Nintendo 3DS Official LYN Thread V2, Nintendo 3DSLL/XL announced!!

yangkuo
post Apr 30 2011, 09:15 PM

90 posts

perhaps, we must be walking (or simulate such action) with 3DS in streetpass mode ??

QUOTE(penman @ Apr 30 2011, 06:43 PM)

so I did the same... but waited 5mins nothing, and we cabut...

however, I was walking with satinblack to the car park... so maybe then our units streetpassed again... and I got it!!!

YEAH!!!  rclxm9.gif
yangkuo
post Jun 5 2011, 07:16 PM

90 posts

the 3DS tagged as "Asia" model is basically the US 3DS with a different serial number range (prefixed with characters "ASI"), a 220V power charger and so called official distributor warranty.

in game terms, the regions are normally categorized as JP, US, Europe/Australia ... so US hardware plays US games.

you could say the "Asia" region games for 3DS are basically US game carts sold with different box, manual, pricing etc (some might even have exactly same box contents ... just different serial numbers lol)

for online contents ... it's better to wait another 2 days instead of speculating ... to see if ASI models can access the US eShop by just setting the country settings !

QUOTE(sinchro @ Jun 5 2011, 06:43 PM)
hm.... so we cannot play Japan region games? but Japan is Asia too....  unsure.gif or can we?
This post has been edited by yangkuo: Jun 5 2011, 07:19 PM
yangkuo
post Jun 10 2011, 08:31 PM

90 posts

just curious, do we need to enter a valid postcode when using Oregon or Delaware ?

QUOTE(penman @ Jun 10 2011, 05:44 PM)
set your country to Brazil, and you'll use Brazil R$ as your currency. After purchase, you can switch back to MY.

Next time you need to access to eShop, set it back to Brazil again. Your credits will remain in THAT COUNTRY'S CURRENCY CREDITS, don't worry.

If you set US also can, but choose your location as:
– Oregon
– Delaware

these 2 states don't imposed sales tax.
yangkuo
post Jun 23 2011, 01:58 PM

90 posts

i was wondering it myself and found the following answer in the FAQ !

You're most likely missing these, you can get these by trading with friends

•The other 4 elemental monkeys (you should have got the Pan- and Simi- of just one type)
•The other gender of Unfezant
•The other 3 seasons of Deerling/Sawbuck
•The other gender of Frillish/Jellicent

don't forget to check with fellow 3DS owners to see if they have them to trade with u during this week's meetup *haha*

QUOTE(vaoger @ Jun 22 2011, 04:58 PM)
but my pokedex 3d stop recieved stoppass when it hit 151 ekor...
yangkuo
post Aug 12 2011, 03:08 PM

90 posts

1. for a game that support StreetPass feature, there is usually a prompt or setting within the game for you to turn on the option for your system. the streetpass mode in SFIV3D is basically a figurine collection battle mini-game... not to be confused with the Vs play modes between systems ...

as for Download Play for SFIV3D, you basically only need to go to the option in game to "host" a game and have Wifi on ... then the other 3DS user can goto Download Play feature (on 3DS main system menu) to initiate a connection to the host 3DS

2. once streetpass is active for a game, you don't need to have the cart inserted ... just need to make sure Wifi signal is ON and the 3DS is closed or in sleep mode. there will be a green light or green notification at the top of main menu screen if a streetpass happens

3. SpotPass is the downloadable content service ... there will be a blue light or blue spot notification at the top of main menu screen (Notification toolbar button). i believe Nintendo Video, system firmware update notification also will be categorized under SpotPass ...

btw, there is option in System Settings to manage 3DS streetpass option too.

QUOTE(kyu85 @ Aug 12 2011, 01:24 PM)
hmm,got question... how do streetpass work? for discussion,let use street fighter...
1. must i have the cart to b able for streetpass? i heard that some game for 3ds like street fighter have the function download play where 1 person have the cart n the other just dl the patch/game and then can versus oledi...
2. to do streetpass,all need to b done let the 3ds in sleep mode and the cart in the 3ds(assuming need the cart)? or must start up the game n let it run at the back ground n then put in sleep mode?
3. wat is spot pass n how it work?
This post has been edited by yangkuo: Aug 12 2011, 03:10 PM
yangkuo
post Aug 13 2011, 10:12 PM

90 posts

i've got the ASI model and i got the message in eShop News section welcoming me as an ambassador. i'm logged on to the US eShop.

QUOTE(krazee_k @ Aug 13 2011, 09:57 PM)
just wondering what region your 3DS is, ASI or US? if the ambassador program is tied to logging in to US e-shop AND the hardware itself, I'm screwed sad.gif . nintendo being nintendo, so had to be sure. anyone can confirm this?

nope, didn't get that particular message yet too
yangkuo
post Sep 9 2011, 09:05 PM

90 posts

i have a US DSi and it comes with a AC adapter that accepts 120V input.

since 3DS uses the same charger as DSi/DSiXL and the Japan 3DS would have the same voltage spec as US units ... i believe you'd have to use a step down adapter for it to work without problems in Malaysia.

QUOTE(rid88 @ Sep 9 2011, 07:39 PM)
For those who have Japan Nintendo 3DS, is the JPN charger safe to use in Malaysia?
yangkuo
post Nov 17 2011, 11:18 AM

90 posts

it's been a confirmed buy for me (jp 3ds and mh3G) since the video trailer at conference was shown.

but then there's no online multiplayer ... lessen the chance we could do gathering for quest like MH3.

anyway just a +1 post here in case anyone else needs "support" *hahha*

QUOTE(juwels @ Nov 16 2011, 09:20 PM)
me oso  cry.gif depending on how much poorer i am gonna get, availability, and whether you plus the gang getting it laugh.gif
yangkuo
post Nov 20 2011, 02:31 PM

90 posts

did not pre-order. still looking out for the bundle pack with 3ds, game and add-on. most likely will be from PlayZone if they have smile.gif

QUOTE(juwels @ Nov 18 2011, 12:25 PM)
did you preorder it anywhere YK?  drool.gif
yangkuo
post Nov 23 2011, 10:14 AM

90 posts

actually DS Lite is still a good choice if you are playing DS games.

excellent battery life, GBA support, more portable, more color choice, etc. and yea, probably region free as well for those who are not jack-sparrowing smile.gif

btw, thanks for the Mario 3D Land yesterday ... Excellent Game !

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Nov 23 2011, 09:01 AM)
All DS games suffer that bit. hehe. But its ok. Better than investing another RM 400 for a DS Lite eh? biggrin.gif
This post has been edited by yangkuo: Nov 23 2011, 10:15 AM
yangkuo
post Nov 26 2011, 09:05 PM

90 posts

so, that is actually the most important criteria to you when choosing a game portable/console?

QUOTE(ChrisWei @ Nov 26 2011, 08:49 PM)
region locked?? 3ds can play ds games is good news...
but is 3ds can play ahem-downloaded game??
yangkuo
post Nov 26 2011, 09:20 PM

90 posts

lol ... after all these years ... seems like i'm a noob here too still ... here comes the "discussion" of why it's not stealing when it comes to "things like games"

sometimes i just wonder if ppl will have same thoughts if it's their own items being stolen or efforts ripped off.

QUOTE(Kamina51 @ Nov 26 2011, 09:07 PM)
Well some people dont have a good income to spend for games ya know, and some dont sanggup spend that much.
yangkuo
post Dec 7 2011, 11:18 AM

90 posts

latest system update brings the version up to 3.0.0-5U

everything working (so far) but the initial restart right after update completed was a little longer than usual ... don't switch off the 3DS !

changes i see so far :-

StreetPass Mii Plaza - Accomplishments, Music Player, Find Mii 2, SpotPass support
3DS Camera - video capture support
NintendoZone - may be useless in Malaysia ...

This post has been edited by yangkuo: Dec 7 2011, 11:18 AM
yangkuo
post Dec 14 2011, 02:51 PM

90 posts

3DS US model - serial number starts with CW (according to the official Nintendo support site)
3DS MY/SG/"asia" model - serial starts with CS

you can play US and MY/SG/"asia" 3DS games on your particular model. actually the MY/SG/"asia" 3DS games are US games but just marked for official distribution and sale to our region.

but i think it's easier to check which system software version your 3DS is currently running. in System Settings, at the top screen (bottom right) ... if u see a 'U' at the end of the version number (eg. 3.0.0-5U) it means you can run US region software.

QUOTE(Abie.C @ Dec 13 2011, 11:09 PM)
Can anyone tell me how to check my nintwndo games region. My serial number star with cs and end with 1
This post has been edited by yangkuo: Dec 14 2011, 02:57 PM
yangkuo
post Dec 16 2011, 05:54 PM

90 posts

and Metroid Fusion too ! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Fujisawa_Ruuzaa @ Dec 16 2011, 05:50 PM)
yess...minish cap and fire emblem FTW
yangkuo
post Dec 24 2011, 01:52 PM

90 posts

i discovered a somewhat incorrect behaviour in Swapnote.

let's say you launched Swapnote to read some "new notes" (indicated by blue icon light at home screen).

then after u read those notes it's considered "read" (not new). if you press HOME button and just return back to Swapnote (by pressing HOME again).. it seems to re-download those already read notes.

i'm not sure if this only happens if u actually had new notes during the time u were pausing the app. but definitely it downloads the older notes together with actual new notes together.
yangkuo
post Dec 30 2011, 09:26 PM

90 posts

*Please don't reply to spam posts. Use the report button kthxbye.

This post has been edited by Pr1me_Minister: Dec 30 2011, 09:52 PM
yangkuo
post Dec 31 2011, 09:15 PM

90 posts

i think kuroneko meant the US 3DS set itself is eligible for 150 pts when registered. only the US 3DS serial number seems to be eligible for US Club Nintendo.

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Dec 31 2011, 08:58 PM)
No lah. Asian set can also. Its the game that u need to get from US to get the points.
yangkuo
post Jan 1 2012, 07:41 PM

90 posts

honestly, if you seriously think that way then it's best you buy the Vita or perhaps a smartphone.

there is enough ppl who just buy 3DS (or any recent generations of Nintendo consoles) for whatever great reasons they think of at that point (eg. price, ppl have i should have, etc) ... just to complain later that it's not their cup of tea.

of course this is just my personal opinion.

QUOTE(PakLongKedah @ Jan 1 2012, 04:10 PM)
how u all guy playing multiplayer mode game with 3ds?etc playing mario kart.i read tat 3ds only hav wifi.if got 3g like vita sure gooding.rite now i doing survey either wana buy vita or 3ds
This post has been edited by yangkuo: Jan 1 2012, 07:44 PM
yangkuo
post Jan 1 2012, 10:21 PM

90 posts

well, if you are clear with what games you will actually play and what u will be realistically using the portables for ... i believe it doesn't matter which one u get.

just make sure you get the 3DS foremost for the games and not as a gadget ... that's basically what i'm saying.

QUOTE(PakLongKedah @ Jan 1 2012, 09:27 PM)
tq for fast answer reply.if got more money im sure buy both vita and 3ds.hehehe....
i love my nintendo ds. play ds at my bed before going to sleep.already got xbox but u know lah getting old and married really dont have enough time to play.really jelly with young people who hav more time to play game and not married yet.

0.0436sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:08 PM