> [ALERT] Official fake/counterfeit list

Lucas
post Sep 8 2005, 03:00 PM

651 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Sep 8 2005, 04:43 AM)
How abt giving wrong information ????
Should it be here or not ???
i do not know giving wrong information should be in this fake/imitation thread or not.

but certainly, giving wrong information(seller or buyer) should be treated as suspected fraud.

Rules
1. Any member found to be abusing and suspected fraud within will be banned.

4. Traders MUST be able to deliver the merchandise as promised; in terms of the delivery period, merchandise's contents, merchandise's condition and et cetera.
SonnyCooL
post Sep 8 2005, 10:38 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

And beware with those DELL laptop or Destop.
If the seller offer u are good prices and the item without series and warranty Just aware ......
That might be a A Fake DELL product ......

SUSceo684
post Sep 9 2005, 02:55 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(dinster @ Sep 7 2005, 03:23 AM)
NiCd = cheaper to produce and lighter ?

bcoz fake Sony battery that i bought from Vcool, is very light... like generic batteries sold at pasar malam....  doh.gif
Yup, very cheap one. GP/carrefour Nicd's going dirt cheap at carrefour
dinster
post Sep 9 2005, 04:13 PM

1,115 posts

QUOTE(Lucas @ Sep 7 2005, 09:18 AM)
those generic batteries from pasar malam, do they use registered trademark such as SONY?
nope.. they dont carry Sony brand....

they carry their own brand....

generic battery at pasar malam = original

bcoz they have their own brand,.

price wise, i think RM 1 = 8 pieces AA laugh.gif

performance-wise.. faham2 lah laugh.gif

Lucas
post Sep 9 2005, 05:52 PM

651 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Sep 8 2005, 10:38 PM)
And beware with those DELL laptop or Destop.
If the seller offer u are good prices and the item without series and warranty Just aware ......
That might be a A Fake DELL product ......
from my point of view, those Dell should be original Dell's.
The problem arise is the laptop/desktop stolen goods?
i do know is it is ILEGAL to possess/own a stolen goods.

and i do know that it is against the rules of this forum to sell those items.
Lucas
post Sep 9 2005, 05:57 PM

651 posts

QUOTE(dinster @ Sep 9 2005, 04:13 PM)
nope.. they dont carry Sony brand....

they carry their own brand....

generic battery at pasar malam = original

bcoz they have their own brand,.

price wise, i think RM 1 = 8 pieces AA  laugh.gif

performance-wise.. faham2 lah  laugh.gif
yes, thats the point. "THEY CARRY THIER OWN BRAND"
They dont mislead ppl by imitating Sony(a registered brand) by sticking and stamping the logo there or using name such as Sonny etc.
That i will say the seller is providing correct information and does not mislead the buyers.

Some ppl do try to mislead ppl by not stating that the batteries with a Sony Logo is actually a imitation item, which i think is also illegal to sell in Malaysia. Sony company has the rights to Sue them, the manufaturer and the seller. Those imitation products(low quality) will surely tarnish the image of the registered company.
SonnyCooL
post Sep 9 2005, 10:33 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(Lucas @ Sep 9 2005, 05:52 PM)
from my point of view, those Dell should be original Dell's.
The problem arise is the laptop/desktop stolen goods?
i do know is it is ILEGAL to possess/own a stolen goods.

and i do know that it is against the rules of this forum to sell those items.
Some is fake Dell item.
I major in recycle and some time just collect scrap from Dell, most Dell scrap item is wanted by those Taiwanese Company.
What item i collect from dell :
PC barebone.
Laptop BareBone.
Laptop fail Battery(don't pass the QC).
Laptop HD (small capacity 10-30G).
LCD monitor (15-17-19 some dead pixel).

So just figure how it can be fake ........

SonnyCooL
post Sep 10 2005, 03:47 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

another faulth information product from my knowledge.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=195619
Lucas
post Sep 10 2005, 09:25 AM

651 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Sep 9 2005, 10:33 PM)
Some is fake Dell item.
I major in recycle and some time just collect scrap from Dell, most Dell scrap item is wanted by those Taiwanese Company.
What item i collect from dell :
PC barebone.
Laptop BareBone.
Laptop fail Battery(don't pass the QC).
Laptop HD (small capacity 10-30G).
LCD monitor (15-17-19 some dead pixel).

So just figure how it can be fake ........
Thanks for your info here. Thats why in the earlier post, i did say from my point of view, i think those are original dells. Guess i was wrong.

why not let the thread starter post the infomation on the first post of this thread?

if that is the case, i would think they(the seller) should specify that thier item is a recycle/refurbrish item when they are trying to sell or provide information for thier potential buyers. I think its fair to let the buyers know before hand, compared to informing the buyers after the deal/trade has been carried out. What do you think?

yangxi
post Sep 16 2005, 02:14 AM

Violinist ^.^ 囧 囧
4,189 posts

Fake Mitsubishi 8x DVD+R/-R "10pcs

If found out this media , please contact me.
Mitsubishi don't have such design.~

+R = Blue , -R = Green . FAKE !!

original:

This post has been edited by yangxi: Sep 16 2005, 02:16 AM
dinster
post Sep 16 2005, 02:17 AM

1,115 posts

thanks yangxi !!

nice info !! notworthy.gif
cheong987
post Sep 20 2005, 08:59 PM

126 posts

how about those WD hdd selling now?very cheap oh...
dinster
post Sep 20 2005, 10:18 PM

1,115 posts

QUOTE(cheong987 @ Sep 20 2005, 08:59 PM)
how about those WD hdd selling now?very cheap oh...
confirm not fake lah...... wink.gif

it's genuine...... but the warranty is limited...... when u enter the serial no. on

WD website, it will simply show " no record "

i bought few units before.. no problem at all.. but u must carefully treat them lah...... laugh.gif

retail units carry 5 years warranty from WD, and once u enter the serial no.

it will show sthing like this.......

SonnyCooL
post Sep 21 2005, 01:07 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(dinster @ Sep 20 2005, 10:18 PM)
confirm not fake lah...... wink.gif

it's genuine...... but the warranty is limited...... when u enter the serial no. on

WD website, it will simply show " no record "

i bought few units before.. no problem at all.. but u must carefully treat them lah......  laugh.gif

retail units carry 5 years warranty from WD, and once u enter the serial no.

it will show sthing like this.......

Can't check the warranty then beware on those refurbish hard disk ..... but as long as working and prices cheap nvr ming lor ........
Motorbaby
post Sep 21 2005, 09:14 AM

2,126 posts

as usual the refurbished HDD last for around 1yr half as reported by quite a few buyer of the refurbished HDD at here during last yr.
Lucas
post Sep 21 2005, 09:31 AM

651 posts

yes, as long as the seller Declare it as a refurbish hardisk, i dont think it would be fraud. Both seller and buyer have to be honest to each others.

once its stated refurbish (items) then the buyer have to judge or take risk regarding the life span of the item. Still, there are some sellers who sell refurbish items as new items, which i would think is fraud, regardless what price they are selling.
dinster
post Sep 21 2005, 09:32 AM

1,115 posts

but my units bought from ckchew666 before look damn new u know.....

sealed in static bag lagi......

i dont think refurbished la.....

maybe other seller sell refurbished set........
bal
post Sep 23 2005, 11:08 PM

koher
1,215 posts

how bout this one?

LELONG

price like super cheap..
planning to buy one..
wut u guys think?
DAViS
post Sep 24 2005, 03:20 PM

就是你
2,503 posts

Those HDD might be...

1. Refurbished.
2. Stolen items.
3. Looting out from factory/store.
4. RMA.
5. OEM/Factory direct* Should not sell in public, might be sold by local PC manufacturer to earn some quick money.
6. Overstock* Rarely happend.
7. Engineering sample* Rarely happend. Conditions 3.
8. Company bankrupt sales
9. Unknown.

*My experience tell so. smile.gif
MetalZone
post Sep 24 2005, 10:38 PM

2,515 posts

Taiyo Yuden is the BEST DVD/CD media manufacturer around.
however, there are plenty of immitation/fake taiyo yuden discs around.
there are many manufacturers that deliberately fake Taiyo Yuden's discs, and there are those who have no choice but to do so because they dont have support from some DVD writers if they use their own coding.
immitation Taiyo Yuden's MID may be exactly the same as the genuine, but even if the MID is similar it does not mean its genuine.
one of the things to look out for fake taiyo yuden discs are the markings T1017 or T1013 in the inner hub. Real Genuine Yuden has id code: TG001159 or TG00XXXX on inner hub when you flip up-side-down.
All genuine Taiyo Yuden's are Made in Japan. Taiwan made ones are fakes.

some quotes from other forums for determining authenthic Taiyo Yuden's. by kivory666 from afterdawn forums:
your discs are GENUINE and AUTHENTIC, IF AND ONLY IF, you can find that coding you mentioned on the inner hub...and in YOUR case,
Quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
and also the ifro they give in the hub lineing of the disc is 0702 TG001133
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

yes, those are 100% AUTHENTIC, no need to worry about them being fakes...alkohol was correct in stating what he did. smile.gif

@alkohol,

before i pass judgment on the discs in question from the canadian seller on ebay regarding that information, there is a SMALL possibility that they are real; here is my reasoning...

Quote:
he says the inner hub reads: VD5174204532GG . is that a good number?

few months ago i made a mistake about determining a 16x TY DVD-R with coding TYG03, the reason i made the mistake was that when asked for the media ID coding, it was NOT complete at the time of the post.
the number/inner hub coding that was given by the original poster after he was asked to post up the coding, read the coding on the TOP part of the disc, this was naturally NOT HIS FAULT, but, he was simply providing the information that he was asked to give...upon further correspondence with him, i found out that the inner hub coding on the BOTTOM OF THE DISC was IN FACT, a TRUE 100% authentic TY coding...so, with the information i was given in the past and what little i had to go on, i jumped to conclusions a little early and made a mistake, i said it was FAKE, when later i found out it was indeed 100% authentic.

so, with that being said, as per the canadian sellers claim of being genuine TYS
Quote:
he says the inner hub reads: VD5174204532GG . is that a good number?

if that is THE ONLY number on the BOTTOM of the hub inscription, THEN and ONLY THEN, are they FAKE~!; IF that is the inner hub number on the TOP of the disc in question, what we need to find out is if there is an additional GG000xxx number on the BOTTOM before i can determine if it's fake or not.

basically, what it comes down to is, i need more/complete information before i can tell you for sure whether they are authentic TYs or not. i need to know if the canadian seller is giving dzuldare the inner coding ON TOP of the disc or the ON THE BOTTOM of the disc and if there are any other distinct numbers/coding anywhere else.

without the COMPLETE information about the discs, i can NEITHER SAY YEA OR NAY about the authenticity of the supposed Taiyo Yudens in question....i am MUCH more careful now before telling people about the authenticity of TYs nowadays, as i admittedly made 1 mistake in the past regarding the 16x TYG03s, so, i check and DOUBLE check before i comment on REAL or FAKES now. smile.gif

@ dzuldare

if you would be so kind as to ask that seller for MORE COMPLETE inner hub information about the discs that he is selling according to the guidelines i posted above, THEN i can tell you for certain if they are genuine or fake~ until then, i sit on the fence waiting to pass judgement or set the boy free~ hehe smile.gif

i personally suspect they are fake, BUT, i will not say they are until i can confirm if they have any other coding (ie. GD000xxx/GG000xxx/TG000xxx/GH000xxx--->corresponds to 4xdvd-r/8xdvd-r/8xdvd+r/16xdvd-r) on the inner hub. that long number you posted on here could possibly be on the CLEAR innermost hub part (where the hole starts in the middle) and that would NOT make it fake; what i need to know is if there is another number a little further in (where the shiny surface starts) that corresponds with the above mentioned coding that starts with GD/GG/TG/GH (this is THE KEY to determining the authenticity), please let me know~ this ebay seller MIGHT be legit, it's just that he's not giving you the FULL information you need to validate the claims.

if you are going to try the sample, then you will actually have a DISC in your hand to check this information i requested FOR YOURSELF, i can give you a definitive answer once i have ALL the information in front of me.

This post has been edited by MetalZone: Sep 24 2005, 10:43 PM

17 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:06 AM