9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V11, Intel SB vs incoming AMD Llano

Koki
post May 26 2011, 01:21 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(adibyusoff @ May 26 2011, 12:44 PM)
its between n43sl and n53sv. Brushed metal better than gloss finish? smile.gif
Both are brushed metal finish then sweat.gif
I'd say go for whichever size you want, no one can force you to get one specific size

Added on May 26, 2011, 2:33 pmDudes, till now the Fusion prices are very cheap shakehead.gif

Added on May 26, 2011, 2:40 pmhttp://www.engadget.com/2011/05/23/dell-xps-15z-review/
15z review! I'll still go for a Mac though

This post has been edited by Koki: May 26 2011, 02:40 PM
Koki
post May 26 2011, 04:12 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(WeidiSWEDEN @ May 26 2011, 04:08 PM)
Thank you the help! I'll only be using Photoshop and playing Starcraft 2, do you think the 5750g is enough? Will be my first laptop so kinda unsure yawn.gif
Yep, it can.
And the misconception mostly happens when people says GPU is the main thing for Photoshop.
The truth is that OpenGL is just something that uses your GPU as an assistant for your CPU.
CPU is the one doing all the magic there
Koki
post May 26 2011, 04:16 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(WeidiSWEDEN @ May 26 2011, 04:13 PM)
One last question! What about the I5 and the I7, how important is the processor when it comes to photoshop and minor gaming? Maybe I should consider the I5 version it's only around 2.3k now :S
It's about optimization in the end. I forgot where the thread about i5 and i7's comparison is at but i5 is optimized for gaming and i7 is optimized for heavy calculations and rendering and stuff (like 3D, video processing, etc.)
Processors take up a great role in Photoshop, and also a great part in minor gaming (some Flash games I played is just heavy on the processor)
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 26 2011, 04:13 PM)
For Photoshop performances, its RAM>CPU>GPU  nod.gif
Yes thumbup.gif
Koki
post May 26 2011, 05:17 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(adibyusoff @ May 26 2011, 04:32 PM)
omg. I jus found a shop in Miri selling brand new n53sv-sx255v for rm2280. Ok. Now thats cheap.
Plus u36jc for rm2680!

Got some other model too. Wow. The cheapest dude.
Huge difference compared to prices in LYN. Yeay! rclxms.gif
Damn, dude that's great! better check if it's refurbished or whatever it is first
QUOTE(RO Player @ May 26 2011, 04:41 PM)
Cheap & good SSD??? for my XPS 17 L702x  brows.gif
OCZ laugh.gif
I don't know about SATA3/SATA 2 6GB/s compatibility but yeah, I found out that OCZ had a cheap and good one
Koki
post May 26 2011, 06:26 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(adibyusoff @ May 26 2011, 05:40 PM)
will do. The shop is authorised reseller. Got two branches one in miri and one in sibu. Ho yeah. I think i just got lucky today. smile.gif

Added on May 26, 2011, 5:43 pm

ya lor. Me oso tekejut ad. Just my luck i guess. tongue.gif

999? What model?
hmm.gif

Added on May 26, 2011, 6:15 pm
last question with n53sv, i'll be doing some rendering of videos and images plus some starcraft2 and black ops. Core i5 2nd gen is ok with this?
Definitely. If you do a lot of heavy rending then an i7 would be better
Koki
post May 26 2011, 06:44 PM

3,142 posts

Acer 4830TG or add more to ASUS N43SL
Koki
post May 26 2011, 08:04 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(xplay88 @ May 26 2011, 07:45 PM)
can anyone recommend me a laptop

model:any
purpose:surfing,documentation and maybe lite gaming
budget:rm2k or less
If the usage is light then might as well get one that runs AMD E-350
Koki
post May 26 2011, 09:59 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ May 26 2011, 08:05 PM)
IVY bridge came out next year laugh.gif gt hear the news?
Yeah, Ivy Bridge is either late this year or next year
Koki
post May 26 2011, 11:21 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(Penance @ May 26 2011, 11:06 PM)
1. Brand : ASUS
2. Budget : RM3000 max
3. Specs : Suitable for gaming
4. Size: 14 inch

My friend's A42JP is capable of running recent games like Dragon Age 2 under high setting with decent FPS, I'm looking for something with similar performance.
ASUS N43SL for the looks, speakers and everything nice
ASUS A43SV for the basics
Asus U41SV for the thinness and portability

This post has been edited by Koki: May 26 2011, 11:22 PM
Koki
post May 27 2011, 01:24 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ May 27 2011, 09:41 AM)
so if i buy

ASUS Eee PC 1215P - Black

12.1" LED Backlight WXGA (1366x768) Screen
CPU Intel® Atom™ N550 (Dual Core; 1.5GHz) Processor
Memory DDR, 2 x SO-DIMM, 2GB (Upgraded to 2GB)
Storage 2.5" SATA 320GB HDD

on the 24" HD LCD Screen will display 1366x768 only right?

i would need to buy

Model: V130
Intel® Core™ Processor ULV i3-380UM (3M Cache, 1.33GHz, 800 MHz FSB)
2GB DIMM DDR3 800Mhz     
320GB 7200RPM SATA HDD Drive   
Intel® HD Graphics
13.3" HD WLED Anti-Glare (1366x768)

to pair with the 24" HD LCD monitor i can get HD but not the max resolution right??

i basically wan to hav the same reso as the 24" lcd.... possible??  rclxub.gif
Yes, it will display the resolution of your HD LCD monitor
Performance will decrease since it's stepping up from 1366x768 to a higher resolution
Seriously I would recommend to get an AMD APU instead of Intel
Koki
post May 27 2011, 02:29 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(adibyusoff @ May 27 2011, 01:52 PM)
n53sv core i5 do have optimus right?
nod.gif
QUOTE(nicvoo @ May 27 2011, 02:04 PM)
regardless of amd o intel i actually will b looking into amd but can i know which laptops can maximize the monitor resolution? mean which laptop screen can run at 1920 x 1080??
All graphic cards these days (integrated or discreet) can do 1080p, but some are just stressed to the max when it runs 1080p
I would recommend getting the AMD one because it has greater graphic capabilities
Koki
post May 27 2011, 04:10 PM

3,142 posts

^ Fujitsu one is out.

I'd take either the Vaio or Toshiba.
Toshiba one had different specs than the one I Google'd sweat.gif
Koki
post May 27 2011, 07:07 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(wan_109 @ May 27 2011, 06:59 PM)
Single bar? Does that mean I can't right click or it's just the design?

If not this 1015B, what are other alternatives that're on par with this one?
It's just the rocker style. You can still right click and left click
Koki
post May 27 2011, 07:14 PM

3,142 posts

^Also the dm1z has the noisy fan problem sweat.gif
Koki
post May 28 2011, 01:18 AM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(tedisgodlike @ May 28 2011, 01:09 AM)
freedos hard for him la TJ. he dont know about installing windows smile.gif

so if go for HP DM1z , rugi ke?
ASUS K43U or Acer 4253-E350 laugh.gif
And yes HP dm1z will rugi because of the fan problem
Koki
post May 28 2011, 01:49 AM

3,142 posts

Those are the only ones I have hmm.gif Netbooks aren't really that famous in M'sia

This post has been edited by Koki: May 28 2011, 01:52 AM
Koki
post May 28 2011, 02:29 AM

3,142 posts

Please do note that the dm1z is having problems with the fan noise
Koki
post May 31 2011, 12:31 AM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(chahupping @ May 31 2011, 12:18 AM)
Does windows 7 experience index matters? Is 5.7 consider good?
It depends on which category of the hardware you're referring to
Generally it's decent

This post has been edited by Koki: May 31 2011, 12:43 AM
Koki
post May 31 2011, 12:56 AM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(azoct @ May 31 2011, 12:09 AM)
oic. ok2..

another question, which is better, buying a netbook or notebook? with the rm 1- 1.5k budget, any brands, working and basic gaming usage.

icon_question.gif
I think the size is personal preference
I guess you can find for some like this :

QUOTE(chahupping @ May 31 2011, 12:34 AM)
Overall.
Decent. Handles nearly everything smoothly
Koki
post May 31 2011, 01:14 AM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ May 31 2011, 12:59 AM)
my neighbour gt dm1z doh.gif he asking me why the fan  gt sound sweat.gif
LOL good luck with that. The fan issue is no biggie, but it is annoying

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0461sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:59 PM