HiMedia Media Player, All about HiMedia

AVFAN
post Jun 22 2017, 10:03 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(fcchung @ Jun 22 2017, 09:55 PM)
hi all, i have 1 HiMedia Q8...i want to install Kodi 17.3...which version should i download?ARMV7A or VRMV8A?tq...
if this one,
http://www.himediatech.com/q8.html

it is android 4.4, will not work with kodi 17.
stick to kodi 16.1 armv7a.
fcchung
post Jun 22 2017, 10:11 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 22 2017, 10:03 PM)
if this one,
http://www.himediatech.com/q8.html

it is android 4.4, will not work with kodi 17.
stick to kodi 16.1 armv7a.
tqvm...

which HiMedia can support Kodi 17.3?wanna change TV Box..
AVFAN
post Jun 22 2017, 10:13 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(fcchung @ Jun 22 2017, 10:11 PM)
tqvm...

which HiMedia can support Kodi 17.3?wanna change TV Box..
i will suggest u look at current flagship models q5pro and q10pro.
fcchung
post Jun 22 2017, 10:14 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 22 2017, 10:13 PM)
i will suggest u look at current flagship models q5pro and q10pro.
tq...how much for both model in market now?
AVFAN
post Jun 22 2017, 10:16 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(fcchung @ Jun 22 2017, 10:14 PM)
tq...how much for both model in market now?
rm500, rm600...thereabout.
dwRK
post Jun 23 2017, 06:59 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 22 2017, 07:12 PM)
i just spent rm359 for another 2TB!

boy, they run out fast!! laugh.gif
Just because you can...doesn't mean you have to... lol tongue.gif

voncrane
post Jun 23 2017, 07:52 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 23 2017, 06:59 AM)
You wouldn't understand.. When I eventually overhaul me media center, will spring for a NAS with at least 12TB. brows.gif
dwRK
post Jun 23 2017, 09:26 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jun 23 2017, 07:52 AM)
You wouldn't understand.. When I eventually overhaul me media center, will spring for a NAS with at least 12TB.  brows.gif
Of course...y'all want the best...nothing wrong... thumbup.gif

The question is when to stop? 10GB, 50GB, 100GB...? Is 30GB so bad must do 70GB... lol

I may join in if I get a 4K projector... brows.gif for now no mood to drop 20k-50k for it... sad.gif

This post has been edited by dwRK: Jun 23 2017, 09:28 AM
AVFAN
post Jun 23 2017, 10:18 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 23 2017, 06:59 AM)
QUOTE(voncrane @ Jun 23 2017, 07:52 AM)
You wouldn't understand.. When I eventually overhaul me media center, will spring for a NAS with at least 12TB.  brows.gif
to that, 2 things i will say... biggrin.gif

1. all 5 human senses - sight, hearing, smell, taste and touch - do not attempt the next better level unless u r ready.
once u see or hear something better, it is very hard to go back!

2. with all the heat, the really good stuff will become harder to get, more so over time for the older titles.

just like i hv junked hundreds of old dvd's (never going to watch them again), i have traded a lot of 720/1080 dd/dts for for bdmv/4k/hd audio.
takes a lot of bytes, these biggies...

voncrane
post Jun 23 2017, 01:33 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 23 2017, 09:26 AM)
Of course...y'all want the best...nothing wrong... thumbup.gif

The question is when to stop? 10GB, 50GB, 100GB...? Is 30GB so bad must do 70GB... lol

I may join in if I get a 4K projector... brows.gif for now no mood to drop 20k-50k for it... sad.gif
Ya.. I know, how to stop? Its just 2017 and luckily we have HEVC now.. Wow.. Boss, Your 4K projector alone 20 - 50K.. Sound system how? notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Hey AVFAN.. This guy really gets it huh.. Just playing cool2.gif.. Maybe later changes his username to HugeAVFAN.. laugh.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 23 2017, 10:18 AM)
to that, 2 things i will say...  biggrin.gif

1. all 5 human senses - sight, hearing, smell, taste and touch - do not attempt the next better level unless u r ready.
once u see or hear something better, it is very hard to go back!

2. with all the heat, the really good stuff will become harder to get, more so over time for the older titles.

just like i hv junked hundreds of old dvd's (never going to watch them again), i have traded a lot of 720/1080 dd/dts for for bdmv/4k/hd audio.
takes a lot of bytes, these biggies...
Ya.. Till date, when in a shopping mall.. I have to make a very conscious decision to look away when approaching the TVs section. Cannot be poisoned.. not yet.. C'mon OLED, get cheaper..

I hope I'll not be too late to grab them then. No worries, I'll just ship me NAS to you and clone your collection.. laugh.gif
dwRK
post Jun 23 2017, 03:26 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jun 23 2017, 01:33 PM)
Ya.. I know, how to stop? Its just 2017 and luckily we have HEVC now.. Wow.. Boss, Your 4K projector alone 20 - 50K.. Sound system how? notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

Hey AVFAN.. This guy really gets it huh.. Just playing  cool2.gif.. Maybe later changes his username to HugeAVFAN..  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Ya.. Till date, when in a shopping mall.. I have to make a very conscious decision to look away when approaching the TVs section. Cannot be poisoned.. not yet.. C'mon OLED, get cheaper..

I hope I'll not be too late to grab them then. No worries, I'll just ship me NAS to you and clone your collection.. laugh.gif
Read properly bro...not yet lah... hahaha... 20k gets you the best fake 4K / pixel shifter only... wait for price to come down more... Vivitek & Optoma launching budget 4K projector... see how first laugh.gif

In your case...once you go black... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by dwRK: Jun 23 2017, 03:35 PM
AVFAN
post Jun 24 2017, 02:06 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(splinter @ Jun 22 2017, 09:57 AM)
MKV movie files with size 5-7GB. So far i only got 1 player and it does play well with my PC. Just when i copy files to Himedia HDD which i addon, sometime it play half way and pop back to file choosing screen. I using the default media center player.

I also test play x265 format or BDMV files which so far so good dont have such issue. Only MKV files size 5-8GB one.
Something u may want to check further.

Not the first time, but i just encountered it again.

A new 16gb file i put on a rather old hdd showed problems... video jerks, stops, return to beginning. Tried 3 times, same.

Tested same file on another hdd, no problem.

Copied the "good" file onto "bad" hdd but in diff folder.

It played fine this time.

Removed "bad" file.

All is good now, but it may happen again if to a new file is copied on same bad hdd sector.

I am now sure the old hdd has a bad corrupted sector, probably due to age, wear n tear.

Seen this before in another hdd which eventually kaput.

In yr case, copying file in bad sector to another place may not work as it is already corrupted.

Will need a duplicate or fresh copy.

voncrane
post Jun 25 2017, 10:29 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 23 2017, 03:26 PM)
Read properly bro...not yet lah... hahaha... 20k gets you the best fake 4K / pixel shifter only... wait for price to come down more... Vivitek & Optoma launching budget 4K projector... see how first laugh.gif

In your case...once you go black...  tongue.gif
Yes.. I'm not interested in pseudo 4K with HDR/Dolby Vision... next upgrade has to be the real deal. So hopefully current setup holds out for a couple more years. The projector scene interests me as well. Just that and as you pointed out, for best performance, a proper Media Room is required. So that's an expense that'll be up for consideration far down the road. smile.gif

No intention of returning tongue.gif ..

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 24 2017, 02:06 PM)
Something u may want to check further.

Not the first time, but i just encountered it again.

A new 16gb file i put on a rather old hdd showed problems... video jerks, stops, return to beginning. Tried 3 times, same.

Tested same file on another hdd, no problem.

Copied the "good" file onto "bad" hdd but in diff folder.

It played fine this time.

Removed "bad" file.

All is good now, but it may happen again if to a new file is copied on same bad hdd sector.

I am now sure the old hdd has a bad corrupted sector, probably due to age, wear n tear.

Seen this before in another hdd which eventually kaput.
In yr case, copying file in bad sector to another place may not work as it is already corrupted.

Will need a duplicate or fresh copy.
Oh yeah, I missed that.. Corrupt sectors.
OPT
post Jun 25 2017, 03:39 PM

Wee wang wang
2,064 posts

Hello Taikors,

For Himedia q10 pro:-
1. Is there any way to access the settings for Imprex 2.0?
2. Which is the best setting for the video colour space and HDMI deep colour (there's RGB444 8bit/10bit; YCbCr444 8bit/10bit; YCbCr422 8/10bit and YCbCr420 8/10bit)

Kamsiah
limsj123
post Jun 26 2017, 12:08 PM

18 posts

Hi all sifus,

Has any sifu noticed that Himedia Q series provides better picture quality than other series? Seems like the Q series chipset really good in picture quality.

The same quality of video, example poorer quality of IPTV, the edge of the image will be smoothen in Q series as compared to other android box or other Himedia series, seem like it will upscale to Full HD. Better for watching IPTV with this box than others.

Is it the case? Was thinking to upgrade to the latest version of Himedia Q5 pro if this is really good as compare to other box like mibox.

Terima Kasih smile.gif

This post has been edited by limsj123: Jun 26 2017, 12:13 PM
GuyM
post Jun 26 2017, 12:21 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(limsj123 @ Jun 26 2017, 12:08 PM)
Hi all sifus,

Has any sifu noticed that Himedia Q series provides better picture quality than other series? Seems like the Q series chipset really good in picture quality.

The same quality of video, example poorer quality of IPTV, the edge of the image will be smoothen in Q series as compared to other android box or other Himedia series, seem like it will upscale to Full HD. Better for watching IPTV with this box than others.

Is it the case? Was thinking to upgrade to the latest version of Himedia Q5 pro if this is really good as compare to other box like mibox.

Terima Kasih smile.gif
Think the holiday is playing tricks on your eyes

GuyM
post Jun 26 2017, 12:22 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(OPT @ Jun 25 2017, 03:39 PM)
Hello Taikors,

2. Which is the best setting for the video colour space and HDMI deep colour (there's RGB444 8bit/10bit; YCbCr444 8bit/10bit; YCbCr422 8/10bit and YCbCr420 8/10bit)

Kamsiah
Think that will depend your on TV
m3lover
post Jun 26 2017, 12:41 PM

237 posts

Hi sifu, bought himedia 2 years back, usually just played downloaded content. But when i try play mangotv it show unable to connect ?. Internet connectivity no problem. Any idea on this ? Firmware 3.0.4
voncrane
post Jun 26 2017, 03:45 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(m3lover @ Jun 26 2017, 12:41 PM)
Hi sifu, bought himedia 2 years back, usually just played downloaded content. But when i try play mangotv it show unable to connect ?. Internet connectivity no problem. Any idea on this ? Firmware 3.0.4
Seems like geo-blocked.
AVFAN
post Jun 26 2017, 06:06 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(OPT @ Jun 25 2017, 03:39 PM)
Hello Taikors,
Kamsiah
1. when playing a file, press MENU on the remote, find advanced options.
play around with all the settings, until u r satisfied.
2. it depends on yr TV and/or AVR - hd, fullhd, 4k, HDR, Dolby Vision, 8 bit, 10bit, 12 bit..?
q10pro will detect what is the "highest" or "best" yr TV/avr can take, will not accept what is not possible.
u can read up chroma sampling. typically, RGB is preferred for gaming; YCB4.2.0 and 4.2.2 makes little diff for movie videos as most r originally 4.2.0.
4.4.4 is only possible for 60hz videos. i use 4.2.2.
now, please don't slam me wrong if i made a mistake as i am only user, no video/tv expert.
QUOTE(limsj123 @ Jun 26 2017, 12:08 PM)
Hi all sifus,
Terima Kasih smile.gif
YES... for me, have said it a couple of times here. Only those who have used it will know.
having used all 3 on same equipment, i say picture quality: q10pro (i assume q5pro same) > Q16 > q5ii.
what i read n hear, Q as flagship is always better other series for media playback.
Get q10pro/q5pro, play the best quality videos on a 4kUHD TV, u will totally love it!
But be informed - Q10pro can do iflix, cannot do astrogo or hypptv e'where.
QUOTE(m3lover @ Jun 26 2017, 12:41 PM)
mangotv, letv, tencenttv, cibn... these are all paid china IPTV, can't get here even if u wanna pay.
mangotv has some deal with himedia, so it is in the firmware - mainly for china users.
but here, u can get only certain videos - older, less popular stuff, can't get VIP and other paid stuff.
i use it to watch documentaries and lifestyle shows - they are in HD.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jun 26 2017, 06:46 PM

176 Pages « < 132 133 134 135 136 > » Top

0.0205sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:57 AM