12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

The Official Blu-ray Thread v12, Let's Blu-ray :D

johnbluraylover
post May 19 2011, 09:04 AM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(nazmanson @ May 19 2011, 08:01 AM)
Amazon.com is having a 1 day sale end midnight 19 May (US time) a lot of title $6.00 only.

Now it's time to swipe the card
i just grab 10 titles from the sales, too bad i just bought 5 titles of theses sales title last week, i paid at least U$30 more if i were to buy today.
johnbluraylover
post May 19 2011, 01:11 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(sunnyK @ May 19 2011, 01:01 PM)
bro

what's the latest CC  conversion of GBP and USD to RM . need to consider .thanks
use HSBC for GBP, HSBC also offer better rate for usd than cimb.

Added on May 19, 2011, 1:18 pm
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 19 2011, 11:23 AM)
Same biggrin.gif Me also, just check nothing I want.
hmm.gif is slipcover really that cool? i personnally don't fancy it that much but u guys really crazy about it.

do u guys use any platic/shield to cover/protect your disc? i found the slipcover is really easy to be damaged.

Added on May 19, 2011, 1:31 pmi just received 3 disc yesterday from AMZ UK, all in very good condition & the pic quality is top. I am particular happy with my HIGHLANDER, a cool 1980s movi - there can be only one - good pic & sound quality for 1980s movi. the movi also feature cool song from QUEEN. if u do not care much of nipple cover, this is a very reasonable buy at AMZZ UK, i paid below RM40 included freight.

This post has been edited by johnbluraylover: May 19 2011, 01:31 PM
johnbluraylover
post May 19 2011, 03:22 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 19 2011, 03:58 PM)
No lah, I not that crazy plastic it. I hate plan BD case, it look like naked and the top blue part is damn ugly.

I more fancy on slipcover than steelbook lo....
i do agree the top blu section look bad, actually i prefer the dvd packing.
johnbluraylover
post May 19 2011, 04:06 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 19 2011, 04:34 PM)
Agree! DVD packaging is much more better, don't know whose idea on blu-ray case, so hope all in criterion collection BD case style which is simple and nice.
ya, the standard CRITERION keepcase with booklet is really nice, but also very expensive, 1 CRITERION = 3 normal movi.

by the way, how many CRITERION u snap during the sales? i now got around 20, still got 10 more on the way.
johnbluraylover
post May 19 2011, 09:14 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ May 19 2011, 08:24 PM)
Anyone interested in these 2 new BDs  whistling.gif
dude, my friend lend me 2 hot disc, - bluray penhouse & 1 german striptease (3d), but i got no 3d set up, so no comment.

the best bbd i watched is NURSE drool.gif

Added on May 19, 2011, 9:15 pm
QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ May 19 2011, 07:44 PM)
Off topic,

Congratulations, i believe there's more to come.. brows.gif
Ya, just made my last order, no more. i have spend all my mid year bonus already. total > 20 shipments, around 80 movie this 2 months.

by the way, STEELBOOK LOVER 0 HIGHLANDER - SALES AT AMZ UK

This post has been edited by johnbluraylover: May 19 2011, 09:16 PM
johnbluraylover
post May 19 2011, 09:21 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(wiNd @ May 19 2011, 10:19 PM)
Guys, any1 know where to buy some reasonable priced blurays in seoul, korea? Thx...
wow, our coverage has extended to KOREA
johnbluraylover
post May 20 2011, 07:50 AM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(fx20 @ May 20 2011, 08:31 AM)
A quick question, for those of you who kena Finas, do you pay for the screening fee? I heard it is about RM15 each, right?

Why do we have to pay money to people to watch movies for us?
this is the 1st ime i heard about this screening fee, i guess they worried your disc got "bad" elements. good luck bro.

Added on May 20, 2011, 7:56 am
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 20 2011, 03:16 AM)
I don't think so, if fox no right,  then who got right? This is American Fox drama, and it do release complete in DVD.
better wait for fox future release of complete season, i got LOST S1 TO S5, now they got a cool packing of complete season.

lucky i waited for FREINDS & THE SEIGE completed season (DVD), both in very cool collector's pack & very cheap $ during sales. i am aiming CSI & Sex & city complete season sales.

This post has been edited by johnbluraylover: May 20 2011, 07:56 AM
johnbluraylover
post May 20 2011, 01:05 PM

1,069 posts

just received 2 more package from AMZ UK today, arrived in 8 days, as usuall, everything cool.
johnbluraylover
post May 20 2011, 03:03 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(sunnyK @ May 20 2011, 02:43 PM)
amazon UK is still the place to buy . tempted to try amazon france but postage is far more expensive
some sharing/analysis on the freight cost:

i always chhose the cheapest mode, my ranking as below:

1 - AMZ UK - Cheapest, average GBP1.80/unit for 8 units & above - AMZ UK refund 17% of VAT, if your disc is around GBP10, the VAT refund is good enough to cover your freight. choose the box set, eg. BORNE TRILOGY 3 disc at GBP17, VAT refund is around GBP2.5 & freight is only GBD1.8 for 3 disc, so u actually paid less, usually arrived within 10 days. no custom nor finas

2 - AMZ GERMAN - EURO14/SHIPMENT - so don't just buy 1 or 2 disc, try 7 disc, average EURO2/DISC, usually arrived within 2 weeks. AMZ GERMAN disc $ is cheaper than AMZ France

3 - AMZ US - average U$4.70/disc for 8 disc & above - slow speed if AMZ US use IPARCEL

4 - AMZ CANADA - tricky one, average cost is C$4/disc for 5 disc & above, but if AMZ canada use normal post, the espected delivery time is around 90 days. so far we are lucky to enjoy DHL 1st class by paying normal freight cost, however, we need to visit FINAS if u are in PENANG.

5 - AMZ FRANCE - most expensive - EURO5/disc for 4 disc & above - usually arrived in 2 weeks

after buying from all 5 above, i love UK the most, i believe the package is direct from UK to Penang without going to KL 1st, it saved at least 1 week.

AMZ US is 2nd chooice, original disc packing, good quality, but will wait for sales season. sometimes it took 50 days to arrive

AMZ CANADA is for cool steelbook, same zone a with amz us
AMZ DE is for cool packing,
AMZ France is for some weird/available titles.

u can buy from lowyat garage sales if u always buy in small quantity. the $ is not much dif after u included the freight/risk/time for waiting

johnbluraylover
post May 20 2011, 03:06 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(fufu_80 @ May 20 2011, 04:04 PM)
Hi to all,

I'm a newbie here which haven't try to purchase direct from Amazon US or UK before...

Would want to ask whether i need to pay anymore tax from our custom side if i just purchase 3 to 4 pieces of blu-ray in one shipment?

Thanks....
the malaysia custom rule is "postage below RM500" no tax, so always keep your $/shipment (included freight) under RM500
johnbluraylover
post May 20 2011, 04:27 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ May 20 2011, 04:48 PM)

I d Like to add on d part in bold.. I dont tink u can bypass de main customs entreport in Sepang if u r importin anytin frm abroad by mail..
De reason I believe is becos  there are more direct  flights from UK to KL.. which de cargo 'tompang'..

At least tat was wat I was told by a postal worker..
D
PS.. all de  rest is veri informativ n gud to know..
ya brother, maybe u are right, reason i think UK direct to PG is just my personnel thought. recently, i saw most of my parcel got the stamp "dilepaskan" OLEH KASTUM is the PG stamp, not the KL stamp. my US parcel usually got 2 stamp. anyhow, this is just my personnel opinion.
johnbluraylover
post May 20 2011, 04:29 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 20 2011, 04:36 PM)
Perfect comparison! love it biggrin.gif , due to slow delivery on US, that why I sometimes choose Priority Courier. For UK, DE - no need, just Standard is fine.
speed = $, i used to choose 1st class shipment by DHL, but always kena FINAS, so now stick to normal post.

haha, maybe i ordered to much, i have a calender of when my shipments out & when expected to arrived.

i just bought 120 disc in this 2 months! i am gonna to eat instant noodles like u.
johnbluraylover
post May 20 2011, 04:33 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 20 2011, 05:27 PM)
Got people received - Kubrick Limited Edition Collection already! Wow! I want mine now! Still got at least 2 weeks before it can arrived in my hand!

http://forum.blu-ray.com/blu-ray-movies-no...tml#post4749163
wow, i though it has not been release yet. anyhow, patient my friend. yours is yours.
johnbluraylover
post May 20 2011, 07:51 PM

1,069 posts

nod.gif
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 20 2011, 05:53 PM)
Actually I notice a lot of title is releasing earlier from others shop, but Amazon never release earlier than actual release date.

It look damn nice, no regret getting it smile.gif
u might want to check out criterion release the killing, however is in black & white

i just encountered some very strange thing, i tried to buy some disc from AMZ US, but they claimed the disc are not shipping to my address. i been buying for 4 years, this is the 1st time.
johnbluraylover
post May 20 2011, 08:05 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ May 20 2011, 09:00 PM)
Sometimes it does, i've encountered the same s**t, probably restricted item to be delivered? Nothing to restrict on Blu-ray.
Wonder why hmm.gif
surprisingly i cancel one item of it, now all became available!

i also encountered problems this morning during the $6 sales about to end, lots of titles were still available, but not allowed to my address!
johnbluraylover
post May 21 2011, 01:54 PM

1,069 posts

today received another 4 more package from AMZ UK. total 10 disc.

overall all in very good condition except 1 blucase broken.
AMZ UK bluray case is not available here.

got my 1st purchase from UK ARROW - Release lots of cult 1970s horror euro movi - like US BLUE UNDERGROUND. GOOD PACKING. but pic quality i prefer US BLU UNDERGROUND.
johnbluraylover
post May 22 2011, 04:54 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ May 21 2011, 06:01 PM)
Is Everlasting Moments come without slipcover since initial release in last year?

The copy I received this morning without slipcover.
if i am not mistaken, the CRITERION COLLECTION new packing - in white keepcase - all without slipcover. i order lots of CC initial release, all withot slipcover.

Added on May 22, 2011, 4:57 pm
QUOTE(MoonRider @ May 21 2011, 10:06 PM)
Order few BD ...

now pending one more BD .. war movies ...

any recommendation? below is one of my wish list ..

-black hawk dawn
-saving private ryan

the intention is to test my home theather as well ...  prefer with lots of bang bang boom boom helicopters , tank sound hahahah
I would say get both. tongue.gif

Added on May 22, 2011, 5:00 pm
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 21 2011, 10:53 PM)
Just finish watch White Material - The Criterion Collection edition, half hour ago.

Gorgeous transfer! Just love the great cinematography by Yves Cape. Another masterpiece film by Claire Denis. The film is beautifully lensed and terrifically acted.

Synopsis: This film talk about a woman (act by Isabelle Huppert) that insist and refuse to face the truth, stubborn stay by ignoring what is actually happen outside....

• Movie - 5 Star
  • PQ - 5 Star
  • AQ - 5 Star
  • Extras - 3.5 Star.
The extras is not much, it only cover of:
- 3 Interviews with Director - Claire Denis, Actress - Isabelle Huppert, and also Actor - Isaach de Bankole.
- A deleted scene.
- Short documentary by Claire Denis itself during film's premiere at the 2010 Ecrans Noirs Film Festival in Cameroon where the film itself took place... sadly the premiere is not well success due to technical issue at Cameroon.
- Theatrical Trailer.

Well recommended. 5 star in overall.

** Kindly noted they is a male frontal scene (act by Nicolas Duvauchelle) in this film, no sex, just frontal... beware when watching with kids.
i just cancel my order, male not female? against my principle.

This post has been edited by johnbluraylover: May 22 2011, 05:00 PM
johnbluraylover
post May 22 2011, 05:08 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(MoonRider @ May 22 2011, 06:00 PM)
Tonight want to click - check out adi .. total 100.77 pound including delivery ..  want to hear from you guys ok?

The Dark Knight / Batman Begins (Double Pack) [Blu-ray][Region Free] - Christian Bale
£14.16 - Quantity: 1 - In stock
Condition: New
Sold by: Amazon EU S.a.r.L.
Gift options None

Planet Earth and Life Collection [Blu-ray][Region Free]
£25.39 - Quantity: 1 - In stock
Condition: New (9 disc)
Gift options None

Band Of Brothers: Complete HBO Series (Commemorative 6-Disc Gift Set In Tin Box) [Blu-ray][Region Free] - Ron Livingston
£14.99 - Quantity: 1 - In stock
Condition: New (6 disc)
Gift options None

Michael Jackson's This Is It [Blu-ray] [2010][Region Free] - Michael Jackson
£6.08 - Quantity: 1 - In stock
Gift options None

Casino Royale [Blu-ray] [2007][Region Free] - Judi Dench
£4.58 - Quantity: 1 - In stock
Gift options None

The Police - Certifiable [Blu-Ray + 2cd] - The Police
£14.99 - Quantity: 1 - In stock
Gift options None

Black Hawk down [Blu-ray] [2007][Region Free] - Ewan McGregor
£6.66 - Quantity: 1 - In stock
Gift options None

Items:  £86.85
Postage & Packing:  £13.22

Total before VAT:  £100.07 * 4.9 = RM494
VAT:  £0.00
Order Total: £100.07
Total disc around 22 pieces
u are a bit over RM500, my advise is cancel BATMAN 2 MOVI PACK 1st, wait for sales, $ might at GDP12 b4 VAT
johnbluraylover
post May 22 2011, 09:29 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(nazmanson @ May 22 2011, 08:41 PM)
Me also like Adam Sandler, amazon.com will also be releasing a couple of his older movies, Happy Gilmore & Bulletproof.
Too bad they don't ship to Malaysia

Added on May 22, 2011, 7:47 pmThis week blu ray deal

$17.99

Buy with caution because some/most people complained that the quality is only so-so or equal to DVD only
same here, i like ADAM SANDLER, just received HAPPY GILNORE. on the way - CLICK, 50 FIRST DATE, WEDDING SINGER.

OCEN TRILOGY - i just ordered from UK, like the 1st one very much. $ is reasonable.

Added on May 22, 2011, 9:30 pm
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 22 2011, 08:57 PM)
Lastly, finish watching my last copy of the criterion collection film I own at the moment, Le Cercle Rouge, another Jean-Pierre Melville film.

This is a story about 3 men:

• Corey - act by Alain Delon, an aristocratic thief who has been in prison for five years.

• Vogel - act by Gian Maria Volonte, a dangerous criminal who has been recently captured by the police.

• Jansen - act by Yves Montand, an ex-cop and sharpshooter who is slowly killing himself to death.

The only actress that have a dialog is Rico women, ex women of Corey as well. Beware - she is frontal topless in this film tongue.gif

• Movie - 3.5 Star (For me, it is not as brilliant as user/reviewer give, it just a simple gangster film, as usual slow story movement, His another direct film - Army of Shadows is far far better compare with this)

• PQ - 4 Star (it is clean, clear, the only complain is it slightly ghosting effect in certain area.)

• AQ - 4 Star (No complain on it Monaural track)

• Extra - 3 Star (They is few Archival Footage capture the interview with the director, I hardly finish it, too bored, seeing him talking is same as bored as seeing his direct film.) tongue.gif

• Overall - 3.5 Star

ARMY OF SHADWS considered the director's best movi.

Added on May 22, 2011, 9:32 pm
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 22 2011, 07:07 PM)
It is a great film, you watching film not because of nudity right? Aiyo!

He is naked because he has been gun point on his head by two kids.
female nudity is not a must, but definitely will add lots of point tongue.gif male nudity will cut most of point. laugh.gif

Added on May 22, 2011, 9:35 pmjust revisited ONCE UPON A TIME IN AMERICA last night. love it.

This post has been edited by johnbluraylover: May 22 2011, 09:35 PM
johnbluraylover
post May 22 2011, 10:02 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ May 22 2011, 10:46 PM)
I am considering to pre-order upcoming Criterion Collection, Secret Sunshine.  Seem like interesting and if I order, it will be my first Korean Blu-ray.  hmm.gif

i thought it is japanese movi. tongue.gif

lost of good korean movi available in bd. revenge trilogy, good,bad,weird, the host......

This post has been edited by johnbluraylover: May 22 2011, 10:03 PM

12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0454sec    1.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:32 AM