125 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Need recommendation/advise for my caraudio system, pls use this thread in the future

TSDani1010
post Aug 6 2005, 09:48 PM, updated 21y ago

48 posts

Dear forumers,

I am planning to upgrade my car audio system

Currently...
I am using a Pioneer DEH-P5650MP.... and just have my front component installed... using Kicker's components set...
the pic is below

So now I am planning to add
i) 1x 12inches Subwoofer.. (preferably Kicker Comp / ES... or maybe Mohawk's)
ii) Rear speaker (confuse over whether to add another component set behind or juz a 6x9 3 way speaker)
iii) Another set of AMP.... (1x or 2x of amp is better, any recommendation?

but I am not familiar over the difference between all these models.....
I want clear midrange and also want soft type of bass...
not those hard type
cause I don't blast techno, I listen to songs such as those Metals.. by Metallica, Cradle of Filth...

So SQ and Bass also must be balance....

Any recommendation
My budget is around RM2000 but if it exceeds the amount a little bit also nevermind... or anyone has a cheaper option but also good 1?

One last question is that those cheap speakers Selling here in the forum.. is it really worth buying? I am just afraid it's fake... (no offend to the seller.. sorry anyway)

Please advice... Thank You

This post has been edited by Dani1010: Aug 6 2005, 09:50 PM
ahchun
post Aug 7 2005, 12:16 PM

MiddleAge
1,146 posts

hi,
sorry wanna ask sumthin quick. how much u got the kicker compset?
PrinceHamsap
post Aug 8 2005, 11:56 PM

Legendary
1,637 posts

u can buy my Infinity Beta 10"x2 laugh.gif for SQ
or u can get a 12" Kicker C12 for SQ purpose brows.gif
mADmAN
post Aug 9 2005, 11:08 AM

10,530 posts

u listen to metal and u dont wan boom boom...u want soft type of bass...

dude...i listen to the same exact thing u do. metallica (gods notworthy.gif notworthy.gif), cradle of filth, devildriver, all those metal songs.... n trust me....u WANT the boom boom when ur blasting. soft type of bass just doesnt do it la... i tried before. n listening to metal n dont blast means better listen to michael learns to rock where hes still learning how to rock....sudah how many years oso still havent passed yet...hehhhhehe

anyway....since u already have the front comps and the player.... i would suggest the following for you...

1/ comp sets for the rear
2/ 12" woofer
3/ 2x 2 channel amps
4/ x-over/ preamp if your player has only 1 pair preout

DO NOT GET 6x9...itll spoil the bass coming from ur woofer.. they are only to be used when no woofer is in the setup.

setup....

use 1x2 channel for the front comps and the other 2 channel bridged for the woofer. rear comps run directly from player. good enough for rear fills. this setup would give u good sound staging..and itll also be easier to setup the staging.

alternatively....u could run the front and woofer off a 4 channel amp. but have to make sure its a good strong one...

i did that and i ended up buying a monoblock because during high bass/loud sections of a song it tends to die due to lack of power.

hope this helps...n i think 2k is a rather ok budget. might be able to fit in all those depending on what brand u buy.

good luck and keep us updated when ur done....
supadupa
post Aug 10 2005, 05:09 PM

beer beer !!!
839 posts

kicker for SQ? i tot kicker is for SPL?
TSDani1010
post Sep 11 2005, 03:32 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Aug 9 2005, 11:08 AM)
u listen to metal and u dont wan boom boom...u want soft type of bass...

dude...i listen to the same exact thing u do. metallica (gods notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif), cradle of filth, devildriver, all those metal songs.... n trust me....u WANT the boom boom when ur blasting. soft type of bass just doesnt do it la... i tried before. n listening to metal n dont blast means better listen to michael learns to rock where hes still learning how to rock....sudah how many years oso still havent passed yet...hehhhhehe

anyway....since u already have the front comps and the player.... i would suggest the following for you...

1/ comp sets for the rear
2/ 12" woofer
3/ 2x 2 channel amps
4/ x-over/ preamp if your player has only 1 pair preout

DO NOT GET 6x9...itll spoil the bass coming from ur woofer.. they are only to be used when no woofer is in the setup.

setup....

use 1x2 channel for the front comps and the other 2 channel bridged for the woofer. rear comps run directly from player. good enough for rear fills. this setup would give u good sound staging..and itll also be easier to setup the staging.

alternatively....u could run the front and woofer off a 4 channel amp. but have to make sure its a good strong one...

i did that and i ended up buying a monoblock because during high bass/loud sections of a song it tends to die due to lack of power.

hope this helps...n i think 2k is a rather ok budget. might be able to fit in all those depending on what brand u buy.

good luck and keep us updated when ur done....
i think u kinda know my taste now... thumbup.gif
so you think Mohawk 12' orange suits me more or Kicker Comp 12" ???

and what amp should i pair with to suit my sub woofer.... if AMP and subwoofer around 1k... what can i get?
can u please suggest the brand and the models?
10s alot ya
TSDani1010
post Sep 11 2005, 03:40 AM

48 posts

and also if i fix another rear component set.. should i go back on my kicker ex6.2 or got any other component sets to recommend?

ingjoo
post Sep 11 2005, 10:27 AM

640 posts

get kicker is better with Comp .... like that all is brand kicker mah...

by the way, mind if i ask how much you bought the kicker ex6.2 last time???

really dont go for 6x9 for rear.... last time i try ... sound like sh*t haihz.. then change a comp set in
TSDani1010
post Sep 11 2005, 10:55 AM

48 posts

actually i dunno.. as this is a gift from my relative for my b'day present.. smile.gif
i have decided i won't go for 6x9 3 way oredi... but if i add another component set behind
what will it be? have to go back kicker or can try another brand/models?
soulfly
post Sep 11 2005, 01:59 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

For SQ, I would rather leave the rear section without any speakers. You're not watching a movie where surround sound is important right?

But if you're thinking of pleasing the rear passengers also, a pair of 2-way or 3-way coaxial is enough, but make sure they don't distract the sound from the front.

We have the same taste of music, mainly metal.

For rear subs, a 10" is sufficient enough. Regarding soft or hard bass pounding, it depends on how you tune the sound too. I set my rear amps level control to lower range so the bass sounded soft a bit.
phunkydude
post Sep 11 2005, 02:06 PM

2,402 posts

12" woofer tends to get a longer bass...
which gives u more oommhhpppss~~~~
mADmAN
post Sep 11 2005, 04:43 PM

10,530 posts

soulfly..... metal aint an SQ setup ler.... its more to SPL.... but if u can get good SPL with good SQ then notworthy.gif

@Dani
1k for amp and woofer? well... u could try getting the JBL BP600.1 monoblock. i managed to get a brand new set from someone who imports it in from SG. found the feller online on lelong.

http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/DetailSa...oductID=2058586

this amp is good.... managed to pecah the bauschmann woofer in my sig in less than a month....hehehehhe.

as for the woofer....i cant comment on the mohawk or the kicker since ive never heard them before...but i kinda like the bass produced from the American Autocraft 12" woofers when i was using them before... for myself....trying to find the time to go hunting for an Adire Brahma 12" woofer brows.gif (PS - anyone know where to find the Adire Brahma 12" in PJ? n wat kinda price tag it has?) ...if cannot find the brahma then dunno which one to go for sad.gif

setup wise....i recommend this...

front 2 channel amp connected to front comps.
bp600.1 - for subwoofer (duh! tongue.gif)
rear speakers - get good 2-way coaxial speakers and connect directly to the player.... this is so it wont damage your sound staging.

eerr....same way i suggested earlier lah! hehehhe

good luck n as i said earlier....let us know how it goes....

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Sep 11 2005, 04:51 PM
soulfly
post Sep 11 2005, 06:57 PM

15,903 posts

metal should have SQ also... if not how to listen to 'discreet' guitar effects and the high pitch screaming by the vocalist laugh.gif
TSDani1010
post Sep 11 2005, 07:26 PM

48 posts

madman... thanks for the info i will try to get the JBL guy.. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(soulfly @ Sep 11 2005, 06:57 PM)
metal should have SQ also... if not how to listen to 'discreet' guitar effects and  the high pitch screaming by the vocalist laugh.gif
soulfly is right
sound clarity is very important in metal... actually metal not say is SPL or either SQ but to me it has a balance of both smile.gif
soulfly
post Sep 11 2005, 07:29 PM

15,903 posts

mADmAN,

any idea how to install component set midbass into my EF hatch door? should I take off the door cover first to allow the cable go through the 'proper' route?

Coz I was thinking of installing one myself blush.gif
TSDani1010
post Sep 11 2005, 07:51 PM

48 posts

wanna ask
this 2 Kicker Comp 12" Sub got difference ar? which is better?

user posted imageuser posted image
mADmAN
post Sep 11 2005, 10:41 PM

10,530 posts

soulfly.....for my ex-EF i took out the entire door panel and installed my 6 1/2" comps... u running on EF9 door panels or EF3? mine i think was the suede door panels from a CRX EF8

be careful about the magnets though....you might have to put some sort of 'washer' for the speaker screws to avoid the magnet hitting the glass (depending on the size of your magnets la)....i did mine using cut outs from carton boxes....looked fugly as hell without the door panels biggrin.gif

oh and the standard holes might not be fit with the comps as well....prepare some self tapping screws and a cordless drill

@Dani1010
a forumer PMed me regarding this sub a few days ago...saying he has a friend in cheras who wants to sell it....according to him this is a superb SPL sub...im actually interested in it...but i gotta go back to my installer and see what can be done regarding my woofer first....less than one month pecah liao so should still have warranty. dont wanna go wasting money just like that *sigh*. btw, ive never heard this sub before so i cant comment on it....looks nice though biggrin.gif

EDIT: and yeah...i totally agree with the SP and SPL balance in metal music....i think it happens to be one of the hardest kinda music to tune nicely.... with my old setup in the EF i was constantly fiddling around with the preamp as diff songs has diff settings

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Sep 11 2005, 10:42 PM
ingjoo
post Sep 11 2005, 11:45 PM

640 posts

front 2 channel amp connected to front comps.
bp600.1 - for subwoofer (duh! )
rear speakers - get good 2-way coaxial speakers and connect directly to the player.... this is so it wont damage your sound staging.

madman, why dont also connect the rear speakers to the amp ??
sorry..but can you explain more about sound staging?? kinda interested with this one ...
mADmAN
post Sep 12 2005, 12:49 AM

10,530 posts

@ingjoo
imagine ur at a concert.....ur facing the stage....the sound will be coming from your front right? when u go to a concert of course u wanna face the stage....u dont want the stage to be behind you where the sound will be coming from behind....

same thing goes for car audio.... u want the sound to come from the front. installing the rear speakers to an amp will make the speakers volume either equal/louder/less than the front depending on ur tuning. less is of course better as the rear speakers wont overpower the front in terms of volume.

but louder is a definite no no... coz when u drive ull be hearing most of the sound from the back....especially when the vocals kick in.

equal volume will get u confused....like me tongue.gif sometimes it comes from the front...sometimes it comes from the back....sometimes its all around...depending on the section of the song. the same effect can happen when you rear is just slightly louder than your front....

alot of people tend to disconnect the rear speakers entirely just for the sake of staging. but connecting the rear directly to the player instead of the amp will almost guarantee proper staging and provide the rear passengers with something to listen to other than the boom boom boooooooooommmm from the woofer.

hope that helps

EDIT: just to add another benefit to NOT connecting the rears to an amp.... lesser power consumption lor biggrin.gif hehehe

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Sep 12 2005, 12:51 AM
TSDani1010
post Sep 12 2005, 01:48 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 12 2005, 12:49 AM)
@ingjoo
imagine ur at a concert.....ur facing the stage....the sound will be coming from your front right? when u go to a concert of course u wanna face the stage....u dont want the stage to be behind you where the sound will be coming from behind....

same thing goes for car audio.... u want the sound to come from the front. installing the rear speakers to an amp will make the speakers volume either equal/louder/less than the front depending on ur tuning. less is of course better as the rear speakers wont overpower the front in terms of volume.

but louder is a definite no no... coz when u drive ull be hearing most of the sound from the back....especially when the vocals kick in.

equal volume will get u confused....like me tongue.gif sometimes it comes from the front...sometimes it comes from the back....sometimes its all around...depending on the section of the song. the same effect can happen when you rear is just slightly louder than your front....

alot of people tend to disconnect the rear speakers entirely just for the sake of staging. but connecting the rear directly to the player instead of the amp will almost guarantee proper staging and provide the rear passengers with something to listen to other than the boom boom boooooooooommmm from the woofer.

hope that helps

EDIT: just to add another benefit to NOT connecting the rears to an amp.... lesser power consumption lor biggrin.gif hehehe
great explanation here.. certainly it helps alot of ppl here.. smile.gif

btw, if i buy amp + sub.... cable have to buy differently right? may i know how much will a cable cost? from normal cable's ---> good cable's price?

125 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0188sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:44 PM