Jun 7 2011, 10:48 PM
105 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
....looks cool on the SP..consider to pick one later tomorrow.....
by the way, I do have a few questions here...hope all sifu out there can help me out... 1) I am subscribing to the hd channel since their first lauched last year but the problem is how come the sd channel picture quality is so blur? and it's getting worst! with the additional of the other 2-3 hd channel next months, with it become worst than ever before? 2) refer to my 1st question, if I unsubscibe the hd channel, will the sd picture quality improve or better? before I switch to the b.yond, the picture quality was good, too sad that after I switch to hd, the sd picture quality is so blur 3) I intend to subcribe to the 2nd decoder, how much should I pay? can I just have the basic package then? 4) if I choose the SP1/2, do I need to change my decoder to the new PVR recording decoder? should I pay for that as well eventhough I didn't use that function? 5) it was almost 2 years now....may I know when can we have the subtitle for the hd channel (especially the discovery & movies)? that's all for now....hope sifus out there can help... thanks in advance This post has been edited by horseman: Jun 7 2011, 10:48 PM |
Jun 9 2011, 07:33 AM
QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Jun 7 2011, 11:02 PM) 1. It is because the bitrate of the SD channel is lowered to accomodate more channels, SD channel uses MPEG-2 while HD channels uses H.264. According to past forum posts, the bitrate of each HD channel is 8mbps. The lower the bitrate given to each channel the worse picture quality will be. Thanks so much for fast response....really excited getting to know that the chances are big to have subtitles on HD channel...really annoying when watching the HBO HD & Star Movie HD and can't really understand the plot of the movie....rather buy the pirate DVD, with the subs, at least my family can understand what it is all about and enjoy every moment of it.2. No. Quality is the same whether you subscribe HD or not, it depends on the connection between decoder and TV. If you use HDMI cable, the decoder scaler is used. Using component/composite cable, build-in TV scaler is used and it depends on technology implemented on the tv... 3. Sorry I can't answer this question. 4. We don't know yet, need clarification from Astro CS. 5. Some SD delayed channels have been soft-subbed, there is a big chance for subtitles on HD channels. as for the clarity of the picture, do you mean if I unplug the HDMI cable and change it to component video cable the quality will be better to SD channel? What happen to HD channel then? thanks again Added on June 9, 2011, 7:47 am QUOTE(neb @ Jun 8 2011, 06:41 PM) what if I didn't want that PVR decoder? just normal one!!This post has been edited by horseman: Jun 9 2011, 07:47 AM |
Jun 10 2011, 06:53 PM
currently I am subscribing to Family/Movies/Sports/Mini....with HD services....let's say if I didn't do any upgrading before 11/7.....which package will they put me in? fyi, I am a chinese and use to subscribe to dynasty and AOD!
I only have a normal b.yond right now and if I choose SP2, what happen to the PVR service which is included in the package? do I need to buy the new PVR decoder (at RM300/ RM150) even though I don't want this services? Added on June 10, 2011, 6:59 pmreally hopefull that Astro will provide the subtitle to their HD channel very soon, or else I might just cancel the HD services or terminate it! can anybody out there check when the subtitle make available? we already have subs in mandarin for StarMovie and Malay subs in OneHD, what's so hard about providing the subs to other HD channel as well....? IPTV will provide 5.1 channel in sounds....wondering when the b.yond start theirs? currently the sounds quality of Astro is too soft! This post has been edited by horseman: Jun 10 2011, 06:59 PM |
Jul 1 2011, 03:44 PM
how am i going to subscribe to their superpack? can it be done by doing it on their website?
if we did not do anything to our subcribtion before 11th July, which package are they going to put us to? |
Jul 1 2011, 04:33 PM
Jul 2 2011, 01:00 AM
QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 1 2011, 05:30 PM) Call the Astro CS at 1300 82 3838 to upgrade to SuperPack. IF you don't switch to SuperPack, you would pay higher monthly fee only. ↲↲↲thanks bro,↲currently i'm using the normal b.yond decoder with the package of Family + Movies + 1 mini + sports + HD Service. ↲So if I upgrade to SP1 (which included the HD and PVR service), but I don't want the PVR, is it possible? Or they will still going to charge me RM150 for that service!?A letter would send to your address. Which decoder type are you using now ? |
Jul 4 2011, 07:01 PM
QUOTE(logit85 @ Jul 4 2011, 12:37 PM) can u see screenshot astro guy set number 9 my turner 1 is 122 and tuner 2 134 should we change the satellite signal? what is the difference here? does it improve anything if we change the satellite setting?if i change number 5 or 4 i will get tuner 1 13x and tuner 13x i think so what setting recommed me to get high signal what ur set for number 1 or 20 like that Added on July 4, 2011, 7:03 pm QUOTE(chikana @ Jul 4 2011, 12:36 PM) what is the latest software anyway? mine is 30 Sep 2010, is it the latest? should we update it if there is any?This post has been edited by horseman: Jul 4 2011, 07:03 PM |
Jul 20 2011, 05:57 PM
how can i improve on the pq of sd channel on the b.yond? any converter out there that i can look after?
Jul 20 2011, 06:24 PM
thanks pal...seems like not a good choice to upgrade to b.yond at the moment!! old decoder is much more clearer
and how about the subs for HD channel? any news about it? This post has been edited by horseman: Jul 20 2011, 06:24 PM |
Jul 24 2011, 12:38 AM
sorry....how to set the gamma value....my set is Toshiba LCD