Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> My experience with Indon contractors

views

Bishop
post May 6 2011, 12:34 PM

Diagonal Views
815 posts

Architect by profession. blush.gif Doing mostly Hotel ID these days... whistling.gif
I see too many bad design and too many ppl calling themselves ID but only out to make fast buck.

You are building your home, hopefully your dream home. It is worth the time to get a professional to do it. It will not always be more expensive, cause they will get you better value for your money. And save you the headache...
fieznur81
post May 8 2011, 10:17 AM

Getting Started
276 posts

QUOTE(limch @ Apr 30 2011, 09:20 PM)
I'm glad my nightmare is ended.

The Indon contractor recommended to me by a close friend, that he did some good jobs. I trusted my friend's referral and hire the contractor.

In the early phase, things went well. You see progress every week. Work slowed down in second phase with occasional excuses not coming to work. Things get worst in the final phase. He do not turn up for work as if he come in as will. As a result, my reno took 5.5 months (without touch ups) to complete. They asked for payment fast.

I thought that sub labor is a good approach as one has the choice of building materials. Well, I do not think so any more simply you do not have control over them. They lure you with a good quotation and compound with every changes. In the end, there would be any savings. You get headache and tremendous risk. My hardware supplier told me that it is one in a million chances that you get a good Indon contractor. This has got nothing to do with 
nationality or what.

Sub labor + risks + your time = Completed Project

The risks with sub labor are :
They might abandon the project and vanish in thin air.
They might use your materials for other projects.
They tend do things the way they feel right.
To my amazement, they throw the problems to you (especially with materials selected by you).