Mitsubishi asx, This car doesnt seem to be popular here.

cybermaster98
post Aug 31 2011, 03:13 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Jul 20 2011, 03:39 PM)
just press the push-down button at the top of the backrest and move it to the front or back

there's only 2 adjustments. not much but the lower setting is more comfortable
RU sure it can be adjusted? When i checked it out last year, i tried and couldnt get it lower. Maybe it was already in its lowest setting.

But my take on the ASX is its surely not worth its price tag. The rear seats are really cramped and too upright. Specs wise kinda normal for most of the RM100+ range cars so nothing to shout about there.

Its facing very poor sales for a reason and i think its wise to give it a pass.
cybermaster98
post Aug 31 2011, 03:15 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Aug 30 2011, 11:51 PM)
you've got to be kidding me about the ASX's interior being luxurious..... it is not luxurious.....  rclxub.gif
This is coming from the owner la. Of course he will say its a great car, bla bla bla or else he would look silly buying it. But yes the interior is pretty normal to me.I actually would expect more from a vehicle of that price. Exterior design also pretty dull if u ask me.Doesnt give that wow factor that many other new launches have nowadays.
cybermaster98
post Sep 1 2011, 11:11 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Sep 1 2011, 10:43 AM)
Haha... yes I did... I still find the CT200h more cramp... but that's just my opinion since that poor fella's asx was being tore apart SP-ing the ass and the floorboard...
Well i havent sat inside a CT200H so i cant comment. But the Prius surely has more rear space compared the the ASX.
cybermaster98
post Sep 4 2011, 08:53 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Sep 3 2011, 11:50 PM)
yes, but very minimal. only 2 steps. - each is about 1-2 deg difference (about 2" gap difference)

the rear seats are bad, i have to admit. heck, the headrests for the front seats are ugly as hell (plan to swap with other cars later)

for a crossover, this one is still one of the cheapest around

compare to CRV (outdated & lacking feature), 3008 (naza pug infamous bad after sales service), Tucson (nice car, but far too common), Sportage (very nice car, but still korean), the offer price of about 135k is reasonable
I think the best now would be the Kia Sportage. Looks really good and luxurious. For RM 136K i think its much better value for money than the ASX.

cybermaster98
post Sep 5 2011, 08:41 AM

4,440 posts

The ASX sales are really poor. Only 88 units sold in July and only 604 in total from Jan-July 2011. This will surely result in very poor resale value.
cybermaster98
post Sep 5 2011, 09:50 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(sokdotcom @ Sep 5 2011, 09:18 AM)
the car is only 80000 in Labuan and the sales there is good. I see ALOT of new ASX in Labuan as well as Lancers.

for 80k its a really good buy. but once it comes to KL. the price is not interesting anymore. mostly hard plastic interior but good engine and CVT. the ride height is pretty good as well. definitely worth for 80k. but not for RM 136k in KL.
I believe the sale figures quoted above are for the whole of Malaysia. So whether u see more units in Labuan or otherwise, its still very poor sales compared to other vehicles.
cybermaster98
post Sep 5 2011, 12:47 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Sep 5 2011, 11:52 AM)
Are you sure it's 80k? The brochure from the Labuan mitsu showroom is 75k+ but after discount they selling it at 71k+. That's why ASX is everywhere in Labuan, many features but cheap.
I believe all other cars would be cheaper in Labuan due to the tax incentive. So i guess we have to compare apple to apple. Compare cars in Labuan only. How much is the new Kia Sportage selling in Labuan?
cybermaster98
post Sep 6 2011, 09:45 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Sep 5 2011, 04:28 PM)
if you look at the bright side, it means ASX owners are guaranteed exclusivity on the road  rolleyes.gif
in my case, there's only 4 units driven around in my hometown... including mine
The Proton Juara also had the same 'exclusivity' but not the kind that owners of Porsche's and Ferrari's enjoy. brows.gif

cybermaster98
post Sep 7 2011, 08:05 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Sep 7 2011, 03:37 PM)
The deed is done. Booking paid for a Gray ASX
Pity. For that price, a Sportage would have been the logical choice.

cybermaster98
post Sep 7 2011, 08:35 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Sep 7 2011, 08:20 PM)
Indeed, you are right. But I am skeptical of its after sales service whistling.gif
And Mitsubishi is better? Compared to both, i would take my chances with the Sportage especially with all the hype about Korean makes worldwide. Mitsubishi is like nowhere to be seen. I would have much lesser confidence in Mitsubishi compared to Kia.

But even if after sales service standards are the same, the Sportage physical looks & specs would easily trump the ASX anytime. The Sportage has that elite luxury look while the ASX is somewhat a run of the mill. I would say the ASX is as interesting as the current Vios but severely overpriced.

There must be a logical reason why the Sportage sales are double that of the ASX. Anyway, be prepared for a severe loss of resale value with the ASX.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Sep 7 2011, 08:38 PM
cybermaster98
post Sep 8 2011, 09:08 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Sep 8 2011, 12:15 AM)
Kia in malaysia is brought by NAZA, which i know have quite unpopular after sales service - i guess, all brands will have some problems with the after sales service (the only exception i've seen so far is proton edar)

i dun see any similar comparison to vios - which i must say is hugely popular car with ah beng and girls. the asx is very unpopular, the choice for those who doesn't prioritize resale value
The reason u dont see a comparison with the Vios is because when we compare cars, it makes logical sense to compare apple to apple.

For your info, i drive a 2003 Vios (1st batch) and its given me excellent problem free service these past 8+ years. The after sales service by Toyota is truly exemplery. But, since we're comparing the ASX to the Sportage so Toyota doesnt come into the picture.

Regarding Kia's after sales service, like i said in my previous post, Kia's service cannot be any worse than Mitsubishi im sure. Probably on par or marginally better/worse. So after sales service standards shouldnt come into the picture. It only does when ure comparing a brand with far inferior standards with a brand with far superior standards (e.g Toyota).

So after taking the after sales service standards out of the equation, what are we left with to compare? Physical looks, interior, build quality, specs, pricing/value for money and resale value. Based on these 6 criterias, i think the Sportage has a clear advantage.

0.0241sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:10 AM