Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V9, D5100 stock arrived !

ujoewong
post Apr 28 2011, 10:45 PM

348 posts

Alright guys, with my budget.
I have decided to go for the Nikon D7000 + 18-200mm VR II Lens.
I'll be getting it tomorrow or Saturday.

Any last minute advise before I join the Nikon Bandwagon ? smile.gif
ujoewong
post Apr 28 2011, 11:15 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Apr 28 2011, 10:52 PM)
18-200 ? I duno u like the focusing speed or not.
you cuba lah
Oh, from what Kai said in the video, it is somewhat positive.

What other lens as a starter kit would you recommend with this price range ? 16-85mm ?
Sooner or later I will be grabbing Primes like either Sigma 30mm f1.4 or Nikon 35mm DX f.18G.
But, I need a standard zoom 1st.
rclxms.gif

@Agito666,

Oh, not really. biggrin.gif
I used up my personal savings for this actually.
Why is Nikon the Dark Side ?

This post has been edited by ujoewong: Apr 28 2011, 11:17 PM
ujoewong
post Apr 28 2011, 11:23 PM

348 posts

If possible, I wanna avoid 3rd party lens 1st.

ujoewong
post Apr 29 2011, 05:08 PM

348 posts

Hello Nikon-ians. tongue.gif
I am now OFFICIALLY on the Dark Side.

ujoewong
post Apr 29 2011, 07:59 PM

348 posts

I am now exploring my new D7000 Camera. With 18-200 VR II Lens.
It's heavy. Gotta get used to the weight 1st.
ujoewong
post May 7 2011, 05:52 PM

348 posts

Planning to get a UWA Lens for my D7000.

Tokina 11-16 or Nikon 10-24 ?
Which one do you all prefer ?
ujoewong
post May 7 2011, 06:34 PM

348 posts

Macam all kena Tokina's poison. Haha.
I am using a D7000 with 18-200mm VR II.
Now, either I'm getting a 35mm Prime or a UWA.
Don't know which one to get 1st.

But, I want my 3 lens to be all Nikon. Tho, the Tokina is really great as a UWA.
It compliments my 18-200 nicely. No overlapping.

Hmmm...
ujoewong
post May 12 2011, 04:11 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ May 12 2011, 03:25 PM)
i read this for Nikon 18-200mm VR- http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/18200.htm

and inside,
It said for a budget go for 18-55mm (which i already got it from D5100 kit lens), then +70-300mm, which is what brother Aldo recomend. Im kind of convince now.

The moral of the story is: Review site and lyn is very poisonous.
I'm using 18-200mm VR II for my D7000. It works great ! tongue.gif

Cheers !
ujoewong
post May 13 2011, 02:43 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(vendetta87 @ May 13 2011, 12:51 PM)
link plz ~!!!
For UWA, either go for Tokina 11-16mm f2.8 or the Nikon 10-24 f3.5-f5.6.

Go Kenrockwell.com and look for their reviews. Looks promising.
ujoewong
post May 13 2011, 04:00 PM

348 posts

Which one do you all prefer for Street Shooting/General Usage Lens for the Nikon D7000?

Nikon DX 35mm f1.8G or Nikon 50mm f1.4G ?
Although, there is a different in price, I won't mind paying the difference.
The Bokeh from the 50mm f1.4G looks much more creamier than the harsh 35mm f1.8G.

Hmm...
ujoewong
post May 13 2011, 04:19 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ May 13 2011, 04:04 PM)
of course 1.4 is creamier la...

but now did you tried 35mm and 50mm angle difference? you can use your lens to try see wide enough or not. tongue.gif
Tried it with my 18-200mm, shoot with 35mm in a day and 50mm the next day.
Having 35mm which is equals to 50mm in Full Frame is like "what you see is what you get type of view".
Being 50mm, I need to step back 2 or 3 steps to get the same shot.
Although it's a little bit annoying, I would do it for a better "BOKEH" (I think I watch too much Kai in DigitalRev Videos) >.<

Why Nikon don't have 50mm f1.2 like Canon does ? drool.gif
ujoewong
post May 25 2011, 03:25 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ May 25 2011, 03:01 PM)
but then you duno what lens should buy, we recommended 50mm f/1.8 scare you will say not enough wide or bla bla ... 35mm f/1.8 for crop sensor body only...(or dun have zoom)
then how about 85m f/1.4  brows.gif
Nikon 35mm AF-S f/1.4G !
drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

Anyone here own this delicious prime lens ?
I'm eye-ing this for my D7000.
Hopefully can manage to save up in the next 6 months.
ujoewong
post May 25 2011, 03:43 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ May 25 2011, 03:34 PM)
I have not shot with mine a lot but wide open f/1.4 sharpness is fantastic.
Aisk, POISON ! drool.gif

Yeah, gotta shot this lens with f1.4 most of the time with this lens.
If not, can just get a 35mm f1.8 for a much affordable pricing.

How much did you bought this ?
ujoewong
post May 25 2011, 04:48 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ May 25 2011, 04:43 PM)
Wonder when the AF-S will be out... But even then, I would need to get used to the 50mm FoV.
Yeah. Where is the Nikon AF-S 50mm f1.2 is coming anyway.
Canon had that since 2006.

Yeap, the reason for getting 35mm f1.4 is future proof. Can go FX anytime.

0.0516sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:46 AM