Samsung Galaxy TAB Official Thread V2, Best and most portable 7" Android tablet

laowai
post Apr 21 2011, 01:45 PM

490 posts

Congrats on the 2nd thread.

Keep up the good wonderful work, benny888

laowai
post Apr 28 2011, 10:54 AM

490 posts

Try pressing down finger for few seconds and pop-up menu should appear.

QUOTE(tuo850 @ Apr 28 2011, 03:37 AM)
Bro, how do u select text in browser? It was suppose to have select menu but i couldnt find it.
laowai
post Apr 29 2011, 03:02 PM

490 posts

Xoom officially launched here? Where? How much?

Imo, tab 7" or even 8" has its own niche ... portability.... win win for me rclxms.gif

As for 10", no comments tongue.gif

QUOTE(jhonsonlee @ Apr 29 2011, 12:57 PM)
iPad 2 and Motorola Xoom  is here will you all think Galaxy Tab go down again?
laowai
post May 4 2011, 10:55 AM

490 posts

You can buy the kit if you want to plug memory card to tab. brows.gif

Or maybe bluetooth. brows.gif

Otherwise, it's easy to go thru pc ... both via usb only .. no big deal .... after all, my photos are centrally stored in pc (not tab or other devices) blush.gif

QUOTE(0300078 @ May 4 2011, 10:45 AM)
deng.... seems like there is no way i can transfer my photo frm my Camera to my Tab without going through copy to pc then frm pc copy to Tab.

Added on May 4, 2011, 10:56 am
That's because its not done by samsung rclxms.gif

QUOTE(0300078 @ May 4 2011, 07:47 AM)
Overcome 1.64 is out....... so fast..... this tab is becoming one of those most frequently updated android out there.....

This post has been edited by laowai: May 4 2011, 10:56 AM
laowai
post May 4 2011, 04:04 PM

490 posts

I wonder why you can't review on the camera itself unsure.gif

QUOTE(300078 @ May 4 2011, 03:14 PM)
good choice... welcome to the club

Added on May 4, 2011, 3:21 pm
was thinking i can directly review my picture on the run without going back home open up a PC and read the thing out. Which is the main point for convenient and useful reviewing photos.

Added on May 4, 2011, 4:06 pm
Easy ... get celcom. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(xparoniax @ May 4 2011, 12:03 PM)
seriously guys need ur advise here..please advise me which one is the best if i want to buy SGT and i will use internet for daily use?

i have no issue with contract since i need the internet..the issue is about internet coverage and the price of SGT  laugh.gif ..which one is the best??

1) buy at digi..pay RM 1199 for 12 months contract..im worried about digi coverage for internet usage

2) buy at celcom..pay RM 1118 for 12 months contract..also worried about celcom coverage for internet usage..

3) buy at shop and subscribe to maxis..pay RM 1499 and enjoy maxis line which i believe is the best coverage for internet usage which is i dont know its the fact or rumors only..

please advise guys...thanks
This post has been edited by laowai: May 4 2011, 04:06 PM
laowai
post May 5 2011, 09:49 AM

490 posts

Did you hear of any website that devices cannot open? rclxub.gif

Even mobilephone can open all websites wat.

QUOTE(xparoniax @ May 4 2011, 11:14 PM)
any website can be open in SGT ??

sorry if this is a noob & repeated question but please help me..

thanks sifu !!

Added on May 5, 2011, 9:53 am
Are you speaking from actual experience?

Fyi all professional photographers use their camera screen to review photos. blush.gif

You want to snap one pic, take out card, put into another device, review, take out card, put back into camera and snap pic again? rclxub.gif

QUOTE(0300078 @ May 4 2011, 05:14 PM)
camera screen too small.....when got larger and bigger screen can view on the spot is always better.
This post has been edited by laowai: May 5 2011, 09:53 AM
laowai
post May 6 2011, 09:47 AM

490 posts

Must be video call or ambient light sensors

laowai
post May 10 2011, 09:37 AM

490 posts

That's good info to know.

P1010 cpu not mentioned such in samsung ( http://www.samsung.com/my/consumer/mobile-...=specification# ) ... mentions got gps

But cpu mentioned in P1000 ( http://www.samsung.com/my/consumer/mobile-...b=specification )

QUOTE(benny888 @ May 9 2011, 10:36 PM)
Some points to note for those intending to get the WiFi only version :

-  that 3G isn’t the only thing you give up with this tablet. It appears processing power and Bluetooth connectivity have also been downgraded.

Though both the 3G and Wi-Fi only versions of the Galaxy Tab pack a “1GHz A8 Cortex processor”, the 3G version uses a PowerVR SGX 540 GPU, while Wi-Fi only was downgraded to the 530. In addition Bluetooth is limited to 2.1, not 3.0, which may have foiled one user’s attempt to pair it with a keyboard and mouse.
This post has been edited by laowai: May 10 2011, 09:37 AM
laowai
post May 10 2011, 12:15 PM

490 posts

GST or SGT ? tongue.gif

QUOTE(xparoniax @ May 10 2011, 10:27 AM)
buy at lowyat la

someone in here manage to get GST + gifts with only  rm1450
laowai
post May 11 2011, 09:45 AM

490 posts

So far nobody has virus in this forum afaik.

Even mobilephone apps also got virus, so nothing to be so worried about.

Just make sure your apps are from a reliable source tats all.

As for slowdown, it may be due to some apps running in memory/background... you need STARTUP AUDITOR or AUTOSTARTS kind of apps to kill them from auto start.

QUOTE(burnooz @ May 10 2011, 09:51 PM)
is that true 3rd party apps can causing the hangups?? ohmy.gif right now i also feel my tab quite slow and usually need to force stop.
if we not install antivirus, is that easy to our tab get virus from internet?? sweat.gif
how can we know apps that will affect system files?? different between good and bad apps??
is that enough just refer to other user comment or that apps rating?? icon_question.gif
laowai
post May 11 2011, 09:46 AM

490 posts

You should read the 1st posts of this topic, the discussion between ipad vs SGT is already overkill

QUOTE(digilife @ May 11 2011, 09:12 AM)
notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

Hi SiFu Benny,

i just found your thread

Great Thread

i noticed tat u ditched your Ipad 3G and into the Tab fulltime, wat makes u to do so?

size and weight?

btw, how is this Tab's battery life,

any advice if i wan to buy a used set? price range of a used set now?, the 3G version pls

laowai
post May 11 2011, 02:09 PM

490 posts

BT tech is universal ... any should be compatible.

The question to ask would be which BT headset is cheap and value for money eg. noise cancellation, good battery, long range, etc.

QUOTE(ameeyn @ May 11 2011, 12:30 PM)
wow,so expensive  cry.gif

how about the cheaper models ranging from rm100 - 150?

how do I know that the headset will be compatible with galaxy tab?
laowai
post May 13 2011, 02:37 PM

490 posts

Samsung site specs mentioned got gps

http://www.samsung.com/my/consumer/mobile-...b=specification

QUOTE(TwoJay @ May 13 2011, 11:07 AM)
Hey guys, my mum is about to get a Galaxy Tab. I need some help from you guys within the next 20 mins tongue.gif

Can anyone who owns the WiFi version confirm that there isn't a GPS Chip?
Also, could anyone who tried both the 3G AND WiFi please tell me if there's a major difference in performance? I heard there's a difference, just how much exactly?
laowai
post May 16 2011, 09:59 AM

490 posts

Make sure your earphone jack is plugged in all the way. It needs an extra push to go in entirely.

QUOTE(elea88 @ May 15 2011, 09:43 PM)
I have a new SGT and having same problem... I want to use the SGT as a phone.. but the earphone is not working. even when video or games... i plug in the earphone the device is still in loudspeaker. Somebody please help, advise how to use the earphone...

laowai
post May 24 2011, 10:10 AM

490 posts

It's quite easy actually. Just go to LAN and click SEARCH (no need to set manually or any workgroup etc). It will find whatever shared network/pc automatically. Once found, click on it ... done !

rclxms.gif

QUOTE(waeguk @ May 24 2011, 08:17 AM)
Anyone?
laowai
post May 25 2011, 05:14 PM

490 posts

Anyone knows a file browser that can open all file types or can associate file types with programs (similar to windows explorer)?

Can't seem to open files like cbr, azw, mobi, etc.

Tried using es file explorer, stock explorer, astro file manager .. cant. sad.gif(
laowai
post May 26 2011, 10:02 AM

490 posts

I already have kindle and comic readers installed.

But when opening from explorer, the cbr or mobi files will not associate with those apps. It's not like windows where we can choose file type associations. Think SGT only associate with standard stock app.

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ May 25 2011, 05:21 PM)
CBR is a comic emag/ebook format, no? I'd think that you should first install a CBR reader app on the device before trying to open CBR files, for example?
laowai
post May 27 2011, 02:47 PM

490 posts

Official version via Kies? cool2.gif

QUOTE(mainstream @ May 27 2011, 12:37 PM)
successfulness flash to Gingerbread 2.3.3 rclxms.gif

[attachmentid=2238341]
laowai
post May 30 2011, 11:33 AM

490 posts

Curious why you sold your ipad2 and wanted SGT 10.1 rclxub.gif

Both similar size.

QUOTE(zeok @ May 29 2011, 06:09 PM)
Hey guys..

Please welcome me! Just bought SGT yesterday. A month ago i qeued up at switch mines and got my ipad2,but sold it 2 days ago and buy the SGT( do u think i made a right decision? =p ). At first want to w8 10.1,but didnt know when can i get it either. So guys,sory if i ask noob questions! =p
laowai
post Jun 16 2011, 09:46 AM

490 posts

If relating android to windows OS, it's like installing windows7 on non-dualcore pc.... slow? blush.gif

Or maybe android OS is different from windows OS ... dun require better hardware. blush.gif

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 16 2011, 06:32 AM)
This is my personal assessment about Honeycomb, having used it on my Acer Iconia. I'd say HC is still in its infancy stage and lots need to be done. Other than a revamp UI which looks slicker and slightly bit more user friendly, nothing else impress me. Still love old Froyo anytime.

So guys even the TAB cannot run HC - you will not miss anything. One of the biggest gripe on present HC is market issues - seems to be solved but intermittently access to apps is still limited - dunno why - everyone is blaming Google and Google has acknowledge they are working on it. I guess this is causing all the different results I see every few days.

And HC is said to need dual core chips to work better and have better optimization of apps - so I cannot imagine how the Tab will perform if HC is on it. Having HC on the Tab will probably make you more frustrated. Putting in a turbo charger to an Accord 2.4 will never match a similar spec BMW 523 - theoretically yes but practically the driving experience will be way below expectations

0.0522sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:26 PM