Astro B.yond Episode III (Version 8.0), NEW WORLD OF ENTERTAINMENT

G K Lai
post Apr 18 2011, 02:38 PM

839 posts

I am currently a Byond user, then I applied for Byond PVR, and it had been 1 week already, nobody contact me for installation, what can I do to expedite their processing? smile.gif

Thanks! icon_rolleyes.gif

G K Lai
post Apr 19 2011, 12:41 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Apr 18 2011, 03:26 PM)
phone them
Just followed what you said, called them this evening and they said the waits are within 14 days... cry.gif

G K Lai
post May 1 2011, 02:23 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Apr 30 2011, 08:16 PM)
I heard even in standby it uses 20W ,so I switch off my byond every night
putting byond in standby is to facilitate firmware update, so may be you can let it in standby during the day hours
Hi neb, do you have any experience whether if I switch off the PVR set at night then switch on the next morning, will my scheduled recording will be lost? sweat.gif
I always wanted to turn if off at night because I find it is too hot!

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Apr 30 2011, 10:12 PM)
Never heard of this. I call bull. Especially since you can force FW upgrade from front panel.
Hi RAMChYLD, can you tell us how to do "force FW upgrade"? tongue.gif
I believe this will come in handy when we need to do this in future... blush.gif

G K Lai
post May 2 2011, 01:44 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ May 1 2011, 10:34 AM)
Just put the laptop fan below the byond and use the usb port to power it.

Great idea, thanks! thumbup.gif

From my memories, you'll just have to press the power button -> ch+ -> ch- in sequence in fast pace, the decoder will reboots and checks for sw update
OIC, looks like not as easy as 123... sweat.gif
Thanks for your info... icon_rolleyes.gif

G K Lai
post May 5 2011, 01:10 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ May 4 2011, 08:22 PM)
How noob are the technicians that not make a full diagnose.
Talking about noob, the installer that installed my B.yond PVR don't know there is a hard disk inside the box! laugh.gif
When I discuss about heat problem with him, I mentioned this will shorten the lifespan of hard disk inside...
He said: "got hard disk inside meh? not sure, maybe other thing...?" blink.gif

G K Lai
post May 6 2011, 10:29 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ May 6 2011, 10:06 PM)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Astro_channels

Looks like someone already updated list of channel. hmm.gif
Why I don't have 571 and 576 in my Learning Package? cry.gif
570 also not there.... sad.gif

This post has been edited by G K Lai: May 6 2011, 10:30 PM
G K Lai
post May 11 2011, 10:14 AM

839 posts

Hi all,

Can anyone please post a link to latest Astro package pricing?
Most importantly, I would like to know the price of Sports package alone.

Thank you in advance! smile.gif
G K Lai
post May 11 2011, 11:41 AM

839 posts

Thank you Qash-M and smileguy! smile.gif
Don't why I can't find these info on Astro site? Haha...!
G K Lai
post Jun 7 2011, 02:50 PM

839 posts

I just called Astro CS to subscribe the Super Pack.
I asked the lady when will the new HD channels, for example Discovery HD World be available and she told me they started this channel on 1st June.
But I am already a Learning Package subscriber (plus HD service), and they never give me this channel, only change to new package offering can get this! sad.gif

G K Lai
post Jun 7 2011, 03:01 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Jun 7 2011, 02:53 PM)
Thats right,they told me activation is Instant  but I wonder wld all new channels be on air now or 11th july ! hmm.gif I forgot to ask that.......someone here knows ?
Hi smileguy, actually the lady told me it was started on 1st June... biggrin.gif
Those Learning Mini Package subscriber do not get this channel 571, unless switch to their new package lineup.. sad.gif

Don't if I'm stupid or the lady? I previously subscribed to 2 Mini Packages, now my Super Pack offer 3 Mini Packages,
and she never ask me which additional Mini Package to add. When I called back minutes ago, another guy act like they cannot change for me.
They automatically gave me News but I rather prefer Variety lar... mad.gif
Now the guy said the lady will call me back... shakehead.gif

G K Lai
post Jun 11 2011, 01:40 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jun 10 2011, 09:29 PM)
Astro force me take Super Pack 3 sad.gif
I no need the extra Astro on demand!
But only Super Pack 3 is worth as I need Dynasty + HuaHeeDai (this under emperor) Hmmm....
QUOTE(bigbangformula @ Jun 10 2011, 11:47 PM)
Same case bro,I want Super Pack 3 because now I already have Movies,Sports,2 Mini's,and Dynasty.I want to add on HD,but don't need AOD and New Emperor.
Another "victim" here... cry.gif

G K Lai
post Jun 11 2011, 10:19 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jun 11 2011, 07:33 AM)
anyone notice under the new structure, CH 575, History HD is gone! doh.gif
We can still find the History HD under High-Definition Channels section right?

Look at it here:
http://www.astro.com.my/images/5752.jpg

G K Lai
post Jun 24 2011, 09:11 AM

839 posts

Hi all,

Using the digital out from Astro Byond to receiver, and set it to surround in the Setting page. The sound is not as good as DVD or Blu-ray or even downloaded media file (such as mkv, mp4 etc...), is this normal? Or did I missed something?

G K Lai
post Jun 24 2011, 01:54 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(logit85 @ Jun 24 2011, 01:08 PM)
how can be join for one LNB
why u dont get 2 LNB ????
can show picture Dual output join cable
When the time I also curious about how PVR get 2 cable output, I also cannot find the picture of it.
So let me contribute a little to this thread... smile.gif

Here's the dual-output LNB nod.gif

G K Lai
post Jun 24 2011, 01:57 PM

839 posts

By the way, can't anyone kind enough to help with my doubt? biggrin.gif
I want to confirm this is the quality of Astro or the coaxial cable that I'm using are too low quality?

QUOTE(G K Lai @ Jun 24 2011, 09:11 AM)
Hi all,

Using the digital out from Astro Byond to receiver, and set it to surround in the Setting page. The sound is not as good as DVD or Blu-ray or even downloaded media file (such as mkv, mp4 etc...), is this normal? Or did I missed something?
G K Lai
post Jun 24 2011, 11:28 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Jun 24 2011, 02:29 PM)
Astro prefers In house Rojak of course!!

Added on June 24, 2011, 2:32 pm
If its astro beyond"s sound over HTS then set beyond audio settings to 5.1 and try hmm.gif ......maybe your cable. rclxub.gif ..... your question is quite unclear pal ! : shakehead.gif hmm:
QUOTE(apexg2 @ Jun 24 2011, 02:45 PM)
use coaxial cable...erm,mine no problem,my HTS working perfect...even im using the 'yellow' head cable...i mean video cable..hehe
Sorry! Sorry! My bad....! blush.gif
Last night I test the sound at midnight, but this evening I turn the volume to normal level and the sound is normal... sweat.gif

But now comes another question:
When set B.yond to Dolby Digital 5.1, my TV no sound.
Which means, I have to switch on HTS each time I watch Astro?

Anyone know how can I set it up to always Dolby Digital 5.1 yet my TV also produce sound? hmm.gif
I personally feel it is not so convenient to always switch on TV, Astro and HTS just to watch a short while of drama or simply some crawling insects on National Geographic... tongue.gif

G K Lai
post Jun 25 2011, 12:57 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(l_berd @ Jun 24 2011, 11:36 PM)
you'll need to have a TV that have the Dolby Digital decoder embedded, and able to receive input via coaxial or optical..
OIC.... Thanks!
Meaning this is a bad news for me... laugh.gif

That ESPN HD+ on channel 830 is just temporary or what? blink.gif

This post has been edited by G K Lai: Jun 25 2011, 12:59 AM
G K Lai
post Jun 25 2011, 01:03 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jun 25 2011, 01:01 AM)
Ch.830 for ASSP HD 2 lah, so it's temporary for EPSN HD+ now. smile.gif
Ok, thanks! wink.gif
I thought we got one more new HD channel... tongue.gif
G K Lai
post Jun 25 2011, 10:53 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(samowong @ Jun 25 2011, 10:04 AM)
Hi, Byond noob here.

Any idea how to play the recorded shows via Western Digital HDD on PC?

I think you would have to first find the way to crack it's HDCP then only you can play the recorded shows on PC... tongue.gif
G K Lai
post Jun 26 2011, 12:29 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Jun 26 2011, 11:40 AM)
That is the bug of the b.yond remote.
Workaround: Use the tv remote
Yes I agreed, this "bug" also on Panasonic TV.

0.0592sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:14 AM