Need recommendation/advise for my caraudio system, pls use this thread in the future

joequah1
post Apr 13 2010, 04:21 PM

184 posts

Hi sifuss need some help here.

Driving kancil with pioneer 1050e HU and 6 x 9 3way at rear.

What I like is the boom boom from the R&B.

So what should I add for KANCIL only ????

THese are the option :

1. Pioneer 4" 2way and tweeter for front , and a NET tube base ( 4" 2way SW , Edge woofer , 100watt max , 10 watt ras ) without amp

2. 6.5" Component set only for front.

3. Your advise pls. Budget limited. (Below 500) . OR can do step by step.

Not going to change the HU and Rear speaker de.

This post has been edited by joequah1: Apr 13 2010, 06:24 PM
joequah1
post Apr 13 2010, 10:06 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ Apr 13 2010, 06:44 PM)
step 2 and add an amp.
how many channel amp??? for front and rear or only front ??

thanks.

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 13 2010, 08:30 PM)
Budget limited? Add an inductor coil for your rear speakers, get the Pioneer 4" 2-way speaker.
what is inductor coil?? if get the Pioneer then the tweeter and sub will also include de. So how ???

Can add inductor coil and add component for front ??? How much it cost for the coil ??? And can get from accessories shop ????

This post has been edited by joequah1: Apr 13 2010, 10:10 PM
joequah1
post Apr 13 2010, 10:51 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 13 2010, 10:30 PM)
Well, 1050 have limited functions, the most is fader, some simple EQ adjusments.
The inductor coil is used as low pass filter, so by adding it, you get more bass but less singing from your rear speakers. As for front, the Pioneer 4" 2-way should able to suit your needs(based on your budget) as they can sing but less bass. All will be powered by your HU's speaker outputs. With this way, it should able to keep your budget low, around rm200-300 with all the workmanship in.
There's alot of setbacks on Kancil, with rm500 you can't do much. If not mistaken, the door also got no speakers which is another cost if you want to add. After play around with my system, sometimes I just feel go back to simple front and rear speaker setup is the best.
Thanks for your advise. smile.gif Its a good choice for low budget. thumbup.gif Around how much is to add the inductor coil only ???

QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ Apr 13 2010, 10:32 PM)
get a 4ch amp to power front and rear. u can go blasting everywhere d. smile.gif supersound's way is for extreme low budget, wun give u any boom boom from ur RnB songs.
Thanks for your advise smile.gif but this will cost a lot more although i want to do it that way. Maybe will do step by step. tongue.gif

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 13 2010, 10:37 PM)
^Budget is set to rm500, don't know why you want to up the budget.... Or you intend to sponsor him the extra? 6X9 also can give decent bass if you know the trick.
Hahaa biggrin.gif its only an advise thumbup.gif
joequah1
post Apr 13 2010, 11:09 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 13 2010, 11:03 PM)
The coil alone may cost rm20-30.
When you set a budget, work around with that budget, don't let people to influence you.
That's why I still driving an old car but I'm able to shorten my housing loan tenure from 30 years to 7 years. Because I won't be easily influenced by others, especially in forums.

Just say if you were to add amps, you need pre-amp for your HU or need to change to a better HU with 2 or 3 pre-outs, cost you rm500-800 for Pioneer. Then the amp will cost rm500-1000 for low end stuffs, component set for another rm500-1000 and a sub with enclosure rm500-1000. Lastly wiring another rm200-300. Adding amp are easy, but the cost is.... You do your own calculations.
Hahaa.. Thats quite a BIG amount.... Better don't haa.. biggrin.gif stick to your advise unless i really got that HIGH budget. I'm easily influence by the others heh. Thanks yea. Thanks for the help. thumbup.gif notworthy.gif smile.gif
joequah1
post Apr 14 2010, 01:16 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(craziechild @ Apr 14 2010, 11:19 AM)
hmm... before following anyone's advise... i advise you to go around and have an audition/testing yourself...

having add an inductor is the super budgety thing to do... but i doubt that RM200 - RM300 wasted would last you long enough of enjoyable sound... and by the time you havent forgot about the RM200 - RM300... you just need to add an amp... which most of them comes with an e-xover, high level input if you do not wan to change your HU... a proper sub with enclosure... then you would be starting to think... "whats the first RM200 - RM300 spent for?" want to sell? hmm you must be joking... supersound wont even assist in buying from USA... what more to say buy back from you?

anyway... budget RM500... actually there is a lot of things you could do... just depends on whether you engaged with the right idea, and do your own homeworks... RM500 for a good amp is not impossible... and certainly not impossible to achieve some high quality sound as well... the budget that supersound gave? hmm... well havent you know? he is all out to take down every acc shop in malaysia mission... its just crappy overrated budget...

but before i give more info... you would have to answer my question:
how far would you go with your ICE?

and i am not talking about spending money... i am talking about your enthusiasm...
Well.. That's true too.

I won't be going too far for current car course its just a kancil.

But I'm sure I will continue when I get a new car.

So for your suggestion RM500 can get only AMP ?? IF so how bout front ?? Kancil don't have front kancil that's why I want front speaker.

Thanks. smile.gif
joequah1
post Apr 14 2010, 09:44 PM

184 posts

hi sifuss ..

DO you guys know these two brands - Saga and Stream Audio ???

Craziechild , so what can do with RM500 ?? An average AMP is around how much ?? Pls do recommend some.

joequah1
post Apr 14 2010, 10:46 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(craziechild @ Apr 14 2010, 10:15 PM)
to start with... search around for a 2nd hand amps... nowadays old school stuff which sounds a lot better than the current products lines are selling dirt cheap... next, 2nd hand good true 4AWG power cables... could be found at dirt cheap price as well... DIY speaker and RCA cables using quality LAN copper cables which were like RM0.5~2/m... all these squeezable into RM500... been there done that... and results are not bad for starters but heck it does needs a lot of enthusiasm... cuz you cant see the results right away without get down and sweat yourself... and why LAN cables? because cheapo OFC cables always grow fungus inside the sleeves, LAN cables dun... this is like what amp + installs labour charge: RM450, power cable: RM100, LAN cables: RM50

as for your front speaker... this would have to see which series are you going for... good speakers dun come cheap... this you know... so the rest you should do is save up for a front speaker... but if you are really broke and need a speaker in front.. no problem, transfer the back ones to the front...

dun let your ride value determine your enthusiasm... if you are enthusiastic about the whole ICE thing... get longer cables... at least a sedan car's length... that way you could transfer everything to your new car next time with the excess length...

thats mostly the idea... along the way... you enjoy the whole process... and along the way... you understand what makes it sound better and why... and i am pretty sure you will avoid the things that doesnt aound good to you right... by common sense la that one...  wink.gif  smile.gif  smile.gif
cheers.gif
Right!! Erm what is the 4AWG power cables for ?? rclxub.gif

And where to find all those 2nd hand things ?? Any brand recommended ??

I just installed a Massive 6.5" component in front today. And they recommend me these two brand AMP - Saga and Stream Audio. Heard of it ??

Whats the diff between good and poor AMP ?? The sound quality , lasting or ??? rclxub.gif

What are the features I should look into in selecting an AMP ??

Thanks. notworthy.gif smile.gif smile.gif
joequah1
post Apr 15 2010, 12:36 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(craziechild @ Apr 14 2010, 11:10 PM)
4awg power cables is for you to get your amp power supply from the car battery...

amp recommendations? old school amps would go for rf, soundstream, PPI, a/d/s etc etc... where to look for these amps? forum's buy sell section...

saga and stream audio... are the amps sorta in pink/blue colour with some painted/cheap emblem on? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

difference between a good and poor amp? hehehe... well... put it this way... whats the difference between a cheap bed and a slumberland? a kancil and a mini cooperS? you get the idea? both works as as the same thing, but one is talking about quality, durability etc etc... the other one is just a car/bed/amp...

features? hmmm there is a lot... but the important thing is... reviews from the people who actually used the stuff and could prove to you the claims... and the very important stuff you should remember is: it sounds good to yourself...

cheers.gif
Those two brands are like the real AMP outside. It don seem to be a replica or what to me. Its a metal color and silver emblem If I'm not wrong. hmm.gif

Why need to use good 4AWG power cables ?? Isn't it just to supply power ??? Then speaker cable need to change ?? Or the Ori is okay ??

Will try look through.

Thanks thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
joequah1
post Apr 15 2010, 01:58 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(craziechild @ Apr 15 2010, 01:02 AM)
hmm... no comment about the amps... so i wont talk much about it la...

if dun use 4awg cables... what cables do you suggest to get your power? yea... its just to supply power... but you cant tap from the HU for you amps...

speaker cable... further save cost... ori would work fine as well... but you have to connect the wire from the amp to the ori factory speaker wires... no problem...
Yea but need to cost so high for the 4awg cable ??

Is it hard to DIY ??? can save some cost if DIY ???

My HU got only 1 RCA output but 4 channel got 2 RCA output. So what is needed to connect my HU to a 4 channel ????

Can list an estimate amount for the AMP and installation without workmanship ??

This post has been edited by joequah1: Apr 15 2010, 02:04 AM
joequah1
post Apr 15 2010, 12:27 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ Apr 15 2010, 02:39 AM)
installation including cables and stuffs for an amp will cost bout 200-300. if u have onli 1 RCA out, u need to use a Y-cable to split the signal into 2.
I saw installation kit around RM50 ++ only???

Hard to DIY ??
joequah1
post Apr 15 2010, 04:40 PM

184 posts

CAn anyone tell me bout the RMS things ?? like the AMP 4 x 60 rms @ 4ohm , and the component rms 125v , sub rms 150v ...
AMP how many rms can power the speaker and sub of how many rms ??
joequah1
post Apr 15 2010, 05:52 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(zennn @ Apr 15 2010, 04:58 PM)
usually try to match it as close as possible, but on the other hand some manufacturers overrate their ratings, the high end ones underrate them

for subs usually feed power more than the sub's rms rating
lets say my component is 125v rms and sub is 150 rms ... then my AMP is 4ohm 60v rms x 4 ...

then im using 2 x 60v to power my sub and bridge another 2 channel to power the sub right ???

so for component the v is lesser and should be enough for the sub right ???

and when the component writes 125v rms means both side 125v or 125v each side ?? hmm.gif

thanks.

QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ Apr 15 2010, 05:18 PM)
joe, go to www.bcae1.com and study. this question had been asked a million times.
thanks smile.gif but I don know which topic to look through to learn bout the matching the RMS. rclxub.gif
joequah1
post Apr 15 2010, 08:31 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(Kar Leong @ Apr 15 2010, 06:34 PM)
When ur each component wrote 125watt 4Ω, you need at least 125watt RMS [nonimal watt power from amplifier] to get better performance.

Its not both 125watt RMS, its each 6.5" speaker n tweeter.

All you need, is MRP-F550 Alpine suitable for ur comp set n your SW
500 watts, 4-Channel Amplifier
RMS Power Output:
4 ohms: 90 watts x 4 channels
2 ohms: 125 watts x 4 channels
Bridged, 4 ohms: 250 watts x 2 channels
Frequency Response: 10 Hz - 50 kHz
Subsonic Filter: 15 Hz
Crossover Frequency: 50 - 400 Hz
MOSFET power supply
STAR Topology (minimizes internal noise and prevents ground interference)
Gold-plated screw terminals
Speaker and preamp-level inputs
Preamp outputs
fuse rating: 30A x 2

As your SW nominal 150watt peak i think can go until 300watt so its suitable for you to bridge it AB Class Amplifier.

Or you can use better one PDX 4.150 keke... can even add 1 more 150watt SW at your rear
4-Channel Power Density Digital Amplifier
RMS Power Rating:
4 ohms: 150 watts x 4 chan.
2 ohms: 150 watts x 4 chan.
4 ohms bridged: 300 watts x 2 chan.
Class D amplifier design
Stackable installation design with front-panel controls
Quick-connect speaker connectors
HP/LP Crossover: 30 Hz - 400 Hz, 12dB/oct.
CEA-2006 Compliant
MOSFET power supply
Stackable installation design with front-panel controls
Continuously adjustable gain control
Top mounted blue LED power/status indicator
4-Layer glass epoxy PC board

150 watts x 2 channel go for the front component left n right then 150 watts x 2 channel pump your SW 2 pcs haha nice or not ?
Just help you find another good amp ^^
Good explanation ! thumbup.gif Thank you so much notworthy.gif smile.gif

Learn a lot things de. This will help me in looking for a suitable AMP. icon_rolleyes.gif

And I still a beginner. Got any cheaper choice ?? heh

Found this :
MA AUDIO MA-60.4iX 4 Channel Amplifier

110w rms x 4 @ 4 Ohm
220w rms x 4 @ 2 ohm
max power : 1800w PMPO
full MOFSET power supply
PWM Circuit
4 Gauge Power / Ground Connections
Full selectable crossover : High/Flat/Low
4/2 ohm stable stereo
LPF 50-250hz
HPF 120-3khz
variables 12db bass boost at 40hz
freq response 10-30khz +/-3db
power bandwidth 18hz-22khz
S/N Ration : 98db
T.H.D 0.02%
Chorme Plated RCA Jack & Terminals.

QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ Apr 15 2010, 06:50 PM)
each side requires 125w rms @ 4ohm. so just look for a matching amp dat can give u around 100w rms @ 4ohm per channel. remember joe, bigger amps need bigger cables. thus, more expensive installtion... yea, ICE is all abt money.
at bcae1, go to the 8.ohm to learn more. know the ohm law, and match the rms watts rating accordingly. this site is very helpful if u really wan to learn more, slowly read 1 by 1. know u r lazy to read up thus asking the bonus question. smile.gif
Hahaa Thanks to you too smile.gif smile.gif

Yea lazy to read through one by one. Thanks for the bonus thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by joequah1: Apr 15 2010, 09:15 PM
joequah1
post Apr 16 2010, 03:26 AM

184 posts

Thanks for teaching me new things again.

Then how bout Caliber CA 4540 2400watt 4 channel

stereo output 90w rms x 4 .

Found a lot over the Net but don know good or not.
joequah1
post May 10 2010, 10:52 AM

184 posts

4 channel Power Amplifier Sony
Model: MX-4045
Sifuss can please give comment on this amp ?

Looking for 4 chn amp below 300.
joequah1
post May 10 2010, 02:38 PM

184 posts

not for sub. For component and 3 way only.
Any suggestion ?
joequah1
post May 10 2010, 04:55 PM

184 posts

ok sure thanks =)

0.2479sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:18 AM