SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V3, The ultimate Android super smartphone ??

mydragoon
post May 9 2011, 01:28 PM

7,044 posts

many thanks to current owners for the reviews found in v2... smile.gif

anyway, i m keen to get sgs2 but can still wait for official launch in MY.

camera is one of the main points for me when considering a phone. just wondering if any current owners can feedback how long it takes to capture a photo (as in from the time the 'button' is pressed to the time when photo is captured) under different conditions? i m asking coz got bad experience with an old phone. time when button was pressed to the time photo was captured... it was like 3-5 seconds. the whole thing took so long and precious moments could not be captured. sometimes, it gets to the point where it takes 10+ seconds before the next photo could be taken.

thanks...
mydragoon
post May 9 2011, 10:13 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ May 9 2011, 01:28 PM)
many thanks to current owners for the reviews found in v2... smile.gif

anyway, i m keen to get sgs2 but can still wait for official launch in MY.

camera is one of the main points for me when considering a phone. just wondering if any current owners can feedback how long it takes to capture a photo (as in from the time the 'button' is pressed to the time when photo is captured) under different conditions? i m asking coz got bad experience with an old phone. time when button was pressed to the time photo was captured... it was like 3-5 seconds. the whole thing took so long and precious moments could not be captured. sometimes, it gets to the point where it takes 10+ seconds before the next photo could be taken.

thanks...
just wondering if any browith sgs2 can share how fast it is to snap photo and save? and also take next pix? tqvm.
mydragoon
post May 9 2011, 10:18 PM

7,044 posts

just sharing...
Samsung Gets 3 Million Pre-Orders For The Galaxy S II
http://www.mobilecrunch.com/2011/05/09/sam...he-galaxy-s-ii/

No doubt the Galaxy S II is a great smartphone, and it’s apparently set to sell really well, too. Samsung says [KOR] that global pre-orders for their flagship Android 2.3 handset have reached 3 million as of the end of April (which means they should have received even more by now).

Exactly one week ago, we reported that in Samsung’s home market of South Korea alone, the 4.3-inch AMOLED device was pre-ordered 200,000 times.

Big S also says that the Galaxy S II will eventually be offered in 120 countries through a total of 140 different carriers.

hoping one of the two phones held by the girl is yours? biggrin.gif
mydragoon
post May 9 2011, 10:20 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(oldKyoo @ May 9 2011, 10:16 PM)
2-3 seconds, kinda slow.... of u ask me...

if u want immediate snap, go get the sensation.... i dont know aboutthe arc
thanks for the feedback. kinda sad to hear that... sad.gif

sensation better? *sigh* means wait even longer...
mydragoon
post May 9 2011, 10:38 PM

7,044 posts

camera function quite important for me.

i am still using SE K618i. speed is good enuff for me. but no flash and low resolution.

used a SE c510 b4 as well. this was the one that took almost 5secs to shoot photo and another 5sec to save. too slow to capture precious moments -- especially those involving your children -- they run around and move so fast... smile.gif
mydragoon
post May 10 2011, 08:38 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(oldKyoo @ May 9 2011, 10:41 PM)
owh dun worry, it takes 1 second to snap, and the pic is done, but like 1-2 additional seconds of delay to save, then u can snap again, loads of modes, again, read the front page, alot of info u can find.
QUOTE(benny888 @ May 9 2011, 10:52 PM)
The camera is pretty good; took some pics yesterday - all turn up well . The shots are saved I'd considered close to immediate, maybe 1+ secs ?
Taken indoors at shopping mall : Default settings - just point and shoot
thanks for the feedback and clarification...

hmmm... i guess sgs2 can still be considered... smile.gif
mydragoon
post May 10 2011, 08:47 AM

7,044 posts

with 3 million pre-orders, i'm wondering if they have enough units to launch in MY... or maybe this will further delay the launch in MY and a few countries where sales are not so fast moving...?
mydragoon
post May 10 2011, 12:00 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(oldKyoo @ May 10 2011, 11:28 AM)
My 1st failure to unlock the screen, it was on standby, then i wanted to unlock, pressing the side button, or the hardware home button had failed to wake the phone up, trying to press the side button to off it, no reaction, screen still failed to lit up.

removed battery and pressed restart button... worked. and it booted up, now is good.
next time I dont know how much more serious this problem will be..

P.S: Please Do Not Comment or Say That My Device Is (Enter word)
I dont want to hear that rubbish, nor will I accept the fact that it is. not until my exams are over.
exam?!? errr... nick got old. some more volvo dashboard shots. i tot u r n old uncle with fetish for gadgets... ooops... blush.gif
mydragoon
post May 11 2011, 02:29 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ May 11 2011, 02:13 PM)
the ones you guys ordered from handtec is the one with NFC?
i think it was already mentioned... not sure in v3 or v2... no NFC.

Added on May 11, 2011, 2:33 pm
QUOTE(nazz11 @ May 11 2011, 06:29 AM)
I donno if this has been posted before, maybe uncle benny can post this on the front page coz this video is awesome

the official walkthru demo of SGSII by samsung. Towards the end, got the demo of the MHL -> HDTV out.

IT PLAYS 1080p AWESOMELYYYY on THE HDTV!!!!

cheers guys!

p/s it looks like the phone is charging while doing HDMI out. I suspect there is a charger input on the adaptor too
edit: baah.. i dont know if i coded link above correctly but here's the link

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4n2Kp4ekWNs
MHL allows charging + hdmi video, etc... see: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mobile_High-definition_Link

but not too sure if standard hdmi port will work or the tv, etc needs to have special ports as well.

'uncle'... can confirm how it works? wink.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: May 11 2011, 02:33 PM
mydragoon
post May 11 2011, 03:28 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ May 11 2011, 03:18 PM)
To output audio+video to standard hdmi port on TV, u just need their USB-HDMI cable/MHL adapter. But for charging, need MHL-enabled TV.
errr... any such TV in MY?
mydragoon
post May 12 2011, 01:25 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(lookie @ May 12 2011, 12:29 PM)
oooohh......PAID APPS working! smile.gif all major cards accepted
erm any ideas how to change the currency to RM?
wah, you beat me to it...

https://market.android.com/support/bin/answ...y?answer=143779
Paid App Availability
Priced applications are currently only available to users in the following countries:
Malaysia

mydragoon
post May 13 2011, 08:56 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(sora_world07 @ May 12 2011, 10:33 PM)
coz not everywhere has implemented NFC. its just starting to gain pace. plus technically its not superseded. it just another variant laugh.gif
NFC is not just for payment. can also be used for...
* file transfer
* biz card exchange
* perhaps in future, customised ads
* touch and go kinda access
and many, many more...
mydragoon
post May 13 2011, 02:50 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(jason111785 @ May 13 2011, 11:10 AM)
I got an heads-up from a friend who work in local mobile (original) disti.. she said SME launching SGS2 officially in Msia next week...
i guess i can wait since next week is just 3 days away. smile.gif

but seriously, i wonder how true... samsung could just be pushing out such rumours to prevent grey market.

anyway, i go hope its with digi. maxis seems to like 'killing' the products they sell. look at xoom. so overly priced. plus, i read somewhere that recently, Maxis & HTC signed some kinda agreement or MOU, so, could be more HTC phones going there. assuming so, Celcom got dual core. Maxis probably will have sensation and atrix. so, digi with SGS2? plus, one article i posted in V2 thread mentioned of Telenor selling in Sweden or something... so, digi...? digi...? smile.gif

mydragoon
post May 13 2011, 11:42 PM

7,044 posts

just heard as well that sgs2 will be abt rm2k or so.

so, price-wise,i think more or less confirmed that way...

so now... the Q: tegra or exynos? samoled+ or slcd?

for me, if its not exynos & samoled+, then i might just wait. coz like another forumer said, sgs2 main selling pt is samoled+ and samsung's own exynos.
mydragoon
post May 14 2011, 12:22 PM

7,044 posts

processor speed should be 1.2. i dun think samsung using 1.0 now. earlier on, they planned but i think later it was fixed as 1.2ghz.
mydragoon
post May 16 2011, 08:46 AM

7,044 posts

games... i think in gsmarena review, there's mention of games hub showing games from gameloft. if the games are not compatible, i'd think that samsung won't have included them.

anyway, just offer to sponsor current owners 1-2 games that you wanna buy... and let them download and test out lor... 1-2 games is not gonna cost much anyway.
mydragoon
post May 16 2011, 04:27 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Haruji Sora @ May 16 2011, 04:18 PM)
What sort of complains?
ya... i also curious... rather than have us check out the whole xda forum, can the original commenter just summarize a bit what are the 'problems'?

thanks...
mydragoon
post May 16 2011, 10:26 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(teaumika @ May 16 2011, 08:21 PM)
Guys & Gals,

If you are planning to buy SGS 2, PLEASE HOLD your HOSE as it will soon launch in MALAYSIA and the PRICING will definitely SHOCK YOU...

Many of you have bought AP Set and i believe you will ...... when it launch.

Please don't asked me any question as my information's stop here.
like many, i kinda dislike comments like this... it does not really tell us anything that we dun already know. and it's like stating the obvious. after all, we know it will launch in MY and shocking can be rm1k or can also be rm10k.

also, it could be that your the SGS2 PM and you wanna make sure your sales are not affected by AP sales so you discourage ppl from buying AP.

if wanna give info, should say sth like:
next week launched by telco XYZ and 4 weeks later, from all shops.

then that's called real info la... wink.gif
mydragoon
post May 16 2011, 11:51 PM

7,044 posts

sgs2 competitor... htc sensation...

http://www.androidcentral.com/t-mobile-htc...-run-199-target
Looking for the T-Mobile HTC Sensation price? We've got you covered, by way of Target Mobile. Looks like the one of the hottest little phones of the summer is going to go for $199 on contract, or $549 outright. That's just about the sweet spot, we think, considering what you're getting -- 4.3-inch screen, 1.2GHz dual-core processor, 8MP rear camera and a 1.2MP front, the latest version of HTC Sense. Now all we need is a nice little date to go with it.

too lazy to compare other models and see what usd549 means when officially in MY. so, more options. smile.gif

hopefully samsung ppl see this and give us better pricing. smile.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: May 16 2011, 11:55 PM
mydragoon
post May 18 2011, 01:27 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(weeluvmal @ May 18 2011, 01:24 PM)
heard that RRP is RM2099, any of you guys got this news?
if u have been following this topic, you'd already know this has been mentioned many, many times in the past 2 weeks.

0.0267sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:56 AM