ASUS A | N | U Series Combined Thread V4, All about ASUS...
Apr 21 2011, 05:07 PM
1,483 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: PJ |
Asus U41SV owner here
Apr 21 2011, 07:35 PM
QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Apr 21 2011, 07:16 PM) Congratz! You probably one of the first in the forum to get it, care to give some reviews and photos if you're free? Sure! It is a darn nice laptop for the price I paid.EDIT: ![]() 5 days old Asus U41SV with Logitech M510. I bought to use in college, at first just for assignment and presentation as I stay in college for almost 12 hours every day. If I didn't have laptop, I have to come back at night only can use my desktop and do work. I bought this last Saturday at PC Fair KLCC. I had a budget of rm 3k and my criteria were : a) light and portable b) decent battery life c) good looking d) not an Acer, Toshiba or Sony So in the end it was either a Dell Inspiron 14R or Asus A4x series but then I saw the new U series laptop. Instantly made up my mind based on the looks, didn't know it was such an imba laptop at the time. ![]() Front view of the laptop. Full specs are in my signature below. The LCD screen is darn nice. Chiclet keyboard nice to type on, easy to clean also. The colour scheme is attractive (blue on black/ charcoal) and 'carbon fibre' near the LCD. Wrist area has matte texture, not glossy and comfortable for long periods. ![]() Speakers are a bit soft but are made by Altec Lansing. I can't comment much as I normally use the Sennheisers I bought on the same day instead. nVidia Optimus technology saves battery. ![]() Lid is aluminium alloy. This helps reduce the weight and since it isn't glossy, also easier to keep clean and presentable. ![]() The laptop is only 2.2kg with the 8 cell battery. Pretty light and very portable. Profile is less than 1 inch as advertised. Very easy to store and carry around. ![]() 8 cell battery. This one is advertised to last around 10 hours. ![]() Why do I call this laptop imba? Because it is very powerful for such a light portable laptop with a long lasting battery. With light usage (surfing web, listening to music, typing in Word or PowerPoint), this laptop can easily last >5 hours especially if you take advantage of the different energy profiles. For me, I use Power4Gear Entertainment and full brightness most of the time and the laptop still lasts at least 5 hours. Gaming on this laptop is very possible with the GT540M. So far I've run Assassin's Creed Brotherhood, Mass Effect 2 and Bad Company 2 on either medium, medium-high or high and all are playable. While gaming today, I didn't realize the laptop wasn't charging. After 2 hours of Brotherhood, it had dropped from 70+% to 25% which was enough to last another 2 hours at least. Build quality is solid I would say. The keyboard has little flex and is nice type on. Only problems I have are : a) SD card slot is exposed b) speakers underneath the laptop c) glossy surfaces are very easy to scratch d) no USB 3.0 Overall a nice laptop. Original price is RM 2,999. Thunder Match was offering RM 2,899 but I managed to get it for RM 2,750 This post has been edited by secondrate: Apr 21 2011, 08:41 PM |
Apr 21 2011, 08:37 PM
QUOTE(AlexLai @ Apr 21 2011, 08:09 PM) Posted EDIT : Ah... forgot to mention the laptop came with a lot of junk installed. Best is reformat (but no disc provided? I had to use my own ori copy) then pick which software you want from the utilities and drivers disc running nVidia 270.61 VERDE now This post has been edited by secondrate: Apr 21 2011, 08:39 PM |
Apr 21 2011, 08:47 PM
Apr 21 2011, 08:51 PM
Apr 21 2011, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(willchua @ Apr 21 2011, 08:50 PM) secondrate , your Asus U41SV look exactly like mine U41JF! he he.. Yeah, a bit warm. Sadly, no USB 3.0. Hehe, I really like the design of the U series.Wanna ask u if the area on the left of track point getting warm? Got USB 3.0? Added on April 21, 2011, 8:58 pm QUOTE(AlexLai @ Apr 21 2011, 08:54 PM) I was reading somewhere that the new U41SV had an increase in weight and I was hoping it was for the better build quality. Speaking of which, how's the overall build quality of it? I read that the previous U series had keyboard flex. This one doesn't have much. Build quality I would say is pretty solid lor. But I don't like that the glossy areas get scratched so easily. I wipe dust off with microfibre also scratch. Left side of the DVD drive cover popped out last night but I pushed it back in and it's fine now. Should not handle the drive so roughly...This post has been edited by secondrate: Apr 21 2011, 08:58 PM |
Apr 21 2011, 09:05 PM
QUOTE(AlexLai @ Apr 21 2011, 09:03 PM) I tested the display unit in PC Fair kao kao, found that the flex was gone but was kinda skeptical because it was just one unit. Haha, pretty satisfied with mine. It seems like quite popular. My friend wanted to buy also but in the end no stock. He ended up with Inspiron 14R... everytime I see that fat thing I must My A42JV's drive cover also popped out last month. LOL! |
Apr 21 2011, 09:22 PM
QUOTE(AlexLai @ Apr 21 2011, 09:10 PM) He didn't try the other reseller there? Don't know him haha. The other Asus booth upstairs offered me original price of RM 2,999 only so I went back to ThunderMatch. And should have gone to LowYat to buy too if out of stock in PC Fair. Btw, you said you got yours from the booth by ThunderMatch? Ah at least you guys only need to worry about the LCD's bezel. Most parts of mine are glossy... Hehe... I can't really say about build quality... not used to laptops. Maybe in a few months. Gloss is nice to look at but... nightmare to take care of. That's why I love the brushed metal lid, one less thing to OCD about. |
Apr 22 2011, 06:13 AM
QUOTE(willchua @ Apr 22 2011, 12:51 AM) hmm? most Asus U41 sold in Malaysia are glossy? didn't know that...my stock are from Servex (M) Sdn Bhd. but glossy LCD have better color, right? u can always fixed the glare problem with anti glare screen protector. Mine is glossy. I love the color but quite annoying in class sometimes with the bright fluorescent lights. |
Apr 22 2011, 09:20 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 22 2011, 09:50 AM) Grats on the purchase! Seems poisonous enough Thanks After you remove the battery, the area above the keyboard, does it flex horribly? This use to be the main problem in the U45Jc, U460 and U41J The one thing that seriously ticks me off is the glossy bezel around the LCD. Dust = scratch, wipe = scratch. One week old laptop already got so many, one year old leh? Especially since I take it everywhere. College, lunch at kopitiam, etc. |
Apr 23 2011, 07:45 PM
Just bought a Cooler Master Notepal X2 for my U41SV
Apr 24 2011, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(forrest @ Apr 23 2011, 11:40 PM) May I know anyone using Asus U series? I'm using U41SV, one of the latest in this series Sifu lee, can you give me your opinion about U series? I'm thinking to buy U36, I need a light weight laptop and I don't mind it did not have internal dvdrw. I don't play game. Just for document editing, internet, sometime photoshop. |
Apr 24 2011, 11:07 PM
Apr 25 2011, 07:44 PM
Whoever has problems installing the latest nVidia drivers because of Optimus, use the drivers from here :
LaptopVideo2Go Worked for mine |
May 2 2011, 01:39 PM
QUOTE(objectretrieval @ May 2 2011, 01:37 PM) Latest is 270.61?http://www.nvidia.com/object/notebook-win7...hql-driver.html |
May 4 2011, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(Alex Chillax @ May 3 2011, 11:11 PM) got mine for that price at PC Fair Added on May 4, 2011, 11:24 am QUOTE(sickx @ May 4 2011, 10:28 AM) oh my.n43jf looks really2 tempting with blu-ray drive and all those freebies.. my desktop blu-ray drive also never use wan woops.just notice that the processor is not the 2nd generation. This post has been edited by secondrate: May 4 2011, 11:24 AM |
May 4 2011, 08:39 PM
![]() anyone know what this is? both sides also got |
May 13 2011, 07:44 AM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 12 2011, 07:22 PM) Actually I have to agree with you I do Not having Nvidia Optimus is not really a big setback.... how many of us could actually use the laptop for 5 hours+ on battery? Without Optimus, there'll be less headaches when it comes to game compatibilities as well So far no game problems, except Assassin's Creed Brotherhood but that was easily solved through the nVidia Control Panel by setting the gpu settings. Added on May 13, 2011, 7:45 am QUOTE(kelvinclyap88 @ May 13 2011, 03:17 AM) uninstalling those junks program are giving me troubles... Might as well do full reformat like I did.uninstall oberon games will cause other programs to be not functioning well (i.e google chrome) This post has been edited by secondrate: May 13 2011, 07:45 AM |
May 13 2011, 03:09 PM
QUOTE(skysoblue93 @ May 13 2011, 10:53 AM) oh boy.. even on optimus 4 hours + only? i was expecting 5+ or something.. Ya, its U41SV. The left palm rest gets very warm when gaming. Temperatures are acceptable, kinda like my desktop, in the mid-70s to 80s without a cooling pad.yea, more batterylife = less hassle... anyway, urs is u41sv right? > in your sig.. isit hot when playing games? since the laptop is quite slim, i have been thinking if the air ventilation cacated or heatsink reduced in size. |
May 22 2011, 05:02 PM
| Change to: | 0.0534sec