6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V3, The ultimate Android super smartphone ??

h11g
post May 19 2011, 05:12 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(zumapuma @ May 19 2011, 05:09 PM)
do u guys think there'll be alot of custom roms on this phone?
cuz i used SGS and i loved flashing to new roms..huhu
i bet there will be tonnes of custom roms on this phone base on the hype and demand. anyways heard really good things about darkys's rom on sgs and i hope he will port his rom over to sgs2.
h11g
post May 19 2011, 05:17 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ May 19 2011, 05:12 PM)
i want to ask

for answering calls, i notice the only way to do so is to swipe the screen

is this the only way? annoying leh. don't have a button we just press?
i don't think so bro~! try looking on market whether they have any apps for it.
h11g
post May 19 2011, 06:32 PM

2,114 posts

uncle benny can i root my device? the rooting guide says currently they only supply root for kdd , but my sgs baseband is i9100xxkdj.
h11g
post May 19 2011, 08:29 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(Bugeca @ May 19 2011, 08:16 PM)
Don't be confused with baseband version. It is modem / phone driver version actually. The firmware is under Build number section.
alright, thanks , im updating my firmware to I9100XXKE2 now. downloaded from samfirmware.

success~! now im trying to root it~! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by h11g: May 19 2011, 08:31 PM
h11g
post May 19 2011, 08:39 PM

2,114 posts

thanks for the guides, never thought flashing new firmware and rooting is so easy in a samsung phone using odin~! My first time owning a samsung smartphone. by far the easiest to root and flash firmware thus far~!

Best is after flashing firmware and rooting, all my data intact, didn't lose any files or apps.
h11g
post May 19 2011, 08:58 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(Vcys86 @ May 19 2011, 08:52 PM)
sorry for my noobness,
actually what is flashing or rooting?
there is lots of guide at xda on how to doing them, but i can't find a guide to understand what is that.. sad.gif
flashing firmware is updating your phone's firmware to the latest. it's like sometimes your pc drivers need updating.

rooting is giving you superuser power to modify or install apps in your phone.
h11g
post May 19 2011, 09:22 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ May 19 2011, 05:22 PM)
but practical :-)

or at least press a button on screen but not swipe. can set this with default software we have?
guys i found out under call settings, you can actually set your home screen button to accept a call~! =) old school way but at least there is a different way~!
h11g
post May 19 2011, 09:46 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(Vcys86 @ May 19 2011, 09:41 PM)
Thanks for the short yet clear explanation  notworthy.gif
your welcome, this is why using android phone is fun, all these tweaking and flashing and hacking~! tongue.gif
h11g
post May 19 2011, 10:15 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(Vcys86 @ May 19 2011, 10:13 PM)
Yup, android ftw! thumbup.gif
btw, you guys using which service provider? how much per month? any data limitation per month?
If there is limitation or quota, there would be lesser fun using a smartphone right? smile.gif
depends on personal usage i would say~! I'm on Maxis 500mb data plan, served me well, tracked my usage so far and i only used on average 300mb/month.
h11g
post May 20 2011, 12:01 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(abuyon @ May 19 2011, 11:48 PM)
what best browser?opera perhaps?
Try dolphin hd
h11g
post May 20 2011, 08:42 AM

2,114 posts

Guys after flashing KE2 firmware, like how other users were complaining on xda, i found my battery usage dominated by android system. any users have experienced this as well? unplugged @ 1am @ 100% battery and when i woke up 8am this morning battery is down to 80%.
h11g
post May 20 2011, 09:26 AM

2,114 posts

This is hilarious~! rclxms.gif
h11g
post May 20 2011, 10:26 AM

2,114 posts

guys i'm experiencing excessive battery drain while using talkbox. force closing that app makes my battery drain less severe.
h11g
post May 20 2011, 11:14 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ May 20 2011, 10:42 AM)
for the default software that comes with the phone,

1) Does it have chinese inputs either pinyin or write the exact character? i can't find it. if there is, can to share ? if not, how to get it?

2) where is the voice -> text tool shown in the advertisement?
for chinese character input you have to download google pinyin

google pinyin in market is the default one, just that you have to manually download it cause not all users uses chinese input.

This post has been edited by h11g: May 20 2011, 11:15 AM
h11g
post May 20 2011, 11:27 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ May 20 2011, 11:24 AM)
thanks uncle benny. when i open a new sms, i see there is a mic button. is that to activate the voice -> text thing? but when i press it, it tells me "connection error"

Added on May 20, 2011, 11:26 am

I read that. just that i don't know the sentence "A ROM contains ...." meaning the H/W store the OS or it is the software

Anyway, now i understand

###

A ROM contains the operating system and often additional software which can be “installed” to your mobile device
the voice recognition needs an active data line, so make sure your on wifi or your 3g connection is running appropriately.
h11g
post May 20 2011, 11:37 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ May 20 2011, 11:33 AM)
oh... it is not inside the phone memory? is it possible to use it offline?
not possible, think of the amount of data needed for it to work offline.

QUOTE(yehlai @ May 20 2011, 11:33 AM)
Sgs2 can take scrn shot without using app
s?
yes, press power and home button simultaneously.

QUOTE(sbd @ May 20 2011, 11:35 AM)
why did they do that, very disappointing. voice commands, voice dictation, voice calling should not need a data/internet connection. I cannot understand the reasoning behind this...
the reasoning would be the amount of data needed to be stored on your phone to make it work offline, and besides a hassle to update it. i prefer it being online, so on server side they can make necessary improvements with the recognition without all of the end users to download and update it.
h11g
post May 20 2011, 02:51 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(alfredtwl @ May 20 2011, 12:56 PM)
just got my phone, hmm... if want chinese imput, which app is recommend ?? google pinyin ??
wooooooo bro congratz~!~!~! i know you are one of the people who waited since march and i know how you are feeling now~! hahaha

QUOTE(brotan @ May 20 2011, 02:22 PM)
btw, tested the voice -> text thing. impressive (though some time got mistake, maybe not used to it + my surrounding envrironment noisy)

1 question. i notice that you have to click the mic button, talk to it, it takes a batch of words, process them and send it back

then if want to continue, have to press the mic button again. any way to have the thing activated until we deactivate it?

Added on May 20, 2011, 2:23 pm

maybe because these are UK sets kua
you deactivate it by stop talking lo, by tapping on cancel, whatever you recorded wont be translated into text. also if you want less mistakes you have to speak slowly and clearly.

QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 20 2011, 02:36 PM)
so after weeks of using, is it still silky smooth and not laggy?
only been using 2 days so couldn't really comment on how it's like after using for weeks but you won't even be notice because you are constantly admiring the thinness and all~! thumbup.gif
h11g
post May 20 2011, 03:09 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ May 20 2011, 02:55 PM)
Battery keep charging also not full one... Di you guys know what problem ? because i keep using it while charging ?
Yes i do notice this phone takes longer time to get to full charge compare to other phones. and the battery drain is massive, right now confirmed won't last me a full day. so i'll definitely wait for extra batteries and i've just ordered the external battery from ebay, cost only $10 usd and plug straight into sgs2.

QUOTE(benny888 @ May 20 2011, 02:57 PM)
The term LAG is not applicable. it is darn blazing fast
thumbup.gif
h11g
post May 20 2011, 03:53 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ May 20 2011, 03:21 PM)
for the voice -> text thing, so cannot take a short break from speaking? you have to press the mic button again to reuse it?

Added on May 20, 2011, 3:29 pm@Alfred, did you get your refund already?
yes, you need to press the mic again to reuse.
h11g
post May 20 2011, 04:08 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(ate @ May 20 2011, 04:04 PM)
this or iphone 4? so far any problem with the phone? thinking of getting one tomorrow, the recording compared to xperia arc which is better ?
obviously this would be a better choice than the iphone 4. but it really depends on which os you prefer. didnt try the recording on arc but snapping pictures on the arc seems a little better compared to sgs 2. but i just played around with arc briefly since my colleague just got a unit.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0467sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:08 PM