5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Need recommendation/advise for my caraudio system, pls use this thread in the future

MyWifeCar
post Aug 25 2009, 10:56 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(mango27 @ Aug 25 2009, 10:33 AM)
so basically it just boost the volume ?? making it louder ??
coz sad to say, im using pioneer 6.5' component set for front and pioneer 6x9 on rear... can say its clarity is superb but it just lack of bass... so amp can help on that ?? or i really need a sub ??!
It depends on how much bass you want.

If you plan to install one 4ch amp, then you can ask the acc. shop to try with and without the sub.

...then you get to decide whether you like it or not.
MyWifeCar
post Aug 26 2009, 07:15 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(mango27 @ Aug 25 2009, 11:16 PM)
hmm... but which acc shop is willing to let me try ?? the Brothers in melaka didnt even bother to entertain me when i buying stuff... wat more if trying...
You are in Melaka ah? aiya...I thought you are in KL, then maybe can recommend some to you.

Anyway, don't go to Brothers la. Go to some other acc. shop that you intent to buy the 4ch amp from.
MyWifeCar
post Aug 27 2009, 05:37 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(zennn @ Aug 27 2009, 12:21 PM)
analogy for sub bass if using 6x9, active sub or real sub

6x9 - like drinking beer with one teaspoon at a time

active sub - like drinking beer with a straw

real sub - like drinking beer properly from the glass
"...active sub - like drinking beer with a straw"

thumbup.gif I thought only happened in real life, didn't know can apply on audio related issue also.
MyWifeCar
post Sep 2 2009, 06:11 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(mango27 @ Sep 2 2009, 04:59 PM)
nice illustration...  rclxms.gif
i thought i would be too old for bass, so i went for 6x9... i guess im wrong now...

anyways... how to improve radio reception ??! when i listen to the radio, on abit louder i can hear alot of noises... but i go to an acc shop and the guys say its fine, no need to change...
Radio reception?...hmmm... You won't be the only one.

I was on Alpine, then now Eclipse....still the same static sound occasionally, even worst then my stock HU. sad.gif
MyWifeCar
post Sep 3 2009, 12:29 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(mango27 @ Sep 2 2009, 11:56 PM)
hmmm... so no cure for this ??!  unsure.gif
changing speakers wont help getting better reception... i was using this HU before changing my stock speakers... but reception is still bad as ever...  sad.gif  sad.gif
Cure ah?...hmmm so far I just leave it as it is. Listen to my CD more because I don't setup my system just to listen to radio...hahahahahha

Some ppl actually advise me to wrap the cable behind your HU with those alu. wrapping paper. Try to separate the cables from touching each other.
No time to do that yet, maybe you can try and see how it goes...
MyWifeCar
post Sep 6 2009, 05:45 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(pky @ Sep 5 2009, 12:25 PM)
Need some recomendation for Myvi upgrade,

wanted to keep my stock HU, just want to upgrade speakers, amp, and add a woofer. Budget <1.5k . do i really need to cut front door panel for speaker in order to get better SQ? was thinking not to do any harm on the car body.

Btw, can recomend me a Hi-Lo converter for the stock HU?
...and then you will realise, "something" is missing.... smile.gif
MyWifeCar
post Sep 9 2009, 03:12 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(teck333 @ Sep 9 2009, 11:01 AM)
All SIFU here, HELP

Hi, I'm a Newbie in ICE. Recently just thinking to upgrade my car audio system. Just few question.
1) I want to concerntrate on Mid Bass. Shu I use 2ch Amp or 4ch Amp?
Actually I thinking to use 2ch Amp for my Mid and 2ch Amp for my
SUB. Or do you think 4ch is enuff?
2) Soundstream brand ok? According to my budget. Or is there any
recommended 2nd brand selling?
3) For HU unit, which model better targeting pioneer or alphine?

Cheers

Added on September 9, 2009, 12:10 pmOr maybe I shu ask:
Everything in my car now is stock HU, Speakers ...etc
Now, shu I change Component Sets first or the HU first?
because I saw some one in the forum is selling FOCAL component set.

Anywhere,
My Idea of my ICE:
HU: Alpine Single Din or Kenwood Dual Din
Component Sets Front: FOCAL or Soundstream
Rear Speakers: Ori
AMP: ??? no idea
SUB: ??? no idea

Pls advice me. Thanks.

Added on September 9, 2009, 12:11 pmI normally listen to R&B and Chinese Songs.
What is your budget anyway?

MyWifeCar
post Sep 11 2009, 10:27 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(mango27 @ Sep 11 2009, 10:22 AM)
got your point.. no cash = dont even think about it... hehe...
5 digit and 300 bucks is like heaven and hell... still a student anyway... so sud be going for 300 then...
wats a good non-cap-ayam brand for budget rca and speaker wire ?? and its price judge by length ??
I think even by brand also got different grade one... I used Stinger.
MyWifeCar
post Sep 23 2009, 11:39 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(jpker kia @ Sep 23 2009, 05:27 PM)
Current setup:

Boston S60 component..

Next upgrade:
Boston GT 475 4 channel amp rm1600
http://mobile.bostonacoustics.com/car/car_...&product_id=466

Subwoofer
Boston 12 inch G1 RM700 with box
http://mobile.bostonacoustics.com/car/car_...&product_id=372

rm2.7k with installation, cables, woofer box, fuse etc..

How's the price?
All Boston setup... S60 is nice. smile.gif
MyWifeCar
post Oct 6 2009, 02:22 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

Take/share some photos of the sub you wish to sell lor... smile.gif
MyWifeCar
post Oct 13 2009, 12:59 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ Oct 8 2009, 01:48 AM)
rm200 comp sets wun differ much from each other. just grab one and go. smile.gif
Sorry, can't stop laughing when you reply it this way...

Anyway, will running on 0 ohm suitable for SQ? I know the lower the ohm, the faster the response...
MyWifeCar
post Oct 28 2009, 10:36 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(Anders @ Oct 27 2009, 10:36 PM)
What do you all think if front install  6' mid + tweeter, and rear only install 6' mid speaker? will it sound good? smile.gif
Sorry, just would like to know. By doing so, what is the objective you are trying to achieve?

What would your "sound good" be? staging/clarity/bassy/details?
MyWifeCar
post Nov 1 2009, 08:18 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Nov 1 2009, 07:34 PM)
Greetings all.

I'm planning to get my car's speakers changed to a component set while retaining the stock Clarion HU. My budget is RM800 max. Currently looking at :

- Infinity Reference series
- German Maestro "A"-series
- Dominations (not sure which, but the one around RM700-800 gua)
- Boston Acoustics (not sure which series/model too)

Of all above mentioned, which is most recommended?

All feedback and suggestions/recommendations are generously welcomed. tongue.gif

Thank you guys!

Regards,
-vip3rleon9- @ LYN
Boston Acoustics SX60. I guess should be within your budget. zenn got sell but dunno if his is inclusive of installation not.

You don't need amps and subs?
MyWifeCar
post Nov 2 2009, 11:42 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Nov 1 2009, 09:29 PM)
Is that the best amongst the list? smile.gif I have not personally heard them yet so I can't be a judge of anything. tongue.gif

Well I want to, but my current budget is only RM800. So I guess I shall go for a decent set of components first. biggrin.gif

Thank you for your reply tho! cheers.gif

edit : Oh and, what's the main difference between the S60 and SX60? blink.gif
The main difference is the model number...the "X".... tongue.gif

No la, SX sound different. A bit clearer and higher pitch...can be said as clarity also.

Anyway, go audit one before you want to buy. smile.gif
MyWifeCar
post Nov 2 2009, 10:10 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Nov 2 2009, 05:55 PM)
Ahh, I see I see. Tried to Google for the difference but can't seem to find any significant difference between the two. tongue.gif

Thanks for your feedback! Oh and, what do you mean by "audit"? unsure.gif
Thanks for the clarification. Appreciate it. smile.gif

Eton.. hmm.gif Is it much superior to the SX60? tongue.gif
What do you mean by superior? In terms of technical specs?

Audit is go listen to it, then choose which set you like the most...

Sometimes ppl can say earth and sky, but if you don't like it... it won't worth a single penny.
MyWifeCar
post Nov 8 2009, 03:08 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Nov 7 2009, 09:59 AM)
Just went to have a listen at the SX60.. I didn't really like it. The SL60 is far better but at a RM300 premium.

Any shops in PJ that are recommended to have a look at? smile.gif

Thank you.

Regards,
-vip3rleon9- @ LYN
Focal 165A1 then...??? Hahahaha...

KKLau lor...hmmm Try and listen only la...
MyWifeCar
post Nov 8 2009, 09:14 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

I guess you still have yet to try one more...
MyWifeCar
post Nov 9 2009, 01:40 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Nov 9 2009, 12:31 AM)
Yeah I guess so..

Besides these five brands - Focal, Dominations, Infinity, German Maestro and Boston Acoustics, there's no other sub-RM800 component speakers worth mentioning huh? laugh.gif
This one?

Micro-Precision

I listened to their highest spec one before...Nice le.

But dunno for the series you mentioned ard ur budget ... check it out.
MyWifeCar
post Nov 10 2009, 10:49 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Nov 9 2009, 08:26 PM)
A'ight, will look around for this brand too.

How's JBL's GTO series?

Sorry if I'm asking a bit much, just wanna get some recommendations so that I won't have to waste time looking for certain brands. laugh.gif
lol Ini tarak duit beli la. tongue.gif
GTO ah...my fren got one, to me I really don't like the sound... Cannot hear the depth...hahahah

MP last time the AV fair got display also ma... But I guess they will lose out to those really into Home AV one...
MyWifeCar
post Nov 18 2009, 05:08 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(bafukie @ Nov 17 2009, 04:49 PM)
F#1 should be a good start biggrin.gif
... definitely within his budget. tongue.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0382sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled