Stained Bathroom Floors, Dear sifus, any advice on how to remove?

TSiv'N
post May 6 2011, 08:11 PM, updated 15y ago

657 posts

Hi guys, can anyone advice me on how to remove these stains from my bathroom floors?

I am not certain what caused this stain but my guess could be untidiness of developer's contractor doing the plaster ceiling.

I check with my own contractor, he adviced me to use a metal brush to remove it. Initially was thinking of pouring acid to remove the stains but he advice me agaisnt it, as acid will damage the cement.

Hoping to get more advice from all sifus here.

Thx in advance!

This post has been edited by iv'N: May 6 2011, 08:13 PM
banananic
post May 6 2011, 08:17 PM

13 posts

Why don't follow what your contractor said?
TSiv'N
post May 6 2011, 08:32 PM

657 posts

Yeah will definately try that.

Just wanted to get more info from the community. May have other effective way right? Never know smile.gif
KVReninem
post May 6 2011, 08:41 PM

IX
5,369 posts

pressured water wash also ok.

acid is no no on such floor.

those ceiling stuffs are just powder isnt it?
TSiv'N
post May 6 2011, 10:25 PM

657 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ May 6 2011, 08:41 PM)
pressured water wash also ok.

acid is no no on such floor.

those ceiling stuffs are just powder isnt it?
What happen if use acid??
eclipse-space
post May 7 2011, 06:26 AM

174 posts

Errr it will damage the cement?
Jo_da48
post May 7 2011, 11:29 AM

1,529 posts

Damage cement or tile?

KVReninem
post May 7 2011, 02:18 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(iv'N @ May 6 2011, 11:25 PM)
What happen if use acid??
Your pic you provided not really clear either it's pebble/- aggregate concrete floor or coated concrete floor.
Acid is pretty strong & might damage it.

I believe your contractor who did the ceiling work isn't using those industrial paint for wood or steel, so it's ok. Dont need acid, as it's possible to be wash away with metal scrubs or pressure water washer.

This post has been edited by KVReninem: May 7 2011, 02:23 PM
bugijun
post May 8 2011, 07:58 AM

532 posts

acid may damage your stainless steel pipe/handle/rail in the toilet....happen to me before...

Added on May 8, 2011, 7:58 amacid may damage your stainless steel pipe/handle/rail in the toilet....happen to me before...

This post has been edited by bugijun: May 8 2011, 07:58 AM
TSiv'N
post May 8 2011, 04:23 PM

657 posts

Usually this kind of pebble floor, is there any waterproof coating on top?

I was just testing out puting thinner on small patch and when washed away there is a new stain like the old plus there is some sticky stuff emerge up (could be waterproof selant originally applied?).. I'm thinking now the stains are not from plaster but from acid or thinner.

If the floors are wet, the stains are pretty much covered up.. I am wondering if there is any sealant I can use that make it wet look when it's dry. Can epoxy resin work?

This post has been edited by iv'N: May 8 2011, 04:33 PM
KVReninem
post May 9 2011, 02:04 AM

IX
5,369 posts

do you still have your developer contractor & warranty?

I suggest you not to caused more damage to the floor. & since you are the one going to live in it; the next time you know you will invite more work which you dont prefer to do.

ATM,
1. try get your developer contractor to tell you the material they used for it.Material which they sourced the pebble floor from.
2. then google up the material company supplier.
3. then figure out the solution.

Putting more damage on it just gonna make your life harder. Sooner or later also you will hack it out cos its too ugly of the stains.

0.0157sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:08 AM