4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

English Clubs Liverpool Football Club - The Kop Talks 2011, Official :Henderson SIGNED!!!

Duke Red
post May 22 2011, 09:55 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(skeleton202 @ May 21 2011, 11:23 PM)
gary mcallister comment sumhow it's funny especially but the manc spending.. how bout arsenal? dey didnt spend much but still can give a hot run on title race
Arsenal have consistently been in the top four. Macca was speaking from the perspective of Liverpool and bar a couple of seasons, we've finished way off from the top. How many times in the past two decades have we remained in contention of the title all the way to the end? It's unrealistic to expect King Kenny to work miracles and instantaneously match the results of managers who have taken years to build their squads, bar Man City. It isn't impossible but our expectations should not be at a level where we take it for granted that we will challenge next season. If we do, it's a bonus. I'm with Macca on this one. The future does however look promising and we've lads coming through the ranks now, lads that have been teammates for some time now.
Duke Red
post May 23 2011, 11:14 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(w3er @ May 23 2011, 01:47 AM)
Yah, a loser who beat up a DJ for not playing his favorite songs...won't be a problem winning the heart of those blind scousers
Yes and all Man Utd players are angels. Rooney is a loving and faithful husband. Ferdinand is an upstanding driver who has never appeared in a sex video. If you choose to slander someone, make sure you've covered all your bases. Which guy hasn't got in a fight? Not exactly in the same category as cheating on your wife is it?

To be honest, I accept that players are regular folk like I mentioned in another thread and sometimes, they make mistakes. It doesn't change the fact however that Gerrard is Liverpool through and through. It doesn't change the fact that the club, it's fans and it's players are closely knit. Need I cite examples? Shanks himself was stood at the Kop after retiring. Rafa returning for the Hillsborough memorial and even shedding a tear? Not uncommon.

So then, "blind scousers"? More like unconditional support. You don't have to condone someone's actions to stand by them.

QUOTE(liverpool red @ May 23 2011, 07:04 AM)
I see us not playing in europa league as a blessing in disguise as well. Europa league matches are played in Fridays and the travel involved can be taxing. So this might not be a bad thing after all. Sure there's less income but at least the team will be more fresh to launch another attack into a minimum top four finish and play in the CL proper.

Overall, finishing 6th after the damage RH did in the 1st half of the season is a well done job already. Kudos to king Kenny for bringing back the smiles and confidence. It's been a roller coaster season but at least there's renewed hope for next season.

Looking forward to the asian tour and hope all the true supporters will go and fill up bukit jalil! YNWA
We had a long discussion on this a few pages back. It's subject to opinion but I would still liked to have qualified for Europe for reasons given earlier. In the end, I think the benefits outweigh the cons from a commercial and business perspective and let's face it, these are areas we've neglected over the years.
Duke Red
post May 23 2011, 02:44 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(weichieh007 @ May 23 2011, 01:07 PM)
When I see all those taunting posts from those glory hunters, I ask myself 'how old are these people? A bunch of 3 year olds?' or maybe the physically 30 year old but the brain of a 3 year old?. I also wonder what's the education level of these trollers. I bet they have never won anything in their pathetic life, so they join a winning club just to have the feeling of winning.. I felt sorry for these ppl actually.. Really sorry..
To be honest, I'm actually fine with taunts. Sucking it up is part of being a fan but it has to come from a credible fan. Like in my example, I've a friend who doesn't watch games but vocally claims he supports Man Utd. He taunts me when they win and we lose. How do I take him seriously? I don't. I just smile and shrug it off. No point arguing with someone who knows jack right? If it comes from a proper fan, I'll 'layan' because I know it means something to them.

In the end, it's very simple dude. You can tell the whole world how much you love your club and you have to put your money where your mouth is, not literally please. If you were to walk around most shopping malls, you're very likely to see more Man Utd jerseys. However this wasn't the case during the Master's Football event recently. I mean are we supporting the players or the club? The good and bad of it. Man Utd have done so well commercially, people who don't watch football will buy the kit and 'support' the club because to them, they are buying a popular brand like Nike or Adidas. For example, you see people wearing All-Blacks jerseys who don't watch rugby. In time, the same will apply to us with us having appointed a Commercial Director. More and more people will sit behind their keyboards proclaiming their undying support for the club, but not turn up when the club visits be in the current squad or older one.
Duke Red
post May 24 2011, 11:48 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(REDShaun @ May 23 2011, 05:23 PM)
LOL, you know the proudest Jersey I got? The one my wife got me - Reebok 2005/2006 with our 5 stars on it!

She got it to make me remember the time I friggin woke up the whole neighbourhood when we fought back on the night that was Istanbul  thumbup.gif

And yes, it takes a whole lot more than just merchandise to be a fan and the pledge of undying support. it takes some initiative to want to know your club and it's history.

and definitely more than just constant annoying other threads and pointless one liners from trolls to actually show what kind of a fan you are (like how some of our more established rival 3 year olds have shown)  sweat.gif

So peace out! and YNWA!!!
I was never a big jersey fan to be honest. I prefer ink smile.gif

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ May 23 2011, 09:20 PM)
aside from that, I find it funny when people refer to us as 'KOP fans', or 'Scouse'.... The latter always makes me laugh, coz we here are NO WHERE near being scouse.
To right. In fact, I feel downright embarrased especially when one of our own misuse these terms. My colleague was speaking to someone from LFC and he told the bloke that there were a few scousers in the office. Shy wei... We are KOPITES, we aren't scouse. We also aren't "KOP". The KOP is a stand. Saying something like, "we are Kops", is like saying, "we are stadiums, or we are toilets". Gotta get our basics right please.

Added on May 24, 2011, 11:51 amOn a separate note, I just received an email. Check out the sign off.

Travis Glen
Partnership Development Manager
  w: www.liverpoolfc.tv

a: Liverpool Football Club,9th Floor,20 Chapel Street, Liverpool, L3 9AG

Couldn't incorporate the club crest.

I'm getting my LFC branded thumb drive! smile.gif

This post has been edited by Duke Red: May 24 2011, 11:51 AM
Duke Red
post May 24 2011, 12:06 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(rushmode @ May 24 2011, 12:01 PM)
no need to be embarrassed..  instead of just give a cynical smile or laughed, u can always correct them politely.. we used to be clueless too.. i remember my big bro correcting/teach me about the club when i was a kid eventhough he's a hammers fan himself. (he currently devastated that his team go down. hehe)

if only that person still failed to get it right after we corrected them then its a different story.
A simple google search will tell you all you need. All that's required is a little effort. I don't get all my information handed to me on a platter. Lot of research over time.
Duke Red
post May 24 2011, 12:56 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(rushmode @ May 24 2011, 12:20 PM)
yeah you and me both.. but i always feel that if i have the knowledge then its better to englighten them on the spot so future embarrassment can be evade. sharing is caring. you and i have different opinion on that. thats fair enough.
Actually I share your opinion. You may not have noticed but I've already corrected posters a number of times when it comes to this issue, and I only comment when the mistake is made more than once. In the end, we cannot always hope to be spoon fed like we are in school. I liken it to my time in Uni where we weren't told how to do something. We were given assignments and we had to do our own research. Same when it comes to the club if you ask me.
Duke Red
post May 24 2011, 05:43 PM

6,112 posts

I'm chuffed for Lucas. I gave him a lot of stick in the past and I'm happy he's grown tremendously in stature since. It's good to see players who do the dirty work get the recognition they deserves. Fans are easily swayed by players who score goals. Good to see the likes of Lucas, Mascherano and Didi Hamann before them noticed by fans. Hamann in particular was immense during Istanbul. We remember the goals from Gerrard, Smicer and Alonso. We remember Dudek's amazing double save from Shevchenko and dumbfounding Serginho during the penalty shootout with his antics. We remember the role the fans played at half-time but we also need to remember that when we introduced Hamann at half-time, he kept Kaka in his back pocket. It's reassuring for attacking players to know that if they lose possession, they can rely on these individuals to bail us out of trouble, just as it's reassuring for defenders to know they have a top notch keeper behind them.
Duke Red
post May 25 2011, 10:22 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(weichieh007 @ May 24 2011, 09:15 PM)
Does this guy know how to read? Buta huruf? Can't read long statements? Finished your elementary education yet?  doh.gif

I hope this post is short enough for your limited IQ..
Mother fooker doesn't realise that this is a forum and not a chat room.

Seriously if reading texts hurt, don't fooking read it!
Duke Red
post May 26 2011, 11:49 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ May 26 2011, 09:12 AM)
I hope that despite all the transfer excitement, someone will remember to sign a senior goalkeeping coach!
Aren't we signing Friedel? smile.gif
Duke Red
post May 29 2011, 12:19 PM

6,112 posts

I'm a happy man but not because the mancs lost. I don't mind if they win games, it's the gloating that comes after that I can't stand. Worse still, if they had won, you can be sure we'd be pulled into it somehow.

Barca are a class apart. Forget the antics for awhile and focus on the football. Iniesta completed 28 passes to Villa. Xavi completed more passes that the entire Man Utd midfield. They are indeed the pass masters of today's football world. I don't see how anyone can say it's boring to watch. The way they pass about the ball is poetry in motion. Am I a Barca fan, no but you have to respect and appreciate class.
Duke Red
post May 29 2011, 03:32 PM

6,112 posts

You can't blame them for talking up the encounter. Is was afterall a major final against arguably the best team in the world at the moment. We made a great deal of noise before Istanbul and Athens as well. We know what it feels like to lose in a major final but it's important how you conduct yourself after.

This year's final was on a weekend, where everyone can sleep in late the next day. Both Istanbul and Athens were on week days and yet, fans stayed up. I was proud of our conduct after losing in Athens. The fans in the stadium stayed to support our lads as we went to collect our runners-up medals, and applauded the AC Milan team as they hoisted the trophy. Class indeed. In Hartamas, our fans did the same and that made me so proud. No one left until the telecast ended. Even then I still remember a car stop outside. The driver wound his window down, stuck out his scarf and started singing YNWA. This even in defeat. Could be that AC Milan gave us a great deal of respect after Hillsborough. In a European semi final against Real Madrid a week after Hillsborough, the match was stopped at 3:06 in mark of respect for the incident. The AC Milan fans then started singing YNWA. This has not been forgotten.

Duke Red
post May 29 2011, 06:03 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(A.I @ May 29 2011, 05:06 PM)

> JFT 96 -  Always Remembered Never Forgotten - Don't Buy The Sun <
Thanks for posting that. Since then, Liverpool fans have always held fans of the Rossoneri in high regards. It's very likely why we stayed back to congratulate them as they went up to claim the trophy in Athens back in 2007.
Duke Red
post May 29 2011, 06:13 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ May 29 2011, 05:15 PM)
Indeed. Anyone remember meeting Juventus back in 2005? It was the first time we played them after Heysel and the Kop held up banners that read, "Amicizia" or "friendship" in Italian. Most fans responded positively bar a section of the ultras who turned their back.

Added on May 29, 2011, 6:16 pmAh in my efforts to search for content on the match against Juventus, I came across this again. Forget about the mancs losing. We have too many great memories to occupy ourselves with. Here is a short clip of the famous half-time rendition of YNWA by our 12th man.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: May 29 2011, 06:16 PM

Duke Red
post May 30 2011, 08:27 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Rotuham @ May 29 2011, 09:16 PM)
Although i am happy with yesterday and its consequent effects,

I do terasa when manc fans say we rely on others to beat them and we cant do it ourselves

I hope we get back as soon as possible into the ucl to prove them wrong.

At least i got what i hoped for when we failed to make it into europa.

I m confident around this same time next year i will be able to say 'i told you so' for missing out europa league.
It's natural for us to so be delighted whenever they lost, just as they are whenever we do, make no mistake about it. Fergie has been in charge for 20 over years and they've been dominating English football since the early 90's, and I bet most posters in the United thread became fans during that era. Hence, it's unrealistic to think that we will be able to upstage them within a season of appointing a new manager.

On Europa, I really don't see how anyone can support the team not qualifying for tournaments that offer commercial revenue and like it or not, football is as much a business as it is a sport now, and you need to make good financial decisions. We are in the midst of sourcing commercial partners especially in this part of Asia and being in Europe will give us more leverage in negotiations. Your argument is purely based on the fact the the players get more rest, but how is it different from teams playing in the Champions League? I believe that with youngsters having broken into the first team, and more on the brink of doing so, we have a pretty decent squad, capable of playing on a few fronts. I would have liked to have seen the likes of Robinson, Flanagan, Spearing and maybe even Pacheco, Coady and Wilson get some European experience. With the acquisition of new players and the return of players like Agger, Aurelio and Kelly, some of the youngsters aren't going to get as many games. Have you even stopped to consider that I posted on commercial revenue? We stand to miss out on up to 30% of revenue, and just so some players can get some rest?
Duke Red
post Jun 2 2011, 10:44 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jun 2 2011, 10:26 AM)
Mad Men's comments are waay off, however I do have a slight concern that the committee members seem to have all been elected prior to the formation of the branch being made public. Also, surely the 'committee' itself could do with a better mix. Smells of blatant crony-ism, and this above all has probably put me off joining them.

I see this as a wasted chance. I am pretty sure there are a fair few number of smaller independent supporter groups such as myRawk which should have been taken into account and assimilated - a chance to truly stand as one. But meh, that's just my thoughts on this anyways.
I share your concern. This isn't a private association we're talking about. Would like to know more about the credentials of the committee before passing judgement. While the effort and commitment put in by various groups of Liverpool fans to form associations or clubs to show their support is admirable, I can't help but think that Liverpool fans as a whole have failed when it comes to pulling everyone together. If there were open elections, there would be no need for so many splinter groups. This is where I think the LSCM, as the official supporters club has failed. Have we seen any engagement activities or CRM efforts? Instead of being humble and going all out to bring fans in, the expect everyone to go sign up all the way in Shah Alam. Such arrogance is detestable. They need new blood with new ideas in. They have for awhile now.
Duke Red
post Jun 2 2011, 11:00 AM

6,112 posts

To sidetrack, my LFC thumb drive arrived today with a nice note!

Duke Red
post Jun 6 2011, 03:02 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(rushmode @ Jun 6 2011, 11:06 AM)
then could say the same to Carra too eh? own goal scorer..

soto not bad for backup CB..
oh btw, anyone who brings vuvuzeala to the MY vs LFC game need to be slapped. that thing is annoying
Yeah. Be fair. Kyrgiakos is our 4th choice centreback and he costs next to nothing. Let's not forget he's pretty handy at attacking corners as well.
Duke Red
post Jun 7 2011, 09:35 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(jiraxys95 @ Jun 7 2011, 05:14 AM)
Sorry for interrupting but..is it true that adidas wont be used as liverpool official kit and will be replaced by a brand named 'WARRIOR' in 2012??
just wonderin.... hmm.gif
Yes, and American brand. If memory serves me, they're big in Ice Hockey. It's the biggest kit deal in the history of the Premier League, so I'm not complaining.

To put things in perspective, this deal is worth a mammoth $25 million pounds a year and they aren't even our main sponsors. It just makes Rick Parry look that more incompetent. For some strange reason, he chose to stick with Carlsberg who were main sponsors, when they only shelled out $7 million pounds per year! In stark contrast, the Standard Chartered deal is worth $20 million pounds a year. We've been getting screwed over for years. Ian Ayre is doing a good job!

Added on June 7, 2011, 9:48 am
QUOTE(leftist @ Jun 7 2011, 08:58 AM)
18.5m for jordan henderson???!!! blink.gif  blink.gif
we sure have a lot of money despite not qualified for CL rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif
I'm not complaining especially when you consider the two cowboys used to take up a loan for every cent we spent on players. In stark contrast, John Henry doesn't talk much but when he does, he backs it up with action.

Added on June 7, 2011, 10:05 amI'm really looking forward to July 16th. I really do believe that Liverpool fans are a passionate bunch which is why I keep harping about the importance of knowing the club. We don't just say we support our club, we show that we do. Talk is cheap and it's easy to say you love a club blah blah blah but this is an opportunity to prove that we do. I do expect the stadium to be packed with Reds and filled with banners. Already, there is talk about making banners here. MyRAWK and Liverbirds Supporters Club in JB are also planning on making joint banners. Then there is also the recently established branch of the SOS (Spirit Of Shankly) who has legs in Perlis and JB. The fact that Liverpool fans took the effort to set up clubs and associations is in itself testament of our commitment to the club. Do you see any other club doing the same thing? Yes I may be blowing our own horn but not without justification.

Lads, we can make a difference because we stand together in numbers. We aren't just individual Liverpool fans who watch our games at home alone, and who don't interact with one another in the flesh. Like I said in the pharagraph above, we already have 3 splinter groups who don't see eye to eye with the LSCM and we all share a common vision. Forming splinter groups is our way of protesting. MyRAWK was featured on Liverpoolfc.tv, our official site in the UK and it shows that if we band together in numbers and make enough noise, someone will listen. A couple of years back, we wrote to the Star to feature an article on Hillsborough and this was the result (http://www.redandwhitekop.com/forum/index.php?topic=240645.0).

The lads will be visiting Malaysia for the first time come July 16th. Let's show them what they've been missing all this while. Stand up and be counted.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jun 7 2011, 10:07 AM
Duke Red
post Jun 7 2011, 12:04 PM

6,112 posts

Update on the LFC Tour ticket situation :-

Just got out from a meeting with the bosses of ProEvents from Singapore (I got an LFC tour pin! yay!). The RM 388 tickets are selling fast even though sales aren't open to the public yet. Spoke to them about buying XX number of tickets from them and I may be able to get training passes thrown in. Anyone need help procuring tickets and if so how many? You can PM me if you want but we'll need to work out payment because as you can imagine, it's a huge sum.

Kickoff on the 16th is @ 5:45pm.

If you have your own 'jalan' then pls proceed. I'll do what I can.

Duke Red
post Jun 7 2011, 05:37 PM

6,112 posts

I concur on the no vuvuzela's bit. Instead of spending money, learn up our songs for free. It would be a tragedy not to be able to hear YNWA echo around the stadium.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0449sec    0.05    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:21 AM