Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Lowyat Forum V17, Super Amoled Screen with Gorilla Glass!

janov
post May 11 2011, 05:37 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(sengasdf @ May 11 2011, 04:52 PM)
V17 woot! JVH battery life is awesome!!
Thanks gmhafiz for the new thread. Yeah i agree on the battery life so far on JVH, seems like at least 50% better compared to when i was on Froyo
janov
post May 13 2011, 09:16 PM

167 posts

On stock jvh, encountered prob playing video with mobo, it closes after playing for a while. Damn, on trip now but can watch show. Wanna read pdf then Think office need to activate, I'm on wifi but it says no network. Don't face this problem on froyo. Is it just me or gb on sgs still not stable? So disappointed :-(
janov
post May 19 2011, 03:23 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(sendoh_7 @ May 19 2011, 02:58 PM)
guys..how to disable shutter sound?
i tried to rename the camera_click.ogg file, but camera sound still there..
it can disabled at the camera setting. Go to setting then click on the spanner tab and its there for u to change to no sound. happy upskirt picture taking tongue.gif
janov
post May 19 2011, 05:46 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(sendoh_7 @ May 19 2011, 04:37 PM)
dont have that option bro..im using stock 2.2.1 rom
thats why i resorted to rename the ogg file.. tongue.gif
then u should upgrade to 2.3.3 JVH/JVO

btw anyone flashed to the latest JVO yet? what is the difference compared to JVH? since the build date is the same, i suspect there is much difference. the batt drain bug is still my biggest concern, other than that no complaints about JVH
janov
post May 20 2011, 09:38 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(sendoh_7 @ May 20 2011, 07:30 AM)
guys..at the samfirmware site, which 2.3.3 should i choose?
europe (I9000XXJVO)or 'samsung provider' (I9000BUJV9)?
europe (I9000XXJVO), i believe JV9 is for Vodafone or something like that, someone mentioned before. let us know the performance of JVO, im on JVH and the battery drain problem still exist occasionally.
janov
post May 20 2011, 10:28 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(sendoh_7 @ May 20 2011, 09:58 AM)
thanks for the reply..

i can just flash it normally using odin, right? no special prerequisite?

stick to stock ROM first..even now already  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
follow instructions for flashing GB on first page. if not you can check the comments on xda. i followed the instructions and did not face any issues. once you try and get it, flashing will be very easy
janov
post May 20 2011, 02:44 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(ciwek90 @ May 20 2011, 02:32 PM)
hello all sgs's user.....is it worth to buy this phone NOW?as now dual-core is release in market. I thinking to buy this phone bcoz this phone is a king of single core phone. If i buy this phone and i want to use stock rom what tweaks i need to do to make it perfect or show its true potential? What i know is the gps is an issues, need to install lagfix, etc....can u all sifu2 makes me clear about this?really looking forward with this phone...please enlighten me and THANK YOU!  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
it depends on ur budget, if u got $$ then wait for SGS2. as for what tweaks is required, it also depends on ur needs. for me im running gingerbread jvh and i find it smooth enough, i was in kl earlier looking for a place in desa pandan, damn the gps is much faster on GB. but if u have high requirement on screen, then i will definitely suggest this fon to u, its one of the best. of cos, if u have problem, many sifu here can help u out ;-)
janov
post May 23 2011, 05:50 PM

167 posts

rclxms.gif
QUOTE(kmrdeva @ May 23 2011, 05:35 PM)
I am a paid user of Handcent. Backup to cloud, my friend smile.gif BTW, Titanium should also be able to restore messaging database as long as you're updating within the same android version (so far ok for me).

I think you can consider backing up your messaging stuff to Gmail, I remember there are some apps for that.
I use SMS & Backup which can be found in the Market, works well for me, very simple to use and its free
janov
post May 26 2011, 02:09 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(sora_world07 @ May 26 2011, 01:54 PM)
really? well i cant say much as this is something new to me. i assume you can still go to any shop do to repairs or anything but i duno about samsung service center. do they still accept it even without the ap warranty?  hmm.gif
i think samsung centre will not recognise any AP set, i mean correct me if i'm wrong but AP set does mean the set is brought in illegally right? as i know, AP set is only under warranty by the company that brings it in, u can check back with the shop you bought it from. you can still fix it at samsung centre but u have to know its not under warranty and u need to pay full amount for any fixing required. btw, what's wrong with your phone?
janov
post May 26 2011, 05:28 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ May 26 2011, 05:01 PM)
Dunno, I am a positive person, I always use legit apps, no warez if I can help it unless for some reason I am blocked from installing something I need/want.  nod.gif  nod.gif
i can answer that, so that the authorities can track and spy on every single person on this planet one day. even on FB, its a good tool to track and see what we are up to, for us we just think FB is a fun thing. but of course they use the whole terror reasoning as an excuse to track everyone but in reality, the authorities want to keep a check on all of us. this is all in tune with the ultimate goal of global governance which is currently taking place. google "New World Order" and judge for yourself. tell me who controls the way we think. of cos most people are just gonna call me a conspiracy theorist. all about perception i guess, only time will tell.

sorry for the of topic. but sifu kmrdeva positive reasoning does make sense as well, its good to be positive but not all the time brows.gif
janov
post May 26 2011, 05:45 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ May 26 2011, 05:42 PM)
Ha ha, of course not always positive la, that's a bit 'mental' already.

It's like sex, some level of protection is needed - try to be an informed user and be wary of what you click/install/do/say online. No need to be paranoid though, I don't think Google or Obama really wants to know what colour my shit was this morning. Nevertheless, do realise that information is power, so don't leave your privacy settings especially on social networking sites all open like a prostitute's legs. All those contests and games u play on FB, every one of them can harvest your data and access your profile. It's not possible to be 100% protected, but try to minimise your level of exposure only la, I guess.

Added on May 26, 2011, 5:44 pm

Sure ka? I think not many apps on Android platform actually track licensing/purchase by IMEI, some exceptions being RockPlayer and PhoneWeaver (both which I am stupidly stuck with on my SGS IMEI after I purchased them).
Good thinking, thats why ur a sifu tongue.gif
janov
post Jun 1 2011, 10:54 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 1 2011, 10:21 AM)
All my close friends are using iphones and that is exactly what they say.  I just bought my SGS so cannot keep changing.  I hope iPhone 5 will have 4" screen and then I will get it.

Added on June 1, 2011, 10:31 am

Most people are not very technical and don't do a lot of customisation.  what my wife and most of my friends in the iphone group never have any problem with not being able to transfer file with usb or bluetooth.  All they use is facebook, internet browsing, taking photos(iphone 4 camera is amazing), chatting etc and iphone works like a charm for them.

Cheers
the question you should ask is, who supplies LCD to Iphone. the reason iphone price are high is because they source most of their parts from competitors. there is a reason SGS II is priced lower than SGS last year and there is a reason IP5 launch is delayed. they obviously have a tough time deciding the price of the IP5. i admit the iphone OS is smooth and very user friendly, that is the reason their phone is selling well, also they have superior marketing strategy, where iphone now becomes a household name. but i believe android OS will continue to improve and we can see the improvement from Eclair to Froyo and now GB. plus android users have the option to customise and flash new firmware version when available. for me, i like this flexibilty. i can use a usb cable from any android phone or even BB to charge my phone but cant say the same for IP4.

but i guess, end of the say, as have been mentioned here numerous times by some of the members here, its all up to individual what is their needs to decide which phone is best for you. SGS do have a lot of problems in the beginning but i notice improvements after almost a year of using it and i believe it can still continue to improve whereas IP4 perfromance will be constant, though to be fair, to start off with they have a good OS.

im also quite curious about the specs of IP5, the 3.5" on the IP4 is quite disappointing to me cos screen requirement is my biggest factor in choosing a phone (i might even switch to SGS II when my current contract expires in July).

to sum it up, i believe IP5 screen will be larger than the current 3.5" on the IP4 but the way i look at it, cost is the biggest factor as Samsung and LG are one of the worlds largest manufacturer of LCD.

P/S: did u know IP4 camera module is manufactured in our own backyard......in Klang?? hehe
janov
post Jun 1 2011, 03:10 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(frensboutique @ Jun 1 2011, 02:49 PM)
Anyone try Europe official Gingerbread rom?
i think almost everyone here tried official europe GB rom and they also customise it. im using JVH and so far so good. what i would like to know is if anyone tried latest Asian official ROM JV6. i wonder how that feels. might flash to that this weekend
janov
post Jun 1 2011, 03:19 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Jun 1 2011, 03:06 PM)
ok. obviously u are apple fans. it is ok u choose your fav device. just buy the one suit you. for demand. sorry, check out latest sgs2, they get 3million pre-order. http://samsunggalaxys2review.org/samsung-g...illion-globally
come on guys, he's not an apple fan, to be fair, he still owns a SGS, its just that the performance is just not up to his expectations compared to Iphone. its his opinion and we should respect it. we are not here to argue which phone is the best but to give opinions.

however, i do not agree with his perception that IP4 lotsa people line up and all. to me the reason for that is Apple has only IP4, whereas Android has LG/Samsung/HTC/CSL/ASUS/Motorola etc. so it is not a fair comparison. a fairer comparison would be the number of sales of IP4 against Android phones.

really? 3mil pre-orders?? wow. not surprised though, i heard LYN someone selling SGS2 and the list have reached almost 100 or could it be more by now. im just waiting for Maxis to launch it so i can get it under the plan at a cheaper price. i heard SGS2 will retail cheaper than SGS when it was luanched last year.
janov
post Jun 2 2011, 10:18 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(dayung81 @ Jun 2 2011, 09:01 AM)
i would like to buy samsung galaxy phone, can anyone suggest where can i buy with best price. I will be in KL for holiday 2nd july 2011. TY
we usually have technical discussions on SGS and Iphone bit*hing here, if you wanna know pricing of phones, check out Garage Sales section, i believe the price is quite competitive for SGS around 1.2k.
janov
post Jun 2 2011, 04:46 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(alf @ Jun 2 2011, 04:39 PM)
hey guys, does your menu softkey vibrate when you press on it? for me only the back sofykey is vibrating when pressed... hmmm
yup just tried, both back and menu (settings pop up) key vibrates when pressed. most likely u need to do factory reset to see if that will solve your problem. or flash to something new? wat rom r u using?
janov
post Jun 3 2011, 08:30 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(cradle0fFilth @ Jun 3 2011, 08:17 AM)
i kena oso.
left my batt idle on 38% (but not flight mode), woke up realize my phone batt was out. of cuz, alarm didn't ring n i woke up late for work. zzz
Just checked mine, it says 41% Used by Maps but i never turn on Maps the past 1 week!! think i better restart the phone. the battery drain comes on and off, really annoying.
janov
post Jun 3 2011, 09:45 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(dexter8 @ Jun 3 2011, 09:27 AM)
Hey guys, I'm a new galaxy s user. I need some help of what to do for my half bricked phone. It happen when i rebooted after connecting with KIES. It's stuck at the S logo and went blank. Is there anyway i could fix it without taking it back to the shop. Any help or explanation is highly appreciated.
i think flashing using ODIN can solve ur problem, go read the 1st page of this thread, all the info is there for you to flash using ODIN. read it twice and if u still dont understand you can ask ur questions here. first step is try to go into download mode, press power+home+volume down button at the same time, the phone should go into download mode, if you can get that then u can flash using ODIN.
janov
post Jun 3 2011, 10:13 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(dexter8 @ Jun 3 2011, 09:55 AM)
thanks janov for the info. so now i have to get odin and few other files right? how do i know which versions of firmwares and PIT files to take.
u can get ODIN from samfirmware.com and the GB files of your choice. when i flash to GB, i didnt use PIT, follow the instructions on page 1 on how to flash to GB, if u follow the step it is quite straight forward
janov
post Jun 3 2011, 11:15 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(Koreyoshi @ Jun 3 2011, 10:42 AM)
hmmm... my questions are hard to answer?
u should ask the person ur buying from whether he bought it as an AP set or ori from Samsung. cant help u much on this. no way of telling warranty period unless its an ori set whereby u can go check the serial number with Samsung Service Centre on the warranty period. thats the problem with buying AP sets cos only the company that u bought it from can claim the warranty.

to check 8Gb or 16Gb, go to Settings and select SD card and phone storage. In there you can see under USB storage what is the size of the internal memory card, mine is a 16Gb but it shows 13.43Gb cos i assume the balance is used for the OS etc. Hope this answers ur hard question tongue.gif

This post has been edited by janov: Jun 3 2011, 11:15 AM

0.0643sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:15 PM