Can I know what is this? Timber? Board?, How much the price?

TSedwardsiow
post May 12 2011, 07:18 PM, updated 15y ago

180 posts

Hi friends,

Can I know what is this on the ceiling? Timber? Board? How much the price? Where can buy?

thanks a lot~

This post has been edited by edwardsiow: May 12 2011, 07:23 PM
ghuzzy
post May 12 2011, 07:24 PM

miaw miaw miaw^^
658 posts

on first pic
hmm i think it isnt timber neither board^^
its a laminate of timber pattern
well maybe for the base they use a plywood
later laminate the timber pattern on it
its kinda cheap n easy to get too
try askin wardrobe maker bout it^^
btw its sell in a roll of few feet... hmm 8 feet normal size i think^^

ahhh sorry didnt see the second pic
on the second pic is real timber i think
can buy from hardware lolz, but need to use planner to make smooth surface if u buy a rough normal one
they also sell a smooth one but its a bit pricy
its called wood panel^^

This post has been edited by ghuzzy: May 12 2011, 07:29 PM
alucard_my
post May 12 2011, 07:27 PM

320 posts

If you are familiar with polyurethane, there is this wood imitation polyurethane that can be made to mimic that of wood but 10x lighter than wood. We see this often in cornices which are light but expensive.
TSedwardsiow
post May 12 2011, 07:34 PM

180 posts

The second one, my plaster ceiling contractor quote me as city wood RM20 per sq ft.....80 sq st already rm1600.....><

Any recommended wardrobe maker at Klang valley?

ghuzzy
post May 12 2011, 07:40 PM

miaw miaw miaw^^
658 posts

QUOTE(edwardsiow @ May 12 2011, 07:34 PM)
The second one, my plaster ceiling contractor quote me as city wood RM20 per sq ft.....80 sq st already rm1600.....><

Any recommended wardrobe maker at Klang valley?
that depends on what wood u wanna use, type, durability bla bla bla
it is really pricy, so that price is expectable,

even if u consult a wardrobe maker, if u wanna put the one like on the second pic it is costly i tell u^^
it is 8 by 10 sq feet eh... hmmm....

This post has been edited by ghuzzy: May 12 2011, 07:43 PM
KirRoyale
post May 12 2011, 07:46 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(edwardsiow @ May 12 2011, 07:18 PM)
Hi friends,

Can I know what is this on the ceiling? Timber? Board? How much the price? Where can buy?

thanks a lot~

1st pic, is custom made laminated or playwood ceiling pillar

2nd pic, is some ceiling specialist , not made by wood, it's aluminium material with wood design on it

TSedwardsiow
post May 12 2011, 07:46 PM

180 posts

the first one my contractor said use plaster board to do the structure first later go to buy "timber material" (i don't know what should call in english..like wall paper) to wrap it....

This post has been edited by edwardsiow: May 12 2011, 07:48 PM
ghuzzy
post May 12 2011, 07:49 PM

miaw miaw miaw^^
658 posts

the first one my contractor said use plaster board to do the structure first later go to buy "timber material" (i don't know what should call in english) to wrap it....
QUOTE(alucard_my @ May 12 2011, 07:27 PM)
If you are familiar with polyurethane, there is this wood imitation polyurethane that can be made to mimic that of wood but 10x lighter than wood. We see this often in cornices which are light but expensive.
alucard already answer the first one, its polyurethane laminate^^
on the second one, i still think its wood panel not aluminium^^
try to look at the edge.

This post has been edited by ghuzzy: May 12 2011, 07:51 PM
TSedwardsiow
post May 12 2011, 07:50 PM

180 posts

Anyone know the price of polyurethane laminate? where can buy polyurethane laminate?
ghuzzy
post May 12 2011, 07:52 PM

miaw miaw miaw^^
658 posts

QUOTE(edwardsiow @ May 12 2011, 07:50 PM)
Anyone know the price of polyurethane laminate? where can buy polyurethane laminate?
umm im not sure whats the price now since last i bought it on 2005 rotflmao
but its still cheap i think^^
u can get it at nearby hardware shop^^
whats ur location? want me to suggest a contractor?

This post has been edited by ghuzzy: May 12 2011, 08:02 PM
stupiak07
post May 12 2011, 10:18 PM

397 posts

since it's klang valley, dun expect it's to be cheap. you should find those from outside station contractor to do the work for it and it will be cheaper a bit.

if you really want to save cost, try to do it your self.

you could get
few plywood depend on what dimension you need. (dun expect it to be cheap as currently, it's high demand in the market and oversea)
wood adhesive bond (those dark yellow kind)(ask for the strongest 1 when you buy it at hardware shop.
some wood wall paper (there are various design)
some square wood for you to nail it

This post has been edited by stupiak07: May 12 2011, 10:20 PM
Eleganz Concept
post May 12 2011, 10:36 PM

582 posts

1st pic is plywood false column with laminated finish, if apply laminate on plaster ceiling surface, i dont think will able to last long. and if plan to do it yourself, then you have to make sure u know how to fix it on the ceiling, if not fall down will be very danger for you.

2nd pic from what i see, i guess that is aluminium, with wood printing surface. is not a real wood.
fuzagi
post May 12 2011, 10:42 PM

Cushcushiers
1,052 posts

the first one is either veneer or reconstituted veneer cladded on plywood box up. 2nd one looks like merbau planks to me, based on its interlocking and the end termination pieces.
orange_lobster
post May 24 2011, 05:11 PM

14 posts

Cant differentiate via pictures. But nowadays better use PU material(sort of plastic). Cheap, and wont absorp moisture, look real.... since ceiling is that high....
cwhong
post May 25 2011, 12:58 AM

Growth company seeker ..... :)
4,342 posts

QUOTE(KirRoyale @ May 12 2011, 07:46 PM)
1st pic, is custom made laminated or playwood ceiling pillar

2nd pic, is some ceiling specialist , not made by wood, it's aluminium material with wood design on it
SPOT ON ...... u are right thumbup.gif
TSedwardsiow
post May 25 2011, 02:24 PM

180 posts

for first picture, can I do the pillars using plaster board (done by plaster ceiling contractor)...then I paint brown colour....can? haha
cwhong
post May 25 2011, 04:04 PM

Growth company seeker ..... :)
4,342 posts

QUOTE(edwardsiow @ May 25 2011, 02:24 PM)
for first picture, can I do the pillars using plaster board (done by plaster ceiling contractor)...then I paint brown colour....can? haha
Can but gonna be ugly tongue.gif
TSedwardsiow
post May 25 2011, 04:08 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(cwhong @ May 25 2011, 04:04 PM)
Can but gonna be ugly tongue.gif
U see the first picture..it seem like don't have any texture...just solid dark brown colour...So I am going to try doing the structure with plaster board and paint dark brown...I don't feel difference..

hehehe...

This post has been edited by edwardsiow: May 25 2011, 04:10 PM
Eleganz Concept
post May 25 2011, 05:28 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(edwardsiow @ May 25 2011, 04:08 PM)
U see the first picture..it seem like don't have any texture...just solid dark brown colour...So I am going to try doing the structure with plaster board and paint dark brown...I don't feel difference..

hehehe...
Is depend what is the porpose you doing that, if you say, that is a design of ceiling, and make some color to highlight it. that is fine. But if you say want to make something LOOK LIKE wood, but actually just using plaster and paint. Then i will tell u, u will not get this feeling.
TSedwardsiow
post May 25 2011, 05:33 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(Eleganz Concept @ May 25 2011, 05:28 PM)
Is depend what is the porpose you doing that, if you say, that is a design of ceiling, and make some color to highlight it. that is fine. But if you say want to make something LOOK LIKE wood, but actually just using plaster and paint. Then i will tell u, u will not get this feeling.
agree...wood feeling need some texture...i understand that..=)

0.0213sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:41 PM