May 20 2011, 10:42 PM
24,193 posts Joined: Feb 2010 From: Perak |
QUOTE(lila @ May 20 2011, 10:39 PM) hi all Netbooks may be light, but they're really slow in comparison to your previous Acer... haha i don't know whether this is the right place to ask. if not, i'm sorry. i've been using aspire 4710 since 2007 until now and it's working just fine. but i plan to buy a netbook as it will be easier to carry around (i'm going to start my part-time study in june and 4710 at 2.69 kg is heavy). however, some people suggested that i buy a new, lighter laptop instead. so my question is: 1) which is better - buy a netbook for and continue using my current laptop or buy a new laptop? i'm considering asus eec pc 1015B or acer one happy for netbook but have no idea for new laptop so i welcome any suggestion. my budget for a laptop will be around RM2000 - 2500. thanks a lot Best option is to go for something in between in terms of performance/specs.... Anyway, you're studying locally or abroad? budget? Usage? Preferred screen size? |
May 21 2011, 10:20 AM
QUOTE(V 4 Vendetta @ May 21 2011, 08:42 AM) These:11.6" Dell Inspiron M102z, AMD E-350 + AMD HD 6310 + (1366x768)@RM1799[1.56kg] HP DM1z, AMD E-350 + AMD HD6310@RM1499[1.47kg] Sony Vaio YB15, AMD E-350 + AMD HD6310@RM1799 [1.46kg], Colors: Pink/Lime green/White 13" MSI X370, AMD E350 + AMD HD6310@RM1599[1.3kg], McAfee (3 users) Added on May 21, 2011, 10:21 am QUOTE(Koki @ May 20 2011, 11:59 PM) If you're aiming for a netbook, might as well get a Toshiba NB550D We don't have Toshiba's NB550D here If you want a larger one, then get something like the dm1z with E-350 processors For laptops... if no gaming then might as well get one with SB and only internal graphics Ealier in page like 15 IINM, bro PFTJ mentioned a few models (ThinkPad Edge 11) that uses AMD Fusion APUs Please do note that the HP dm1z has a noisy fan issue Also, any other choices like Lenovo's G470? If not it'll be real hot We don't have AMD powered ThinkPad Edge 11 here This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: May 21 2011, 10:21 AM |
May 21 2011, 04:00 PM
May 21 2011, 04:02 PM
^ Battery? Warranty? RAM etc.?
May 21 2011, 04:11 PM
May 21 2011, 07:03 PM
May 21 2011, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(koinibler @ May 21 2011, 11:29 PM) between U31Sd has a better GPU U31Sd, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT520M@RM2999[1.78kg], and Vostro 3350, i5-2410M + Intel HD3000@RM2469[2.04kg], backlit keyboard, which one is better spec, assuming remove price from the equation? Added on May 21, 2011, 11:52 pm QUOTE(pandera999 @ May 21 2011, 10:42 PM) Usually we have netbooks (8.9-10.1") and subnotebooks (11.6"-13.3")... no mini netbooks haha But some define netbooks as 8.9-12.1"... so it gets kind of confusing haha This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: May 21 2011, 11:52 PM |
May 22 2011, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(koinibler @ May 22 2011, 12:38 AM) just check with 5 laptop pricelist; cycom, czone, pczone, startec and viewnet, Yes, its available, I've seen one in C-Zone (Digital Mall) the last time I went there non of them bring U31Sd ? Is this unit already available in Malaysia? just found acer timeline 3820TG and toshiba 635 which is 13.3" Added on May 22, 2011, 10:53 am QUOTE(lila @ May 22 2011, 12:41 AM) hi all Yeah, its good to hear that you've done your homework and din't get conned (like most other users thanks a lot for those who has given suggestions. for now, i think i'm going to get myself a netbook, and continue using my faithful aspire 4710 until it crash (though K43U and X42JY look tempting also.. huhu) but i think i'll be able to adjust to 10.1" screen. between asus eee PC and acer (happy & OD255), i think i like asus better. so i might settle for eee PC 1015B i went to a few shops today. unfortunately, it was not a pleasant trip. at one of the shop, the salesman tried to cheat me. he wanted to sell eee PC 1015B at RM1299. i played along and asked him to give me discount. he said, 'ok la kak, diskaun 100, saya bagi free gift lagi.' err.. who sells asus here? can i get cheaper than that? As suggested by Koki, try looking for This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: May 22 2011, 01:32 PM |
May 22 2011, 12:46 PM
May 22 2011, 01:31 PM
^
Not suggesting you are Sorry about that.... should be hikari85 This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: May 22 2011, 01:32 PM |
May 22 2011, 01:41 PM
QUOTE(Koki @ May 22 2011, 01:36 PM) Anyone actually knows the true secret behind PC Fairs? Based on what I've seen in this year's PC fair, Asus purposely increase all its products by RM100 (some say its because of the disaster at Japan, but I doubt that) so that they can "give more discounts" haha~So far I went to the one in KLCC once and those in Ipoh a few times The fact that Ipoh ones are actually conning people (they sell legacy products with a more expensive price tag than the one and only "digital" mall" and gives you a lot of crap gifts. In KLCC, it's just so damn big that you can get a low price here, but when you do explore around a little more you get an even cheaper price! BTW @Lila, mind telling which shop did you went and that event happened? There's virtually no advantage of purchasing your laptop at PC Fairs... especially when theirs Garage Sales here haha~ But perhaps buying smaller accessories would be a good during PC Fairs since you can try them out.... The thing about PC Fairs is that all laptops from various brands are brought together into one place for everyone to try them out.... but since there's just too many people to actually be able to test the laptop you wanted, there's no real point liao I rather go to LYP/Digital mall or Garage Sales~ Unless you're talking about PC fair girls la, that's a different story |
May 22 2011, 11:57 PM
QUOTE(Nidz @ May 22 2011, 11:52 PM) anyone can recommend me a good alternative to apple macbook air? Samsung 9 series my target specs - i5/i7 proc, good gc, ssd hard drive, thin and lightweight, long battery life, 13" or 14" monitor.... If don't want SSD/SSD option not available in Malaysia, then Toshiba Portege R830 and the upcoming Lenovo X1 Portégé R830, i5-2410M + Intel HD3000@RM3999[1.4kg], 2nd & 3rd year international warranty, Microsoft Office Home & Student 2010; colors: Black/Red/Blue Portégé R830, i7-2620M + Intel HD3000@RM5999[1.4kg], 2nd & 3rd year international warranty, Microsoft Office Home & Student 2010; colors: Black/Red/Blue but the graphic cards are the dedicated Intel HD3000 only though If you need more processing power, then the Portege and X1 would be better since they're running standard SB processors (not ULVs like those in MBA and Samsung 9).. But if you're into graphics stuffs, then the MBA will probably be the better choice, the higher resolution might come in handy as well This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: May 23 2011, 12:00 AM |
May 23 2011, 01:03 AM
QUOTE(Nidz @ May 23 2011, 12:33 AM) well, my main concern is based on these: The current MBAs are powered by relatively weaker processors compared to the 9 series, but the Nvidia G320M they possess are better than the Intel HD3000 in the Samsung 9 series... So since you emphasize more on processing power, the Samsung 9 series would be better (at this particular moment)1) weight (priority) 2) SSD 3) Battery Life 4) proc 5) gc (will use for work, maybe some for hd multimedia) based on ur recommendation, it seems that MBA is cheaper than 9 series. r830, though same price with MBA, doesnt hav ssd... so MBA is a actually a good choice? Koki is right, and its not a speculation, SB ULV-powered MacBooks will be coming out soon |
May 23 2011, 08:53 AM
QUOTE(Koki @ May 23 2011, 01:49 AM) Not really sure, but I think its almost certainly coming: http://laptopreviewshop.com/future-macbook...processors.html |
May 23 2011, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(adibyusoff @ May 23 2011, 02:53 PM) yesterday i went to the shopping mall to survey for laptop. went looking for n43sl or n53sv but no shop have it. they said have to order if want to see. I think the shop ppl recommended you the Dell Inspiron 15R. Yes it has a quad core processor, but the GPU is not that good... And its extremely glossy lol the promoter told me that asus also no good. he recommend me the dell 15.6 inch with same spec as asus. haihhh. now im pening ad. which one to choose. dell oso look good but i heard that recent dell product have hardware problems. only the service is good. please please help. need to decide. Personally I think both the Asus N43SL and N53Sv are better than the 15R, better build, better GPU and better speakers |
May 23 2011, 03:16 PM
QUOTE(adibyusoff @ May 23 2011, 03:04 PM) n53sv have problem with the keyboard? room between numpad and qwerty? Yeah, the N53Sv/Sn suffers from flexes due to the longer length... the flexes are less apparent on the N43... personally I've tried the keyboard and I have to say I like it, yes it might take some time to get used to but its good plus, the promoter also said that forum people cannot be trusted. create multiple account, biased, prejudice, etc. The Inspiron 15r, on the other hand, suffers from spongy keyboard buttons lol... so its your pick at the end of the day LOL, look who's talking... those promoters would say anything as long as you buy from him so that he can have some money to spend I would say most of the forumers here know more than them promoters This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: May 23 2011, 03:17 PM |
May 23 2011, 03:45 PM
QUOTE(adibyusoff @ May 23 2011, 03:30 PM) Added on May 23, 2011, 3:35 pm so about the keyboard on n53sv, the tight space actually doesn't give problemlah? But just to be safe, you should try it out for yourself, only then decide |
| Change to: | 0.0309sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:47 PM |