4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

English Clubs Liverpool Football Club - The Kop Talks 2011, Official :Henderson SIGNED!!!

Duke Red
post May 10 2011, 11:40 AM

6,112 posts

The King Kenny factor again eh? In just a short time, he's transformed a side over reliant on it's skipper and star striker into a side that realies on one another. Would anyone have put money on players like Mereiles, Kuyt, Spearing, and Maxi stepping up to the plate in the absence of our maligned captain to support our "star" strikers? This is what Rafa intended to achieve but never really did. Back then his start forward was Mista but the goals came from everywhere. Seems like King Kenny has completed what he started.
Duke Red
post May 10 2011, 11:53 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ May 10 2011, 11:48 AM)
Were we piss poor not solely because of Woy but also Torres?
Food for thought eh, unfair to blame Woy alone?
Is what happens when you centre your play around just one player isn't it? Houllier relied heavily on Owen's pace and we were ultimately found out. If you look at Dalglish, everyone contributes and in the absence of Gerrard, not any one players stands above the rest.
Duke Red
post May 10 2011, 02:25 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(rushmode @ May 10 2011, 01:00 PM)
Yes, Kenny is the right man to materialized what Rafa started and take the club forward. Its not a surprise we didn't struggle to score in a game without gerrard and torres anymore. and for Kuyt to consistently scoring even with the stick that he received from fans for years. Kenny done wonders! FSG is mad not to sign him for permanent deal.

btw, 4th is possibility but very2 slim chances. 5th is good enough considering the position we are in early in the season.
I certainly hope he gets a permanent deal. Problem is he wants full control over transfers and I can understand the logic behind it but we've got Damien Comolli looking after that now. Too many chefs?

QUOTE(Luminous2 @ May 10 2011, 01:25 PM)
Erm, not sure if i'm too late, watched this in FB. Someone posted. So gonna watch it!!  rclxm9.gif

Movie trailer: An orphan journeys across Europe to the 2005 Champions League Final in Istanbul.

My colleague told me about it this morning. Summer release. Can't wait. Looks to be a touching story and I'm glad that the magic of Istanbul is going to be played on the silver screen. Man, I shed tears each time I think about Istanbul and our half-time revival. I read testimonials from the players over and over again. I dare say very few fans would still be singing being 3-0 down. People talk about songs involving glory and riches but ours is about sticking together and at half-time in Istanbul, the fans let the players know that they still believed, and that they were still behind them. I still remember Steven Gerrard's battle cry as they walked out onto the pitch for the second half.

Unbelievable. Liverpool were 3-0 down, being trashed by Kaka and Crespo, and our fans were singing "You'll Never Walk Alone". All the players looked at each other in amazement, and pride. "They bloody well haven’t given up on us," I shouted, "so we cant give up either." By singing "You'll Never Walk Alone", the fans sent a message to eleven shattered men in the dressing-room: the fans will be with you, through the wind and the rain, through times of adversity like this. No matter how much the players hurt, we'd never walk alone. Our fans were with us. Together. Their message was to play for some respect, play for pride in the shirt. "The fans are with us," I said. "Let's give them something to shout about. They've spent loads of money. They're singing our name and we are getting stuffed 3-0. If we get one, they'll get behind us even more. That will help put another one in for us. Come on, let's f***ing have a go!"

Duke Red
post May 10 2011, 03:08 PM

6,112 posts

Those of you who know our King from before, would acknowledge that he is a class act. He never whines or complains. He is a master at handling press interviews and is both humorous and spontaneous. In fact, he does remind you a little about Shankly, albeit a little less blunt. He is also fondly remembered by all Liverpool fans for his conduct after Hillsborough where he attended and gave tribute at numerous funeral services. Here are some of his quotes :-

“There is no one anywhere in the world at any stage who is any bigger or any better than this football club.” - Dalglish

“For me personally I came here to win three points and if Carlo Ancelotti (Chelsea Manager) had been playing up front I’d still have wanted the three points. The personnel and the opposition are not important to me. Whatever someone wants to do with their life, that’s entirely their choice. Our incentive was to get three points and that’s what we did and the only people who are important to me are those in red shirts”. – Kenny when pressed on Torres factor when Liverpool won against Chelsea in Feb 2011

Oldie but a good one: Dalglish couldn’t resist a dig as he walked past his rival manager in the tunnel while carrying his young daughter Lauren. He said to the radio interviewer speaking to Ferguson: “You’d be better off talking to my baby. She’s only six weeks old but you’d get more sense from her than him.”

Press: How do you stop a cruise ship?
KD: Well there's big brick walls isn't there. It's usually called a port.

Press: Where were you when you got the call, Kenny? By the pool?
KD: Like any true professional athlete, I was at the bar. laugh.gif

KD: I’ve not had time to do much – I’ve not identified any new staff or players or anything like that. In fact, it took me a bit of time to identify the current players.

Interviewer: When was the last time you cried?
Torres: (something or other)
Dalglish: I can't remember
Interviewer: You a hard man, then Kenny?
Dalglish: Not really... 'ave just got a terrible memory

Interview: What's your most extravagant purchase?
KK: Marriage licence

Making no apologies for this at all - my favourite Kenny quotation ever is in here:
MccKuntbag: "How can we correct the situation?"
Kenny: "You know that big headline – 'The Truth'? All you have to do is put 'We lied' in the same size. Then you might be all right."
MacKuntbag: "I cannot do that."
Kenny: "Well, I cannot help you then." - That was it. I put the phone down.

Dalglish on modern dangers with refs...."If you say Good Morning to somebody you've got a chance of getting a red card"

"Daniel Agger came off because he had a stomach problem, I knew he had a stomach problem because I went into the toilet after him!"

"If the supporters like me, then it's only half as much as I like them."

Added on May 10, 2011, 3:12 pmA King Kenny story.

You will get more sense out of my baby! The day Dalglish and Ferguson famously clashed at Anfield 23 years ago

Before Dalglish's Liverpool and Ferguson's United clash on Sunday, we take you back to a memorable clash between the two great rivals 23 years ago at Anfield.

Liverpool were still very much the premier force in English football in the late 1980s, and Ferguson made changing that his top priority.

The 1988 vintage is the best Liverpool that I can personally remember - a team that you would have strongly fancied to win the European Cup were it not for the ban on English clubs at the time.

And Dalglish's men were racing away with the title when these two great rivals clashed on an April afternoon 23 years ago.

United were in decent form themselves though, and always fancied themselves in individual contests against Liverpool.

Bryan Robson put the visitors in front at Anfield, but this only acted as a spur to Liverpool, who scored twice before half-time through Peter Beardsley and Gary Gillespie.

Steve McMahon fired home a brilliant third to extend Liverpool's lead early in the second half. John Motson shouted in the commentary box that it was one of best goals of the season 'even by Liverpool standards'.

Robson, United's permanent saviour in those years, scored again with a deflected shot to give Ferguson's men hope but when Colin Gibson was sent off the points looked to be heading to the hosts.

United had other ideas however, and Gordon Strachan burst through for United and coolly scored an equaliser in front of the Kop.

The Scot's infamous celebrations, which involved him smoking an imaginary cigar, would be one to savour for United supporters.

The match finished 3-3, and would have stayed in the memory even if the post-match interviews were forgettable. As it happened, they were explosive.

First there was Ferguson, bitterly complaining that decisions had gone against his side. He claimed to radio reporters that it was no surprise managers ‘have to leave here choking on their own vomit, biting their tongue, afraid to tell the truth’.

Not too many rival managers have stood up to Ferguson, particularly when in full rant mode. Dalglish wasn't daunted however, and carrying his baby daughter Lauren past Ferguson, said: 'You’ll get more sense out of her.'

Liverpool went on to win their 17th title that season, with United still stuck on seven. It seemed at that time as if Liverpool's domination of English football would never end.
This post has been edited by Duke Red: May 10 2011, 03:12 PM

Attached image(s)
Duke Red
post May 10 2011, 03:47 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(kamkamparadise @ May 10 2011, 03:07 PM)
Mr Duke, i would like to read your opinion. Which would you prefer? KD have full control over the transfer or Damien Comolli have full control? i know Comolli have a decent record in signing players but Kd also have that record too.
Well Comolli hasn't been around long enough to make a decent comparison especially when you consider that this is King Kenny's 2nd coming. I'd like to keep things simple and I think it makes sense for the gaffer to have control over which players he wants. In recent times we've seen players forced down the throat of managers eg. Shevchenko and Bellamy.

King Kenny has rarely made a mistake in the transfer market. Let's look at some of the players he's brought to Merseyside. Ian Rush, John Aldridge (replacement for Ian Rush), John Barnes (one of the best left wingers in his prime - anyone remember his goal against Brazil?), Ray Houghton, Peter Beardsley, Rocket Ronnie! (supersub), Steve McMahon, Jamie Redknapp, Steve Staunton, Barry Venison, Glenn Hysen, Luis Suarez, Andy Carrol and other lesser known but still familiar names like David Burrows, Steve Harkness and Don Hutchison. He has hardly put a foot wrong. The only concern is his familiarity with the foreign market which may be more down Comolli's street.
Duke Red
post May 10 2011, 04:18 PM

6,112 posts

Some cool pics I stole from RAWK.

Duke Red
post May 10 2011, 04:29 PM

6,112 posts

Here's a nice one in honour of Carra's 666th appearance. Anyone remember Omen? Well, you won't get it if you don't.

Duke Red
post May 10 2011, 04:53 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(kamkamparadise @ May 10 2011, 04:38 PM)
I thought both suarez and Carroll are Comolli's pick.

yeah. like u've said. recently managers have no control over transfers. Chelsea is the obvious example as well as Real Madrid. if Suarez and Carroll are both Comolli's pick, lucky for Liverpool that KD managed to find a way to fit them into his tactics.

personally, i think it is best if manager get full control over who he want to buy. different people different choice but if Comolli and KD able to work together that will be a massive boost for Liverpool.
Before coming over he said something really important and it's showing. He said that managers often come in with a list of players then want to buy but when he was going to take over from Hodgson, he said he was just looking to work with the players he had. Look at what he's done. The players are playing out of their skin for him. King Kenny is a fantastic motivator and has always managed to get the best out of his players.
Duke Red
post May 11 2011, 09:40 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ May 11 2011, 09:18 AM)
Hell yeah! Bona fide fifth, no more having played a game more. Now let us finish the job this weekend at Anfield.

Won't be an easy task though, Spurs having unsuccessfully fought all season for that UCL place will be in no mood to be knocked out of Europe completely and will most likely put up a full blooded challenge!
Mate, we aren't an easy team to play at the momen either bar the slip-ups against Wolves and West Brom.

The team look seem to be in an uncompromising mood at the moment.
Duke Red
post May 11 2011, 10:17 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(REDShaun @ May 11 2011, 10:03 AM)
That is true. It is the kind of belief and dedication on the field that creates the mood and feeling that we will leave no enemy behind.

No Talk, No Compromise, No Mercy...
No enemy?
Duke Red
post May 11 2011, 10:23 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Ichighost @ May 11 2011, 09:49 AM)
yap..just like most of the transfer happened...Joey to Liverpool even West Ham and Spurs want him cuz want to consider fans feeling...Torres to Chelsea is safer than Torres to Everton of maybe MU...just like how confident Chelsea to grab Rooney if Man utd ready to sell him during his sulking period...even with City in the line..if you the fans favourite...it is better if you seek non direct rival to transfer... hmm.gif that is why Joey still one of my favourite player... laugh.gif  nod.gif
It doesn't bother me much personally when players leave or how they leave because I accept that football is a career for them. What I ask is for them to respect the club when they come back as an opponent. You see some players withold from celebrating after scoring against their former club. You see some players look to the fans and clap their hands to thank them for their support when he played for them. You get players complementing the fans that once supported them during the post-match press conference. This is what matters to me, that after moving on, their respect for the club and it's fans is intact. If you as me, Torres has said nothing disrespectful to the club or it's fans since leaving. He has said something about the old owners but not about the club.

It's why I lost a lot of respect for Wayne Rooney when he lashed out at Everton supporters, kissing his Man Utd badge in front of them when they were giving him stick. Doesn't matter that the fans are pissed, you still respect the club, especially the club you were born into.

Added on May 11, 2011, 10:25 am
QUOTE(REDShaun @ May 11 2011, 10:18 AM)
Oops, sorry for that.. a bit harsh, was meant to say "no rivals unbeaten", just caught in the moment of a war rant smile.gif
Ah I thought you were going to quote the marines and say, "no man behind".

This post has been edited by Duke Red: May 11 2011, 10:25 AM
Duke Red
post May 11 2011, 11:00 AM

6,112 posts

Well not talking about him is about as much as you can expect. I see no reason to do so and if we do, it will only prove that we're bitter and angry. Are we? I'm not.
Duke Red
post May 11 2011, 02:35 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(demio121 @ May 11 2011, 01:24 PM)
i don't want Europa.  Distraction.  ManC pls don't win FA.
Actually, this topic was discussed on an episode of "Football Today". Whether it's better to play in the Europa League or not at all, concentrating purely on the league. If you ask me, any trophy is a trophy. Reminds me of when the mancs teased us for winning the "Mickey Mouse Treble", but yet celebrated like they won the Champions League when they won the Worthington Cup the next season. Bottom line, you only ridicule it when anyone but you wins it.

In the end, playing in Europe at any level generates revenue. Yes, you run the risk of injury but you also have the option of playing your reserves like Hodgson did. I think it's beneficial to play in it.
Duke Red
post May 13 2011, 10:14 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(daidzz @ May 13 2011, 05:15 AM)
Received my away jersey today. smile.gif
Thought i'd dedicate this one to the 96. #JFT96
Nice touch there mate cheers.gif
Duke Red
post May 13 2011, 12:08 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ May 13 2011, 11:24 AM)
any input beside Everdying?
I don't think even Kenny knows. Despite having a less than impressive 2nd season at the club, they did beat Barca and they did make the FA Cup Final. The season before, they finished 2nd and then 13th the next. I guess this is why. Can't recall the exact circumstances of that season though. Kenny was sacked the following season just two games in, having got two draws. He was replaced by Ruud Gullit, a more "fancy" name I suppose.
Duke Red
post May 13 2011, 10:50 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(wts6819 @ May 13 2011, 10:07 PM)
Nice:) All hail King Kenny. Long may he rule
Duke Red
post May 14 2011, 11:24 PM

6,112 posts

Let them gloat lah. It's their day. Stay the course. If you've been a fan for as long as I have, one thing's for certain, that our time will come and with King Kenny at the helm, it won't be too far in the distant future. Winning titles does not define you as a fan. Staying a fan when you aren't does.
Duke Red
post May 15 2011, 05:25 PM

6,112 posts

Giggs is a model pro, no doubt about it. He deserves the accolades he gets. Having said that, we have a highly decorated player of our own.

League Championship:(8) 1975-76, 1976-77, 1978-79, 1979-80, 1981-82, 1982-83, 1983-84, 1985-86
UEFA Cup:(1) 1976
Charity Shield:(5) 1976, 1977, 1979, 1980, 1982
European Cup:(4) 1977, 1978, 1981, 1984
European Super Cup:(1) 1977
Football League Cup:(4) 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984

Count that, 4 European Cups!

Mr. Phil Neal himself.

Added on May 15, 2011, 5:34 pm
QUOTE(radio_head @ May 15 2011, 02:25 PM)
he's won it 12 times
that boy giggsy
he's won it 12 times

btw fun fact, giggs has MORE league titles than the ENTIRE liverpool squad even if you count KD's title.
Good for him, and your point is?

This post has been edited by Duke Red: May 15 2011, 05:34 PM
Duke Red
post May 15 2011, 11:01 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(chenwfng @ May 15 2011, 10:59 PM)
It gives me chills everytime I hear the You'll Never Walk Alone anthem in Anfield.
Aye. Nice to see King Kenny touch the sign with two hands as he exited the tunnel as well.

Added on May 15, 2011, 11:02 pmFields of Anfield Road being sung just now

This post has been edited by Duke Red: May 15 2011, 11:02 PM
Duke Red
post May 16 2011, 05:40 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(aiyish @ May 16 2011, 05:32 PM)
Makes me wanna watch The Damned United all over again.
Just downloaded it myself.

On the issue of being Scouse, none of us are Scousers mind you. We may be Kopites and fans of Liverpool but that's about it. It's like saying I'm 'orang Kelate' when I don't even live there.

On yesterday's game, I actually thought we played pretty well bar the first 20 minutes or so. Spurs scored out of nothing and were aided by a slight deflection off Johnson. The penalty was a result of a shoulder to shoulder challenge just outside the box. It took Howard Webb a couple of seconds to make up his mind on that one as well. On any other day, the result could have been totally different. It wasn't that we were dominated or played piss poor. Ledley King who can't even train every day had to pick this moment to put in a standout performance. Michael Dawson was also in immaculate form. It was just one of those days where our opposition rose to the occasion.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.4100sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:10 AM