Mitsubishi asx, This car doesnt seem to be popular here.

richard912
post Aug 29 2011, 07:12 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

Planning to test drive this on friday.

Any comments/reports from current owners?
richard912
post Aug 30 2011, 08:03 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Aug 29 2011, 08:12 PM)
Met up with one ASX owner in KL Auto while autofoaming up my car. The owner had to do sound proofing because stock insulation was poor, resulting in noisy cabin. Otherwise it's a fine car according to him, interior looks luxurious.
Hmmm......I guess autofoaming would help to some degree but I worry about the wind noise too. Will see this friday. Will then wait to test the Kia sportage too before making the final decision
richard912
post Aug 31 2011, 12:14 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

Well, the saying, "one man's meat...." comes to mind. I for one tend to prefer the interior to be clean and less complicated, without overcrowding.

Alas, the price tag of the ASX leaves a lot to be desired compared to its segment rivals ala Kia Sportage, Hyundai Tucson.

I've narrowed down my choice to between the ASX and the Sportage but the latter does not yet have test drives available though.
richard912
post Sep 1 2011, 03:17 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

Alamak....this thread seems to have changed to ct-200h/Prius pulak.

Anyway, dropped by the Jalan 222 showroom but was still closed even though their neighbor (VW showroom) was open for business. Guess I'll drop by again tomorrow since I am still off.

Will be looking out for the following:
1. Wind/road noise
2. Acceleration feel (or lack thereof)
3. Seat comfort, especially the rear seats

I did notice that the Malaysian version of the ASX does not have keyless go, still conventional key to start the car. Does it have auto lights/rain sensor?
richard912
post Sep 1 2011, 04:38 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

Aiseh, don't small gas la. Any input is most welcomed, no insult intended smile.gif

Added on September 2, 2011, 12:05 pmTest drove the ASX this morning and here are some quick takes:

Drive and ride was good. Paddle shifters are very responsive indeed. The power steering however, was a tad too light. The tyre/wind/engine noise while to be expected, can be improved with aftermarket solutions like autofoam. Overall interior is ok as the main panels were covered with soft feeling materials.

Rear seats are uncomfy for those having to sit there over long distances. Seems you cannot adjust it at all even though I've read that there's a "2-step" setting. Leg room however, is quite adequate.

Trunk space is a little short, attributable to the full sized spare that comes with it.

It is seriously lacking in terms of features.

Critical : No audio control on the steering, no door auto lock as you drive off, no auto dimming rearview mirror for night driving.
Less critical : No auto lights, no rain sensor, no keyless go

This post has been edited by richard912: Sep 2 2011, 12:05 PM
richard912
post Sep 4 2011, 09:09 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

Hi lucifah

Since the ASX shares the same engine as the lancer and the latter typically have lots of upgrade options, including turbo kits, this will be something to consider when warranty expires. Know of any workshops in town that specializes in such tasks? thumbup.gif

I spoke to some friends who told me that if you want to doors to lock as you drive off, can install some after market device for this.

As I have a busy work week ahead, I'll mull over the ASX til next weekend
richard912
post Sep 4 2011, 04:11 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

Did some research and found out that auto-unlock of all doors can be set via service centre's MUTIII diagnostics system. By default, it is set as "inactive", which can be set to "active", where all the doors unlock when you switch off the engine.

As for the auto-lock when you drive off feature, apparently can be done too by using LEXIA 3, another diagnostics tool/software.

This post has been edited by richard912: Sep 4 2011, 06:56 PM
richard912
post Sep 4 2011, 06:58 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 4 2011, 09:38 AM)
wah richard, long time no see..  biggrin.gif

buying asx ar? not xc60?
No XC60 la.....you think i have a goose laying golden eggs meh?
richard912
post Sep 5 2011, 08:56 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

lucifah

The SA will only be able to activate the auto-unlock feature as this is done using the MUTIII systems they have at their service centres. LEXIA 3 is actually used by Peugeot/Citroen service centres. Check it out at Mitsubishi Forum. Note that the ASX is also known as the outlander sports

Added on September 5, 2011, 9:04 am
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Sep 5 2011, 08:41 AM)
The ASX sales are really poor. Only 88 units sold in July and only 604 in total from Jan-July 2011. This will surely result in very poor resale value.
Indeed, their poor market share is due to the lack of features as compared to the Tucson and Sportage, both of which are being sold at around the same price. Across the causeway down south, the ASX there has more features eg keyless go, moon-roof, etc.

I've been brought to understand that you can try your luck with asking for a discount (check out www.carlist.my) especially now that the year end is just around the corner.

For me, its a toss up between the Sportage and the ASX. I've yet to test drive the former as there are no test cars available yet. Hopefully with the Raya "rush" over, this will be available soon.

This post has been edited by richard912: Sep 5 2011, 09:07 AM
richard912
post Sep 5 2011, 11:46 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

For auto-dimming rear view mirror, can buy after market product from GENTEX but dunno if it will would warranty as there will be some wiring involved. Maybe wait 2 year later
richard912
post Sep 5 2011, 02:54 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

Both Kia and Hyundai Malaysian websites dont have pricing for Labuan
richard912
post Sep 5 2011, 04:38 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

lucifah

The auto-unlock has 3 settings:

1. not-active (default)
2. active - unlock when in "P"
3. active - unlock when ignition "off"

Will need to goto service centre to do as its done using the MUTIII

Low sales means its not a popular car, which to me means, won't be high on the "wanted" list of car-jackers icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by richard912: Sep 5 2011, 04:40 PM
richard912
post Sep 7 2011, 03:37 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

The deed is done. Booking paid for a Gray ASX
richard912
post Sep 7 2011, 03:48 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 7 2011, 03:43 PM)
yes you are very elite "rich"ard mah..  laugh.gif
Poor Richard sweat.gif
richard912
post Sep 7 2011, 08:20 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Sep 7 2011, 08:05 PM)
Pity. For that price, a Sportage would have been the logical choice.
Indeed, you are right. But I am skeptical of its after sales service whistling.gif
richard912
post Sep 7 2011, 08:45 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Sep 7 2011, 08:35 PM)
And Mitsubishi is better? Compared to both, i would take my chances with the Sportage especially with all the hype about Korean makes worldwide. Mitsubishi is like nowhere to be seen. I would have much lesser confidence in Mitsubishi compared to Kia.

But even if after sales service standards are the same, the Sportage physical looks & specs would easily trump the ASX anytime. The Sportage has that elite luxury look while the ASX is somewhat a run of the mill. I would say the ASX is as interesting as the current Vios but severely overpriced.

There must be a logical reason why the Sportage sales are double that of the ASX. Anyway, be prepared for a severe loss of resale value with the ASX.
Considering I've own 3 volvos before (just giving up my second S40), the ASX loss in resale value cant get any worse blush.gif

This post has been edited by richard912: Sep 7 2011, 08:49 PM
richard912
post Sep 8 2011, 08:53 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Sep 8 2011, 12:15 AM)
same color as mine... dunno why the titanium gray is the most sought after

i've not seen anyone riding a red or kawashima blue yet

how much did u get urs? any discount?

if u dun mind, can u share how much DP u paid, loan amount, loan period, monthly repayment, interest rate and which bank?

mine was 136k (141k is the list price in sarawak) + 2 yrs free maintenance, paid 36k dp, 100k loan @ 2.6% @ 5 yrs with 1,867 monthly repayment - affin bank
also my biggest factor. in my hometown, even merc don't have a proper workshop. - there's T, H, N, Mitsu, Ford and hyundai (brought by rightwpoer corporation who seems to have their own loan / financial facility aka along?)
Kia in malaysia is brought by NAZA, which i know have quite unpopular after sales service - i guess, all brands will have some problems with the after sales service (the only exception i've seen so far is proton edar)

i dun see any similar comparison to vios - which i must say is hugely popular car with ah beng and girls. the asx is very unpopular, the choice for those who doesn't prioritize resale value
With the limited color offering, it was either the white or titanium gray. I chose the latter for "easier" maintenance wink.gif

I managed to wrangle some discount (which I don't think is ethical to disclose in the open). Coupled with no waiting time, sealed the deal for me. Will be getting my financing from Affin, which I have been using for more than 10 years! 5 years, 2.58%.

The sad thing about buying cars in Malaysia is, I go through a process of elimination and on the top of that "list" is after sales service, followed closely by "is that car/make high on the car theft statistics?" sweat.gif Safety, ride comfort, reliability, features, performance and lastly, depreciation.

Btw, did you do any mods to your ride eg accessories, etc? I will be installing the scuff plates and tailgate protector, of course, tinting too (6 mil security tint). May consider autofoam and alternator booster later on thumbup.gif
richard912
post Sep 8 2011, 11:18 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Sep 8 2011, 10:15 AM)
why selling the S40? the maintenance is really bad?
I have enjoyed the experience thoroughly but alas, it's time to let it go for a new car. I bought my S40 used, in early 2009 (reg'd 7/2005) and while I can still get a decent price for it, why not.
richard912
post Sep 10 2011, 11:58 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

Hi kysham

Fair personal opinion. Buying cars is directly correlated to the individuals' preferences, which can have a wide degree of variance and factors.

Buy a car, drive it and enjoy the experience and when that wears off, time to go car shopping again thumbup.gif
richard912
post Sep 15 2011, 09:47 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

It reads that Proton may CKD a Mitsubishi model here and the writer suggests that it may be the ASX.

In any case, Peugeot and Citroen already using the ASX....

0.0357sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:23 AM