've seen some relatively cheap stainless steel ones on eBay, like this:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Step-Scuff-Plate-Door-...#ht_3770wt_1163

Of course they're not OEM but when it comes to door sills... do you really care?
omichael
post Jul 3 2011, 02:52 AM

49 posts

Has anyone tried buying VW parts from eBay sellers in Hong Kong?

I'm considering these Golf TSI exhaust tips:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/CHROME-EXHA...6#ht_499wt_1183

And these door sills:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Door-sill-s...#ht_4742wt_1165

Parts are obviously not OEM but they're cheap, stainless steel and quite plain so IMHO they don't look beng either.

Does anyone know if this kind of simple stuff will get taxed by customs?

omichael
post Jul 6 2011, 02:28 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(zackloy @ Jul 6 2011, 02:02 PM)
Just a coincidence that my friend knows someone on the consumer tribunal so I saja ask about the GTI 2011 vs GTI 2011 SE case. According to the fella if we can get official costing of the additional features from VW, we most likely have a case against VGM. Max claim amount is RM25K. Problem is I did a little asking when I was at a VW dealer this morning, no one seems to have the official itemized costing for the Detroits, RCD510, MDI, Cruise Control etc. Anyway, just for info only....at least we know that there is a possible avenue for these kinds of stuff for future reference.
Just curious, what exactly do you think VW should have done in this case?

GTI owners got what they paid for. GTI SE owners got lucky.

BTW, if I remember correctly my SA quoted the RCD510 as around RM8k, but not sure if this was his inflated price or if that's the official VGM price. Got mine from jwrx for MUCH less.

This post has been edited by omichael: Jul 6 2011, 02:34 PM
omichael
post Jul 6 2011, 05:53 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(csphoon48 @ Jul 6 2011, 05:36 PM)
when i was at d dealer to enquire bout d scirocco,they did told me if i buy d GTI 2011(without d SE goodies) they can give me discount of RM8k off...then they also told me that d new GTI SE no freebies no discounts no free service..to b fair to d previous GTI owners wor...Sounds like RM8k just enough to buy a RCD510 as quoted by VW...how bout d sunroof,18" detroits n cruise control? hmm....
Don't take my word for the RM8k price. As phj63 said, the prices vary depending on who you ask. I'm guessing it may be because VGM doesn't officially import these accessories, so dealerships/SAs get their own 'lobang' and are free to whack whatever price they feel like.

One SA once quoted me a set of Denvers + tyres for RM9k rclxub.gif

I look forward to the day VGM allows us to officially customize our VWs, just like VW UK.
omichael
post Jul 6 2011, 07:46 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Sarbath @ Jul 6 2011, 07:43 PM)
Eh waitup waitup, isnt it GTI SE have the R Led rear light also ?
Nolah bro. I've seen a few GTI SE, none of them have R LED.

No reason for VW to put this as stock. R LED is for Golf R smile.gif
omichael
post Jul 6 2011, 10:01 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(zackloy @ Jul 6 2011, 08:39 PM)
Actually I think there are 2 types of rear LEDS, cherry and smoked. The R has the smoked one which most people pasang in Malaysia. Some other countries GTI come with the cherry LEDS. Could be wrong though.
Actually you're right! I stand corrected.

Was checking out a few of the international VW sites earlier. Turns out in Spain, the GTI comes with the R lights as stock. I'm guessing this is the case for various other countries too.

The R lights would be a bonus, but IMHO stock Golfs in Malaysia should be just a little better-equipped. RCD510 and leather seats would go a long way in better justifying the price tag.

omichael
post Jul 6 2011, 10:23 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(dasauto @ Jul 6 2011, 10:05 PM)
And bmw and merc will complain to the MIIT about the prices again and stocks of gti would be stuck in port klang for ages..... (like the passat cc if you didnt already know that....)
Speaking of stuck cars, my SA was telling me it's lucky that I got my Golf TSI in June. According to him, VGM is having Passat CC-like trouble with the latest shipment of TSIs and GTIs. No idea how accurate this is though.

omichael
post Jul 8 2011, 12:19 AM

49 posts

MAVIK!

How's your APR Stage 1 remap treating you?

Saw an update on your blog saying you only got 170hp on a dyno test. Did APR look into that for you? Sounds like a bit of a raw deal considering they promise upwards of 190hp if I'm not mistaken.

omichael
post Jul 9 2011, 01:01 AM

49 posts

Noticing a slight vibrating noise coming from somewhere around the dashboard of my Golf 1.4 TSI when I moderately accelerate from 1st or 2nd gear. The vibration goes away in a few seconds, but it sounds quite annoying.

Car is very new, mileage around 500km only.

Anyone knows if this is normal?

0.0371sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:36 PM