Job Well Done at AA Accessories in JB, Instlled my Audio System amp
TSamjb76
May 11 2011, 08:33 PM, updated 15y ago
Ok finally my Audio System F4-240 is properly installed! A friend gave me a Bostwick Pre-amp and the installer put an RCA filter to cut off the hissing. The installer, an old timer who looked rather excited when i asked him to install the Pre-amp as well, probably his forte during those days, did an excellent job in tuning the sound just exactly the way I want it. Clean, warm and original! And the result is wonderful! The AS amp really works wonders for my focal access the sound that comes out from the speakers is uncoloured, very natural sounding and it's as though I'm listening in a recording studio. Pardon me for saying all those adjectives but that's how I feel and for a total of RM2,500 worth of investment for focal access comp, AS amp and dynamat for 2 front doors, - I would say I've achieved the SQ I'm looking for without having to change my original stock HU in my accord 2010
iciwe
May 11 2011, 09:07 PM
you still need a woofer !
TSamjb76
May 11 2011, 09:31 PM
Hahaha! I know, but am contemplating where to put it. A box at the trunk is a definite no no - as I need the trunk space. Suggestions? I was told the best setup for a sub would be in a dedicated box at the back of the trunk cos of the air movement and what not that will produce the best sub bass. Anywhere else to mount that u reckon may not compromise the SQ?
bafukie
May 11 2011, 10:59 PM
glad u are enjoying ur system... AA head installer/owner is a wonderful guy to talk to. there are a few options if u wanna save trunk space, 1. get a shallow mount sub. typically needs around 0.5-0.6 cuft of space. 2. do fiberglass to the side of ur trunk. Something like i did to my smaller-than-accord car.  3. get active subwoofer. Not considered as 'real sub' but save spaces and produce more than adequate sub bass.
TSamjb76
May 11 2011, 11:08 PM
QUOTE(bafukie @ May 11 2011, 10:59 PM) glad u are enjoying ur system... AA head installer/owner is a wonderful guy to talk to. there are a few options if u wanna save trunk space, 1. get a shallow mount sub. typically needs around 0.5-0.6 cuft of space. 2. do fiberglass to the side of ur trunk. Something like i did to my smaller-than-accord car.  3. get active subwoofer. Not considered as 'real sub' but save spaces and produce more than adequate sub bass. Hi sifu bafukie, Thanks for the suggestion. What about mounting the sub at the back board of the rear speakers? This ah tan (AA owner) told me it's doable but need some modification such as some extra board below it to get the sub thumping, again I believe it's something to do with air movement. Do u happen to come across anyone that has done this b4? P/s: when u r next back in jb do pm me lah - go yam cha hehe
bafukie
May 11 2011, 11:20 PM
i havent got a chance to audit any IB (infinite baffle aka free air) sub system. But definitely that is doable too. Just need to find a sub suitable for IB. Google IB sub or free air sub. Go to the images and u will find tonnes of setup pics.
Ah tan is definitely correct to say that the rear deck needs reinforcement as our normal board will not support the weight of a sub.
ps: pm me ur contact no. I will be back this coming friday. However im not sure if i have time for a meetup as my schedule is quite tight. Will definitely try though. Cheerios
This post has been edited by bafukie: May 11 2011, 11:22 PM
carcrazy
May 12 2011, 12:07 AM

infinite baffle sub can sound awesome.. u can try these: famous SQ JL Audio IB4 10" only going for RM280 used unit nice...
TSamjb76
May 12 2011, 07:45 AM
QUOTE(carcrazy @ May 12 2011, 12:07 AM) infinite baffle sub can sound awesome.. u can try these: famous SQ JL Audio IB4 10" only going for RM280 used unit nice... Very interested. But where is your shop?
carcrazy
May 12 2011, 10:33 AM

we provide shipping too.. Price is excluding pos laju http://www.audio-creations.com/audio-creations-location-mapfor fast reply, call 0122962799 audio creations email: victor@audio-creations.com
TSamjb76
May 12 2011, 02:48 PM
QUOTE(carcrazy @ May 12 2011, 10:33 AM) we provide shipping too.. Price is excluding pos laju http://www.audio-creations.com/audio-creations-location-mapfor fast reply, call 0122962799 audio creations email: victor@audio-creations.com Victor if shipping to jb how much extra? Got warranty that's in good working Cond?