Nokia N8 - V29 - [The King of Camera Phones], Let's go underwater shooting with N8

HexPhoenix
post May 21 2011, 11:55 AM

537 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ May 21 2011, 10:42 AM)
I think Adobe pdf is the best. hmm.gif
Adobe PDF cannot handle my PDFs which contains 150 pages with tonnes of pics. : sweat.gif isit app fault or OS fault?

long time didn't come here. Busy with trainings + 2G signals around my area = sucks. mad.gif

Talking about Anna, can we expect Anna and Belle to be release before first and second nokia WP7 devices to come out?

From what I read way back then, Eldar said it's maybe just a simply X7 and N8 devices with WP7 inside rebranded as W7 and W8.

I do hopes Nokia really put an effort to those devices especially in terms of OS to directly compete with Androids and such. but looking to current state of Mango update, I put my finger crossed first. rolleyes.gif

p/s: do all ranger comingg to x7/e6 preview next week? Can't wait to see the E6. It's like BB Torch / Bold Touch (?) + cheap. tongue.gif intersted in getting one too after its been release later.
HexPhoenix
post May 21 2011, 01:32 PM

537 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ May 21 2011, 01:14 PM)
hmm... wonder why i didn't receive any mail from the PR regarding the event...  hmm.gif
i received call yesterday evening. not yet received any mail.
HexPhoenix
post May 21 2011, 03:03 PM

537 posts

just asking.

actually what kind of purpose does N8 serve to you guys?

isit just to fulfill photography interest or maybe work related maybe?

since the browser sucks, opera also not good enough, lagging when too much apps installed... Social in n8 also so-so only...

Me usually using its camera to max since need to take lotsa photographs in field for weekly presentation report purpose.

DSLR = too big and heavy
compact camera = same quality, why waste it?

weekly check for football scores through snaptu, and daily dose as radio/music player + speakers. not to forget usual SMSes and calls.

and some games. sick with angry birds already. hoping different stuffs like plants vs zombie or world of goo, maybe? smile.gif

HexPhoenix
post May 21 2011, 06:37 PM

537 posts

Those cosplayers are really daring, especially when I remember we're living in Malaysia.

Waiting for more daring pics...tongue.gif
HexPhoenix
post May 25 2011, 01:00 PM

537 posts

QUOTE(botakbin @ May 25 2011, 12:51 PM)
Wtf free phones again?
brows.gif finger crossed first.
HexPhoenix
post May 27 2011, 02:10 AM

537 posts

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ May 27 2011, 12:52 AM)
when nokia gives good thing, all also crawl here...

when nokia did something bad, all critics like hell...all know how to say how bad nokia was...

have u ever think about how good nokia was, when they give u good / free things??

show some courtesy pls..
IMO, if you wanna shoot somethin, shoot it precisely. whistling.gif

Not all rangers/bloggers act like you mentioned. Not to forget we all have our own life too. it's not like everyone get a good time chatting, spamming, giving good inputs to this and other symbian based thread. Some are busy with works, some don't have good internet access all the times like majority of here have.

if they have a good point, I and other fellow rangers will also give good comments.

As an example, Nokia did develop music chip/processor/software for Symbian A LOT BETTER compared to other overhyped phones like SE, iphone/ipod and Motorokr. but if their browser sucks, why do we have to pretend it's good? Even with multitouch, I still prefer doing double tap to zoom in when browsing using default PR 1.0/1.1 browser. Then only they will improve. They did know their browser sucks because of majority voices.

but don't expect everyone is so nice. Maybe some are appropriate, with courtesy, maybe some are rude. it's life, man.

You think if our dear sklchan and aspire2006 didn't get their N8, do they will make those good mods, stunnings pictures and photography tricks, right in front of you. yeah, you can get maybe other mods from other forums, other piles of photography tricks, but they are real life example man. Our locals.

and also thanks to mod to impsoe no post count in this thread so then other people that still not owning N8 will know, they didn't just bought a phone from Nokia, they will get an amazing camera, good bunch of people who care to share tips, mods and other good stuffs with them. It's what happen with 5800, x6 thread and I hope this N8 thread will be a continuation to it.

Cheers. No offense. smile.gif
HexPhoenix
post May 29 2011, 11:24 AM

537 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ May 29 2011, 10:56 AM)
Well, same like iOS, simplfied and lack of features; That's one key point for stability and less problems.

Basic rules in development (or any other fields), the more complciated/sophisticated, the more doors you open, the harder to maintain, control, etc. and the more work you need to do.
Not really, it's just an excuse for not providing Flash. Nothing wrong to provide, they can "turn off" the support by default and let user choose whether they want to have that feature and take the risk of the problems like lag, slower response, hang, etc.
I don't buy their excuses, don't have say don't have, don't want to provide say don't want to provide, don't give excuses, especially lame ones.

Plus, the videos I posted before for Windows Phone, iDunCare performs the worst for HTML5 rendering with only 2 frames per second, Android got 10 frames per second while Windows Phone with IE9 utilizing hardware acceleration renders at 24 frames per second.
Still waiting for Windows Phone to support Flash; the news about Adobe creating Flash for Windows Phone has been announce since early 2010. Now, I only read, both Adobe and MS are "still" working on it.
really? i tot after Steve Job ditched Flash, and Google also do the same, they not gonna develop Flash for Windows Phone.

Flash = memory hogger, fking complicated codes and it's Adobe.
HTML5 = much more lighter, simple codes, and it's from W3C, not some money forking company.
HexPhoenix
post May 29 2011, 01:54 PM

537 posts

Mmm doesn't matter la. Who the hell keep surfing on Flash websites on mobile? I mean a really flash websites, not like youtube and such.

I just wondered, why other smartphones manufacturer didn't make things like BIS? Cheap, yet sufficient for social sites-holic. Isn't more practical than paying an expensive bill for mobile broadband.
HexPhoenix
post May 30 2011, 12:55 AM

537 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ May 30 2011, 12:18 AM)
for me all smartphones todate ALL facing the battery limitation which i'm personaly VERY dislike... for me the batt MUST AT LEAST can last for a full 16 hours FULL POWER USE and so far not just the smartphones having the difficulties to realise this but MOST gadgets out there (notebool/pad/camera) also can't make it... what is good if u can't fully use the devices in prolong time?? todate all those so call dual/quad core processor for me are a gimmick that not really practical in use as most of the software out there are not yet reach to max out the processing power...

below are some of those so call future software capability that i'm looking for and who know when it will be realise in the future:

1. advance voice regconition to direct translate voice into text
2. smart search feature where will return extreme accurate search results
3. usage patttern learning which able to automate the device according to user daily usage
4. smart update FOTA that not require users interaction
5. server capability where the device can host as server to the net 24/7

the device developer no need to give all those bullshit excuse about all these as they're the developer... they're the one who need to scratch their head if they want to get the customers money...

and fo now the most processing hungry application would be all those related to HD contents and from the N8 usage i can say it seem the connectivity utilisation also facing some conflict example like how smart the device switching in between wifi/gsm/3g connections...

sigh... duapuluh sen shakehead.gif
this, i like.

and the possibility of windows phone having it in the future seems bright. if you're using windows xp onwards, you can see this in start menu, how they sort program list, and folders, the size of the window for certain folder, e.g music fodler, open shortcut, this folder already been resized to custom window size, custom layout.

heck, it does not make windows lag at all. imagine a pentium 3 600mhz processor during winxp reign era and today 1Ghz Snapdragon, wow, it's almost stupid why today mobile OS doesn't have function like this.
HexPhoenix
post May 30 2011, 01:28 AM

537 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ May 30 2011, 12:56 AM)
1. Android has voice recognition but really depends on your sweet voice. If not sweet, many prediction errors
2. Call me when you beat Google, sure rich
3. Recording location data already violate privacy. Recording usage pattern, hmmm... Violate or not?
4. Violate privacy again.
5. You mean hotspot is it? Asking too much perhaps. Besides, how can it last 24/7 running on battery? Or you type wrong?

Added on May 30, 2011, 1:08 am

Look very far. I don't think got this feature in Windows. You just set different view for folders. Windows don't sort them for you based on how often you access the files/programs. They just defragment the hard disk to accommodate files with higher usage on the early section of your harddisk. Is it necessary for sdcard or rom?

What kind of device are you thinking of? Custom window size for phones with 3-4" screen size?
i mean the folder thingy, they can record our actions automatically without our intervention. the program list, jumplist in win7, that's a genius.

that kind of records things based on our daily usage without our authentication or intervention, something that we need todays smartphones.lets say you're the one who like to facebook, call, sms, twitter, your homescreen will show these 4 at top with subfuctions you use the most. Who the hell use voice SMS nowadays? Even MMS i think will slowly kaput with the emergence of twitter and facebook.

we don't need custom window size in mobile devices since it is too small to custom it to even a smaller size.

This kind of things, i think the one who can really pull this off is between Microsoft or Apple since those kind of things already been implemented in computer OSes. Just take a small portion of resources from OS R&D and put it into mobile OS R&D, speeds things up a bit, then we will see a really 'smart' smartphones.

Google, nah, they are experts in innovations. Look at their voice recognition, they can even recognize kecek Kelate (Kelantanese dialect)! Not to forget Google Goggles with augmentative recognition, that's a whole mind blowing things that..... not really practical in our daily life atleast for now. But to make Android as waht it is now, salut.
HexPhoenix
post May 30 2011, 01:52 AM

537 posts

QUOTE(cloud8318 @ May 30 2011, 01:35 AM)
just wondering this is N8 thread right? this is symbian thread right? this not COMPARISON thread right? just wonder why bring all the compare here? should we open a thread name by: "NOKIA/SYMBIAN COMPARE AGAIN WHOLE WORLD!!"
how this suggestion? good? unsure.gif

BTW seem like there are some member/ranger is very active for past few days bring in those fruit and robot thing here to argue....wonder why ler? hmm.gif
suggest us what kind of thing should we discuss here. since:

1. we know symbian is a sinking platform. so as for now we just utilize what symbian can offer to the max as time permits.
2. everyone have different taste. i'm not the kind of into things like molome and such. same as few other fellow forumer/ranger here. they're nagging that we didn't active in this thread anymore for quite some time yet N8 thread can reach a whopping v29 and be filled with crappy ramblings and make other new N8 users afraid to come here when they're saw this thread is like a territory to some people. i did not see this happen in other symbian specific thread.
3. we still hoping that nokia malaysia monitoring this thread. in next few months time, it will be the start of nokia transition to wp7. and i hope some of the discussion here can be put into their attention.
4. we're just bored. just to kill some times. tongue.gif just some hours before i go to my industrial practical and don't know what to do in these short holidays.

other forumers who want to discuss anything about tech and have some 'knowledgeable input are most welcome here. lai lai..... rclxms.gif

and also, we are free to come and go from this thread, since we have life too, we don't feed 'dramas' to some people here. whistling.gif our dear bro andrekua are older than most of you guys here, i bet he's got 2 kids finishing secondary school waiting to go for collage, and i think he don't give a damn bout dramas here very much. same goes with other guys.

This post has been edited by HexPhoenix: May 30 2011, 01:58 AM
HexPhoenix
post May 30 2011, 02:11 AM

537 posts

QUOTE(acemaster15 @ May 30 2011, 02:06 AM)
blink.gif he has kids??? but he replies like ...... kid?  hmm.gif  hmm.gif i see i see  doh.gif 
i think we shld remind ourselves ( no offense )  this "Is not about technology, is what you do with with it" , i think most sifus here know what im saying biggrin.gif
N8 may not be a sniper riffle from hollywood movie, till today i understand is potential and limits, comparison is okay but we cant always have the best things in life and we have to make do on what we have currently.
(hope that kid wont HUHA this post)
don't judge books by its cover. cool2.gif
HexPhoenix
post May 30 2011, 04:31 AM

537 posts

im hunger for potrait keyboard naw. 2011 isn't a year for 3310 keyboard.
HexPhoenix
post May 30 2011, 06:20 AM

537 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ May 30 2011, 04:46 AM)
I wished my son is finishing secondary school as well.

There are some things that you don't need explanations for it. There are so many comparisons being made and posted here regarding picture quality from xxx phone to xxx camera just to prove N8 godly camera, to Maemo superiority, to iPad gaming guide and screenshots, etc. No words from the sifu cos we all see what we see with our eyes who were responsible for it and not a word.

And we are not suppose to compare. As rangers, our main job is to receive freebies and more freebies in future, and be grateful to Nokia for finally giving something back to us for BEING a Nokia fans for the PAST 12years.. Since I was 18 and I'm 31 this year... You do the math...
eh, when i see you last year u look a lot older. i know sklchan and cloud also far older than the rest of us.... seems my eyes deceiving me.

0.0451sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:39 PM