125 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Bottom

Need recommendation/advise for my caraudio system, pls use this thread in the future

b16a
post Jun 14 2009, 02:06 AM

755 posts

thanks mate for d explanation...im into sq..(i really hate spl that wake up d neigbour at night)..
yup,between dls,hifonic and pioneer(gm series)..dls is d highest price..out of my budget rm1.5k...sigh...(thinking of adjusting my budget more further)

i like SQ..(dont really like to show off and im quite old to go boom bang around town tellin ppl that ive arrived..i like to hear d sq for my self within d ppl inside my car window closed)

ok..i got a question about SQ subs...wat are d characteristic of a SQ SUB?
from what i read..get a sealed enclosure..avoid ported one..
my soon will b sub is tswx301
1.95db
2.20-400hz
3.PORTED enclosure
4.800 max 150rms(will b powered from a bridged 4ch 150rms@4ohm amp)
5.12"
what do u think this sub will sound like?deep or 'BISING" one?

ive got a phillips 6" ported sub 150rms,90db(home theater set) at home..bass is quite good..really into my liking..i can only compare to that..

aint get any friend yet near my place for me to compare bass sound..most shop also are more into SPL(louder d better)..
what i can do now is only read..tigh bass,deep bass,techno type bass,metal music bass...but i really gotta feel d bass for maself someday wiout being poison of breaking d bank of course...
listen to almost all kind of music...
my phillips really can serve me well from metallica to siti nurhaliza..hehehe

for SQ...what matters? size of sub? rms of sub?number of sub?monobloc powered sub?db n frequency range of sub?

please gimme a solution...for value for money sub to a newbie in ice wif untrained ears ppl like me...(cheapskate wer it matters,breaking a bank only when nessacary)....really cant afford ''wealth sound" that i dunno how to enjoy it
ckmoy007
post Jun 14 2009, 02:36 AM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

i guess u r quite new in the ICE scene. smile.gif everyone was a newbie at a point of their life here. so, wat u need to do is expose urself more, read more and frequent more forums, local and overseas.
ok, back to ur question, ur sub to be, for sure it dun look like the bising type. but the it's the ported enclosure dat makes me worry, cos ported box are tuned to give a boost at a certain frequency, thus when u listen to songs, u may experience boomy bass with this, not loud but boomy. some may like it, some may not, for SQ, wat we wan is linear frequency response. for some characteristics of SQ bass, u can search for Peerless XXLS, SEAS SW300, Rainbow Profi or Vanadium and so on. u can compare them to roughly understand the specs of SQ subs.
SQ sub, wat matters? transparency, speed and the ability to play 20-200Hz well. RMS value doesn't matter much if u r into SQ, u just need to match a SQ sub with an amp with gud control and u r gud to go. but to achieve wat i'm talking here might cost u quite a big sum.
b16a
post Jun 14 2009, 01:47 PM

755 posts

what are d price range of d peerless,seas,rainbow or vanadium?(these models are entrylevel or high end)

yup..now i can picture a bit ported enclosure character...(based on my hts).. some part of d song..hip hop genre to b exact..d bass is so boomy... but yet the vocal part still can hear it clearly..if in that case i think..SQ with a bit SPL mix..i think still ok wif me..
wat matter most i hope my sub wont sound from d back(because sub located at d trunk).. hope d installer know wat he is doin n tune it well..

This post has been edited by b16a: Jun 14 2009, 01:50 PM
ckmoy007
post Jun 14 2009, 03:47 PM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

these subs if based on price is high end, these are so called SQ subs, whose job is to reproduce the given frequencies accurately with speed, control and transparency. these subs usually cost around rm1-2k. i'm not so sure about entry lvl SQ subs, neva done any research on that. u can alwez google these stuffs to know more about the selling price, reviews and specs.
sound coming from the front depends on the tuner's capability and transparency of the sub itself.
zennn
post Jun 14 2009, 11:18 PM

QUOTE(b16a @ Jun 14 2009, 12:24 AM)

-----hope sifus can explain this...izit true?(heard from a high end ice shop here in penang)

japs ice product cant compete wif american/european?

ahhhhhhhhh...if true...such a waste for me buying pioneer over dls n hifonics.....
its so hard here to audition n compare between product here in penang...
try to join the penang sq tt, then u can learn from them a lot more than what u can read online.

join the autoworld forum ice section i think theres a thread for penang icers, or u can start a thread of your own and u can call for a tt yourself.
b16a
post Jun 14 2009, 11:50 PM

755 posts

will do.. smile.gif hope to compare n learn from d sifus in reality..here..i can only "hear" d sound wif my eyes..hehehe

hook on ice lah pula...

thanks mate..
Ah_Chuan
post Jun 16 2009, 09:05 PM

129 posts

hi to all the sifus here. i m a total noob in ICE.
wana ask u guys sifus about which brand to recomment if i wana get a 12' woofer?
my budget is rm800 include amp.
wat u guys think of Mohawk?
cuz there is a shop i knw selling 1 set mohawk with 2 12' woofer and 4000/6000 watt amp i 4get d.
wats ur opinion?
any suggestion?
zennn
post Jun 17 2009, 12:57 AM

cap ayam......

save up bit more money make your purchase worthwhile and long term....

This post has been edited by zennn: Jun 17 2009, 12:58 AM
ckmoy007
post Jun 17 2009, 01:12 AM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

mostly those ppl who asked in this way have already decided to buy that stuff, they just need someone to back them up. tongue.gif
zennn
post Jun 17 2009, 01:17 PM

after this we kutuk them kaw-kaw hehe, make them regret hehehehe...
Ah_Chuan
post Jun 18 2009, 11:20 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ Jun 17 2009, 01:12 AM)
mostly those ppl who asked in this way have already decided to buy that stuff, they just need someone to back them up. tongue.gif
lol.. i still in my search lah...
dun kutuk me lah, i need advice advise jz come here and ask u guys mah...
normally wat budget to get a so called not "cap ayam" set?
wat brand u will recomment? JBL is ok onot?
ckmoy007
post Jun 18 2009, 11:38 AM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

for me i think JBL is ok for entry lvl. zennn thinks it's 'Jangan Beli Lagi' for SQ application. hehe. depending on ur budget, u might get something better if u dun mind 2nd hand stuffs. the rest of the system still stock standard? to be honest, rm800 for amp & sub is quite tight if u wanna get branded stuffs. zenn might have a solution for u, he got banyak lubang for stuffs. brows.gif
Ah_Chuan
post Jun 18 2009, 11:54 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ Jun 18 2009, 11:38 AM)
for me i think JBL is ok for entry lvl. zennn thinks it's 'Jangan Beli Lagi' for SQ application. hehe. depending on ur budget, u might get something better if u dun mind 2nd hand stuffs. the rest of the system still stock standard? to be honest, rm800 for amp & sub is quite tight if u wanna get branded stuffs. zenn might have a solution for u, he got banyak lubang for stuffs. brows.gif
ic... act i dun mind 2nd hand stuff. as long as in good condition.
hehe, seems like i have to notworthy.gif zenn for helping me up! haha...

This post has been edited by Ah_Chuan: Jun 18 2009, 12:15 PM
b16a
post Jun 18 2009, 01:54 PM

755 posts

ah chuan.. ure in my situation one week ago..hehehe

mine is quite limited budget also..but i managed to save more just to skip from cap ayam"territory price range) stuff..

rm1100 for amp n sub..to b frank i got a lil bit regret also...just a bit lah,not much..

so, my advise to u..get a reputable ICE brand..middle end wud b good,eventhough its a 2nd hand...2nd reliablity is well..depend own ur luck also lah..

im trapped wif a entry level branded...so my conclusion for d time being..
avoid cap ayam
avoid entry level commercial brand(sometimes its expensive bcouz of d brand name..,maybe at a time some cap ayam can beat its quality)
go for branded "ice" product..not jack of all trade electronic branded product such as....ehem ehem(coudnt type)..hehehe
middle end n high end i dunno lah..maybe next time ...wanna enjoy my entry level 1st..

ps/ im not a sifu..just sharing wat ive been thru only..feel free to comment
Ah_Chuan
post Jun 18 2009, 06:26 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(b16a @ Jun 18 2009, 01:54 PM)
ah chuan.. ure in my situation one week ago..hehehe

mine is quite limited budget also..but i managed to save more just to skip from cap ayam"territory price range) stuff..

rm1100 for amp n sub..to b frank i got a lil bit regret also...just a bit lah,not much..

so, my advise to u..get a reputable ICE brand..middle end wud b good,eventhough its a 2nd hand...2nd reliablity is well..depend own ur luck also lah..

im trapped wif a entry level branded...so my conclusion for d time being..
avoid cap ayam
avoid entry level commercial brand(sometimes its expensive bcouz of d brand name..,maybe at a time some cap ayam can beat its quality)
go for branded "ice" product..not jack of all trade electronic branded product such as....ehem ehem(coudnt type)..hehehe
middle end n high end i dunno lah..maybe next time ...wanna enjoy my entry level 1st..
ps/ im not a sifu..just sharing wat ive been thru only..feel free to comment
ic, thanks for your advice. mayb u can recomment some brand for me to choose?
ok, let say if i increase my budget to rm1000-1500. cuz now i still ganbate in the budget. if hv a target then more easy for me to set a goal. hehe...
ckmoy007
post Jun 18 2009, 06:52 PM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

for rm1500 i can offer u a set of Boston Acoustics SL60 (component set) and Absolute 4 channel amp(4x100w rms). both used. both are american brand. at least u will have a mid end sound. smile.gif
b16a
post Jun 19 2009, 01:19 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(Ah_Chuan @ Jun 18 2009, 06:26 PM)
ic, thanks for your advice. mayb u can recomment some brand for me to choose?
ok, let say if i increase my budget to rm1000-1500. cuz now i still ganbate in the budget. if hv a target then more easy for me to set a goal. hehe...
hehehee, im a newbie so cant suggest u antyhing yet..still researcin..i think ckmooy007 stuff is quite good and d price is reasonable to..
but dont forget to jack up ur budget a bit..for good quality cable n good workmanship of installing it..

maybe u can view this topic wat brand u sud choose ."worst and best car audio brand"(http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/832695)

well as a newbie wif in ICE...we always comes into dilemma between two..
1.want it fast,want it now..wif a limited budget even cap ayam will do
2.got some patience doin it slowly bit by bit(hu,comp,amp,sub,mono,etc)

if ur ears can stand SQ from cheap non branded product in years to come i think its ok to stick to number1..if not,then its a waste because u will replace it all over again..

i fall wif number 1(amp n sub) and 2(hu n comp)....hehehe..just managed to skip cap ayam only..but in d end reached my rm1.5k budget oredy including instalation..now thinkin of addin mono to my setup..

This post has been edited by b16a: Jun 19 2009, 01:33 AM
zennn
post Jun 19 2009, 04:27 PM

focal sub with box and nakamichi amp, can give u for Rm1500
or u can mix and match any sub and amp in my list:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry24615781
ckmoy007
post Jun 19 2009, 05:25 PM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

now dats much better than mohawks... biggrin.gif
Ah_Chuan
post Jun 20 2009, 06:09 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(zennn @ Jun 19 2009, 04:27 PM)
focal sub with box and nakamichi amp, can give u for Rm1500
or u can mix and match any sub and amp in my list:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry24615781
ok, i will try to contact u guys again if i go to KL. pls pm me ur contact number ya. thanks.
same with ckmoy007

125 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:00 PM