HiMedia Media Player, All about HiMedia

AVFAN
post Feb 9 2017, 10:29 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Feb 9 2017, 02:24 AM)
Still no luck, too bad this unit is out of warranty(what actually cause this problem to happen? Is it just Himedia tvbox or other brands also suffering from this issue? and can this issue be fix?). I guess need to try again tomorrow. If it is certified, any tvbox to recommend?

Use it for IPTV service, prefer to have any numeric remote with air mouse functions. And it will be best if the price will be in RM300...
could be some app or malware installed, unintentionally.
could be hardware failure.
can happen to any box.
i have boxes 4-5 years old, still good.

if u use mainly for ahem iptv, better ask the sellers in this section:
https://forum.lowyat.net/HomeElectronics&WaresGarageSales
can also read in the various threads in this section incl:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3126605/+4840
some brands/models, u can buy with RM150-200.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 9 2017, 10:58 AM
glc_1306
post Feb 9 2017, 11:29 AM

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 8 2017, 08:02 PM)
u mean hypptv everywhere?

hypp ewhere and aotg DO NOT work on himedia boxes.

period.
Hai, just want to ask about aotg, does aotg work if using apk? soory im newbie just bought my 1st tv box
AVFAN
post Feb 9 2017, 11:38 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(glc_1306 @ Feb 9 2017, 11:29 AM)
Hai, just want to ask about aotg, does aotg work if using apk? soory im newbie just bought my 1st tv box
aotg is loaded with apk or direct with playstore.

then log in yr id and pw.

it works with some boxes, doesn't work with others.

same with hypptv everywhere.

try on yr box!
glc_1306
post Feb 9 2017, 11:57 AM

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 9 2017, 11:38 AM)
aotg is loaded with apk or direct with playstore.

then log in yr id and pw.

it works with some boxes, doesn't work with others.

same with hypptv everywhere.

try on yr box!
Havent try it yet on my himedia box. still waiting smile.gif . Just purchased h8 lite. I have log in for aotg. Currently using ipad to watch. Btw thx for ur feedback sir
sbd
post Feb 9 2017, 11:59 AM

707 posts

Hi sufus, I have a Himedia Q10 Pro. I have 2 HDDs one 1tb and one 3tb. I have formatted them to NTFS but I cannot access the HDD when fitted int eh Q10 Pro. Not by direct connection with USB cable (between PC and q10) and also not when connect either by wifi or cat cable. Am I missing something here. Can't be that I have to take out the HDD everytime I want to add some new files or delete files?
dwRK
post Feb 9 2017, 01:02 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(sbd @ Feb 9 2017, 11:59 AM)
Hi sufus, I have a Himedia Q10 Pro. I have 2 HDDs one 1tb and one 3tb. I have formatted them to NTFS but I cannot access the HDD when fitted int eh Q10 Pro. Not by direct connection with USB cable (between PC and q10) and also not when connect either by wifi or cat cable. Am I missing something here. Can't be that I have to take out the HDD everytime I want to add some new files or delete files?
For network...set up samba...
For USB... I think only the back port can be used, like an external drive...power to box OFF?...

I don't have q10 pro...you can try first...avfan & jayceooi can confirm...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Feb 9 2017, 01:22 PM
AVFAN
post Feb 9 2017, 02:26 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(sbd @ Feb 9 2017, 11:59 AM)
u r talking about SATA HDD slotted in and not those direct USB plugin HDD, right?

assuming u r using the blue usb3.0 slot at the back of the box to connect to PC.

i am able to do everything with my old 1.5TB HDD slotted in; actually just copied some stuff with pc.

but i think for >2TB, the formatting requires some procedure on the pc, some partitioning type selection.
not sure as i hv not used a SATA 2 or 3 TB yet.
u probably want to check n read it up, maybe ask seller.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 9 2017, 02:29 PM
sbd
post Feb 9 2017, 08:06 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 9 2017, 01:02 PM)
For network...set up samba...
For USB... I think only the back port can be used, like an external drive...power to box OFF?...

I don't have q10 pro...you can try first...avfan & jayceooi can confirm...
I have enabled Samba but can't see any networks Android file view but I can see some Windows computers in Kodi though. Why must I go thru Kodi?

Any USB port is not able to recognise internal HDD
sbd
post Feb 9 2017, 08:08 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 9 2017, 02:26 PM)
u r talking about SATA HDD slotted in and not those direct USB plugin HDD, right?

assuming u r using the blue usb3.0 slot at the back of the box to connect to PC.

i am able to do everything with my old 1.5TB HDD slotted in; actually just copied some stuff with pc.

but i think for >2TB, the formatting requires some procedure on the pc, some partitioning type selection.
not sure as i hv not used a SATA 2 or 3 TB yet.
u probably want to check n read it up, maybe ask seller.
Yes HDD slotted inside the q10 pro.

Use any colour USB post also cannot see any drive/PC/network inside PC. I suppose it is because it is a 3tb drive or the size of sector format in NTFS is not what is expected.

Anyone else with experience?
AVFAN
post Feb 9 2017, 08:36 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(sbd @ Feb 9 2017, 08:06 PM)
I have enabled Samba but can't see any networks Android file view but I can see some Windows computers in Kodi though. Why must I go thru Kodi?

i dun understand the bolded part.

u need to clarify...

how did u enable/activate samba?

r u using KODI or MEDIA CENTER or FILE MANAGER to access PC?

using media center is a better and much easier method.

once u log into pc via media center, u can see the pc drive(s) u allowed.

(KODI17 is very new, wrapper is not working fully yet for kodi17... we wait for next firmware.)

QUOTE(sbd @ Feb 9 2017, 08:08 PM)
Yes HDD slotted inside the q10 pro.

Use any colour USB post also cannot see any drive/PC/network inside PC. I suppose it is because it is a 3tb drive or the size of sector format in NTFS is not what is expected.

Anyone else with experience?
no, u cannot use ANY usb port! there is only ONE at the back of box to use, diff connection, needs a USB cable like the one u use for yr printer.

this way, u have hard line connection, control at pc, transfer files much faster.

with that, if u can't still access the HDD in the box, i m quite sure yr HDD need a correct refomatting.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 9 2017, 09:54 PM
dwRK
post Feb 9 2017, 10:54 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

I suspect you are not doing Samba share fully...

1. Enable Samba - OK. I trust this done
2. Select folders for sharing - ??? Tell us smile.gif

For USB connection at the back... Tell us power to box ON or OFF?

Seeing window folders in kodi has nothing to do with what you want....well just partially...will fix this later...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Feb 9 2017, 11:08 PM
dwRK
post Feb 9 2017, 11:05 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

Example... Using my phone...this is my q16/

This post has been edited by dwRK: Feb 9 2017, 11:14 PM
sbd
post Feb 9 2017, 11:58 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 9 2017, 08:36 PM)
i dun understand the bolded part.

u need to clarify...

how did u enable/activate samba?

r u using KODI or MEDIA CENTER or FILE MANAGER to access PC?

using media center is a better and much easier method.

once u log into pc via media center, u can see the pc drive(s) u allowed.

(KODI17 is very new, wrapper is not working fully yet for kodi17... we wait for next firmware.)
no, u cannot use ANY usb port! there is only ONE at the back of box to use, diff connection, needs a USB cable like the one u use for yr printer.

this way, u have hard line connection, control at pc, transfer files much faster.

with that, if u can't still access the HDD in the box, i m quite sure yr HDD need a correct refomatting.
samba is enabled by:
settings/more/share/samba service - it is enabled

then when you go to my apps/file browser, there's no option to see network files only local storage

even under media center/lan = no networkvisible
under media center/nfs = nothing shows up either
under media center/upnp = i can see some computers on my network but can't get into them even though I have made them shared.

As for the HDD access via USB cable, you're pure genius. All this while I was connecting via the 3 regular usb ports by the side not knowing at the back there is a "printer" USB port. You picture said a thousand words and saved the day! Thanks.
sbd
post Feb 10 2017, 12:02 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 9 2017, 10:54 PM)
I suspect you are not doing Samba share fully...

1. Enable Samba - OK. I trust this done
2. Select folders for sharing - ??? Tell us smile.gif

For USB connection at the back... Tell us power to box ON or OFF?

Seeing window folders in kodi has nothing to do with what you want....well just partially...will fix this later...
OK samba enabled but where is the option to share folders?

For the (newly found for me) USB connector at the back (printer type), the power must be on of course then only the HDD will spin. I have now connected to this with success! Previously I was connecting to the 3 side USB ports. That's why I though it was very strange to require a male full sized USB to another male full sized USB cable that is not so common...
sbd
post Feb 10 2017, 12:04 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 9 2017, 11:05 PM)
Example... Using my phone...this is my q16/
what app are you using to browse your tv box files via your android phone?
AVFAN
post Feb 10 2017, 12:05 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(sbd @ Feb 9 2017, 11:58 PM)
samba is enabled by:
settings/more/share/samba service - it is enabled

then when you go to my apps/file browser, there's no option to see network files only local storage

even under media center/lan = no networkvisible
under media center/nfs = nothing shows up either
under media center/upnp = i can see some computers on my network but can't get into them even though I have made them shared.

As for the HDD access via USB cable, you're pure genius. All this while I was connecting via the 3 regular usb ports by the side not knowing at the back there is a "printer" USB port. You picture said a thousand words and saved the day! Thanks.
boy... i did not know u never used samba or connect sata drives to pc before! tongue.gif

well, u got all of it wrong.

... enabling samba does not get u anywhere except that the capability is ready.
.. file manager only read local drive files, not samba'ed ones.
.. media center LAN is the correct one. buy need to find the network, so use auto search. when u see yr pc, u need to log in with yr pc id and pw. then u will see the folders.

second part, usb cable, u now know.

now u know, it's not difficult. biggrin.gif
sbd
post Feb 10 2017, 12:11 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 10 2017, 12:05 AM)
boy... i did not know u never used samba or connect sata drives to pc before! tongue.gif

well, u got all of it wrong.

... enabling samba does not get u anywhere except that the capability is ready.
.. file manager only read local drive files, not samba'ed ones.
.. media center LAN is the correct one. buy need to find the network, so use auto search. when u see yr pc, u need to log in with yr pc id and pw. then u will see the folders.

second part, usb cable, u now know.

now u know, it's not difficult. biggrin.gif
forgive this relative noob...

yes I tried media center/LAN?auto search but the result is (fast) "NO SERVER"

this message appears whether i use wifi or cable

This post has been edited by sbd: Feb 10 2017, 12:12 AM
sbd
post Feb 10 2017, 12:14 AM

707 posts

if i go to lan manual the there are a few fields to fill out:

server ip/directory/account/password

what kind of info goes into directory and account?
AVFAN
post Feb 10 2017, 12:44 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(sbd @ Feb 10 2017, 12:11 AM)
yes I tried media center/LAN?auto search but the result is (fast) "NO SERVER"
this message appears whether i use wifi or cable
QUOTE(sbd @ Feb 10 2017, 12:14 AM)
if i go to lan manual the there are a few fields to fill out:
server ip/directory/account/password
what kind of info goes into directory and account?
ok, if noob...

stop here and do some reading becos it is difficult to explain this bit.

becos it requires u to understand how windows file sharing works, how the security and granting permissions work at the pc.

u do want to know and not let anyone get into yr pc!

google "smb" "samba", "windows file sharing windows xyx" and read up, that's what i did when i was new to it.

no so hard after a few knocks here n there.
dwRK
post Feb 10 2017, 05:58 AM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(sbd @ Feb 10 2017, 12:04 AM)
what app are you using to browse your tv box files via your android phone?
Any file manager with "remote" or "network" function...these are samba clients to access the samba server.

I showed 2 actually for you... Asus File Manager & File Manager Plus. File Commander, Total Commander, ES File Explorer, etc all has it.

PS... I already hinted the back USB port earlier...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Feb 10 2017, 08:20 AM

176 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:34 PM