SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V3, The ultimate Android super smartphone ??

lookie
post May 9 2011, 05:47 PM

852 posts

ok more ap sets being listed for sale now, and as expected, prices slowly coming down.

probably if SG launches soon, more ap sets will be brought in. i remember last year, the difference betweeen SG sgs1 ap unit vs maxis official rrp is about rm500. sometimes it pays to wait smile.gif
lookie
post May 10 2011, 10:18 AM

852 posts

I thought Hk also not launched yet? where he buy from? UK unit or HK?
lookie
post May 10 2011, 11:37 AM

852 posts

QUOTE(OhmonDieu @ May 10 2011, 11:15 AM)
Whats a kernel and an ODIN? ohmy.gif  I read the first page bout rooting (I'm really new to this) and i dont really get it.  sad.gif
ODIN is Thor's father, never see the movie meh? jk

Ok, briefly kernel is the earliest part of the program that loads after the phone boots up. it takes care of the basic stuff like system settings/partitions/file systems etc basically housekeeping stuff, before the main Android operating system is loaded.

ODIN is the program that is used to flash (ie write) a custom kernel onto the phone.
lookie
post May 11 2011, 10:37 AM

852 posts

anybody selling ap sets for northern region?
lookie
post May 11 2011, 08:29 PM

852 posts

2 weeks maybe official launch de, if some of the recent rumours are to believable smile.gif
lookie
post May 12 2011, 12:29 PM

852 posts

oooohh......PAID APPS working! smile.gif all major cards accepted

erm any ideas how to change the currency to RM?

This post has been edited by lookie: May 12 2011, 12:31 PM
lookie
post May 13 2011, 10:39 AM

852 posts

huh? by oct this phone will be on sale everywhere in malaysia. and probably drop to 2k too.
lookie
post May 13 2011, 12:05 PM

852 posts

counting this latest "rumour" by jason, this is the 4th "i heard" already...

so there's a chance it may be true after all...cmon Samsung Msia, make it happen!
lookie
post May 14 2011, 03:23 PM

852 posts

i was told that ap warranty doesnt really cover things like led screen, casing etc. only the radio and maybe the electronics inside.

any truth?
lookie
post May 16 2011, 04:07 PM

852 posts

hmmm somehow after reading here and all the complains at xda, slowly my hype-o-meter is going down. don't feel so "urgent" to have the phone now.

guess i'll wait some more... smile.gif
lookie
post May 16 2011, 10:01 PM

852 posts

its not just the few hundred bucks diff bro. some ppl prefers to get official warranty.
lookie
post May 18 2011, 02:25 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(jason111785 @ May 18 2011, 02:21 PM)
Latest update from my fresh whom work in Samsung distributor.. SME target to launch SGS2 in June - RRP around 2k.
any indication if it is reduced specs like what some people have speculated here?
lookie
post May 18 2011, 04:14 PM

852 posts

ah look like AP prices dropping, i guess everyone getting news of SME official release smile.gif

are these prices with or without warranty?
lookie
post May 18 2011, 07:28 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(Sanity @ May 18 2011, 05:56 PM)
cool...seem like the price quoted is sending some AP sellers to slightly panic mode. maybe start trolling that thread? hoho..
lookie
post May 18 2011, 07:45 PM

852 posts

wow...pressure is building up...hehe. now all that remains is waiting for the specs to be confirmed. i think most ppl wont care that much whether tegra2 or exynos, as long as the screen is still samoled+ smile.gif
lookie
post May 19 2011, 10:40 AM

852 posts

taiwan version got so many accesories; dock ... leather pouch...
lookie
post May 20 2011, 10:08 AM

852 posts

QUOTE(Haruji Sora @ May 20 2011, 09:26 AM)
I dont know how true is this, but Samsung Malaysia responded to question on their FB page

[Samsung U-nivez]
Hi, Samsung Galaxy S II comes with Super Amoled Plus.
40 minutes ago ยท Like
good news! one of those pre-order sellers also confirm it is samoled+.

waiting for official seems a good idea for now smile.gif

maybe get a honeycomb tablet to play with in the meantime smile.gif
lookie
post May 23 2011, 11:00 AM

852 posts

brotan, do you have data activated? some guy in xda claims that with data activated (not wifi), he gets fast fix.
lookie
post May 23 2011, 03:14 PM

852 posts

any solutions on the "screen lag" when pressing power button? in my case, no problem when it's connected to usb, or when battery still have a lot of juice...only happens when battery falls below 50%

Added on May 23, 2011, 3:15 pm
QUOTE(brotan @ May 23 2011, 03:09 PM)
read benny's link for root. so rooting is like making you to be a superuser access rights, right? not really changes the content of your phone memory
rooting basically can be compared to creating a ADMINISTRATOR account on Windows. You can change almost everything on the pc where a normal non-admin user can't perform certain tasks.

This post has been edited by lookie: May 23 2011, 03:15 PM
lookie
post May 23 2011, 03:56 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(pcphobic @ May 23 2011, 03:34 PM)
Hi guys, I just wanna share some info with regards to battery drain.

I am not familiar with SGS II but based on my friend's experience with SGS I,
I know that under the Daily Briefing, there is a service for Accuweather.

If u turn off Accuweather, u will get extra half a day worth of battery life. Try it.

I just want to ask one question. As u know the SGS I is famous for it's lag problem and u need to apply some lag fix to it. Does this lag problem happen with SGS II?
the famous sgs lag is for all intent and purposes, solved in sgs2. in fact, i think sgs i9000 was a special case, even lesser phones like the i9003 and ace didnt have the kind of lag that the sgs had. even changing the filesystem only helped maybe 50%. I suspect the underlying problem is probably hardware related.

anyway, sgs2 has almost eliminated all of the sgs lag. i've copied over my 200+ or so apps from sgs and the sgs2 remains as snappy as before.

0.5198sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:39 PM