Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V11, Intel SB vs incoming AMD Llano

lila
post May 20 2011, 10:39 PM

hi all

i don't know whether this is the right place to ask. if not, i'm sorry.

i've been using aspire 4710 since 2007 until now and it's working just fine. but i plan to buy a netbook as it will be easier to carry around (i'm going to start my part-time study in june and 4710 at 2.69 kg is heavy). however, some people suggested that i buy a new, lighter laptop instead.

so my question is:

1) which is better - buy a netbook for and continue using my current laptop or buy a new laptop?

i'm considering asus eec pc 1015B or acer one happy for netbook but have no idea for new laptop so i welcome any suggestion. my budget for a laptop will be around RM2000 - 2500.

thanks a lot

edit : i won't be using it for games just do normal stuff - office & study work, surfing the web.. things like that

This post has been edited by lila: May 20 2011, 10:45 PM
lila
post May 20 2011, 11:08 PM

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 20 2011, 10:42 PM)
Netbooks may be light, but they're really slow in comparison to your previous Acer... haha  laugh.gif
Best option is to go for something in between in terms of performance/specs....
Anyway, you're studying locally or abroad?
budget? Usage? Preferred screen size?
fuhh... i have a friend who said this old thing belongs in the museum wink.gif

local - in penang tongue.gif

my budget for laptop is between RM2000 to 2500. for a netbook; around RM1000.

lila
post May 20 2011, 11:16 PM

QUOTE(pandera999 @ May 20 2011, 10:46 PM)
Eee PC 1015B, AMD C-50 + AMD HD6250 + (1024x600)@RM999 nod.gif very prtable..

can consider dell 13". new sb processor. lighter and approx 2kg, and better specs... do typing oso easy.. since not that small tongue.gif
Vostro 3350, i3-2310M + Intel HD3000@RM2209[2.04kg]
Vostro 3350, i5-2410M + Intel HD3000@RM2469[2.04kg], backlit keyboard

if not acer 13" TimelineX 3820TG, i3-380M + AMD HD6550[1.8kg]@RM2199..
yes, i'm considering netbook mainly because it's very portable.

but then a few people said that it's better to get a new notebook instead, hence the dilemma rclxub.gif
lila
post May 20 2011, 11:26 PM

QUOTE(pandera999 @ May 20 2011, 11:11 PM)
ohmy.gif tot netbook something around 13" then u go for 14" lo.. since gt that budget.. prefer what brand? hmm.gif
i don't have any preferred brand - as long as it's not something that is unheard of icon_idea.gif

Added on May 20, 2011, 11:34 pm
QUOTE(pandera999 @ May 20 2011, 11:22 PM)
laugh.gif seems alang2 ma... [cool.gif
14"
asus(2 years free international warranty)
A43Sj, i3-2310M + Nvidia GT520M@RM1999[2.44kg], Colors:Red/Blue/Pink/Green/Gold/Black>>>can choose colour thumbup.gif
A43Sv, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M(1GB)@RM2399[2.44kg], [6-cell 4400mAH]
A43Sv, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M(2GB)@RM2599[2.44kg], [6-cell 5200mAH]

dell
Inspiron 14R, i3-2310M + AMD HD6470@RM2149, Free 2nd year warranty: expires 26 May
Inspiron 14R, i5-2410M + AMD HD6630@RM2349, Free 2nd year warranty: expires 26 May

depend which brand you want laugh.gif
exactly icon_idea.gif that's what people told me..

i was set to buy a netbook until i heard that phrase being repeated again and again whistling.gif

now confuse rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by lila: May 20 2011, 11:34 PM
lila
post May 22 2011, 12:41 AM

hi all

thanks a lot for those who has given suggestions. for now, i think i'm going to get myself a netbook, and continue using my faithful aspire 4710 until it crash (though K43U and X42JY look tempting also.. huhu) but i think i'll be able to adjust to 10.1" screen. between asus eee PC and acer (happy & OD255), i think i like asus better. so i might settle for eee PC 1015B

i went to a few shops today. unfortunately, it was not a pleasant trip. at one of the shop, the salesman tried to cheat me. he wanted to sell eee PC 1015B at RM1299. i played along and asked him to give me discount. he said, 'ok la kak, diskaun 100, saya bagi free gift lagi.' mad.gif then i told him that asus, in their product guide clearly printed that the price is RM999. his reply? 'tu harga dealer kak' vmad.gif thank god i didn't fall into his trap or else i might be wasting my hard-earned money for nothing

err.. who sells asus here? can i get cheaper than that? nod.gif icon_idea.gif
lila
post May 22 2011, 08:54 PM

hi all

yes, it was lucky indeed i decided to join lyn forum. i can't say i really know about the technical aspects of a note/netbook but at least i know i shouldn't be paying more for nothing. RM100 is a lot.. it can cover my petrol expenses for nearly 2 weeks whistling.gif

i'll browse hikari and marcus' thread after this. hopefully i'll get a better deal

@koki : it was in city plaza, alor setar. i don't know whether it's the shop's usual tactic or they just picked people who looks like an easy target to be conned - you know, the older kakak-abang or makcik-pakcik types (err.. i don't look that old ok.. cool2.gif ) but i went there and behaved like i know nothing brows.gif
lila
post May 22 2011, 09:28 PM

QUOTE(Koki @ May 22 2011, 09:08 PM)
Lol you have your way laugh.gif At least not getting conned is all good. Save as much as you can thumbup.gif
Once I went in to buy my mom's phone just questioning the price and tell them directly that the price elsewhere is (insert lowest price in LYN)
Somehow that guy gave me at that price.[/spoiler]
i'll try using your tactic in future thumbup.gif i want to browse the phone booths/shops after this.. (accidentally fell in love with samsung galaxy s yesterday sweat.gif)

as for yesterday, acting clueless helped. there were salesmen who did not mark up the price but pushed me to buy expensive ones because it's 'better'. can't deny that - better specs and all but.. hmm.gif i went to four shops yesterday and only one salesman told me directly 'kak, kalau you buat kerja biasa2 & nak surf internet saja, tak payah beli yg mahal lorr.. yg seribu lebih pun cukup'. rclxms.gif

0.0411sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:18 AM