mod wira throttle body, using vacum instead of ISC gear

TSshen1716
post May 11 2011, 01:02 PM, updated 15y ago

200 posts

Hi,my wira throttle body ISC was kong yesterday,i go to workshop,and they recommend mod throttle body using vacum instead of ISC gear..foreman mentioned that using vacum is better and it wont always kong like ISC.the cons are need to warm up engine longer than before..the pros are better power and fuel save.
any sifu know about this or try before?
Thanks..
gagak_84
post May 11 2011, 01:48 PM

132 posts

FICD.. yes.. can solve this problem.. RM40 -60
ThunderGod_Cid
post May 11 2011, 02:50 PM

158 posts

Adding FICD onto your system that's not suppose to run on FICD will give you high fuel consumption. It's just like those micro compressor aka power booster that only allows more air into the intake. The only difference is that it uses a solenoid.

Why not you try cleaning the throttle body first? I solve 7 out of 10 Wiras that came to me with idling problem. As long as your TB is kept clean, it shouldn't give you any problems
gagak_84
post May 11 2011, 03:08 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ May 11 2011, 02:50 PM)
Adding FICD onto your system that's not suppose to run on FICD will give you high fuel consumption. It's just like those micro compressor aka power booster that only allows more air into the intake. The only difference is that it uses a solenoid.

Why not you try cleaning the throttle body first? I solve 7 out of 10 Wiras that came to me with idling problem. As long as your TB is kept clean, it shouldn't give you any problems
correct smile.gif
change the ISC servo if the socket is not yet melt..
after that try clean it.. if cannot.. just used FICD. i used FICD on my car..and it not affecting ur fuel consumption.
TSshen1716
post May 11 2011, 03:21 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ May 11 2011, 02:50 PM)

I has clean the throttle body before,but still cant fix the problem..my problem is the rpm keep rev up and down continuesly when idle,not low rpm problem...after take out the gear,found one of the teeth has broken already.

I thk the method which mentioned by the foreman is not FICD,coz he quote me rm200 for this vacum thingy.and he mentioned is mod the throttle body,and not add some extra thing like FICD..
gagak_84
post May 11 2011, 03:43 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(shen1716 @ May 11 2011, 03:21 PM)
I has clean the throttle body before,but still cant fix the problem..my problem is the rpm keep rev up and down continuesly when idle,not low rpm problem...after take out the gear,found one of the teeth has broken already.

I thk the method which mentioned by the foreman is not FICD,coz he quote me rm200 for this vacum thingy.and he mentioned is mod the throttle body,and not add some extra thing like FICD..
bro.. only FICD can solve ur problem...
the_catacombs
post May 11 2011, 04:11 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

need to know whats ur mechanic ingenious method of using vacuum to solve the problem... there is alot of method that utilizes vacuum effect...

my throttle body running without ISC... totally blocked off using aluminum plate... using ficd now... runs well no problem whatsoever...
gagak_84
post May 11 2011, 04:14 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ May 11 2011, 04:11 PM)
need to know whats ur mechanic ingenious method of using vacuum to solve the problem... there is alot of method that utilizes vacuum effect...

my throttle body running without ISC... totally blocked off using aluminum plate... using ficd now... runs well no problem whatsoever...
forgot.. this is the 2nd method blush.gif
sinister_sid
post May 11 2011, 04:49 PM

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ May 11 2011, 04:11 PM)

i tot u use 2 ficd hmm.gif
the_catacombs
post May 11 2011, 06:10 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(sinister_sid @ May 11 2011, 04:49 PM)
i tot u use 2 ficd  hmm.gif
1 control aircond, another control cold start
TSshen1716
post May 11 2011, 08:36 PM

200 posts

My problem was fixed after replace the isc gear..i thk the method said by my mechanic look like catacomb method...not using isc gear anymore and replace by ficd..bro catacomb,may i know wat the pros and cons using this method?
gagak_84
post May 11 2011, 10:02 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ May 11 2011, 06:10 PM)
1 control aircond, another control cold start
Can show the diagram?
SUSkyheng
post May 11 2011, 10:25 PM

888 posts

Next time can try remove the ECI's fuse(20A) and crank start your car, just to bring the voltage down..... It can reset the ECU.... I just clean my TB by foreman yesterday and the RPM maintained at 1000-1200. But after a reset, it back to normal again, at 500-700.....
the_catacombs
post May 12 2011, 01:49 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(shen1716 @ May 11 2011, 08:36 PM)
My problem was fixed after replace the isc gear..i thk the method said by my mechanic look like catacomb method...not using isc gear anymore and replace by ficd..bro catacomb,may i know wat the pros and cons using this method?
most mechanic will remain the "dead" ISC component there but fix an ficd to solve the problem... well, this method does not 100% solve the problem because ur ISC might still go crazy because the ISC socket is still connected to it... it will still constantly self-adjusting itself to the changes of intake vacuum (because u use ficd, intake vacuum pressure fluctuates whenever aircond kicks in)... in such condition, ur ecu will continuously try to adjust the vacuum pressure via the dead or semi-dead ISC motor... in long run, ur ecu might also get damaged...

hence, it is safe to completely remove the ISC unit and disconnect the ISC socket and totally rely on the ficd unit...

not sure if engine check light will lit up or not after disconnecting ur ISC socket... i think it can be solved via PDT reset fault.... my car dont have engine check light coz convert from carburetor to fuel injection... laugh.gif

QUOTE(gagak_84 @ May 11 2011, 10:02 PM)
Can show the diagram?
err... dun have diagram ler... vr simple connection... ficd only has 2 wire... signal and ground... signal wire u connect to 12vdc and den to an external switch mounted inside ur car... switch is den grounded... this creates a complete circuitry...

as for the hose connection, 1 is in and another is out... intake path i left it open (or u can install a breather there), while the output path is tapped to the second ficd (which controls the aircond) output path, which both will eventually connected to the intake manifold...

so when coldstart ur engine revs drop or gets lumpy, just switch the ficd on and adjust ur coldstart idling rev at the ficd... its that simple...
gagak_84
post May 12 2011, 09:31 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ May 12 2011, 01:49 AM)
most mechanic will remain the "dead" ISC component there but fix an ficd to solve the problem... well, this method does not 100% solve the problem because ur ISC might still go crazy because the ISC socket is still connected to it... it will still constantly self-adjusting itself to the changes of intake vacuum (because u use ficd, intake vacuum pressure fluctuates whenever aircond kicks in)... in such condition, ur ecu will continuously try to adjust the vacuum pressure via the dead or semi-dead ISC motor... in long run, ur ecu might also get damaged...

hence, it is safe to completely remove the ISC unit and disconnect the ISC socket and totally rely on the ficd unit...

not sure if engine check light will lit up or not after disconnecting ur ISC socket... i think it can be solved via PDT reset fault.... my car dont have engine check light coz convert from carburetor to fuel injection... laugh.gif
err... dun have diagram ler... vr simple connection... ficd only has 2 wire... signal and ground... signal wire u connect to 12vdc and den to an external switch mounted inside ur car... switch is den grounded... this creates a complete circuitry...

as for the hose connection, 1 is in and another is out... intake path i left it open (or u can install a breather there), while the output path is tapped to the second ficd (which controls the aircond) output path, which both will eventually connected to the intake manifold...

so when coldstart ur engine revs drop or gets lumpy, just switch the ficd on and adjust ur coldstart idling rev at the ficd... its that simple...
ok.. i just want to know the hose connection... this is ok for MAP right? no AFS.
the_catacombs
post May 12 2011, 02:17 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(gagak_84 @ May 12 2011, 09:31 AM)
ok.. i just want to know the hose connection... this is ok for MAP right? no AFS.
yeap... i'm using it on MAP system...
i guess when people say it increases fuel consumption, reduce power and so on, it happens on engines running MAF system... because the MAF detects how much air passing through it... if u bypass the air and directly enters the intake manifold, that amount of air will not be detected by the MAF sensor...
gagak_84
post May 12 2011, 02:37 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ May 12 2011, 02:17 PM)
i guess when people say it increases fuel consumption, reduce power and so on, it happens on engines running MAF system... because the MAF detects how much air passing through it... if u bypass the air and directly enters the intake manifold, that amount of air will not be detected by the MAF sensor...
ok.. but i dont think MAF can used two FICD, unless u can add 1 more T hose at the intake..after AFS.. 1 go for air cond control, and 1 for cold start control.
chickenriceboy
post May 12 2011, 02:37 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ May 12 2011, 02:17 PM)
i use both ficd and isc ..no problem
the_catacombs
post May 12 2011, 02:44 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(gagak_84 @ May 12 2011, 02:37 PM)
ok.. but i dont think MAF can used two FICD, unless u can add 1 more  T  hose at the intake..after AFS.. 1 go for air cond control, and 1 for cold start control.
if add the hose at intake after MAF sensor before throttle body, it defeats the purpose during idling rite??... coz when idling, throttle body will be shut close... there is no engine vacuum to suck in air to bring up the idling rpm...

QUOTE(chickenriceboy @ May 12 2011, 02:37 PM)
i use both ficd and isc ..no problem
good la... congratulations...
ThunderGod_Cid
post May 12 2011, 04:08 PM

158 posts

last resort lor, if your TB cant be fixed
gagak_84
post May 12 2011, 06:50 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ May 12 2011, 02:44 PM)
if add the hose at intake after MAF sensor before throttle body, it defeats the purpose during idling rite??... coz when idling, throttle body will be shut close... there is no engine vacuum to suck in air to bring up the idling rpm...
good la... congratulations...
smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif

i add the hose at intake after AFS.. sometime during cold start.. FICD suck the air and u feel that the engine loss of the power (happen only after i drive during cold start ).. but after that i kan lenjan kaw2.. no affect at all.. huhuhu..
minor only.. nod.gif
the_catacombs
post May 12 2011, 09:21 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(gagak_84 @ May 12 2011, 06:50 PM)
smile.gif  smile.gif  smile.gif

i add the hose at intake after AFS.. sometime during cold start.. FICD suck the air and u feel that the engine loss of the power (happen only after i drive during cold start ).. but after that i kan lenjan kaw2.. no affect at all.. huhuhu..
minor only..  nod.gif
before or after throttle body??...
gagak_84
post May 12 2011, 09:34 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ May 12 2011, 09:21 PM)
before or after throttle body??...
Before. Anyway, do u know the function the hose on top of throttle body? Small hose, vaccum kot? Function?
the_catacombs
post May 13 2011, 02:09 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(gagak_84 @ May 12 2011, 09:34 PM)
Before. Anyway, do u know the function the hose on top of throttle body? Small hose, vaccum kot?  Function?
the 3 vacuum ports labeled P, E, A??... not sure though... but it is connected to the canister purge... mine dont seem to function anyway... hahaha....
demomode
post May 25 2011, 09:36 AM

111 posts

mine also using 2 ficd. 1 control idling & 1 for aircon. so far running good,
but idling when cold start is damn low.

anyone got any solutions? btw mine is mivec throttle body.
the_catacombs
post May 26 2011, 04:31 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(demomode @ May 25 2011, 09:36 AM)
mine also using 2 ficd. 1 control idling & 1 for aircon. so far running good,
but idling when cold start is damn low.

anyone got any solutions? btw mine is mivec throttle body.
huh??.. 1st one control idling a/c off??... 2nd one control idling a/c on??...

there is a plastic knob at ur throttle body which controls the idling a/c off mahh... why u need external help??...
gagak_84
post May 26 2011, 11:21 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ May 26 2011, 04:31 AM)
huh??.. 1st one control idling a/c off??... 2nd one control idling a/c on??...

there is a plastic knob at ur throttle body which controls the idling a/c off mahh... why u need external help??...
agreed..

0.0186sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:03 AM