TSTDUEnthusiast
May 23 2011, 09:34 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(lost123 @ May 23 2011, 08:06 PM) sorry tumpang thread for a while, i juz wanna ask those who have purchased the U2311H from dell, how long did they take to deliver it? coz i plan to use it on the 3rd of June as i should be gettin my rig then. Mine took around 6 days or less for the first monitor; two weeks for the replacement since the first was a faulty unit  . QUOTE(ndrew89 @ May 23 2011, 08:35 PM) Hi Guys,jst wan to correct my impression on U2311H,as Im about to buy either U2311H or LG IPS236V,however recently i found this from dell website: From the website shows a review that even 1 dot of dead pixel cannot claim warranty even with the premium panel,is that true? Im very interested,but because on delivery i cant guarantee that the product received is in perfect condition,jst to have some advice from forumers bout this,thanks alot. source: http://accessories.ap.dell.com/sna/product...irect=1#reviewsLink's broken. Anyway, as far as I know, Dell offers 1-1 exchange even though there's only a single dead pixel for their premium panels e.g the Dell U2311H. You could try sending a support email to them to clarify.
TSTDUEnthusiast
May 24 2011, 02:49 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(lost123 @ May 23 2011, 10:55 PM) When u say 6 days or less do u mean actual 6 days or 6 working days? Well. If I recall correctly it was ordered on a Sunday and I received it on Friday. So that's probably considered as 5 working days and 1 non-working day  .
TSTDUEnthusiast
May 25 2011, 04:33 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(hakunamatata @ May 25 2011, 04:28 PM) Question here. Ultrasharp or LED is better for gaming? Is dell ultrasharp monitor full HD? for dell LED it is.. Well... LED is not a monitor. It's a semiconductor diode that glows when a voltage is applied. So if you're trying to play games with LEDs that won't work.  . Anyway, what you're trying to ask is whether the Dell Ultrasharp series monitors are good for gaming or not or an LED LCD monitor is better, right? The answer to that would be that it depends on you. If you believe in the manufacturers' claim that LED provides superior color quality and et cetera features over LCD monitors, then you can go ahead and buy one. But if you're not a gullible person, then you'll be wise enough to settle for something like the Dell Ultrasharp Series monitors  . And yes, most of Dell Ultrasharp monitors are all Full HD except for the Dell Ultrasharp 2007FP. Full HD ( 1920x1080 and above ).
TSTDUEnthusiast
May 25 2011, 06:55 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(hakunamatata @ May 25 2011, 06:42 PM) Thanks for the reply and nice review btw. I only know LED provide low power consumption and cheaper compare to ultrasharp lol I'm runining Athlon II 255 & HD6950, so i guess i shld go for Dell U2211H? When will be the new series dell ultrasharp LED monitor launch in MY? Did you know that the power consumption difference between an LED back lighting and a CCFL back lighting isn't exatly very big to be honest? The power savings are pretty much negligible  . As for your setup, if you'd like to, you could. But your processor seems a little too slow and will most likely bottleneck the system's performance. Perhaps you should upgrade your processor to something like an Athlon II X3 440 or preferably an Athlon II X4 635 to minimize the bottleneck effect after you have gotten the monitor.
TSTDUEnthusiast
May 28 2011, 11:26 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(lost123 @ May 28 2011, 11:24 PM) Just ordered my U2311h today, i hope its as good as everyone says it is. and praying for no dead pixels (dun wanna wait another 2 weeks for a replacement) If you're referring to my waiting time for the replacement, it was because I requested for an entirely new U2311H. There probably wasn't enough stock over here so they had to build and have it shipped from Penang  .
TSTDUEnthusiast
May 29 2011, 09:21 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(Cowhide @ May 29 2011, 09:05 PM) Can someone explain again why we went DVI, if VGA does the job? for increased cable length? HDMI - integrated audio Display port - ? For an explanation on DVI and VGA, here you go : Link. Wiki on Display Port.
TSTDUEnthusiast
May 31 2011, 11:50 AM
Critical thinking
Yes, the U2311H doesn't come with a display port cable included, only a DVI cable and a VGA cable which is pre-attached to the monitor.
TSTDUEnthusiast
May 31 2011, 01:43 PM
Critical thinking
You could try getting the display port cable from Moderno  . I believe it's being sold for around RM140 or so.
TSTDUEnthusiast
May 31 2011, 01:51 PM
Critical thinking
There might be other people who are selling the Display Port cables at a lower price. You should try looking for it around the Garage Sales section. Truthfully, the prices for certain things at ModernoPC are slightly unreasonable.
This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: May 31 2011, 01:55 PM
TSTDUEnthusiast
Jun 1 2011, 07:59 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(jackolantern @ Jun 1 2011, 06:51 PM) i normally using pc and ps3 at the same time.. so this monitor can switch from pc to ps3 (vice versa)? Well.. Unfortunately the U2311H does not have a HDMI port, which means you will have to use a converter e.g from DVI -> HDMI converter.
TSTDUEnthusiast
Aug 4 2011, 03:16 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(elmo666 @ Aug 4 2011, 08:25 AM) I just got this U2311 last week. I do notice about the 8ms response time, but lately my monitor took 1minutes+ to display. Isn't normal or not ? Any suggestion what i need to do ? Do i need to call Dell for help since i still got 4years+ warranty? Thanks in advance.   . It looks like yours is possibly faulty since it should only take a few seconds before the display shows up. One minute is too long and you should probably call up Dell Support and ask for a replacement.
TSTDUEnthusiast
Aug 31 2011, 12:20 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(DarkNite @ Aug 31 2011, 08:47 AM) Bro, LED version arrived liao. U2312HM @RM864.  I think too expensive, sure Dell will offer discount and coupons. That's pretty pricey. I'd pay an extra RM30 for the U2412M for the larger resolution  . QUOTE(mizi28 @ Aug 31 2011, 12:16 PM) to all U2311H user. usually how far is your eye distance from the monitor? my workplace is abit narrow.this huge monitor maybe not suitable for my table. I view my U2311H from about 56CM away ( measured from the front side of the stand ). It's fine but I'd say that you'll want at least 60CM away from it for maximum comfort.
TSTDUEnthusiast
Aug 31 2011, 01:14 PM
Critical thinking
What sort of chair are you using? And do you usually look at your monitor from the top down or straight or from the bottom up?
What screen are you using anyway?
TSTDUEnthusiast
Aug 31 2011, 07:48 PM
Critical thinking
You should raise your chair up so you're viewing the monitor from the top. It will help in terms of comfort.
Anyway, you can use a Dell U2311H comfortably with your workstation if you decide to use it without its stand. You can prop it against the wall, angle it slightly facing upwards and put something heavy at the base to prevent it from slipping.
TSTDUEnthusiast
Sep 1 2011, 09:55 PM
Critical thinking
QUOTE(LancerGT @ Sep 1 2011, 09:12 PM) currently using samsung px2370,planing change to dell 24",is that worth ? It's up to you to answer that question. If you are referring to the Dell U2412M, then it could be worth it if the benefits of having a monitor with an e-IPS panel over monitors with TN panels appeal to you.