Income Tax Issues

SUSDavid83
post Apr 20 2011, 11:32 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(chongelicia @ Apr 20 2011, 11:30 PM)
hi, first time work, need advise from u.
after get new pin, what should i do? original we have made the money, now we can use receipt to claim back? or we have to pay additional to them?
can advise how to do?
what kind of receipt can claim back the tax?

hope to hear from u notworthy.gif
Please spend some time to read yourself on the eligible relieves:

http://www.hasil.gov.my/goindex.php?kump=5...3&unit=1&sequ=1
shadow_dweller
post Apr 21 2011, 11:06 AM

754 posts

QUOTE(chongelicia @ Apr 20 2011, 11:30 PM)
hi, first time work, need advise from u.
after get new pin, what should i do? original we have made the money, now we can use receipt to claim back? or we have to pay additional to them?
can advise how to do?
what kind of receipt can claim back the tax?

hope to hear from u notworthy.gif
It's better to do ur own look up first so u can obtain a general understanding.

Anyway, to explain to u how it works:

When you receive employment income, your company will assess if you need to pay PCB based on your income amt. If yes, they will make a monthly deduction and remit to the IRB. Comes to the end of the year, your company will provide u with the EA Form, where all information will be stated there like ur Annual Income from employment, amt paid to EPF, amt paid to IRB. So you use this as the info to fill in ur Borang BE. Then, you are entitled to claim personal reliefs like books, sports, insurance, epf paid, donation to approved organization, etc. These reliefs will reduce the amt of tax u hv to pay. To claim the reliefs, u need to back it up with receipts as proof tht u hv incurred the expenses. Then, based on the taxable amt tht u hv to pay vs the total amt u have paid via PCB to IRB monthly, u will either need to pay additional tax or be entitled for a refund for tax overpayment in the year.

Hope the explanation suffice.
creativ
post Apr 21 2011, 02:28 PM

218 posts

Does anybody know if children's bicycle can be exempted? icon_question.gif
SUSDavid83
post Apr 21 2011, 02:33 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(creativ @ Apr 21 2011, 02:28 PM)
Does anybody know if children's bicycle can be exempted?  icon_question.gif
Under what category? Sports equipment?
creativ
post Apr 21 2011, 02:59 PM

218 posts

Yes. Children's Bicycle under Sports Equipment. Is it exempted?

My children use it for recreation but not for an offical sport like racing, just like some of us play badminton, tenis for recreation and not a sport competition. hmm.gif

By startng young, maybe someday in future they will represent the country in pro cycling. smile.gif

The bikes I bought are trainer bikes for children.

http://littleriders.com.my/LittleRiders-JDBUG.html

This post has been edited by creativ: Apr 21 2011, 03:27 PM
shadow_dweller
post Apr 21 2011, 03:02 PM

754 posts

QUOTE(creativ @ Apr 21 2011, 02:59 PM)
Yes. Children's Bicycle under Sports Equipment. Is it exempted?

My children use it for recreation but not for an offical sport like racing, just like some of us play badminton, tenis for recreation and not a sport competition.  hmm.gif
Hm, tricky. You'd need to check with the Akta Sukan to see if it falls under the qualifying sports. But then again, I recall they only give relief to short lifetime span items like golf balls, shuttlecocks and the like. Cant give a concrete answer myself, but u can call 03-4289 3535 to enquire. It's the IRB helpdesk and they do pick up ur calls and respond to queries.
kinwing
post Apr 21 2011, 05:33 PM

559 posts

Hi all,

When we try to fill in the 1st page of personal information for BE form, there is a field of 'Compliance of Public Rulling', and the selection of the field is either 'Yes' or 'No'.

So I would like to ask for anyone of you who know what is that field means? Can I just select 'No'? My mistake that I did not even notice that field for my past few year tax filling...happy.gif!!
SUSDavid83
post Apr 21 2011, 07:53 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(kinwing @ Apr 21 2011, 05:33 PM)
Hi all,

When we try to fill in the 1st page of personal information for BE form, there is a field of 'Compliance of Public Rulling', and the selection of the field is either 'Yes' or 'No'.

So I would like to ask for anyone of you who know what is that field means? Can I just select 'No'? My mistake that I did not even notice that field for my past few year tax filling...happy.gif!!
I left it empty.
500Kmission
post Apr 21 2011, 08:46 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 21 2011, 07:53 PM)
I left it empty.
If you left it empty or tick NO, the income tax department will suspect it. I think better just tick "YES".
harrychoo
post Apr 21 2011, 09:50 PM

3,589 posts

I just got married, if my wife's salary is below 2.5k and is not taxable, so when i file mine, should i put BERASINGAN(SEPARATE) or DIRI SENDIRI;PASANGAN TIADA PUNCA PENDAPATAN ?

Because when i highlight the help logo beside the box, it came out the explanation for DIRI SENDIRI as jika status individu adalah bujang/janda/duda/simati; atau suami/isteri tiada punca pendapatan atau pendapatan dikecualikan cukai

This post has been edited by harrychoo: Apr 21 2011, 09:51 PM
SUSDavid83
post Apr 21 2011, 09:59 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Apr 21 2011, 09:50 PM)
I just got married, if my wife's salary is below 2.5k and is not taxable, so when i file mine, should i put BERASINGAN(SEPARATE) or DIRI SENDIRI;PASANGAN TIADA PUNCA PENDAPATAN ?

Because when i highlight the help logo beside the box, it came out the explanation for DIRI SENDIRI as jika status individu adalah bujang/janda/duda/simati; atau suami/isteri tiada punca pendapatan atau pendapatan dikecualikan cukai
You're filing for last year assessment and you weren't married last year? Does it affect your filing?

Correct me if I'm wrong.
harrychoo
post Apr 21 2011, 10:05 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 21 2011, 09:59 PM)
You're filing for last year assessment and you weren't married last year? Does it affect your filing?

Correct me if I'm wrong.
Already married last year la, legally laugh.gif
SUSDavid83
post Apr 21 2011, 10:09 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Apr 21 2011, 10:05 PM)
Already married last year la, legally  laugh.gif
OK! In that case, my mistake!
harrychoo
post Apr 21 2011, 10:10 PM

3,589 posts

So how? Which option should i choose? If Diri Sendiri, I'm entitled for another 3k relief
SUSDavid83
post Apr 21 2011, 10:15 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Apr 21 2011, 10:10 PM)
So how? Which option should i choose? If Diri Sendiri, I'm entitled for another 3k relief
Our customary wedding ceremony was held in December 2007, but our marriage was registered in January 2008. Can I claim a deduction in respect of my wife in 2007?

For tax purposes, a woman who is regarded by virtue of any law or custom (whether or not she has gone through any religious or other ceremony) as the “wife” of a man or as one of his wives.

You can claim for a spouse relief of RM3,000 in your 2008 tax return but not 2007 since you only legally married in 2008. Your wife must also elect for a combined assessment with you if wife relief is to be available.

My spouse and I are working. Should we elect for joint assessment?

A joint assessment will be more advantageous if your spouse has no income, as you will be gaining an extra deduction of RM3,000 from the spouse relief. In a separate assessment, this RM3,000 spouse relief will not be available.

Separate assessment is usually advantageous as you and your spouse can then each claim RM8,000 personal relief (i.e. total RM16,000) against the income of each person, instead of one spouse claiming personal relief of RM8,000 plus spouse relief of RM3,000.

URL: http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...22&sec=business

harrychoo
post Apr 21 2011, 10:27 PM

3,589 posts

so confusing rclxub.gif

because almost everything in e-filing are automated.

I though separate assessment is when both husband and wife income are taxable, but how if wife income is not taxable?
It appear in the help icon for this selection as pendapatan dikecualikan cukai.

And if i select Diri Sendiri, the RM3k relief will automatically selected
penangmee
post Apr 21 2011, 11:33 PM

633 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Apr 21 2011, 10:27 PM)
so confusing  rclxub.gif

because almost everything in e-filing are automated.

I though separate assessment is when both husband and wife income are taxable, but how if wife income is not taxable?
It appear in the help icon for this selection as pendapatan dikecualikan cukai.

And if i select Diri Sendiri, the RM3k relief will automatically selected
Yours should be berasingan lah. Your wife income is not liable for tax and NOT tax exempted. Of course you cannot claim the RM3000.00 coz your wife will be claiming her own RM9000 relief thats why her tax payable = RM0.00 yawn.gif

Normally Berasingan is the option if spouse income is > RM 3000 per annum

This post has been edited by penangmee: Apr 21 2011, 11:34 PM
harrychoo
post Apr 21 2011, 11:50 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(penangmee @ Apr 21 2011, 11:33 PM)
Yours should be berasingan lah. Your wife income is not liable for tax and NOT tax exempted. Of course you cannot claim the RM3000.00 coz your wife will be claiming her own RM9000 relief thats why her tax payable = RM0.00 yawn.gif

Normally Berasingan is the option if spouse income is > RM 3000 per annum
Thanks for the clarification, will submit soon thumbup.gif
green_apple
post Apr 22 2011, 12:05 AM

101 posts

[quote=anti@,Apr 20 2011, 08:36 AM]

Added on April 19, 2011, 10:33 pm
So, just ignore it? Or should I e-mail them?? It won't effect the jumlah cukai though.

[/quote]

it alright if you forget to type in no.majikan.

[/quote]

such a relief! Thank you guys!!! rclxms.gif
What61
post Apr 22 2011, 03:15 AM

52 posts

hi guys,

need your advice regarding tax claims.. are examination fees for overseas examination considered under education fees?

125 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:08 PM