Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V11, Intel SB vs incoming AMD Llano
AlexLai
May 10 2011, 10:29 PM
QUOTE(pandera999 @ May 10 2011, 06:20 PM)  yup.. it need learn some programming yo..  me, CS, oso same with you guys  Sweet, same major! Added on May 10, 2011, 10:31 pmQUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 10 2011, 10:27 PM) If need to buy in a hurry, then there's only the Asus A43Sv i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M (1GB)@RM2399 If you ask me, I would recommend saving more money, to go for the better N43SL, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M@RM2599[Bang & Olufsen] instead  +1 to this recommendation. Good enough for most usage now. This post has been edited by AlexLai: May 10 2011, 10:31 PM
AlexLai
May 11 2011, 12:44 PM
QUOTE(ljf123 @ May 11 2011, 11:57 AM) 1. Brand. any 2. Budget. 3k 3. Specs. engineering software (ansys,etc) 4. Size. prefer lighter weight (2kg? below?) other than acer 3830 and 4830...  Asus U41SV/U31SD.
AlexLai
May 11 2011, 04:23 PM
QUOTE(ljf123 @ May 11 2011, 02:43 PM) the U41SV graphic card NV GT540 is it better than acer 3820tg's amd raedeon hd6550m? GT540M is rather superior to the HD6550M. QUOTE(pandera999 @ May 11 2011, 02:47 PM) INTI Subang Jaya.
AlexLai
May 11 2011, 09:39 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 11 2011, 09:37 PM) Asus N43SL or Asus N53Sv Whether the 14 incher of 15 incher depends on whether you want portability or a larger screen The B&O speakers would be great for entertainment, but the discrete GPU would be overkill  Can always use the discrete GPU to contribute to F@H.
AlexLai
May 11 2011, 09:46 PM
I wonder if the team Astria was proposing to make is up.
AlexLai
May 12 2011, 12:11 PM
QUOTE(Koki @ May 12 2011, 02:17 AM) Anyone here actually is going to college very soon but wants to go laptop-less for some time while waiting for new AMD Llano-based laptops?  Just do it bro! I went to college laptop-less for over 4 months once, just because I was waiting for the A42JV lulz.
AlexLai
May 12 2011, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 12 2011, 12:14 PM) Wow, I din't know that haha But you ended up with the best Rm2.5k laptop at that time  At first was thinking of getting an A42Jr, but it was EOLed and replaced with the A42JK which had a weaker GPU, so I waited. When I almost given up hope and decided to get the JK, the JV showed up but it was retailing for RM3.3k. So I waited a bit more for PC Fair and compared pricing from the other forumites and found out that they were throwing price for that model so decided to get it before stock habis.  In the end, I picked up the last unit in LYP.
AlexLai
May 12 2011, 01:01 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 12 2011, 12:27 PM) You're damn lucky bro haha~ And I think you purchased at the best time as well I remembered how the Asus A42Jv embarrassed a damn lot of other laptops (including the M11x and my Qosmio F60) during that time with its spectacular specs  My crowning glory is having the only laptop in college <15" that is capable of playing anything (until 2 months ago that is).  I was playing Crysis 2 in my program common room and everyone was in awe.
AlexLai
May 14 2011, 07:07 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 14 2011, 04:35 PM) Now it all comes down to pricing.... the previous Adamo XPS was too expensive even for something as unique, slim and light as that  In the US, the Adamo XPS was crazily cheap when they were on clearance sale. Iirc, $799? Oh, and I found an N43JM sitting in AllIT, Ikano Power.
AlexLai
May 17 2011, 08:56 PM
QUOTE(pandera999 @ May 17 2011, 07:27 PM) x42de Weight: 2.2kg Manufacturer: Asus CPU Speed : AMD N830 Screen Size : 14.0' Graphics Type : ATI 5470 512MB DDR3 Memory : 2GB DDR3 Hard Drive Capacity : 500GB SATA HDD Camera : 0.3 Mega PixelOperating System : Free DOS K40AB Weight: 2.26kg CPU Speed : AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual-Core Mobile Technology Processor (2100MHz) Screen Size : 14.0 Inche WXGA Graphics Type : ATI Mobility™ Radeon® HD 4570, 512MB VRAMConectivity : Wireless 802.11a/b/g/n Memory : 2GB DDR2 RAMOptical Drive : DVD Supre Multi Layer Drive Hard Drive Capacity : 320GB SATA HDD Camera : 1.3 Mega PixelOperating System : Free DOS see the GPU, camera, memory, HDD... lots of different, XD You forgot to compare CPU... N830 is a tri-core CPU running at 2.1GHz. QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ May 17 2011, 08:22 PM) whats the difference between Asus A43Sv and Asus A53Sv ? i see mcm sama saja  Specs are the same. Just size.
AlexLai
May 18 2011, 04:04 PM
Do take note that the GT680R, Asus G53SW and VX7 are quite bulky but not as heavy as they seem.
This post has been edited by AlexLai: May 18 2011, 04:05 PM
AlexLai
May 19 2011, 05:16 PM
QUOTE(Newgen @ May 19 2011, 03:52 PM) Now AMD-C50 seems to be everywhere and seems to be doing well! Any reviews so far? Any users here??? Just as powerful as an Atom based system in terms of processing power but the HD6250 beats Atom's IGP flat out. Battery life is still very good though.
AlexLai
May 25 2011, 01:01 PM
If it's in the brochure, 90% of the time it will have it.
AlexLai
May 26 2011, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(xplay88 @ May 26 2011, 07:56 PM) its better i topup abit 300 and i get that A43SJ..and i bet that lapy will have lots of bloatware rite...is there any user facing any prob with that lapy... Well, you can't really run from bloatware. The manufacturers get paid for every piece of bloatware they install by the companies providing the bloat. QUOTE(pandera999 @ May 26 2011, 08:05 PM) if you plan buy A43E, make sure install w7 64bit, if not, the hot key not fcning well. cz i jz face it.  A43SJ, so far... no prob... no review from the user.  guess, its ok. new SB lappy bro  I did make a mini review about it in the Combined thread. Mostly regarding the temps and performance since the rest is basically a complete clone of the A43SV.
AlexLai
Jun 1 2011, 09:59 PM
N55SF, not my cup of tea. Looks like Asus is going for pseudo-unibody construction now.
If they changed the keyboard and made a 14" version, that would pique my interest.
AlexLai
Jun 1 2011, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 1 2011, 10:02 PM) Its not like Asus to just offer N5X and N7X... I'm sure there'll be a 14 incher as well  13" would be a confirm buy for me. Then I can go rub it in the face of the Mac boys.  QUOTE(simon3041 @ Jun 1 2011, 10:02 PM) =x I prefer 15.6".. Hmmm.. Btw, N53SN/ SV 's design is better...  Can't say I like the N53 design that much.
AlexLai
Jun 5 2011, 07:33 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 5 2011, 04:35 PM) Prices are nice for certain models, but no details on the shop(s)?  Dang, I might forget about getting a new phone if I can get a 1015B for only RM880.
AlexLai
Jun 9 2011, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(tekplyrX @ Jun 9 2011, 09:12 PM) Hi guys, Does anyone know a laptop that fit these specs? < rm3000 14" screen, at least a GT540m gfx card with 1gb dedicated ram, less than one inch thick, lightweight, multitouch pad, chiclet keys dvd drive at least 1 usb 3.0 port asus u41sv actually fits everything except the usb 3.0. asus says its optional on their website but I searched all of lowyat today and couldn't find one so i'm starting to think optional means not available at all? It's optional means available in different SKUs. Just that the Malaysian model doesn't have it.
AlexLai
Jun 15 2011, 12:39 PM
It's nice to have but honestly, I would prefer to not have Optimus. Don't need to meddle the system in case of any incompatibility issues and such.
AlexLai
Jun 15 2011, 12:47 PM
Not really that short either..
3-4 hours with just web browsing is possible due to the larger capacity battery they stuck in.
Btw, have you tried the beta version?