Sociology Mixed Marriages in Malaysia, Crossing Culture, Race & Religion

TSfiredauz
post May 1 2011, 01:11 AM, updated 15y ago

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

As far as everyone knows of the general situation of mixed marriages in Malaysia, I shall take example of the 3 biggest races:

1. Malay + Chinese/Indian = Chinese/Indian must convert to Muslim first.
2. Chinese + Indian = There are cases of converts, and some no need.

Many issues come into play when we're talking about mixed marriages.
One old saying of "when you marry someone, you are also marrying into their family" applies at an even greater degree in this situation since it now involves trying to adapt to new culture, new race/face, and new religion.
Unless of course if that person is already brought up in those environments, then its a different case.

And just like any other marriages; some works, some do not.
I'm not sure if there is a record of all mixed marriages in Malaysia, but I guess everything works out well in the end.

What is your take in this?
DaRKMiSt
post May 1 2011, 01:31 AM

216 posts

It all depends on how open the opposing families are...
hdypenang
post May 1 2011, 01:46 AM

229 posts

What is your opinion? Even marriage itself have up and down.
But religion sure play important role. It define your belief and your soul.
[PF] T.J.
post May 1 2011, 09:58 AM

24,193 posts

Biologically, its highly recommended in fact for mixed marriages thumbup.gif
Agree with DaRKMist, sometimes it depends on the families from both sides, but love will always find a way la~ thumbup.gif
dkk
post May 2 2011, 12:35 AM

11,400 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ May 1 2011, 01:11 AM)
It's an additional difficulty. An obstacle for you to overcome to prove your love. smile.gif

Mix marriages are always "for love". Arranged marriages almost never ever result in mixed marriages.
Angela Lee
post May 4 2011, 04:33 AM

Professional Human
1,059 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ May 1 2011, 12:11 AM)
As far as everyone knows of the general situation of mixed marriages in Malaysia, I shall take example of the 3 biggest races:

1. Malay + Chinese/Indian = Chinese/Indian must convert to Muslim first.
2. Chinese + Indian = There are cases of converts, and some no need.

Many issues come into play when we're talking about mixed marriages.
One old saying of "when you marry someone, you are also marrying into their family" applies at an even greater degree in this situation since it now involves trying to adapt to new culture, new race/face, and new religion.
Unless of course if that person is already brought up in those environments, then its a different case.

And just like any other marriages; some works, some do not.
I'm not sure if there is a record of all mixed marriages in Malaysia, but I guess everything works out well in the end.

Won't accept this. Can't preserve the family blood line you see smile.gif
[PF] T.J.
post May 4 2011, 02:03 PM

24,193 posts

^
You can preserve only if you marry your own siblings/relatives? hmm.gif
3dassets
post May 4 2011, 02:52 PM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

QUOTE(Angela Lee @ May 4 2011, 04:33 AM)
Won't accept this. Can't preserve the family blood line you see  smile.gif
The more to mix, the better the gene. Inbreeding cause retardation, out breeding create smarter gene to counter defects and virus, also eradicate genetic disorder if not mistaken.
[PF] T.J.
post May 4 2011, 03:47 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(3dassets @ May 4 2011, 02:52 PM)
The more to mix, the better the gene. Inbreeding cause retardation, out breeding create smarter gene to counter defects and virus, also eradicate genetic disorder if not mistaken.
Yeap, which is why mixed marriages are highly recommended nod.gif
The offsprings will tend to inherit the good traits from both the mother and father

Angela Lee
post May 4 2011, 04:02 PM

Professional Human
1,059 posts

QUOTE(3dassets @ May 4 2011, 01:52 PM)
But family bloodline represents the uniqueness of the family tradition ... it's a great thing to have :-)

Added on May 4, 2011, 11:42 pm
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 4 2011, 01:03 PM)
^
You can preserve only if you marry your own siblings/relatives?  hmm.gif
okay we were talking about culture, race and/or religion.
Apology for the non clarifications.
I was actually referring to the spiritual bloodline.
Christians and Christians preserving the same faith of Christ.
If one is Christian religion, then he/she should follow the biblical principles relating to marriage (certainly can't mix).

This post has been edited by Angela Lee: May 4 2011, 11:42 PM
3dassets
post May 5 2011, 07:57 AM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

QUOTE(Angela Lee @ May 4 2011, 04:02 PM)
But family bloodline represents the uniqueness of the family tradition ... it's a great thing to have :-)

Added on May 4, 2011, 11:42 pm

okay we were talking about culture, race and/or religion.
Apology for the non clarifications.
I was actually referring to the spiritual bloodline.
Christians and Christians preserving the same faith of Christ.
If one is Christian religion, then he/she should follow the biblical principles relating to marriage (certainly can't mix).
Blood don't represent any uniqueness except genetic disorder, no super gene ever identified, tradition and culture is a practice not inherit, your words are all revolved in Christianity and got mixed up in your mind.
matt85
post May 5 2011, 08:14 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

I don't mind actually.

Yet, no way if i'm converting because of marrying a Muslim. One may argue the point "love the bride, love the bride's religion too".

It doesn't work that way; one needs to embrace the religion in a wholesome package and stay true to its' teachings for the rest of his/her life. If otherwise, why bother?
Angela Lee
post May 6 2011, 12:44 AM

Professional Human
1,059 posts

QUOTE(matt85 @ May 5 2011, 07:14 PM)
I don't mind actually.

Yet, no way if i'm converting because of marrying a Muslim. One may argue the point "love the bride, love the bride's religion too".

It doesn't work that way; one needs to embrace the religion in a wholesome package and stay true to its' teachings for the rest of his/her life. If otherwise, why bother?
I think so. Mix marriage from a Christians' standpoint is simply not permissible.
Because it believers easily become non-believers by influence.
Fundamentally, they can't quite love each other properly
Playboy21
post May 6 2011, 02:04 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

I come from a rather open-minded non-muslim family, and I for one don't really mind tying the knot with a girl from another religion. My parents too, agree with me as they feel religion is important, but a happy life is even more important. But as open minded as they are, they are against me getting married to an Islamic girl. Why? Because they do not want me to forget my roots.

I would definitely take Malay girls into account, if the 'must convert' ruling is overturned or something.
3dassets
post May 6 2011, 02:10 AM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

QUOTE(Angela Lee @ May 6 2011, 12:44 AM)
I think so. Mix marriage from a Christians' standpoint is simply not permissible.
Because it believers easily become non-believers by influence.
Fundamentally, they can't quite love each other properly
Is that the only way to preserve religion? I think there is a tendency of getting out of Christianity or other religion except Islam, my friend marry a Christian and only become a believer after 10 years, i am sure you'd welcome that but the other way around is your worried. Buddhist never need to prioritize religion in a marriage because there is no power to gain and are not at war with other religion.

Added on May 6, 2011, 2:14 am
QUOTE(Playboy21 @ May 6 2011, 02:04 AM)
I come from a rather open-minded non-muslim family, and I for one don't really mind tying the knot with a girl from another religion. My parents too, agree with me as they feel religion is important, but a happy life is even more important. But as open minded as they are, they are against me getting married to an Islamic girl. Why? Because they do not want me to forget my roots.

I would definitely take Malay girls into account, if the 'must convert' ruling is overturned or something.
The rules is to preserve and increase population of the religion, Islam win by majority that overwhelm others from the beginning and they have made it a rule.

This post has been edited by 3dassets: May 6 2011, 02:14 AM
TSfiredauz
post May 6 2011, 04:55 PM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

Yep, the bigger issue is on laws and religion.

Families of both sides need to somehow come to an agreement whether the relationship can end with a knot or not.

I would say mix-relationship needs to be taken into account from the very beginning, but who's to say one can stop love laugh.gif
taohannan
post May 6 2011, 04:58 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(Playboy21 @ May 6 2011, 02:04 AM)

ya converting to muslim doesnt mean u need to convert to be a malay.

FLampard
post May 6 2011, 07:18 PM

590 posts

Malaysia is the only country where mixed marriage need to convert. Not to mention Nabi himself prohibits muslims from forcing other people to convert during his time.
Playboy21
post May 7 2011, 09:25 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(taohannan @ May 6 2011, 04:58 PM)
ya converting to muslim doesnt mean u need to convert to be a malay.
Sure, but I don't see the point of converting, and then having to lose so much of my original believes. But honestly, religion is merely a barrier nowadays. I pray, to give myself more confidence and self determination. Nothing more than that. Those that live their lives for their religions, are well, dumb to me. But it's just my opinion. I'm sure many disagree with that, but yeah.

Added on May 7, 2011, 9:28 pm
QUOTE(FLampard @ May 6 2011, 07:18 PM)
Malaysia is the only country where mixed marriage need to convert. Not to mention Nabi himself prohibits muslims from forcing other people to convert during his time.
Exactly.

This post has been edited by Playboy21: May 7 2011, 09:28 PM
Mesosmagnet
post May 31 2011, 01:35 PM

201 posts

Well, I'm from a mixed bloodline. My mum's indian and my dad's Chinese. Mum was born into a Christian family, dad was brought up Buddhist, but converted in his teenage years.

I was born Christian, but have since left the faith.

I do however fancy chinese women to those from other races. I dont think its cultural but I do find the east asian look quite attractive. I lived for awhile with my girlfriends family in Singapore, and she was buddhist.

Now from what I've seen, I feel that her family was rather backward, still keeping silly traditions and believing and fearing in ghosts, spirits etc. And so I made her abandon all that nonsense, and I came under heavy fire from her family.

Now, while I have no comment on malay+other race mix marriages, I do have quite alot of experience with the other types.

Usually if both sides share the same religion there is next to nothing that hinders that relationship, as peoples lifestyle tend to reflect their religion. So there isnt much to get used to.

On the other hand, when both sides have different religions, the most likely occurrence, is that both sides, if they really love each other and manage to talk things out, end up kinda atheist. They will pick which religion of the two which suits their lifestyle better and stick with it on the outside, while being totally indifferent on the inside.

as usual I probably typed too much and not one word made an ounce of sense, but thats just my two cents.

0.0209sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:52 PM