Need recommendation/advise for my caraudio system, pls use this thread in the future

TSDani1010
post Aug 6 2005, 09:48 PM, updated 21y ago

48 posts

Dear forumers,

I am planning to upgrade my car audio system

Currently...
I am using a Pioneer DEH-P5650MP.... and just have my front component installed... using Kicker's components set...
the pic is below

So now I am planning to add
i) 1x 12inches Subwoofer.. (preferably Kicker Comp / ES... or maybe Mohawk's)
ii) Rear speaker (confuse over whether to add another component set behind or juz a 6x9 3 way speaker)
iii) Another set of AMP.... (1x or 2x of amp is better, any recommendation?

but I am not familiar over the difference between all these models.....
I want clear midrange and also want soft type of bass...
not those hard type
cause I don't blast techno, I listen to songs such as those Metals.. by Metallica, Cradle of Filth...

So SQ and Bass also must be balance....

Any recommendation
My budget is around RM2000 but if it exceeds the amount a little bit also nevermind... or anyone has a cheaper option but also good 1?

One last question is that those cheap speakers Selling here in the forum.. is it really worth buying? I am just afraid it's fake... (no offend to the seller.. sorry anyway)

Please advice... Thank You

This post has been edited by Dani1010: Aug 6 2005, 09:50 PM
TSDani1010
post Sep 11 2005, 03:32 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Aug 9 2005, 11:08 AM)
u listen to metal and u dont wan boom boom...u want soft type of bass...

dude...i listen to the same exact thing u do. metallica (gods notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif), cradle of filth, devildriver, all those metal songs.... n trust me....u WANT the boom boom when ur blasting. soft type of bass just doesnt do it la... i tried before. n listening to metal n dont blast means better listen to michael learns to rock where hes still learning how to rock....sudah how many years oso still havent passed yet...hehhhhehe

anyway....since u already have the front comps and the player.... i would suggest the following for you...

1/ comp sets for the rear
2/ 12" woofer
3/ 2x 2 channel amps
4/ x-over/ preamp if your player has only 1 pair preout

DO NOT GET 6x9...itll spoil the bass coming from ur woofer.. they are only to be used when no woofer is in the setup.

setup....

use 1x2 channel for the front comps and the other 2 channel bridged for the woofer. rear comps run directly from player. good enough for rear fills. this setup would give u good sound staging..and itll also be easier to setup the staging.

alternatively....u could run the front and woofer off a 4 channel amp. but have to make sure its a good strong one...

i did that and i ended up buying a monoblock because during high bass/loud sections of a song it tends to die due to lack of power.

hope this helps...n i think 2k is a rather ok budget. might be able to fit in all those depending on what brand u buy.

good luck and keep us updated when ur done....
i think u kinda know my taste now... thumbup.gif
so you think Mohawk 12' orange suits me more or Kicker Comp 12" ???

and what amp should i pair with to suit my sub woofer.... if AMP and subwoofer around 1k... what can i get?
can u please suggest the brand and the models?
10s alot ya
TSDani1010
post Sep 11 2005, 03:40 AM

48 posts

and also if i fix another rear component set.. should i go back on my kicker ex6.2 or got any other component sets to recommend?

TSDani1010
post Sep 11 2005, 10:55 AM

48 posts

actually i dunno.. as this is a gift from my relative for my b'day present.. smile.gif
i have decided i won't go for 6x9 3 way oredi... but if i add another component set behind
what will it be? have to go back kicker or can try another brand/models?
TSDani1010
post Sep 11 2005, 07:26 PM

48 posts

madman... thanks for the info i will try to get the JBL guy.. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(soulfly @ Sep 11 2005, 06:57 PM)
metal should have SQ also... if not how to listen to 'discreet' guitar effects and  the high pitch screaming by the vocalist laugh.gif
soulfly is right
sound clarity is very important in metal... actually metal not say is SPL or either SQ but to me it has a balance of both smile.gif
TSDani1010
post Sep 11 2005, 07:51 PM

48 posts

wanna ask
this 2 Kicker Comp 12" Sub got difference ar? which is better?

user posted imageuser posted image
TSDani1010
post Sep 12 2005, 01:48 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 12 2005, 12:49 AM)
@ingjoo
imagine ur at a concert.....ur facing the stage....the sound will be coming from your front right? when u go to a concert of course u wanna face the stage....u dont want the stage to be behind you where the sound will be coming from behind....

same thing goes for car audio.... u want the sound to come from the front. installing the rear speakers to an amp will make the speakers volume either equal/louder/less than the front depending on ur tuning. less is of course better as the rear speakers wont overpower the front in terms of volume.

but louder is a definite no no... coz when u drive ull be hearing most of the sound from the back....especially when the vocals kick in.

equal volume will get u confused....like me tongue.gif sometimes it comes from the front...sometimes it comes from the back....sometimes its all around...depending on the section of the song. the same effect can happen when you rear is just slightly louder than your front....

alot of people tend to disconnect the rear speakers entirely just for the sake of staging. but connecting the rear directly to the player instead of the amp will almost guarantee proper staging and provide the rear passengers with something to listen to other than the boom boom boooooooooommmm from the woofer.

hope that helps

EDIT: just to add another benefit to NOT connecting the rears to an amp.... lesser power consumption lor biggrin.gif hehehe
great explanation here.. certainly it helps alot of ppl here.. smile.gif

btw, if i buy amp + sub.... cable have to buy differently right? may i know how much will a cable cost? from normal cable's ---> good cable's price?
TSDani1010
post Sep 13 2005, 02:48 PM

48 posts

any comments regarding about Helix Deep Blue 12" vs Kicker CompVR ???
TSDani1010
post Sep 13 2005, 09:02 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Sep 13 2005, 04:56 PM)
both is good sub...
but which 1 is bitter ?

such as maybe CompVR is good in blasting techno but not song listening while Heliz is vice versa???

TSDani1010
post Sep 14 2005, 05:50 AM

48 posts

Fusion.. so Kicker CVR is good in blasting songs like Metal (like what MadMan listens to)... cause MadMan and I do listen to the same type of songs..
TSDani1010
post Sep 15 2005, 08:34 AM

48 posts

I think Kicker CVR should be my only choice now.. smile.gif
TSDani1010
post Sep 16 2005, 04:28 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 16 2005, 02:03 PM)
i think ill probably go the same way as u dude.... u got lubang? how much is the woofer actually? u know the price ah?

I pm-ed Yohannes... His price is RM580... deposit RM80

Kicker Comp is RM330
TSDani1010
post Sep 16 2005, 10:06 PM

48 posts

his set is a new 1
i think he means the 2005 model oredi
TSDani1010
post Sep 20 2005, 09:58 AM

48 posts

omg.. the person selling JBP BP600.1 in lelong no longer there liao cry.gif
http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/DetailSa...oductID=2058586
TSDani1010
post Sep 21 2005, 02:58 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Sep 20 2005, 01:54 PM)
u can try at zth
quite a number of ppl letting go 600.1 there
expensive lor
one forumer offers rm850 for 2nd hand 1
sweat.gif

may i know the new market price for this amp costs how much?

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 20 2005, 06:54 PM)
thats why la bro.. u should have taken down his number when u went to the site.....hehhee

lucky for u i went browsing my phone book and i havent deleted his number yet tongue.gif

016-641 4433 his name is michael. this is the same dude i bought my bp600.1 from.

good luck
thanks dude..

TSDani1010
post Sep 21 2005, 04:20 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Sep 21 2005, 03:46 PM)
haha
means u're late lo
got someone selling a new unit @ RM600 nia
wah
who?
can pm me????

TSDani1010
post Sep 24 2005, 02:23 AM

48 posts

i still kenot get a pair of good amp for my sub....

i heard some bad feedback about 600.1
aiiiiii blur sad.gif
TSDani1010
post Sep 25 2005, 03:21 AM

48 posts

u mean the jbp bp600.1 ?

how about this monoblock???

Check this link

post merge @ scotty