Need recommendation/advise for my caraudio system, pls use this thread in the future
metaloid
Mar 28 2012, 10:24 PM
Help me decide between alpine 133bt and pioneer 6450bt. The pioneer has more watts n has 5band n equivalent to the 8350. But i heard that alpine produces better sound even though the eq is limited?
metaloid
Mar 28 2012, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Mar 28 2012, 10:40 PM) If you are in the range of 20's~30's, like me, then Alpine. btw, why everyone says Alpine produce better sound? How do they judge better sound? Sound not judge by preference meh? Like that, I would say McIntosh produces better sound... disagree with me, please. Ok so its better to sacrifice the better features of the pioneer to get the alpine for its sound thats what u meant? But if im only 16 how? what they said is that alpine specially produces car audio n that their stuff r not as affordable and easy to obtain compared to pioneer...and to Them it sounds better..so yea its confusing.
metaloid
Mar 28 2012, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Mar 28 2012, 11:06 PM) what they said is that alpine specially produces car audio n that their stuff r not as affordable and easy to obtain compared to pioneer...and to Them it sounds better..so yea its confusing. ^^ This guy who say this, DEFINITELY he sells Alpine... right? Because I SERIOUSLY doubt "Alpine not as affordable as Pioneer" part. 2. If you are 16, I will have doubt about your interest in ICE. And, if you are really 16, let's make one hell of SPL cars and blast kao kao! 3. The 2 HU that you mentioned, features wise maybe different...albeit a bit. Sound wise definitely not same. So I would say, listen to both of them first? Lol jk about the 16 n im not into spl. He sells both actually n also recommends me alpine type r comps..he says it will definitely suit my taste. Which of the two can produce better clarity? I hear alpine is brighter and pioneer warmer. Added on March 28, 2012, 11:49 pmBtw im planning to get either helix, german maestro, alpine, or flux comp set. anyone have ideas on these? This post has been edited by metaloid: Mar 28 2012, 11:49 PM
metaloid
Mar 29 2012, 12:32 AM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 29 2012, 12:21 AM) i dont think mcintosh produces better sound  Added on March 29, 2012, 12:21 amyou get a valid driving license first. Added on March 29, 2012, 12:23 amhow he know it suit your taste? he borrowed your ears/brain? also no to alpine/flux. Why cause there not sq? Its either german,helix or maybe focal then. Would it be ok to pair these with a dls 2ch amp?
metaloid
Mar 29 2012, 09:03 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 29 2012, 08:21 PM) component set + HU + amp + sound proof is around 4k for my car. just amp + sub + sound proof should be around 2.5-3k and yes, underseat subs are just not powerful enough  I actually find underseat woofers ok...even without a woofer is fine too..and to me the typical subwoofers bass is too strong. I guess im just not a bass head at all or im getting old lol.
metaloid
Mar 30 2012, 11:49 AM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 30 2012, 12:45 AM) if you want i can let you audition my woofer lol, its a ported 12" huge entry-level woofer. that will probably give you a better idea  lol would like to but im not from kl. Btw u guys think i should get a dls 2ch amp or a alpine 4ch? both second hand, the dls more expensive.
metaloid
Mar 30 2012, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 30 2012, 12:15 PM) obviously DLS unless you have a requirement to use 4ch (eg: power component set + bridged for subwoofer) not really..but theres also 4" speakers that can be run from my hu.
metaloid
Mar 30 2012, 01:32 PM
QUOTE(carcrazy @ Mar 30 2012, 12:37 PM) never have good experience with DLS ultimate amps. somehow the gain settings on the amp needs to be very high in order to bring out the dynamics of the music.. was told before the thai guys, set their DLS amp gain at 3oclock for competition...dats high if ur into clean simplicity music then DLS might suit u. but if u wanna build an all-rounder system (plays from audiophile to pop/rock) then its not an ideal hardware. Added on March 30, 2012, 12:42 pmdun play cheating izso, make sure got HP filter on..hehe thanks for the info. im an all-rounder person so u reckon an alpine would be alright instead? Anyone knows the outcome of the sound if i paired dls or alpine amp with helix or german maestro? This post has been edited by metaloid: Mar 30 2012, 03:38 PM
metaloid
Apr 1 2012, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 1 2012, 10:12 AM) <--- under the avatar got location, lol. as for shop, i did my ICE 4+ years ago from KF audio at kelana jaya/aman suria area. There are also other good shops like EA autoworks (recommended since howiechoo is active in LYN too) at bukit jalil/sri petaling, or audio creations at damansara ara (NiuZeXui) (few of their owners/members also active in LYN such as carcrazy) for good audio, i can tell you that it does not come cheap, and the scale is much more expensive than headphones (think of headphones > car audio ICE > home audio/hi-fi) so instead of "cheap", it would be more appropriate to refer the term as "reasonable".  I learnt how important it is to go to a reputable shop as well...it can have u alot of headaches n $$ I was in headphones but now venture into car audio once again lol. N i regretted playing those cheap ayam stuff last time...they don't last u.