HiMedia Media Player, All about HiMedia

EremesGuile
post Aug 23 2017, 01:09 PM

316 posts

Hi guys. Any Himedia H8 user? Plan to buy 1 of this.

Edited:

Himedia H8 or A5?

http://www.lazada.com.my/himedia-h8-plus-o...sc=MRAb&rb=6928

This post has been edited by EremesGuile: Aug 23 2017, 01:42 PM
EremesGuile
post Aug 23 2017, 03:23 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(OPT @ Aug 23 2017, 03:00 PM)
Top up abit more to get the Q5pro...no regret bro
This one bro? http://www.lazada.com.my/himedia-q5-pro-qu...0.0.2HGhSv&ff=1

Sure no regret bro? Why? Hehe
EremesGuile
post Aug 23 2017, 04:56 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(OPT @ Aug 23 2017, 04:49 PM)
It's the highest end...you only need to top up less than RM100.

Q10pro is the same with Q5pro, except the slot for HDD extra.

I'm using Q10pro (I got it cheap biggrin.gif), there's more picture processing (Imprex engine) than my previous himedia, which I think makes it worthwhile to buy.
I saw the review before. https://androidtvbox.eu/himedia-q5-pro-revi...n-hi3798c-v200/

Is this really the price or I can get a cheaper one? http://www.lazada.com.my/himedia-q5-pro-4t...0.0.FqvlMm&ff=1
EremesGuile
post Aug 23 2017, 06:08 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(OPT @ Aug 23 2017, 05:49 PM)
Search harder, the link is abit more expensive
Well ok I'll search harder. So H8 and A5 are totally out of the league bro?
EremesGuile
post Aug 23 2017, 07:28 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 23 2017, 07:06 PM)
take note:

H series using rockchip.
A series using amlogic.
Q series using hisilicon.

the diff is the chipset with diff SDK, i.e, (slightly) diff firmwares with diff capabilities.

Q series has been himedia's flagship - best firmwares, best features, etc...

i have only used Q series, find them excellent for playback, esp big high grade files.

more so with Q5pro/Q10pro Imprex 2.0 engine - for both video and audio quality.

android apps work fine like most but nothing exceptional.

other series, i cannot comment since i hv not used them.
Noted bro. Good info. thumbsup.gif
Btw u are using what model?
EremesGuile
post Aug 23 2017, 07:32 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 23 2017, 07:29 PM)
q5ii, q16, q10pro.

all working the way they should. smile.gif
That's a lot. So far no need to claim for warranty bro? Just want to make sure their qc is good.
EremesGuile
post Aug 24 2017, 07:39 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 23 2017, 07:37 PM)
reliable boxes, even 5 yr old ones. biggrin.gif

just make sure u know where to get and how to update firmwares.
QUOTE(OPT @ Aug 23 2017, 07:40 PM)
My previous q3ii used for 4 yrs still ok...

When saw unbeatable price for Q10pro that time straight buy. Now q3ii gathering dust 😅
This sure looks promising. Hehe. The firmware can update automatically or we need to do manually? And your Q3ii box still alive bro?
EremesGuile
post Aug 24 2017, 08:50 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(captvizcenzo @ Aug 24 2017, 08:43 AM)
I'm using Q10Pro.
There's OTA option to get update, or you could flash it using USB drive.
I think need to update the firmware manually.
I see. Not so advance like phone custom firmware update right?
EremesGuile
post Aug 24 2017, 09:04 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(captvizcenzo @ Aug 24 2017, 08:58 AM)
Probably not if everything is done right.
The official FW should be more straightforward.
The custom or beta firmware may need a bit more work.
Ahh ok. What advantage custom firmware have actually?
EremesGuile
post Aug 24 2017, 09:17 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Aug 24 2017, 09:10 AM)
Sorry to say that it is better (at least for me) to get Himedia from Nicety. Price is also around RM600 BUT with "ask all you can" after sales service!

He updates and provides the files (firmware, apps, etc) for his customers.

Without his help, I don't think I would be enjoying TV box as much as I am now even with one of the top mid range Q5 Pro.

TV boxes are a different beast, not like PC.

Enjoy!
This is one of his ads bro? http://penangapps.com/Common/Ads.aspx?AdsID=185
EremesGuile
post Aug 24 2017, 11:32 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 24 2017, 10:54 AM)
OTA comes much later after the official one is released.
Need not wait if it is already available elsewhere, tested OK.

if considering between q5pro and q10pro, basically 2 things matter (or not):

.. q10pro has an internal HDD slot for SATA drive up to 8TB.
.. q10 pro has 16gb storage; q5pro 8gb storage is fine for most purposes but not so good for big torrent based apps.
If I'm gonna use for streaming I just need to get the Q5 Pro eh? Cuz 8GB is big enough for the apps I think. And also Q5 Pro got SD slot for me to add some more space right?
EremesGuile
post Aug 24 2017, 12:02 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(captvizcenzo @ Aug 24 2017, 11:41 AM)
I see. Pretty sure you and nicety will be among the first to test new FW  thumbsup.gif
Streaming is okay, and you can always connect an external drive to the Q5Pro.

I aim for clean setup, hence opted for the Q10Pro.

Anyway you have NFS and SAMBA option too, which I haven't use yet.
Oh yeah. Good software.

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 24 2017, 11:41 AM)
yes, if u r not going to put a hundreds apps, or use torrent based apps like popcorntime or kodi quasar.

expanding the storage... better u check with seller.
q5pro is compact, slick looking.

but the price diff with q10pro is quite small.
Yeah I only going to use Kodi and maybe try to install some game just for fun. App to SD is working right.

QUOTE(OPT @ Aug 24 2017, 11:54 AM)
Q3ii still alive and kicking
Once you start...storage is never enough
Whew. Why storage is never enough?
EremesGuile
post Aug 24 2017, 12:51 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 24 2017, 12:47 PM)
this is impt.

if u r ONLY going to use kodi, Q5pro/q10pro is an overkill.

better buy something cheaper or some other less branded model with 3/32gb.
Overkill? Whew. Seriously? Btw what's the reliable less branded model?
EremesGuile
post Aug 24 2017, 01:06 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 24 2017, 12:56 PM)
read last 1-2 pages as well as page 1-2.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4200167/+1760#bottom

if u r primarily using kodi, q5/10pro series is kinda wasted.

becos the power of it lies in the playback of complex files, networking, etc.

Kodi... just about all boxes, cheap or expensive can do it.

i assume u know kodi enough.
Well. Yes I think. Maybe I just too careful with the less branded one. And the scary part is when u read the review and customer complain that it can't on after few days using it. Hmm.
EremesGuile
post Aug 24 2017, 01:27 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 24 2017, 01:16 PM)
there is truth in that - less reputable or unknown boxes suffer from poor firmware, few or no updates little user support after u buy it.

very frustrating.

i had to comment on the "overkill" that so that u r aware.

becos some people buy a great box only to underuse it, then complain and finally junk it! biggrin.gif
just to illustrate, i use my q10pro mainly to playback 40-66gb videos incl hd audio, 4k, hevc, 10bit, HDR - with home theater.

apps, i only use a few and kodi is used rarely only.

q5pro will do the job too but i want an HDD inside the box.
Well nah. I appreciate what I bought. Worth every cent right. Hehe. I'll do more searching and decide later.
EremesGuile
post Aug 24 2017, 02:33 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 24 2017, 02:17 PM)
U already bought?
No. I mean I appreciate what I bought bro. Sorry to make u misunderstand.
EremesGuile
post Aug 24 2017, 04:07 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(OPT @ Aug 24 2017, 04:01 PM)
Memang pun I "overkill"  biggrin.gif  whistling.gif

But no regret  thumbup.gif
U use for Kodi only too ah bro?
EremesGuile
post Aug 24 2017, 04:26 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(OPT @ Aug 24 2017, 04:09 PM)
Not even kodi  rolleyes.gif

Mainly HDD, itu saja. Even then I can see the difference in PQ with Q10pro, that's why no regret  rclxs0.gif
Ohh. HDD use to play movie bro? Average size?
EremesGuile
post Aug 25 2017, 11:36 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Aug 24 2017, 05:14 PM)
You may check out this OEM box.

I have this one, and been one of best in terms of speed, for me

http://www.lazada.com.my/andoer-z4l-smart-...0.0.yN1BkL&ff=1
Specs looking good for the price. U bought online? Is there anywhere I can find budget box that I can COD?
EremesGuile
post Aug 25 2017, 12:00 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Aug 25 2017, 11:53 AM)
I bought some time back, it was less than 300bucks lelong used to have it.

my personal experience, in terms of speed(booting, open/close kodi), its faster than q10
So if solely purpose for Kodi should be one of the best pick right. I found some on Mudah that can COD but no box from Andoer. Just other electronic stuff. Seems like this brand is not bad at all since it got other stuff too.

0.0869sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:53 PM