150 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V11, Intel SB vs incoming AMD Llano

wan_109
post Jun 2 2011, 12:34 AM

741 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jun 2 2011, 12:32 AM)
Weaker GPU...
In terms of durability?
lee_what2004
post Jun 2 2011, 12:36 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(wan_109 @ Jun 2 2011, 12:34 AM)
In terms of durability?
How to answer something that can't be certain sweat.gif
wan_109
post Jun 2 2011, 12:37 AM

741 posts

I meant the laptop not the GC haha sorry tongue.gif
pandera999
post Jun 2 2011, 12:41 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ Jun 2 2011, 12:32 AM)
rm400?? i went to lowyat today, took the catalogue and it says rm2999 for i7 and 2699 for i5...the graphic card for both are GT540M with 2GB ddr3 hmm.gif

hmm...so if both i5 and i7 are running the same task, the i7 will still be slightly hotter right? not that i really mind the heat, just curious laugh.gif

im still sceptical bout the i5, since im actually doing quite a lot of multitasking with my computer...i did some search and knew that for gaming the processor wouldnt make much of a difference
if you plan to plug to external monitor.. 2gb will be more efficient... jz the core make the price different.. but notice that i7 gt 2... dual core and quad core....

Added on June 2, 2011, 12:42 am
QUOTE(wan_109 @ Jun 2 2011, 12:37 AM)
I meant the laptop not the GC haha sorry tongue.gif
depend how you take k it? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by pandera999: Jun 2 2011, 12:42 AM
SGSuser
post Jun 2 2011, 12:52 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Jun 2 2011, 12:41 AM)
if you plan to plug to external monitor.. 2gb will be more efficient... jz the core make the price different.. but notice that i7 gt 2... dual core and quad core....

Added on June 2, 2011, 12:42 am
depend how you take k it? laugh.gif
i7 still got dual core kah? i tot all is quad core edi unsure.gif sry im quite noob in these thgs laugh.gif
pandera999
post Jun 2 2011, 01:55 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ Jun 2 2011, 12:52 AM)
i7 still got dual core kah? i tot all is quad core edi  unsure.gif  sry im quite noob in these thgs laugh.gif
gt 2 ver.... i7 dual core and i7 quad core...
Sylf
post Jun 2 2011, 08:09 AM

140 posts

guys i'm facing a dilemma of whether to buy

1) laptop with 17inch screen or more

OR

2) 11 - 13 inch laptop with external monitor

i use my laptop mainly just to watch videos. but i do play games like dota, those low demanding games.

do u guys know any laptop with large screen but low spec? i checked out dell vostro 3750 but the resolution is only 1600 x 900. i'm looking for full HD. i'm worried that dell vostro can't play 1080p video.

whether or not a computer can play 1080p video is depend on the graphic card or the monitor resolution? can clarify for me? sorry i'm really a newbie at this.

the 17 inch alienware laptop cost a lot.

i dunno anyone who travel around with large external monitor. is it a dumb idea to do so? i mean can external monitor be carried around in a laptop bag?

dun flame me pls
[PF] T.J.
post Jun 2 2011, 08:44 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Sylf @ Jun 2 2011, 08:09 AM)
guys i'm facing a dilemma of whether to buy

1) laptop with 17inch screen or more

OR

2) 11 - 13 inch laptop with external monitor

i use my laptop mainly just to watch videos. but i do play games like dota, those low demanding games.

do u guys know any laptop with large screen but low spec? i checked out dell vostro 3750 but the resolution is only 1600 x 900. i'm looking for full HD. i'm worried that dell vostro can't play 1080p video.

whether or not a computer can play 1080p video is depend on the graphic card or the monitor resolution? can clarify for me? sorry i'm really a newbie at this.

the 17 inch alienware laptop cost a lot.

i dunno anyone who travel around with large external monitor. is it a dumb idea to do so? i mean can external monitor be carried around in a laptop bag?

dun flame me pls
How do you plan to put the external monitor in a laptop bag? laugh.gif
The Vostro is no weakling, its capable of doing all the things you said, with no sweat at all laugh.gif
If you're going for a 17" laptop, the Vostro is the cheapest around already nod.gif
Sylf
post Jun 2 2011, 08:59 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 2 2011, 08:44 AM)
How do you plan to put the external monitor in a laptop bag?  laugh.gif
The Vostro is no weakling, its capable of doing all the things you said, with no sweat at all  laugh.gif
If you're going for a 17" laptop, the Vostro is the cheapest around already  nod.gif
but the vostro can't play full HD video am i right???

and whether or not can play a full HD video is solely depend on the monitor and not the laptop???
fJok3R
post Jun 2 2011, 09:00 AM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 2 2011, 08:44 AM)
How do you plan to put the external monitor in a laptop bag?  laugh.gif
The Vostro is no weakling, its capable of doing all the things you said, with no sweat at all  laugh.gif
If you're going for a 17" laptop, the Vostro is the cheapest around already  nod.gif
+1, i don't think it is practical to carry around an external monitor around

and yes, vostro 3750 can play 1080p video.

and for the resolution, i think assuming the 1080p video is in 1920x1080, it will be fit into your screen reso 1600x900.
correct me if i'm wrong.

i used to have a monitor of 1280x1024 (not widescreen, lol) to play fullhd movie,
then got some budget to upgrade the monitor to fullhd one of 23", i would say the experience is quite different laugh.gif

i think it is also applicable to laptop, you can enjoy movies better on bigger screen nod.gif

This post has been edited by fJok3R: Jun 2 2011, 09:02 AM
Sylf
post Jun 2 2011, 09:04 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(fJok3R @ Jun 2 2011, 09:00 AM)
+1, i don't think it is practical to carry around an external monitor around

and yes, vostro 3750 can play 1080p video.

and for the resolution, i think assuming the 1080p video is in 1920x1080, it will be fit into your screen reso 1600x900.
correct me if i'm wrong.
pardon me but are u sure about this?

about 2 years ago i downloaded a 720p video and i tried to play on my old computer + monitor and all i get is lagging video.

fJok3R
post Jun 2 2011, 09:06 AM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(Sylf @ Jun 2 2011, 09:04 AM)

about 2 years ago i downloaded a 720p video and i tried to play on my old computer + monitor and all i get is lagging video.
all i can say it is not depend solely on the computer specification

codec also plays a part, to have a latest, updated codec in your system is a good practice
Sylf
post Jun 2 2011, 09:12 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(fJok3R @ Jun 2 2011, 09:06 AM)
all i can say it is not depend solely on the computer specification

codec also plays a part, to have a latest, updated codec in your system is a good practice
i'm using k-lite codec by the way

thank you for ur comments

i dont mean to be rude but can anyone verify what he saying is true?

vostro 3750 only cost 2.7k compared to alienware which cost more than 7k. not to say that 2.7k is cheap but it's easier for me as a student to saved up that much.
DiabolicaL
post Jun 2 2011, 09:18 AM

177 posts

brand: any
budget: 3k
spec: need good graphic card and processor to run some engineering software
size : any
weight: as light as possible..2kg? wink.gif

This post has been edited by DiabolicaL: Jun 2 2011, 09:19 AM
wiraman
post Jun 2 2011, 09:35 AM

Dear all,

Need you help in buying a laptop.

Price: RM2k & below

Brand; no specific

Specs: for web browsing, MS office use etc.......
[PF] T.J.
post Jun 2 2011, 10:07 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Sylf @ Jun 2 2011, 09:04 AM)

Even a cheap sub-RM1.5k laptop (AMD E-350) can play FullHD videos hmm.gif
No worries there haha~
You can always try playing on some of your friends' laptops if you're still not convinced laugh.gif

Added on June 2, 2011, 10:12 am
QUOTE(DiabolicaL @ Jun 2 2011, 09:18 AM)
brand: any
budget: 3k
spec: need good graphic card and processor to run some engineering software
size : any
weight: as light as possible..2kg?  wink.gif
For performance:

For portability and battery life:

Added on June 2, 2011, 10:14 am
QUOTE(wiraman @ Jun 2 2011, 09:35 AM)
Dear all,

Need you help in buying a laptop.

Price: RM2k & below

Brand; no specific

Specs: for web browsing, MS office use etc.......
If no gaming whatsoever, then:
14" Lenovo G470, i5-2410M + Intel HD3000@RM1999
14" Acer Aspire 4750, i5-2410M + Intel HD3000@RM1999[2.3kg]

If want as cheap as possible, then:
Acer Aspire 4253, AMD E-350 + AMD HD6310@RM1499[2.3kg], W7HP
Asus K43U, AMD E-350 + AMD HD6310@RM1299[2.6kg], W7S, [6-cell 5200mAH]

All these would be able to handle your usage e.g. web browsing, MS office.

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jun 2 2011, 10:14 AM
Sylf
post Jun 2 2011, 10:26 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 2 2011, 10:07 AM)
Even a cheap sub-RM1.5k laptop (AMD E-350) can play FullHD videos  hmm.gif
No worries there haha~
You can always try playing on some of your friends' laptops if you're still not convinced  laugh.gif
eh i noticed that ur laptop resolution is 900p

alright. thanks for ur help.
wiraman
post Jun 2 2011, 11:04 AM

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 2 2011, 10:07 AM)
Even a cheap sub-RM1.5k laptop (AMD E-350) can play FullHD videos  hmm.gif
No worries there haha~
You can always try playing on some of your friends' laptops if you're still not convinced  laugh.gif

Added on June 2, 2011, 10:12 am

For performance:

For portability and battery life:

Added on June 2, 2011, 10:14 am

If no gaming whatsoever, then:
14" Lenovo G470, i5-2410M + Intel HD3000@RM1999
14" Acer Aspire 4750, i5-2410M + Intel HD3000@RM1999[2.3kg]

If want as cheap as possible, then:
Acer Aspire 4253, AMD E-350 + AMD HD6310@RM1499[2.3kg], W7HP
Asus K43U, AMD E-350 + AMD HD6310@RM1299[2.6kg], W7S, [6-cell 5200mAH]

All these would be able to handle your usage e.g. web browsing, MS office.

Added on June 2, 2011, 11:07 am
QUOTE(wiraman @ Jun 2 2011, 11:04 AM)

Just to check is there any issues like heating problem for the Lenovo 470 as I use it on average 4-5hrs per day

This post has been edited by wiraman: Jun 2 2011, 11:07 AM
simon3041
post Jun 2 2011, 01:04 PM

LoV3
1,528 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Jun 1 2011, 10:09 PM)
seems may release o.. coming soon..... if no rush... wait and take a look...  brows.gif
Yeah.. I will wait! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif Hope i wont be disappointed

Added on June 2, 2011, 1:05 pm
Can't say I like the N53 design that much.  hmm.gif

HAha... At least better.. I mean N53 design's better than tat...

Added on June 2, 2011, 1:07 pm
QUOTE(SGSuser @ Jun 2 2011, 12:13 AM)
hi guys...im planning to buy either i5 or i7 of asus a43 2moro...difference of rm300 tho

im slightly towards the i7, coz i thk i might be doing simulation stuff in the future

im just wondering, for normal use like listening to the music/watching movies/surf net etc, the i7 will also be hotter than the i5 right?

the i7 is 2.0 to 2.9 while the i5 is 2.3 to 2.9, does that mean when at idle, the i7 will probably be at 2.0 while the i5 is at 2.3? so the i7 wont be generating too much heat?
I vote i5 for you ;D

This post has been edited by simon3041: Jun 2 2011, 01:07 PM
Koki
post Jun 2 2011, 01:09 PM

3,142 posts

^@SGSuser
That hyperthreading is virtualising another 2 cores out, not disabling 2 physical cores

150 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:53 AM