14 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

☆☆☆ Tires Discussion Thread V2✰✰✰, welcome re002☆csc5☆asymmetric2!

Quazacolt
post Dec 30 2013, 08:39 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(efaceninja @ Dec 30 2013, 08:17 PM)
bro, maybe the tread wear is not the sole indication on tyre performance...?  for example the NCT5 tread wear 240, most ppl on forum claim is very noisy, whereas most ppl claim XM2 is quiet

when ppl say XM2 good performance.. i'm sure those guys are not extreme petrolheads, they don't normally drive too fast.  even if driving fast is only on straight road.  if the tyre doesn't skid during normal corner, normal raining slippery road/corner, doesn't skid when hard braking, then, i think those guys (me included) will say its good performance, maybe the actual term should be "good enough" performance.  Good enough for normal citizens. 

hmm... maybe its a way that michelin trying to say that "my entry level tyre is better/on par with my competitor's mid range tyre".. haha.. maybe same reason why ppl buy toyota and bash potong

i think your views are somewhat constrained to treadwear rating and entry range, mid range.
agreed, treadwear is not the sole indication on tyre (and NVH) performance.

thing is, i do have few friends/users i met at tire shop(s) whom i chat with, do feedback that XM2 is not as quiet as most *INITIAL feedback* on LYN post/threads.

the general feedback i get is after 30-50% usage the tire noise will start to grow/deteriorate until it's no different than your regular cheapo tire.

and when it comes to performance, if according to what you described, then the other entry level tires are just as good as XM2 is for a fraction or even HALF it's price.

but yeah you put it best on the toyota and proton part: EVERYONE praise the WORLD on how good is toyota, and talks shit about proton. however when facts are demanded, no one can properly serve them without any bias.

and no i'm not constrained to just treadwear rating, because when you compare mid range tires from other competitor, they absolutely destroys xm2 with a fraction of a price.
my PERSONAL opinion on treadwear is that i do not prefer hard compound. treadwear means little to me as i prefer not to skimp on tire spending as i do drive very aggressively. again, it is my personal opinion that as your rubber tires are the ONLY thing between your vehicle and the road surface, it is essential that one pays extra attention to it.

also: http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Michelin/Energy-XM2.htm
http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre-Type/Pas...-Touring-Tyres/
even the c drive 2 that people don't favor because of the poor treadwear is better than the xm2 overall.

and the above, is an example of some minor attempt at providing facts. not just "OH ITS DAMN GOOD" but how good? no one friggin knows. no one even bother providing follow up feedback/review when they wear their tires down or when shit happens that make them regret their purchase.
Quazacolt
post Dec 31 2013, 01:54 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

every week outstation? go michelin xm2 then
Quazacolt
post Dec 31 2013, 09:10 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Dec 31 2013, 09:03 AM)
what is the pro n con for this? notworthy.gif
you go read around this sub-forum for pros lo...
con = stupid expensive price, mediocre performance, NVH drops after around/after 50% wear

recommended this based on your constant outstation criteria.

alternatives, perhaps can consider yokohama bluearth series or even c drive 2, goodyear efficient grip, neuton nt8000 and so on.
Quazacolt
post Dec 31 2013, 09:19 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(efaceninja @ Dec 31 2013, 08:20 PM)
this is so true. 

but gotta admit that tyre is just very difficult for average joe to provide a good or truely objective review because
1) average tyre can tahan for 2 yrs. after 2 yrs, ppl already forgot what the original feeling when tyre was still new like.  so mostly ppl's review on their previous tyre is almost worn tyre, compared against another brand and new tyre.
2) not all ppl tried ALL tyres out there.  its just too difficult achieve that with each set can last for 2 yrs.
3) when ppl give review after they changed tyre, it is very important to know what's he's previous tyre.  for example if he changed from High end to mid range, sure he say the new tyre is lousy.  if he changed from lousy range to mid, sure he say the new tyre is good performance.
4) plus factors like different road, different car, different type of driver, different mods on car at different periods.  too many variables.
agreed.

and with that said, the message is basically take tire reviews with a pinch of salt laugh.gif
especially when they can't be bothered in providing more info beyond saying x tire is good/bad.
Quazacolt
post Jan 1 2014, 03:08 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Shawnzz @ Jan 1 2014, 02:56 AM)
the reason why xm2 is pricey is because of the engineering and time being put into that product. I stand by xm2 for being a very silent tire(silent in my opinion)  and grips exceptionally well on wet roads and dry roads. It is one of the best daily driven tires i had ever used. My previous sets was a set of cc5 and Continental pc2. Eventho they are advertised as comfort tires. They are very stiff. Xm2 has lower rolling resistant which accounts for its lower gas mileage and also gives you the feeling of using a lighter rim.

Obviously, if you compare it to ad08 or whatever, this tire are not made to corner . It is meant for being daily driven. My fuel consumption improved from 400km a tank to 450km a tank after changing to xm2  laugh.gif
can't comment on the conti pc2, however cc5 are just shit. (sucks my new inspira gets fitted with them sigh doh.gif)
how much have you worn down the xm2 anyways? most feedback is that it gets noisy around the half way mark.

there are many other (and cheaper mind you) LRR tires, how many of the rest have you tried?

and yes, as you mentioned, the tires are not made to corner/performance and yet everyone comments it like it's a uhp.
obviously its pointless to compare performance against the ad08, however i do drive on c drive 2 as my daily (2 set of rims for me, remember? laugh.gif) and i even have hands on on the cc5 (and cc1 before it gets replaced to c drive 2 on the sentra) personally.

QUOTE(Shawnzz @ Jan 1 2014, 03:02 AM)
ask me anything about xm2, i will try my best to give my unbias review on it.  smile.gif
besides xm2/cc5/cpc2, what other comfort/entry tires have you used?

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jan 1 2014, 03:09 AM
Quazacolt
post Jan 1 2014, 04:41 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Shawnzz @ Jan 1 2014, 04:00 AM)
Have not worn down that much? at most 90%. Just bought it in the 2nd week of December.

xm1, certis, cdrive 2, Adrive, NCT5. These are pretty much just it.

p.s, most of them are on my family member car. but i do drive them once a month or more. My own car, i have tried xm1 and certis .
i've experienced xm2 in various vehicles and most of them are quite worn, and yes the NVH is just so so (in certain vehicles where the chassis nvh itself isn't that good, subpar if i may say)

i'd actually prefer the cc5 over the xm2 when it comes to nvh, if only the tire wear (and various horror stories of tire premature wears) and grip aren't so questionable i'd totally go with the cc5.

from your list, experienced all of them (and personally owned cc5/c drive 2/a drive/xm1) except the certis.

as for the xm1, these could last practically forever, and back then michelin weren't so nonsensical on their pricing. they were pretty much competing with the a drive however the grip (particularly wet grip) wasn't so good while the a drive is having a poorer treadwear with so so nvh. that said, despite the 300 treadwear, most a drive users STILL clock well over 40-60k km sweat.gif

NCT5, grip's probably the best among the list around/on par with c drive 2, cept the nvh is among the worse and it has no benefits of LRR/improve FC.
Quazacolt
post Jan 6 2014, 02:24 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Jan 6 2014, 01:00 AM)
im looking for comfort and handling good in dry and wet. any recommendation?
c drive 2, or perhaps can give a try on nitto neogen (yet to try it myself personally however those that did had very positive feedback bout the tire)
Quazacolt
post Jan 6 2014, 04:47 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Jan 6 2014, 04:41 PM)
C drive 2 will wear out fast though it receive many positive feedback.nitto neogen im not too sure about it..any user in here??
That's the thing though, people kept saying wear out fast, however I've gotten more than 40k km on my iswara and used more than a year. Many countless spirited driving and even one track day with it.

The tires still got at least 20 to 30%left

My mom 's Sentra c drive 2 lasted even longer with more mileage as she drives more sensibly
Quazacolt
post Jan 7 2014, 10:29 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Jan 7 2014, 10:27 PM)
Hmmm..if in this case prolly will consider beside xm2. Thanks for the input!!
Wow.must be expensive!
when it comes to comfort and decent performance, the advan db will surely be better than the c drive 2. iinm treadwear also much better.
Quazacolt
post Jan 8 2014, 09:20 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Jan 8 2014, 08:29 AM)
Tread wear means more tahan is it? I check edy for the advan db, totally out of budget.hahaha!!!
yeap smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Jan 12 2014, 09:57 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Jan 11 2014, 12:40 PM)
I know..plan to change 4 tyres all together.got $185 per pcs for cd2..195/55/15
that is damn cheap bro, good choice smile.gif
Quazacolt
post May 7 2014, 02:55 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(hapyhapy82 @ May 7 2014, 02:15 PM)
BS Ecopia(RM185) vs Yoko AE01(RM160) vs XM2 (RM185) which 1 is better for 175/65/14.

Google around the info but still can't decide, looking for silent, long lasting of course safety. Any sifus can enlighten me.
if you're looking for long lasting, xm2 wins hands down. however if you put that on a lower priority, yokohama bluearth/bridgestone ecopia would be better in comfort and from various feedbacks, safety (grip) as well
Quazacolt
post May 7 2014, 11:28 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ May 7 2014, 08:16 PM)
Boss,
The V105 size start from 17' right?
16" also got
Quazacolt
post May 9 2014, 04:58 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ May 8 2014, 06:12 PM)
I'm looking 205/45R16 or 205/50R16,

205/55R16 cannot fit sad.gif

Too bad.. sad.gif

I'm prefer Asymmetric Tires,

AD08R abit over (and over price too~ ) for my daily drive..  sweat.gif
funnily, max performance tires are actually more expensive than extreme performance lol

mainly because they have to cater to more demands/purposes.
Quazacolt
post May 15 2014, 05:17 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(chiucheng @ May 14 2014, 12:19 PM)
michelin XM2 vs Yokohama C. Drive2 for NVH and safety?
c drive 2 for both.
Quazacolt
post May 23 2014, 03:07 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ May 23 2014, 10:05 AM)
Not really so fast to wear out
Can last 20K KM + few Sepang session as per netsum
gunh
and that's on a high powered evo x

if your car has less than 300 ponies, not all wheel drive, perhaps the treads can last much longer especially with proper tire rotation
Quazacolt
post Jun 20 2014, 03:47 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Jun 20 2014, 03:39 PM)
Hi there, any good tires for price RM200 with 195/50/15?
no criteria? lol
Quazacolt
post Jun 20 2014, 04:45 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Jun 20 2014, 04:43 PM)
See what i can get then only narrow down.
Critiria? Errr.....janji best laugh.gif
c drive 2 a, bluearth a, ecopia a, xm2 a, neuton nt8000 a, nexen n8000, achilles atr sport a... banyak wo sweat.gif
Quazacolt
post Jun 20 2014, 07:44 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Jun 20 2014, 07:26 PM)
If like that memang need to narrow down criteria.

Grip (dry+wet) , dont care treadwear and noise.
c drive 2, achilles atr sport

not sure if the hankook v12 would fall in your rm200 price range, but if it does can consider that too.

additionally, if you top up a bit you may consider nankang ns2r, although be warned that the road noise might be a huge turn off laugh.gif

nightstalker1993
maybe can help this mei mei la
Quazacolt
post Jun 20 2014, 11:52 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Jun 20 2014, 11:42 PM)
I've already tried FZ201, R888, RSR, currently using NS2R. , while this ride that I'm going to change is for use during raining only, most of the time is parking one. This ride tried V12 Evo and ZE912, both not really good.

How about Dunlop FM901 and Maxxis MA-Z1 Victra?
no idea on the dunlop/maxxis, though if you think the v12 evo isn't good, i'm afraid it may be a bit hard to get tires that could be up to your standards. especially when you've tried the likes of fz201/r888/rsr/ns2r.

to be honest, you're probably better off going back to the extreme tires, just not the semi slicks that may be bad in rain - eg: rsr/ns2r

more like, it's a bit hard to recommend uhp/high performance tires with rm200/piece budget

14 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0565sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:09 AM