Blooop bloop bloop
2,796 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Apr 11 2023, 11:26 AM)
Credit Card- OCBC 365 Mastercard
Debit Card- Standard Chartered Jumpstart Mastercard/RHB Multi Currency Visa
Prepaid Card- Wise Visa

Among all these, my absolute favourite is SCB Jumpstart as it has absolutely zero markup from Mastercard rate and free withdrawal for foreign cash outside of Malaysia. I find this to give the best rate.

RHB Multi Currency is good too, better rate than even Wise. It is just that you need to convert MYR to foreign currency beforehand to make it worthwhile. Transactions in 16 foreign currencies have zero fees, but if you have insufficient balance in foreign currencies, it will deduct Ringgit balance and attract 1% fee.

SCB Jumpstart no need to convert anything, zero fee, it will deduct the ringgit balance at the exact mastercard exchange rate at that time.
May I know which countries you've withdraw cash out from your Jumpstart card before?

There was some fees at the ATM when withdrawing in Thailand. According to SCB, the SCB side of fees are waived but not the local banks fees. Has this been your experience as well?
Mr Gray
post Jun 15 2023, 02:31 PM

924 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 15 2023, 11:59 AM)
May I know which countries you've withdraw cash out from your Jumpstart card before?

There was some fees at the ATM when withdrawing in Thailand. According to SCB, the SCB side of fees are waived but not the local banks fees. Has this been your experience as well?
UK, Singapore, Indonesia. No fees

For Thailand I think, most atm still charge fees, regardless of whatever card that you use.
Ramjade
post Jun 27 2023, 02:08 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Apr 11 2023, 11:26 AM)
Credit Card- OCBC 365 Mastercard
Debit Card- Standard Chartered Jumpstart Mastercard/RHB Multi Currency Visa
Prepaid Card- Wise Visa

Among all these, my absolute favourite is SCB Jumpstart as it has absolutely zero markup from Mastercard rate and free withdrawal for foreign cash outside of Malaysia. I find this to give the best rate.

RHB Multi Currency is good too, better rate than even Wise. It is just that you need to convert MYR to foreign currency beforehand to make it worthwhile. Transactions in 16 foreign currencies have zero fees, but if you have insufficient balance in foreign currencies, it will deduct Ringgit balance and attract 1% fee.

SCB Jumpstart no need to convert anything, zero fee, it will deduct the ringgit balance at the exact mastercard exchange rate at that time.
So SCB jumpstart debit card > Bigpay and Tng?
Mr Gray
post Jun 27 2023, 06:59 AM

924 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 27 2023, 02:08 AM)
So SCB jumpstart debit card > Bigpay and Tng?
In my experience, yes
joice11
post Jun 27 2023, 10:15 AM

863 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Jun 15 2023, 02:31 PM)
UK, Singapore, Indonesia. No fees

For Thailand I think, most atm still charge fees, regardless of whatever card that you use.
oh, how about japan? going to japan next month
Ramjade
post Jun 27 2023, 02:49 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Jun 27 2023, 06:59 AM)
In my experience, yes
cenkudu
post Jun 29 2023, 11:03 PM

1,206 posts

Bank Rakyat also has 0% overseas markup. Anyone has used them?
Sherman Kong
post Jul 1 2023, 11:35 PM

164 posts

Can't figure out what's the difference between these 2, rates are different. It mentioned "*ONLY APPLICABLE FOR Multi Currency Account/-i DEBIT CARD HOLDER", still dk what it means huh.gif .Anyone care to explain?

Steve78
post Jul 2 2023, 12:07 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(Sherman Kong @ Jul 1 2023, 11:35 PM)
Can't figure out what's the difference between these 2, rates are different. It mentioned "*ONLY APPLICABLE FOR Multi Currency Account/-i DEBIT CARD HOLDER", still dk what it means huh.gif .Anyone care to explain?

If you're an MCA Debit Card holder, look at the "Multi Currency Account/-i Debit Card Special Counter Rate". This is the rate that applies when I buy and sell.
Sherman Kong
post Jul 2 2023, 01:00 AM

164 posts

QUOTE(Steve78 @ Jul 2 2023, 12:07 AM)
If you're an MCA Debit Card holder, look at the "Multi Currency Account/-i Debit Card Special Counter Rate". This is the rate that applies when I buy and sell.
But isn't it that you open A MCA with them, they automatically give you debit card? How about the left section?
Mr Gray
post Jul 4 2023, 05:22 PM

924 posts

QUOTE(Sherman Kong @ Jul 2 2023, 01:00 AM)
But isn't it that you open A MCA with them, they automatically give you debit card? How about the left section?
Technically you can open a MCA account without a debit card, but I struggle to think why people would opt for that as without debit card, worse rate.

bowranger
post Jul 16 2023, 06:59 PM

137 posts

Ambank so far is 1%. Can update
Mr Gray
post Aug 1 2023, 03:32 PM

924 posts

OCBC 365 is no longer the best credit card for overseas usage. 1% surcharge is applied, starting from 26 August.

The alternative to that is Hong Leong I'm card. Still 0% surcharge

This post has been edited by Mr Gray: Aug 1 2023, 03:35 PM
Steve78
post Aug 1 2023, 04:17 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Aug 1 2023, 03:32 PM)
OCBC 365 is no longer the best credit card for overseas usage. 1% surcharge is applied, starting from 26 August.

In my previous tests a few years ago, the 'I'm Card' did impose a 1% fee, doesn't it now?

This post has been edited by Steve78: Aug 1 2023, 04:19 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 2 2023, 12:35 AM

24,333 posts

Scb jumpstart or Hong Leong better?
Mr Gray

924 posts

QUOTE(Steve78 @ Aug 1 2023, 04:17 PM)
In my previous tests a few years ago, the 'I'm Card' did impose a 1% fee, doesn't it now?

No additional fee for I'm card.

1% visa/MasterCard fee is applicable to all cards, we can't run away from this
Ramjade

24,333 posts

Steve78
post Aug 2 2023, 05:44 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Aug 2 2023, 12:35 AM)

No additional fee for I'm card.

1% visa/MasterCard fee is applicable to all cards, we can't run away from this
In point of fact, I've been consistently receiving a true 0% from Standard Chartered's Jumpstart, which matches the exact numbers provided on the MasterCard official website.
Mr Gray
post Aug 2 2023, 07:02 PM

924 posts

QUOTE(Steve78 @ Aug 2 2023, 05:44 PM)
In point of fact, I've been consistently receiving a true 0% from Standard Chartered's Jumpstart, which matches the exact numbers provided on the MasterCard official website.
Yup for debit card, SCB Jumpstart is my favourite too.
Mr Gray
post Aug 2 2023, 07:03 PM

924 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 2 2023, 12:35 AM)
Probably SCB Jumpstart

104 Pages « < 90 91 92 93 94 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:11 PM