HP Pavillion DV6-6XXX series Owners Lounge, ~thou shall read 1st post or get troll.

post Jun 4 2011, 11:53 PM

17 posts

hi all,

actually i just get refund from dell coz my laptop studio 1458 had a heating problem. total in my hand now is RM2920/-

i wanna buy laptop for multimedia(photoshop) + lite gaming (PES and NFS Shift).

is it this dv6 is suitable for me? very confius to choose. rclxub.gif icon_question.gif b4 this i wanna get N53 but heard many issue about the laptop.

so far is there any issue 4 the dv6? how about batery life? heating problem? thanks biggrin.gif
post Jun 5 2011, 01:20 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(linellux @ Jun 5 2011, 12:55 AM)
Since you have chosen DV6, I can only say GOOD CHOICE!!
Indeed DV6 have quite a good performance but just to be honest.
Other laptops do have i7 too and RM3k just for photo editing is a little bit too much.
I get DV6 because I need it for After Effects, Cinema4D, hardcore gaming and bla bla.
So I only choose DV6 rather than my second choice of Dell XPS 15.
Just 2 cents of mine.
Get an affordable laptop that can be sufficient for the needs unless you really got more budget to be spent.
thanks for the honest answer. thumbup.gif but the design (dv6) poison me.....especially at the glowing logo and the light around the touchpad. haha sweat.gif
coz i heard many issues about the Nseries.
if dv6 have an i5 and price below 3k i will get it 1st.

thanks all. i have to think about it again and wait for a few weeks, wanna study back for the Nseries and dv6. huhu
post Jun 5 2011, 02:06 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(ThisIsBoletaria @ Jun 5 2011, 10:38 AM)
No problems with Windows 7, and my virtual machines are running fine.
No problems whatsoever, except that initial slow hard drive problem that has disappeared.

QUOTE(AsusFans)
Hi all, can anyone tell me why is DV6-6001 better than N53SN?
I mean surely some of you consider both of this before, what is the 'thing' that makes you choose the laptop you have right now given that both laptop have their pros and cons?

I'm one of the ones that considered the N53SN as well and I chose the dv6 mainly because of reevephon's notebook temperature review. I am very particular about heat after having heat-related issues cause damage to almost every single one of my previous notebooks and I was very much attracted by the good temperatures shown in his review, along with the conventional layout of vents underneath compared to the N53 series.

The second reason I picked the dv6 was bang for buck. For more or less the same price as the N53Sv, I get a better GPU and a larger hard drive.

Third, the dv6 has smaller dimensions than the N53 series, which is humongous. I was very surprised when I first saw the N53Sv, because I couldn't quite believe that it needed to be that big.

Lastly, there were just so many reports of problems with the N53 series that it really put me off buying it. I've always liked ASUS' notebooks and how problem-free they usually are, but something seemed to have gone wrong somewhere with the N53 series.

Of course, there are some features of the N53Sv that I wish the dv6 had. First and foremost is the 4 RAM slots; I like the idea of having 16GB on the tap without having to buy expensive 8GB DDR3 sticks like you would have to with the newer dv6-61xx series. You can never have too much RAM.

Second is nVidia's Optimus. Yes, AMD has its own implementation of switchable graphics, but it's fiddly and not seamless, relying on manual switching between the Intel HD 3000 and the Radeon 6770. The latest AMD Catalyst update includes an attempt to approach Optimus' ease of use in terms of auto-select, but I can never seem to get it to remember which programs use what settings. Not HP's fault, but seriously, how hard could it be to incorporate a check against a list of which GPU the user prefers a particular program use?

Third is the N53 series' implementation of a full keyboard with numpad. I prefer that the N53 series' arrow keys are not shrunk and are easier to find.
u got the point bro.
i like where u diffrent this two laptop.

-dimension
-bloatwares
-heat issue
problms

now i know whatt laptop i wanna get . thank ya!!! thumbup.gif

post Jun 6 2011, 11:30 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(msia @ Jun 6 2011, 11:24 PM)
who has gotten their dv6 ordered through hp store online? the headphone, bag, printers, laptop sent out from different locations on different dates?
oh, like ipad2. im order online and they sent those from diff location. cover ipad sent from singapore and the ipad2 sent from shenzen. from the factory. so got cover 1st 1 week after order and got ipad2 2week after that. smile.gif
post Jun 7 2011, 12:40 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(linellux @ Jun 5 2011, 01:27 AM)
BTW, If you are going for DV6, I would recommend DV6-6114TX which is almost the same as DV6-6001Tx. The only difference is 6114Tx has blu ray drive and 6001Tx has only optical drive.
ok thanks. i'll get it for this week.
btw instead of buying online, where can i buy those spec DV6-6114TX?

is there any shop at lowyat can i buy and get all the package like online?

tq
post Jun 8 2011, 09:55 PM

17 posts

new promo for dv6. (before this get 3 in 1 printer and 3 yrs warranty)

HP Pavilion dv6-6114TX NB PC (start today until end August 2011)
[ LZ766PA ]
HP Pavilion dv6-6114tx Entertainment Notebook PC
HP USB Optical Mouse
HP Promo Beats Solo Black Headset
HP Top Loading Carrying Case
HP PD5000z Pocket Media Drive
HP 4-GB PC3-10600 (DDR3 1333 MHz) SODIMM
MS Office 2010 Home and Student Software

I wanna get 1. smile.gif
post Jun 8 2011, 10:44 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(RiverDrifte @ Jun 8 2011, 10:00 PM)
got link?  shocking.gif
actually i know it from calling hp ask about new promo.
but in the website the promo not update yet.

then i search to the view bundle product.

old promo:
1. 3 in 1 deskjet printer
2. extend 3 yrs warranty

new promo:
1. upgrade 4gb ram
2. external HDD 500gb

there u r:
http://h20386.www2.hp.com/MalaysiaStore/Bundle.mvc
post Jun 9 2011, 12:04 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(faridz7 @ Jun 8 2011, 11:47 PM)
hi there

yup I called up HP too but cant seem to find the new promo on their website. Your link too doesn't really show the promo package to get it at the rm3799 price that is..help?
ops sorry. after click the link, go to the Laptop/Tablet/Netbook tab.
after that go to the 2nd page. u gonna see the promo which is the price stated is RM5363
then after deduct from e-coupon, get around RM3799.

btw i also wanna wait for the official promo. then baru buy online smile.gif

This post has been edited by 360: Jun 9 2011, 12:14 AM
post Jun 9 2011, 12:16 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(junkieG @ Jun 9 2011, 12:10 AM)
And so i ordered mine wif old promo today...now got new promo suddently. But um fine coz i need the extra warranty and the printer can be use for printing pictures frOm my camera. 4gb of RAM is quite cheap nowdays...so i dun feel so bad (im reversing my mind psychology)

Huhuhuhuhuhuhjjj
aik, can order old promo ke? tanya HP tadi he says that cannot.
if can, i wanna order old also. hehe
post Jun 9 2011, 11:05 PM

17 posts

want to order online dv6 now, but after klik 'add to cart', hp website got an internal error. haiyo... need to wait tomorrow to order again.
post Jun 11 2011, 12:53 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(edwinooi1991 @ Jun 10 2011, 11:48 PM)
Seems like no one knows when the promo will end...
there u r smile.gif

"Terms & Conditions:

Offer valid between 6 June and 31 August, 2011(both dates inclusive) or while stocks last.
Purchases and invoices dated prior to or after this timeframe will not be eligible for this promotion."

http://h20386.www2.hp.com/MalaysiaStore/ht.../home/dv-series

Done order mine. Hope can get soon and no hardware problem. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by 360: Jun 11 2011, 12:56 AM
post Jun 11 2011, 02:07 AM

17 posts

erm, about the care pack, as i call hp they said I can buy the care pack within 90 days after purchase the laptop. Is it true?

coz i read the old post, the care pack registration must made within 10 days after purchase. anyone? hmm.gif

i hv to wait my salary to but the care pack.
post Jun 16 2011, 11:32 PM

17 posts

mine order 10/6.
Clearance date 13/6.
now on production and Planned Delivery Date 14/7.
Planned ship date 8/7.

very2 long want to wait.... cant wait anymore.... cry.gif yawn.gif unsure.gif

0.0438sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:25 AM