134 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

ASUS A | N | U Series Combined Thread V4, All about ASUS...

[PF] T.J.
post May 12 2011, 07:22 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(FlamingR @ May 12 2011, 07:15 PM)
From what I read at the ASUS site, under specifications, it doesn't have OPTIMUS tech, btw ASUS A43SV(or probably other later models with Windows 7) have AHCI mode for SATA enabled by default, which means SATA II/III SSD are just the matter of plug and play! biggrin.gif
I don't mind not having OPTIMUS, it's not like I'm a fan of Transformers.
Actually I have to agree with you nod.gif
Not having Nvidia Optimus is not really a big setback.... how many of us could actually use the laptop for 5 hours+ on battery? laugh.gif
Without Optimus, there'll be less headaches when it comes to game compatibilities as well hmm.gif
TSAlexLai
post May 12 2011, 08:48 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 12 2011, 06:55 PM)
All laptops with Nvidia Optimus will have an Nvidia Optimus sticker right?
I don't see it on the photos Kelvinclyap88 uploaded  sad.gif
Nope, not on the later generation ones like my A42JV. My ex's N82JV had it though. It even had the sticker which denotes what color LED indicates which GPU is in use.
Trance4eva
post May 12 2011, 08:54 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 12 2011, 06:55 PM)
All laptops with Nvidia Optimus will have an Nvidia Optimus sticker right?
I don't see it on the photos Kelvinclyap88 uploaded  sad.gif
My N53SN got no Optimus Sticker doh.gif .....but got Optimus
[PF] T.J.
post May 12 2011, 09:09 PM

24,193 posts

I see I see.... So the Sticker is optional 1 haha sad.gif
pandera999
post May 13 2011, 12:07 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

sticker being seleweng laugh.gif
kelvinclyap88
post May 13 2011, 03:17 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 12 2011, 06:13 PM)
@kelvinclyap88, does the Asus N43SL have Nvidia Optimus?

Added on May 12, 2011, 6:16 pm

1 & 2. About 4-5 hours?  hmm.gif
hey... sorry yea
quite busy today
i assume it to have nvidia optimus as there as intel HD and Nvidia graphic cards on it
around 4 hours + for normal usage
will provide more information by next week tongue.gif

uninstalling those junks program are giving me troubles...
uninstall oberon games will cause other programs to be not functioning well (i.e google chrome) hmm.gif
secondrate
post May 13 2011, 07:44 AM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 12 2011, 07:22 PM)
Actually I have to agree with you  nod.gif
Not having Nvidia Optimus is not really a big setback.... how many of us could actually use the laptop for 5 hours+ on battery?  laugh.gif
Without Optimus, there'll be less headaches when it comes to game compatibilities as well  hmm.gif
I do laugh.gif not having to charge my laptop through my classes is a godsend and I still use it after class as I stay on campus for 8-12 hours sometimes.

So far no game problems, except Assassin's Creed Brotherhood but that was easily solved through the nVidia Control Panel by setting the gpu settings.

Added on May 13, 2011, 7:45 am
QUOTE(kelvinclyap88 @ May 13 2011, 03:17 AM)
uninstall oberon games will cause other programs to be not functioning well (i.e google chrome)  hmm.gif
Might as well do full reformat like I did.

This post has been edited by secondrate: May 13 2011, 07:45 AM
alucard1412
post May 13 2011, 08:56 AM

384 posts

hey... sorry yea
quite busy today
i assume it to have nvidia optimus as there as intel HD and Nvidia graphic cards on it

uninstall oberon games will cause other programs to be not functioning well (i.e google chrome)  hmm.gif
my chrome stopped functioning as well after i uninstalled some crap. I followed what astria sifu told me, and used revouninstaller to remove it then reinstall back, since it can't be removed at the control panel too.
skysoblue93
post May 13 2011, 10:53 AM

211 posts

hey... sorry yea
quite busy today

oh boy.. even on optimus 4 hours + only? i was expecting 5+ or something..

QUOTE(secondrate @ May 13 2011, 07:44 AM)
I do laugh.gif not having to charge my laptop through my classes is a godsend and I still use it after class as I stay on campus for 8-12 hours sometimes.

So far no game problems, except Assassin's Creed Brotherhood but that was easily solved through the nVidia Control Panel by setting the gpu settings.

Added on May 13, 2011, 7:45 am

Might as well do full reformat like I did.
yea, more batterylife = less hassle...
anyway, urs is u41sv right? > in your sig..
isit hot when playing games?
since the laptop is quite slim, i have been thinking if the air ventilation cacated or heatsink reduced in size.

This post has been edited by skysoblue93: May 13 2011, 10:59 AM
[PF] T.J.
post May 13 2011, 11:16 AM

24,193 posts

hey... sorry yea
quite busy today

Thanks for the reply~
Huh? I thought there's a specific software for Nvidia Optimus? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: May 13 2011, 11:17 AM
lee_what2004
post May 13 2011, 11:41 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

What kind of specific software ?
TSAlexLai
post May 13 2011, 11:52 AM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(skysoblue93 @ May 13 2011, 10:53 AM)
oh boy.. even on optimus 4 hours + only? i was expecting 5+ or something..

Optimus isn't a miracle worker. It only toggles a lower power consumption graphic unit when the high performance one isn't needed. Still, battery capacity plays a large part here.
[PF] T.J.
post May 13 2011, 12:10 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ May 13 2011, 11:41 AM)
What kind of specific software ?
No idea lol, never used Nvidia Optimus before.... but should the Nvidia Control Panel at least indicate that Nvidia Optimus is available? hmm.gif
lee_what2004
post May 13 2011, 12:11 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

You mean the one under 3D settings to whitelist apps ?
kelvinclyap88
post May 13 2011, 12:15 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ May 13 2011, 12:11 PM)
out topic for a while tongue.gif
from ur siggy, which software are important other than batterycare and HWMonitor?? whistling.gif
[PF] T.J.
post May 13 2011, 12:16 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ May 13 2011, 12:11 PM)
Well, I seriously dunno, never tried a lappy with Nvidia Optimus before haha sweat.gif
So sifu, does the N43SL has Nvidia Optimus?
Many people are wondering hmm.gif
skysoblue93
post May 13 2011, 12:20 PM

211 posts

a43sv without optimus..4 n half hours..
n43sl with optimus.. 4 hours +.

thats abit..er

Added on May 13, 2011, 12:22 pm
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 13 2011, 12:16 PM)
Well, I seriously dunno, never tried a lappy with Nvidia Optimus before haha  sweat.gif
So sifu, does the N43SL has Nvidia Optimus?
Many people are wondering  hmm.gif
as kelvin said. yeah it does. it shows intel and nvidia. got 2 graphic then rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by skysoblue93: May 13 2011, 12:22 PM
[PF] T.J.
post May 13 2011, 12:25 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(skysoblue93 @ May 13 2011, 12:20 PM)

thats abit..er

as kelvin said. yeah it does. it shows intel and nvidia. got 2 graphic then  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
4 hours + is considered very good already, especially for a non-U series laptop nod.gif
Older generations of laptop can hardly survive 3 hours laugh.gif

Well, I guess if it detects 2 GPUs then it has Optimus nod.gif
THanks for the heads-up~

Oh ya, I think I might just add into the pricelist whether which Asus laptop has Optimus or not, easier for people to refer too...
So iinm, A43Sv don't have Nvidia Optimus. U31, U41, U43, A53, N53 and N43SL have right? hmm.gif
How about A43Sj? A42 seires? hmm.gif
Can sifus please clarify this? thanks thanks notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: May 13 2011, 12:29 PM
kelvinclyap88
post May 13 2011, 12:29 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 13 2011, 12:25 PM)
4 hours + is considered very good already, especially for a non-U series laptop  nod.gif
Older generations of laptop can hardly survive 3 hours  laugh.gif

Well, I guess if it detects 2 GPUs then it has Optimus  nod.gif
THanks for the heads-up~

Oh ya, I think I might just add into the pricelist whether which Asus laptop has Optimus or not, easier for people to refer too...
So iinm, A43Sv don't have Nvidia Optimus. U31, U41, A53, N53 and N43SL have right?  hmm.gif
Can sifus please clarify this? thanks thanks  notworthy.gif
high performance in term of entertainment option by power4gear is around 4hours
so i assume can hit 5 hours + if low performance with bluetooth off
will upload some pic at night to proof 2 GPUs and battery life~~ tongue.gif
pandera999
post May 13 2011, 12:30 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(skysoblue93 @ May 13 2011, 12:20 PM)

thats abit..er

as kelvin said. yeah it does. it shows intel and nvidia. got 2 graphic then  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
seems that SV is better hmm.gif no optimus but can 4 n half, SL 4+ only.
you mean gt intel graphic and another is nvidia? intel HD gc and nvidia ha?

134 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:31 PM