Astro B.yond Episode III (Version 8.0), NEW WORLD OF ENTERTAINMENT
nujikabane
Jun 19 2011, 05:05 PM
I saw the ads about the Astro Stadium thingy. Does that mean that the friendlies of Liverpool, Arsenal & Chelsea will be telecast live at Astro?
If it is true, than I dun have to buy the tickets to watch them at the stadium, hehe
nujikabane
Jun 19 2011, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(ahmadkhairil @ Jun 19 2011, 08:36 PM) Most likely will be ppv, astro untung, footie organiser untung Meaning that on top of the programs we subscribe, we need to fork out more to watch it? Demmit!
nujikabane
Jun 20 2011, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(eugenecctan @ Jun 20 2011, 11:51 AM) Why can't they use back the old cable? Yesterday the astro guy came over to install the new Beyond, he told my mum will only install the new cable with casing on the wall (very ugly) and not willing to use back my existing cable... I dunno very details also, will call to complain tonight. Sure bo? Because in my situation, they use the old cable, and they gave me the new cable to keep.
nujikabane
Jun 20 2011, 12:31 PM
I really wish there is option to change Mustika to Metro, because I don't quite like Mustika. 1 channel is full of repetitions of older comedic shows, whilst the other channel is Hindi, in which I don't watch that much.
nujikabane
Jun 21 2011, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(lpsoldier007 @ Jun 20 2011, 09:26 PM) RTM HD is coming soon?  LOL even Atsto channels are not in HD yet, RTM channels should take more time, haha. Btw, nowadays still got ppl watching RTM ? (Those with Astro, I doubt they still watch RTM channels, lol)
nujikabane
Jun 24 2011, 09:12 AM
An article from The Star (dated 24/06/2011) QUOTE Astro: Price revision is ‘inevitable’
PETALING JAYA: A price revision for Astro subscription rates is “inevitable” in view of escalating content costs, especially for sports content like broadcasting rights for the Barclays Premier League.
Astro chief operating officer Henry Tan said content costs increased from RM760mil in 2007 to RM1.3bil in 2011, with cost over revenue rising from 29% to 35%.
“Customers have the option to make choices. Depending on the choice of packages, some customers will experience an increase, especially if they choose premium content,” he said on Wednesday.
From July 11, Astro customers may experience increases ranging from RM1 to RM15 per month but this will be balanced by savings of RM4 to RM14.95 per month in subscriptions.
The company, however, will maintain the price of its Family Pack at RM37.95 per month with access to 38 channels.
It also launched its Super Packs, designed to offer packages which include high definition and personal video recording services.
“From just one flat price of either RM125 or RM155 depending on the Super Pack chosen, Astro customers will be able to enjoy the benefits of HD and PVR services, and the best of the Plus, Mini, Sports and Movies Packs while benefiting from savings of up to RM74.85,” Tan said.
On criticism about the increased cost when Astro services are still disrupted in the event of rain, Tan said there was no perfect technology behind TV.
“The technology behind satellite TV has its limitations.
“While we have achieved 99.99% efficiency in our uplink transmissions through our broadcast satellites in Bukit Jalil and Cyberjaya, smoothness of transmission largely depends on the local climate.
“Usually, total down time amounts to seven hours a year,” he added.
Tan also said the comment that Astro is a monopoly was unfair as the broadcaster was not the pioneering firm in the pay TV industry.
“We tender for all our broadcasting rights which is a lengthy and regulated procedure.
“The fact that there are others tendering for the rights, too, proves that we are not the only one in the business,” he added. http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...6354&sec=nation
nujikabane
Jul 8 2011, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(jalsrix @ Jul 8 2011, 10:41 PM) I noticed that AXN can now select the language subtitle (or make it disappear) instead of hard-code it. Can I ask people here whether we can do that in discovery and history channel too ? By the way, I don't subscribe to those channels bcos of the subtitles. Yes, you can. However, for HD channels, no subtitles are available, haha.
nujikabane
Jul 8 2011, 11:20 PM
What HDD models can be used for the PVR functions ? Not all model can be used, right ?
nujikabane
Jul 8 2011, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 8 2011, 11:36 PM) Only ONE MODEL supported which is Western Digital Passport AV 320GB 2.5' or 3.5' HDD ?
nujikabane
Jul 9 2011, 12:32 AM
QUOTE(neb @ Jul 9 2011, 12:19 AM)   for WD my passport AV, only 2.5" scorpio hard drive can fit into the USB casing Thanks a lot, will look it up at garage sales now
nujikabane
Jul 10 2011, 04:07 PM
A question, how long will it take before Astro temporary bars its services upon non-payment ?
I have my friends whose lines got barred a day after the bill date, haha pity them.
nujikabane
Jul 10 2011, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(smileguy @ Jul 10 2011, 04:31 PM) Now its immeadiate upon the last date for payment. Remember At least two to three working days after payment is need to reconnect. The stupidity is your payment slip does not suffice thier end must get the money safely credited !! You can say and prove u paid but they wl only confirm that, until their end is updated.  OIC. So it is when they have the payment reflected in their system, only then the payment is considered made? No matter even if you have proof of transactions ? LOL Anyway, I need to reiterate that it is my friends, not me. Aiyaaa malu wor, haha
nujikabane
Jul 12 2011, 09:10 PM
Wondering, will Asto air the football matches between Liverpool, Chelsea & Arsenal vs Malaysia ? Up until now, there is no news about it in their website.
nujikabane
Jul 20 2011, 01:02 AM
Guys, please have a look at this :
Mind clarifying to me as to what each means ? I have a vague idea that HD services means watching HD channels, but what about the other two ?
nujikabane
Jul 20 2011, 01:14 AM
^ Thanks a lot for the info ! Much appreciated
nujikabane
Jul 20 2011, 10:02 PM
Apparently, Package 1 is tailored more to Malays, whilst Package Two is for Indians, & Package 3 is more suitable for Chinese. Not saying that to be racist, as I know there are people that watch programmes in other language, but they are not many.
nujikabane
Jul 21 2011, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(jalsrix @ Jul 20 2011, 10:07 PM) why chinese packages always the most expensive ?  Because they have more channels ?
nujikabane
Jul 21 2011, 03:27 PM
So, will there be live telecast of Chelsea vs Malaysia tonight ?
nujikabane
Jul 21 2011, 04:17 PM
^ Thanks! That means a trip to the mamak tall to watch it tonight
nujikabane
Sep 19 2011, 11:08 PM
What's the price to install BYond now? Got any offer or not?